Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

Just had a spiritual moment with an Elder I met along my morning walk .
I walked passed the man by ten metres giving him a salute as I went by and he called out l love your feather on your hat brother. I quickly turned around and thanked him and introduced myself to him and returned the gesture regarding his large eagle feather on his fedora. I also admired how immaculately dressed he was with all the artwork from his walking stick right up to his hat. He told me he was a spiritual leader as well as an artist and he did all the work on his attire himself.
He told me he picked up a dead eagle when a truck hit it and he did his own taxidermy work on it and kept the feathers that had fallen off bc collecting fallen feathers was sacred and if you do it an angel will touch you for the respect. I told him I always collected feathers ever since I was a young lad bc my Aboriginal Elder family friend used to tell us the same thing. I said I’m still in search for a nice long green parakeet one bc they’re my favourites and I haven’t seen one in years. We then chatted on so I decided to mention the gesture between Betts and Stack .
He said it wasn’t about the moment, but more about the respect young Stack has for Betts and it was a spiritual blessing and a symbol of brotherhood. Stack just wanted to touch him bc he wants to have that same spiritual gift and leadership that Betts has. It was like touching a God for the young fella and it will rub on him one day bc young Stack is a listener and a learner which will make him a leader one day. I thanked him for his great words as I never looked at it this way. Anyway we exchanged handshakes and as I left he called out to me to never stop looking for that green feather. I smiled and waved him goodbye and went off to the market to buy my Snapper .I couldn’t believe it I got 50m from home and on the ground lied a large green parakeet feather and I’m convinced I was touched by an angel today. Told my wife and 20yo daughter and have had tears running down my face since. I honestly believe Stack will be touched by this Angel as he had some gift and power in his words.
that's one of the most beautiful things I've ever read TI. Wonderful

Stack would have to be one of the best first year players I have ever seen.
This kid has so much poise and class, never panics and his delivery is sublime.
ATM he is better than any of the top 10 draft picks including Walsh.
Put Wash in our side and he would get exposed due to the lack of support, not Stack he is a shining light and will only get better.
Next year I think he could be a permanent mid.

PS Gary Lyon is a flog
So Walsh would be exposed at Richmond for lack of support but not at Carlton?
Sydney Stack is awesome but people are already talking smack about Walsh and have probably barely seen him play just because he doesn’t play for Richmond. Credit to both they are having outstanding debut seasons and who gives a flying **** who wins the rising star anyway.

You folks know I am a fan of the kids footy, but I wouldn't be happy if a North player did that.

He had been telling Eddie all game that he had been quiet and wasn't going to kick a special goal. Eddie also happens to be an idol of Sydney's. I think it shows more character and sportsmanship to actually admit he was wrong and recognise what Eddie did rather than be mouthy on the field and disappear when Eddie slotted that goal. Shows more class the way Sydney responded rather than to ignore it, in ny opinion.

that's one of the most beautiful things I've ever read TI. Wonderful
Thanks F67 it was something special to me as at the time I was thinking what a beautiful person and I sort I felt sorry a bit for him bc he was aged and hampered in his walking, but his attire and splendid personality were both beautiful and he was so radiant. I wish I could meet him again in the near future to thank him and tell him what happened, but I may need to wait as IMO he's in a higher place.

He had been telling Eddie all game that he had been quiet and wasn't going to kick a special goal. Eddie also happens to be an idol of Sydney's. I think it shows more character and sportsmanship to actually admit he was wrong and recognise what Eddie did rather than be mouthy on the field and disappear when Eddie slotted that goal. Shows more class the way Sydney responded rather than to ignore it, in ny opinion.

Yeah, I know the story mate.

I hate Richmond for many reasons but i have never loved a first year player for any side, including the pies as much as i love Sir Sydney Stackhat. HE plays with the composure of a 25 year old who is 6 inches taller than he is. His backstory is fantastic. He plays with individuality and flair and one thing that i noticed last week is when Cotchin stuffed up something he went up and was the first to console him.
I just cannot believe he was left behind until one of the last rookie picks, its quite insane. I will swap you Levi Greenwood and Lynden Dunn for him!

I hate Richmond for many reasons but i have never loved a first year player for any side, including the pies as much as i love Sir Sydney Stackhat. HE plays with the composure of a 25 year old who is 6 inches taller than he is. His backstory is fantastic. He plays with individuality and flair and one thing that i noticed last week is when Cotchin stuffed up something he went up and was the first to console him.
I just cannot believe he was left behind until one of the last rookie picks, its quite insane. I will swap you Levi Greenwood and Lynden Dunn for him!

De Goey and Grundy as a minimum. Even then, I'd be hestitant. ;)

Just had a spiritual moment with an Elder I met along my morning walk .
I walked passed the man by ten metres giving him a salute as I went by and he called out l love your feather on your hat brother. I quickly turned around and thanked him and introduced myself to him and returned the gesture regarding his large eagle feather on his fedora. I also admired how immaculately dressed he was with all the artwork from his walking stick right up to his hat. He told me he was a spiritual leader as well as an artist and he did all the work on his attire himself.
He told me he picked up a dead eagle when a truck hit it and he did his own taxidermy work on it and kept the feathers that had fallen off bc collecting fallen feathers was sacred and if you do it an angel will touch you for the respect. I told him I always collected feathers ever since I was a young lad bc my Aboriginal Elder family friend used to tell us the same thing. I said I’m still in search for a nice long green parakeet one bc they’re my favourites and I haven’t seen one in years. We then chatted on so I decided to mention the gesture between Betts and Stack .
He said it wasn’t about the moment, but more about the respect young Stack has for Betts and it was a spiritual blessing and a symbol of brotherhood. Stack just wanted to touch him bc he wants to have that same spiritual gift and leadership that Betts has. It was like touching a God for the young fella and it will rub on him one day bc young Stack is a listener and a learner which will make him a leader one day. I thanked him for his great words as I never looked at it this way. Anyway we exchanged handshakes and as I left he called out to me to never stop looking for that green feather. I smiled and waved him goodbye and went off to the market to buy my Snapper .I couldn’t believe it I got 50m from home and on the ground lied a large green parakeet feather and I’m convinced I was touched by an angel today. Told my wife and 20yo daughter and have had tears running down my face since. I honestly believe Stack will be touched by this Angel as he had some gift and power in his words.
I’m really glad I read that

Thanks F67 it was something special to me as at the time I was thinking what a beautiful person and I sort I felt sorry a bit for him bc he was aged and hampered in his walking, but his attire and splendid personality were both beautiful and he was so radiant. I wish I could meet him again in the near future to thank him and tell him what happened, but I may need to wait as IMO he's in a higher place.
Name Change definitely on the cards here mate
Green_Feather :thumbsu:

Yeah but we don't know your story about why you would'nt be happy if a North player did that mate?!?

Too much opposition love for my liking.

You give them nothing when you're ON the field.

Thanks for giving me an excuse to explain myself. :cool:

I know that all things being equal the human body gets stronger from birth until reaching its peak strength around age 27 then deteriorates, and again, all being equal it takes until age 60 to deteriorate to the same level of strength as it was at 18 years of age. Of course not all is equal in our physical lives and your average 40+ year old is not as physically active as an 18yo so the older body often cannot do what the younger body can. How am I going Mr Jangles?

My main reasoning for my prediction is that the things that drove Stack to push himself so hard in preparation for season 2019, are unlikely to ever drive him again, fear of failure, rejection etc. He is not a fool, he will know he is finding a level of acceptance, respect and financial rewards will follow.

So for Sydney as is the case for many of us, ALL THINGS WILL NOT BE EQUAL. I understand a little about this. I was a fast bowler in cricket, and due to certain things in my life, at age 18 I was driven by certain desires(acceptance, need for respect, a place in a team etc) to bowl faster and more menacingly for longer spells than I ever managed later. This, despite the fact I later had a better technique, was stronger, fitter and more mature. And in later years when in peak physical condition no matter how much I tried to muster it, I could never rediscover the raw aggression of the 18yo trying to prove himself and gain acceptance. It doesn't mean you don't become better in other ways, but I stand by my prediction, I doubt Stack improves too much more as a footballer in a physical sense.

I am and have been a huge and unequivocal admirer of his since I first saw him play, so I am not driven to say these things by any weird desire to see him stagnate or go backwards. Like most people who watch him closely he is about my favourite player to watch and I didn't even have a favourite player to watch before I watched him. I just think his career will take a different trajectory than the norm. Hell, what am I saying? It already has.

That should really hurt your brain. :straining:
You’re right it did , I think talented players are on a decent upward curve until mid 20s some more than others, all different . I expect he will add strength , Bolton has added to his frame from When he arrived , I expect stacky too as well and it will undoubtedly help his midfield work

there's something wonderful about meeting a person that radiates positivity, warmth and spirituality that just reaffirms your faith that maybe, just maybe humanity has a chance. I've been lucky enough in life to have a few of these experiences myself with people on the surface that appear just your average person on the street but in engaging with them you it can totally change your concept of life situations and experiences. Great stuff and I hope you get to bump into him again soon and let him know you found your green feather

I think you’re mistaking love for respect. If you don’t respect your opponent, then you don’t have a drive to be better than them (you just want to beat them).

It’s impossible to suggest that Sydney doesn’t give his all when he plays, this respect only augments his drive.

Goes without saying that I loved the action and the story.

Garry Lyon not happy with Stacks gesture to Betts haha tool!! And who gives a S*** about the rising star award, Stack is already a star and not rising to be one.

You might not remember it was Lyon who fessed up to the nonsense he handed out to Chris Lewis when the Eagles came to town - reckon Lyon should pull his head in, he was wrong back then & nothing has changed.

Ironic !!

Your showing more love for the Richmond board than your rabble board of recent times , Maybe you wear yellow/Black under wear and pj's to bed these days

Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack