Player Watch #5: Brandon Ellis - off to GC pick 39 as compo

Win/Win for both parties as it opens up a spot for one of our young guns and he gets the security and coin he wants.

All the best to Brando, I hope he contributes to making GC more competitive.

Of all the clubs he could goto, GC is great to return the favour of Prestia, Lynch and Caddy via Geelong.

Guy grew up pretty poor and continues to support his family (if I have my mail right). This contract sets him and his family up for the next decade, so I think it’s the right thing for him to do.

This opens a spot for the ~6 players (who are too good to play VFL) to grab a place in the 22 next season.

Good Luck #5!

Now it’s happened I feel sad.

Why ? I actually feel happy for both Tigers and Ellis

+positives
Ellis gets $3 mil and guarantee's his financial future
Will always be a life time RFC member and 2 x premiership player
Richmond get a pick 20/21 which is a good result for a pick#15 from 7 years ago
Richmond get salary cap relief
Ellis will probably play until 32/33 and could get an extra 1-2 years after his 5 year deal

- Negatives
Couple of bigfooty posters not happy

Wishing Brandon and his family all the best moving forward, is a dual premiership player and life member at Richmond and I have always appreciated his strengths and willingness to play his role for the team.
The chapter in Konrad Marshall's book about the HHH sessions and Brandon's pivotal role is great reading, Brandon was a big part of the great culture at Richmond.
Will be missed.

Thanks for your service Brando and wish you all the best in the future. Much loved character in the locker room and no doubt the boys would be sad seeing him leave.

May sound harsh on him but looking at the bigger picture from a list management and team perspective the reality is many positives come out of this. For a start his position is expendable as our midfield has genuine speed and endurance from top to bottom. With the way our list is shaping I firmly believe next year his spot would be stunting the development of a younger player who’s willing to put his body on the line for 4 quarters. Let’s face it, if Ellis hasn’t become that player yet in his career to date he most likely never will be.

No way our list management would be in line with due diligence offering him anywhere near what GC has. He simply had to take the offer and good on him for doing so, personally I think they’re bonkers giving him 3 mil over 5.

Definitely the biggest positive is it frees up more cash to make sure we’re able to secure our young talent moving forward. No doubt this is our main priority going forward. Warding off the inevitable poachers by being in a position to offer competitive deals is essential to keeping us at the top for as long as possible. It’s a tough industry with hard calls having to be made each year, but from a list management perspective letting Brando walk was one of the easier calls.

better stick to evolution and supercoach mate, much more your style, if hes a good ordinary player why you backpeddling and too scared to bet AGAINST him as top 5 in JD
im pretty sure you been spruiking for at least 10 ahead of him for JD and easily replaceable, not best 22 going forward etc etc etc rah rah rah. hardwick loves him coz hes a bloody good footballer and and fantastic role player.

Well i was close there was 9 ahead of him at round 8, Ill let you know next year which "supercoach" league im in ;)

But yes at the end of the year there was 10 ahead of him !

Wish him nothing but the best. He will always be a Richmond man and I hope he can help make a big difference at Gold Coast.

Might help us make room for that Alex Rance guy in our starting 22 as well.

Good luck to him, he’s a dual premiership player for us and will always be a part of Richmond’s history and played a big role in changing our culture that’s brought us flags that most of us thought we’d never see.
Would have struggled to be a regular next year with the talent coming through but now he has security and can set up himself and his parents.

i’ve been waiting for it
;) So will you join my supercoach league ? Sorry Gun you were right might have been a better response :D:D:D

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank @Bazzar
for immediately arranging the Bottle of Scotch we bet on and thank him publicly for being a true 'Richmond Man' and congratulating me.
Thanks Mate

I was his biggest supporter here.

Came to the club like this

Brandon+Ellis+TAC+Cup+Rd+9+Northern+Knights+PcEKaoD_kQhl.jpg

Leaves with 2 premiership medals.

Best wishes to him - I think he has served us well, but is probably coming to the end of his prime with our team and will definitely free up our list. He also helped us during the 1st part of the season with so many injuries etc.

He should be a great inclusion for his next team's list.

He may have been judged a bit harshly by some of the Big Footy commentators - BUT - Dimma seemed to back him, week in and week out - and I'll just point out I have a bit of faith in Dimma - and when Dimma talks footy I tend to listen.

Then again maybe Brandon read some of the comments about him on these boards and that swayed his decision ….;)

Thanks Brandon for your contribution to our club and good luck.

Player Watch #5: Brandon Ellis - off to GC pick 39 as compo