Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

Yeah i agree pumping up the opposition while your playing is stupidity imo old school or not it makes no sense

Nah

Gotta give credit where it’s due, betts is class and does it too often and for too long for it to be a fluke.

The other way to look at it is betts had to lift his game and pull something out of his arrrrse to score on stack. Says something about stack

Too much opposition love for my liking.

You give them nothing when you're ON the field.
Yeah i agree pumping up the opposition while your playing is stupidity imo old school or not it makes no sense
I'm sure it won't matter to your opinion but I believe it was only because it was the last couple of minutes and we were so far down Stack gave the reaction he did.

I had noticed the banter leading up to this event and was surprised by it, but loved it. To see such respect between 2 players at completely different stages of their careers shows how much of a bond there is between the AFLs indigenous boys which we don't often see.

Definitely not.
Which to my mind is stupid but that’s the way it is. I actually can’t believe that the old school mentality (which I’m from) correlates losing, weak mindedness or whatever else with an act like this.
Personally I reckon if you have to rely on people’s opinions of your actions that have no bearing on the outcome only perception then you’re probably starting behind the 8 ball anyway. Reminds me of the old blokes when I was playing cricket “don’t give it a rub whatever you do!”
It’s probably the fact Stack doesn’t give a **** what people think that makes him such a cool cat on the field.
I know I’ve gone off on a tangent there away from your question about Ellis and Danger but you’re right there would have been hell to pay, and it’s ******* nonsense.
It’s a good point about the generation gap , funny hearing old skool punters in their quest for a new coach gunning for some cold hard ruthless bastard ,,,, ummm like Neeld or I’ll give you rocket eade. Hot gospel “crackpots” with a young playing group go together like oil and water , won’t ever work in the modern era .HUman resources is a whole different beast in 2019 to what it was in the 70/80s

Just had a spiritual moment with an Elder I met along my morning walk .
I walked passed the man by ten metres giving him a salute as I went by and he called out l love your feather on your hat brother. I quickly turned around and thanked him and introduced myself to him and returned the gesture regarding his large eagle feather on his fedora. I also admired how immaculately dressed he was with all the artwork from his walking stick right up to his hat. He told me he was a spiritual leader as well as an artist and he did all the work on his attire himself.
He told me he picked up a dead eagle when a truck hit it and he did his own taxidermy work on it and kept the feathers that had fallen off bc collecting fallen feathers was sacred and if you do it an angel will touch you for the respect. I told him I always collected feathers ever since I was a young lad bc my Aboriginal Elder family friend used to tell us the same thing. I said I’m still in search for a nice long green parakeet one bc they’re my favourites and I haven’t seen one in years. We then chatted on so I decided to mention the gesture between Betts and Stack .
He said it wasn’t about the moment, but more about the respect young Stack has for Betts and it was a spiritual blessing and a symbol of brotherhood. Stack just wanted to touch him bc he wants to have that same spiritual gift and leadership that Betts has. It was like touching a God for the young fella and it will rub on him one day bc young Stack is a listener and a learner which will make him a leader one day. I thanked him for his great words as I never looked at it this way. Anyway we exchanged handshakes and as I left he called out to me to never stop looking for that green feather. I smiled and waved him goodbye and went off to the market to buy my Snapper .I couldn’t believe it I got 50m from home and on the ground lied a large green parakeet feather and I’m convinced I was touched by an angel today. Told my wife and 20yo daughter and have had tears running down my face since. I honestly believe Stack will be touched by this Angel as he had some gift and power in his words.
Man....that story has put tears in my eyes and a shiver up my spine

Just had a spiritual moment with an Elder I met along my morning walk .
I walked passed the man by ten metres giving him a salute as I went by and he called out l love your feather on your hat brother. I quickly turned around and thanked him and introduced myself to him and returned the gesture regarding his large eagle feather on his fedora. I also admired how immaculately dressed he was with all the artwork from his walking stick right up to his hat. He told me he was a spiritual leader as well as an artist and he did all the work on his attire himself.
He told me he picked up a dead eagle when a truck hit it and he did his own taxidermy work on it and kept the feathers that had fallen off bc collecting fallen feathers was sacred and if you do it an angel will touch you for the respect. I told him I always collected feathers ever since I was a young lad bc my Aboriginal Elder family friend used to tell us the same thing. I said I’m still in search for a nice long green parakeet one bc they’re my favourites and I haven’t seen one in years. We then chatted on so I decided to mention the gesture between Betts and Stack .
He said it wasn’t about the moment, but more about the respect young Stack has for Betts and it was a spiritual blessing and a symbol of brotherhood. Stack just wanted to touch him bc he wants to have that same spiritual gift and leadership that Betts has. It was like touching a God for the young fella and it will rub on him one day bc young Stack is a listener and a learner which will make him a leader one day. I thanked him for his great words as I never looked at it this way. Anyway we exchanged handshakes and as I left he called out to me to never stop looking for that green feather. I smiled and waved him goodbye and went off to the market to buy my Snapper .I couldn’t believe it I got 50m from home and on the ground lied a large green parakeet feather and I’m convinced I was touched by an angel today. Told my wife and 20yo daughter and have had tears running down my face since. I honestly believe Stack will be touched by this Angel as he had some gift and power in his words.
This is what bigfooty is all about

It’s a good point about the generation gap , funny hearing old skool punters in their quest for a new coach gunning for some cold hard ruthless bastard ,,,, ummm like Neeld or I’ll give you rocket eade. Hot gospel “crackpots” with a young playing group go together like oil and water , won’t ever work in the modern era .HUman resources is a whole different beast in 2019 to what it was in the 70/80s
Yep see it at work too and it’s tough on the older blokes. I’m right in the middle and was brought up that way so it’s nothing to me, but I’ve obviously had a lot to do with the younger generations too so can relate to them in their way too. But the old blokes just can’t get their head around it, and the young fellas just don’t react to them well either. Like you say they’re from two different worlds.

I’m still in awe of what happened and I’ve had a whiskey to try and calm down as ive become dysfunctional ( in a good way) since.
Geez mate you’ll do anything for a whiskey.

If Dangerfield kicked a goal like that on Brandon Ellis in last week’s game, and Brandon/Danger had a similar exchange after it, would it be getting the same positive reception?
That's a useless hypothetical. There are a lot of reasons why the Betts Stack exchange was more ok than that.

The first one that comes to mind is that Betts is a marvel and does this on a weekly basis so you gotta tip your hat to him.

The second one is that they are both indigenous and share that moment.

The third one is that Stack was one of the best on ground and the game was over.

Yep see it at work too and it’s tough on the older blokes. I’m right in the middle and was brought up that way so it’s nothing to me, but I’ve obviously had a lot to do with the younger generations too so can relate to them in their way too. But the old blokes just can’t get their head around it, and the young fellas just don’t react to them well either. Like you say they’re from two different worlds.
Yeah , the redneck non pc opinionated know it all made it easy when redundancy’s came around 😆

That's a useless hypothetical. There are a lot of reasons why the Betts Stack exchange was more ok than that.

The first one that comes to mind is that Betts is a marvel and does this on a weekly basis so you gotta tip your hat to him.

The second one is that they are both indigenous and share that moment.

The third one is that Stack was one of the best on ground and the game was over.

He also just added on 7news interview that he idolised Betts and had utmost respect for him,

To think the Lions and all the other clubs bar one did not pick Sydney because they questioned his character. (I always wanted him!)
In his short AFL career he has proven everybody wrong, not just in his playing ability but particularly in his character.

This is a great take on how he has proven his character in a short space of time, despite the knocks on him. Good observation. 👍🏻

I think what's sad about the older generation, is that some of them aren't willing to change and adapt. Holds them back and is very sad to see.

I totally agree with this, too much focus on the scandal/sensationalism side of journalism and not enough about the real people behind the jumpers....show us their human side!
And that is exactly what we got when Betts went to Stack and high fived him...the human side of footy!

Got to act hard, tough and unflinching, grim faced, do not react! above all else do not react and give your oppo nothing! No smiling cos it means your not fair dinkum and don't have your mind on your job!
That's a familiar refrain from my sporting days when i was young...
I reckon it takes more energy out of you playing the hard man and drains you...leaving nothing for your talent/skill...
Those that can play...play and those that can't play...play as the tough hard man and others make up the absurd tough hard rules to stop or put off those than can really play the game with talent and flair!
It's like sledging in cricket! As far as i am concerned sledging is cheating!
Ian Chappell and Co surrounding the best talented oppo batsman on the field and sledging them to try and put them off their game because they can't bowl him out!
Jardine with his leg side body line attack against Bradman...too good!
Lindrum where they changed the rules to help beat him...
Old school tough bully boys that cannot cope with playing against pure talent that runs rings around them...
Greening getting ko-ed behind play because he was so good...Balmey ko-ing Southby...
Incident after incident of old school tough playing...
I'd rather the laugh and the look of pure joy on Bett's face when he high fived Stacky cos he finally beat SS for once!
Two great players acknowledging a great battle based on talent and footy skill alone!
That;s great footy!
That's new school footy for me!
Players like Stack strutting their stuff cos they are that good! In competition with similiar oppo!
Talented enough to reveal their human side and then look forward to the next contest of skill!
The full expression of talent revealed for all to see...that is a joy for all! As Bruce would sing derrrr licious!!!
I for one am going to enjoy every minute of SS playing for the Tigers.

I think Eddie Betts is very well aware of his own ability. I’m sure he always plays it down when asked but quite simply he attempts these ridiculous shots from the boundary because he knows that he’s Eddie Betts and he can do that.

I don’t think Stacky could say anything to change that either way. Hell, Stacky smothered Betts previous attempt, didn’t stop him going again.

I thought it was terrific.

And yes, Stack was bowing down to Betts, but at the same time Betts was tipping his hat to Stack. "Brother, you are bound for greatness and next time we meet you may get the better of me, but I still have some tricks up my sleeve".

It was respect all round and in this day and age of anger and bitterness from all sides of the spectrum this was just a beautiful moment, where brilliance should be appreciated, brilliance made even more so by the tough workout he had been given by a younger and just as fierce opponent.

I have a feeling this unplanned moment will be replayed many times and immortalised in years to come.

Sometimes when two words fit, say, "insane," and "inate," you are better off going for a half way hybrid blend of the two, so I love what you did there, :oops:

Bloody auto correct.
I honestly thought it was inane lol
Now that you say it I should have realized it was inate
But I'll take it anyway insane on the membrane

Got to act hard, tough and unflinching, grim faced, do not react! above all else do not react and give your oppo nothing! No smiling cos it means your not fair dinkum and don't have your mind on your job!
That's a familiar refrain from my sporting days when i was young...
I reckon it takes more energy out of you playing the hard man and drains you...
Those that can play...play and those that can't play...play as the tough hard man and others make up the absurd tough hard rules to stop or put off those than can really play the game with talent and flair!
It's like sledging in cricket! As far as i am concerned sledging is cheating!
Ian Chappell and Co surrounding the best talented oppo batsman on the field and sledging them to try and put them off their game because they can't bowl him out!
Jarman with his leg side body line attack against Bradman...too good!
Lindrum where they changed the rules to help beat him...
Old school tough bully boys that cannot cope with playing against pure talent that runs rings around them...
Greening getting ko-ed behind play because he was so good...
Incident after incident of old school tough playing...
I'd rather the laugh and the look of pure joy on Bett's face when he high fived Stacky cos he finally beat SS for once!
Two great players acknowledging a great battle based on talent and footy skill alone!
That;s great footy!
That's new school footy for me!
Players like Stack strutting their stuff cos they are that good! In competition with similiar oppo!
Talented enough to reveal their human side and then look forward to the next contest of skill!
The full expression of talent revealed for all to see...that is a joy for all! As Bruce would sing derrrr licious!!!
I for one am going to enjoy every minute of SS playing for the Tigers.

I get what you're saying entirely and agree with most. I would like to add though that not every bloke who's acting hard and serious is putting on an act. I've never been one to try act alpha in normal life and act all overly manly to impress people but on the sporting field something just switches in me. I'm 100% committed, focused, serious, angry if things aren't going right etc. But that's just me. It's why I'm not a laid back super star like Stacky. Just different personalities. But I agree. There are plenty who are pretending to their detriment or being forced by an idiot coach etc.

Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack