Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

No wonder players are afraid to show any personality. Every single little thing they do that shows many kind of personality is put under intense scrutiny.

One day they will create AI robots to play AFL and compare them to when humans played and no one will be able to tell the difference.

It's strange whe the commentators want something real from the players ala Higgo they exploit it as much as they can...
When players are not robots and show something real of themselves commentators still exploit it as much as they can ala SS...

I enjoy seeing who the players talk to on field after the game, reckon the media miss opportunities on the personal interest side of footy.

I hate Richmond for many reasons but i have never loved a first year player for any side, including the pies as much as i love Sir Sydney Stackhat. HE plays with the composure of a 25 year old who is 6 inches taller than he is. His backstory is fantastic. He plays with individuality and flair and one thing that i noticed last week is when Cotchin stuffed up something he went up and was the first to console him.
I just cannot believe he was left behind until one of the last rookie picks, its quite insane. I will swap you Levi Greenwood and Lynden Dunn for him!
Haha you were going good until the Collingwood came out In you , **** off 😂

I hate Richmond for many reasons but i have never loved a first year player for any side, including the pies as much as i love Sir Sydney Stackhat. HE plays with the composure of a 25 year old who is 6 inches taller than he is. His backstory is fantastic. He plays with individuality and flair and one thing that i noticed last week is when Cotchin stuffed up something he went up and was the first to console him.
I just cannot believe he was left behind until one of the last rookie picks, its quite insane. I will swap you Levi Greenwood and Lynden Dunn for him!
Pass!

Have you considered anyone else or are you being blinded by the hysteria and have you regularly seen him play , Q not a statement
I watch him play all the time. I didn’t even realize there was any hysteria to be honest.

You might not remember it was Lyon who fessed up to the nonsense he handed out to Chris Lewis when the Eagles came to town - reckon Lyon should pull his head in, he was wrong back then & nothing has changed.
The thing is there is no context in here. I heard the statement this morning and he wasn’t really carrying on about it and just offered it up to see what others thought, it is a radio program after all trying to create discussion topics, hit pay dirt too because it’s all people spoke about. He was happy for people to disagree and wasn’t being a flog about it in the slightest.

The guy gets no respect from me however his commentary on Stack was fine by me He's a paid talking head so it was a subject worthy of discussion ...and also dissent

Does anyone know for sure exactly how the voting process for the Rising Star is conducted and who actually gets to vote?

Port Adelaide great Kane Cornes thinks Richmond rookie Sydney Stack could be the ‘biggest draft steal’ ever

Port Adelaide great Kane Cornes believes Richmond rookie Sydney Stack could prove to be the biggest steal in the history of the draft.
The 19-year-old was overlooked by all 18 clubs at both last year’s National and Rookie Drafts in November, before the Tigers offered him the opportunity to audition for a spot on their list over the pre-season.

Six months on from that invitation — and four months after Richmond added him to their rookie list during the pre-season supplemental selection period — Stack has emerged as one of the best first-year players in the AFL.

The West Australian continued his dazzling debut season on Thursday night, nullifying three-time All-Australian Eddie Betts for most of the game at Adelaide Oval, while finding the ball 22 times in another cool, calm and collected display by the teenage sensation.

While 78 players were taken in the National Draft, 40 in the Rookie Draft and five prior to the drafts, Stack was passed over by every club following a string of off-field issues in his last few years of underage football.

But 11 games into his career, Stack is stacking up as one of the best value for money recruits in a long time.

“Sydney Stack is shaping up to be the biggest draft steal in the history of the AFL,” Cornes told SEN on Friday.

“Last night on the big stage away from home, he was clean at ground level, deadly when he had the ball in his hands and he went at 82 per cent disposal efficiency from his 22 touches.

“We know that he’s tough, just ask Jack Viney that, and defensively, he’s sound. Besides one brief moment of Eddie Betts brilliance, he had the superstar small forward covered.”

Cornes said every club would regret not taking the punt on a player who he thinks is nearly as good as Carlton’s No. 1 pick Sam Walsh and Port Adelaide’s Rising Star contender Connor Rozee.

“Due to Sydney Stack’s off-field issues, he was overlooked by every club at the draft last year,” he said.

“But now, there isn’t a club in the competition that wouldn’t kill to have him on their list.

“In fact, if last year’s AFL Draft was re-done, Stack would be a top five pick. He may even go top three.”

I can’t even believe people are talking about the Betts thing. I know it’s their job to get a topic up and about but it’s just getting worse by the day.

If Dangerfield kicked a goal like that on Brandon Ellis in last week’s game, and Brandon/Danger had a similar exchange after it, would it be getting the same positive reception?

First time caller - long time listener.

No drama with it all, especially considering Betts pointed at Stack first to say how good was that. Game was dusted and Stack has done nothing but bust his guts every time he has pulled the Richmond Jumper on. If that's Stacks way and he puts his head back over the ball next contest then so be it.

If Dangerfield kicked a goal like that on Brandon Ellis in last week’s game, and Brandon/Danger had a similar exchange after it, would it be getting the same positive reception?
Definitely not.
Which to my mind is stupid but that’s the way it is. I actually can’t believe that the old school mentality (which I’m from) correlates losing, weak mindedness or whatever else with an act like this.
Personally I reckon if you have to rely on people’s opinions of your actions that have no bearing on the outcome only perception then you’re probably starting behind the 8 ball anyway. Reminds me of the old blokes when I was playing cricket “don’t give it a rub whatever you do!”
It’s probably the fact Stack doesn’t give a **** what people think that makes him such a cool cat on the field.
I know I’ve gone off on a tangent there away from your question about Ellis and Danger but you’re right there would have been hell to pay, and it’s ****ing nonsense.

If the 2 players you mentioned were involved, Clangerfield wouldn't smile and have a laugh while pointing at Bellis. He'd have a smug look at his face and rub his own nipples while getting in Bellis' face and he'd get duckwood and porkins over for backup to push Bellis over and start some niggle. Bellis would probably give away a free retaliating.

Yeah it only worked because of the 2 blokes involved. If Clangerfield was a really nice friendly legend of the game like Betts, and not a ****ing loser with a huge ego, then a similar moment with bellis and himself would have been cool to see. but yes that's never gonna happen, it was great because of who stack and eddie are.

Would depend on the by play between the two and would be out of character for Ellis. It's not for Stack (given what we have seen so far).

Stack was giving it to Betts all night about no out of the box goals. Betts slots a special one and goes back to Stack with a retort. Stack's actions were you got me on that one. All this talk of difference in standards based on skin tone is plain stupid. Just by play and acknowledgement between two football players. That's all it is.

To think the Lions and all the other clubs bar one did not pick Sydney because they questioned his character. (I always wanted him!)
In his short AFL career he has proven everybody wrong, not just in his playing ability but particularly in his character.
He is his own man and not afraid to do the right thing despite possible negative reactions from the cat's bum mouth crowd.
I predict he will be Tigers captain in a few short years.

Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack