5maxwell.jpg

D.O.B: June 3, 1983
HEIGHT: 190cms
WEIGHT: 90kgs
JUMPER NO: 5
RECRUITED FROM: St Joesph's (VCFL)/Geelong, U18's North Ballarat
CAREER MATCHES: 72​

IN THE BEGINNING

Nick Maxwell was born on June 3, 1983 in Victoria.
He was recruited from the Geelong Falcons U18's and he also played for Nth Ballarat in the VFL before being picked up in the rookie draft by Collingwood in 2002.
He was promoted in 2004 for Tom Davidson who went on the long term injury list.
He debuted on May 21, 2004 in Rnd 9 against the Adealide Crows.
He went on to play 10 matches for the season as a hard running defender.
He was elevated onto the Senior List for the 2005 season.​

SEASON 2005

Before Nick got a game in '05 he spent 2 weeks in the stands until he had a breakthrough at the expense of Ryan Lonie, who was dropped due to poor form after Rnd 2.
Nick played in Rnd 3 and did not miss another match for the season. Hie presence got more physical and he showed he could be a top class defender and his skills were improving every week.​

His best two matches for the season were against the Swans at Telstra Stadium and the Lions at the GABBA.
He went on to boot 6 goals for the season and made them count at times that were needed in the quarter to help with the momentum.
He was only 22 at this stage and he was playing like a man on a mission.​

SEASON 2006

Nick had a solid start to the '06 season. He was putting his small frame into every contest, playing an intimidating style of football. In Rnd 10, Collingwood took on the Brisbane Lions and put his body on the line to retrieve a hard ball get and was crunched by Jonathan Brown and in the collision he broke his leg. He missed the next 6 weeks with the fracture.
After coming back from his leg, Nick played the remaining games for the season.​

Unfortunately the Pies bowed out of the '06 finals with a disappointing performance against the Dogs in the first elimination final.​

He also got involved in the AFLPA as Collingwood's Alternate Delegate alongside Nathan Buckley.​

SEASON 2007

Nick played in every single game this year - 25 games in all. He really stepped up and improved in all aspects of his game and showed many people why his spot in the side is warranted!!
He showed pure grunt and true passion wearing the Collingwood jumper.
He had a bit of a rough patch in the middle of the season, but he picked up again when it mattered and played a very important role in the Pies finals campaign.​

Nick showed why he is such an important part of the Collingwood team during the finals, lifting when it mattered and making sure the opposition earned every possession they made. He was fierce with his tackles and also kept his opponents as quiet as he could.​

His season could be defined by his bone crushing tackles and it was clearly on display in the Preliminary Final against the Cats when he laid one of the best tackles ever seen on Max Rooke (they arent only my words either haha)
The Pies bowed out of the '07 finals with a narrow loss to the Cats in the Prelim. final but showed an awful to suggest teams should be worried in the new season.​

Nick has also shown himself to be quite a leader on and off the field this year, and was rewarded when he was named in the 2007 leadership group. Many have tipped this young man to take over the reins as the next Collingwood Captain. He has my vote!!!
He has also taken on the responsibility of an AFLPA Executive delegate, taking over from Nathan Buckley this year.​

This year Nick was nominated for the AFLPA's Robert Rose Award for the most courageous player.​

Nick finished his season off in style by winning both the Darren Millane Award for Best Clubman and also the Gavin Brown Award for the most courageous.
Congratulations Nick.​

Season 2008 is coming and Nick is in for a big one and I let hope he can add Collingwood Captain to his already outstanding (to me anyway) resume.​

2007 Statistics
Round Date Vs K H P M HO T FF FA G B
Round 1 31/03/2007 Kangaroos 8 1 9 6 0 3 0 2 1 1
Round 2 07/04/2007 Eagles 8 6 14 6 1 5 2 1 0 0
Round 3 13/04/2007 Tigers 2 2 4 1 2 3 0 1 0 0
Round 4 21/04/2007 Power 7 6 13 5 0 7 1 1 1 1
Round 5 25/04/2007 Bombers 6 6 12 6 0 4 0 0 0 1
Round 6 05/05/2007 Crows 7 4 11 5 0 2 0 0 0 1
Round 7 12/05/2007 Blues 8 8 16 5 0 6 0 2 0 0
Round 8 20/05/2007 Bulldogs 5 6 11 3 4 3 1 0 0 1
Round 9 26/05/2007 Lions 7 8 15 4 0 1 1 1 0 0
Round 10 01/06/2007 Freo 7 6 13 2 3 4 2 2 1 0
Round 11 11/06/2007 Demons 4 5 9 2 2 3 1 1 0 0
Round 12 23/06/2007 Swans 6 5 11 5 2 5 0 0 0 0
Round 13 01/07/2007 Hawks 8 6 14 8 3 3 2 1 0 0
Round 14 07/07/2007 Saints 2 5 7 1 1 3 0 1 0 0
Round 15 14/07/2007 Cats 8 5 13 4 1 5 2 0 1 0
Round 16 21/07/2007 Bombers 3 6 9 3 0 3 1 1 0 0
Round 17 28/07/2007 Lions 5 9 14 6 0 3 1 0 4 0
Round 18 04/08/2007 Blues 4 5 9 3 3 1 1 4 0 0
Round 19 10/08/2007 Tigers 3 8 11 2 0 4 1 0 0 0
Round 20 17/08/2007 Demons 4 7 11 6 1 2 0 2 0 0
Round 21 25/08/2007 Swans 8 4 12 3 3 3 2 1 0 0
Round 22 31/08/2007 Crows 6 8 14 6 1 5 1 0 0 0​

Player Statistics - 2007 Finals Season
Finals Week 1 08/09/2007 Swans 8 4 12 2 1 6 2 1 0 0
Finals Week 2 14/09/2007 Eagles 6 5 11 3 0 5 2 2 0 0
Finals Week 3 21/09/2007 Cats 6 2 8 1 0 9 2 1 0 0

maxwell-3.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9PdyUxQ6fQA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CS3D16ZurCM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ANlcNCpUlso

Re: #???? Nick "THE BRUISER" Maxwell

Sorry guys, I have no idea how to put the video in here hence the links only hehehe!!!

Here are some of my fave pics of Nick hehe!!!

91060116.jpg

16384.jpg

12741.jpg

97034233.jpg

They would be better if I could bloody work out how to make them bigger hehe!!

maxwell-1.gif

D.O.B: June 3, 1983
HEIGHT: 190cms
WEIGHT: 90kgs
JUMPER NO:
RECRUITED FROM: St Joesph's (VCFL)/Geelong, U18's North Ballarat
CAREER MATCHES: 72​

IN THE BEGINNING

Nick Maxwell was born on June 3, 1983 in Victoria.
He was recruited from the Geelong Falcons U18's and he also played for Nth Ballarat in the VFL before being picked up in the rookie draft by Collingwood in 2002.
He was promoted in 2004 for Tom Davidson who went on the long term injury list.
He debuted on May 21, 2004 in Rnd 9 against the Adealide Crows.
He went on to play 10 matches for the season as a hard running defender.
He was elevated onto the Senior List for the 2005 season.​

SEASON 2005

Before Nick got a game in '05 he spent 2 weeks in the stands until he had a breakthrough at the expense of Ryan Lonie, who was dropped due to poor form after Rnd 2.
Nick played in Rnd 3 and did not miss another match for the season. Hie presence got more physical and he showed he could be a top class defender and his skills were improving every week.​

His best two matches for the season were against the Swans at Telstra Stadium and the Lions at the GABBA.
He went on to boot 6 goals for the season and made them count at times that were needed in the quarter to help with the momentum.
He was only 22 at this stage and he was playing like a man on a mission.​

SEASON 2006

Nick had a solid start to the '06 season. He was putting his small frame into every contest, playing an intimidating style of football. In Rnd 10, Collingwood took on the Brisbane Lions and put his body on the line to retrieve a hard ball get and was crunched by Jonathan Brown and in the collision he broke his leg. He missed the next 6 weeks with the fracture.
After coming back from his leg, Nick played the remaining games for the season.​

Unfortunately the Pies bowed out of the '06 finals with a disappointing performance against the Dogs in the first elimination final.​

He also got involved in the AFLPA as Collingwood's Alternate Delegate alongside Nathan Buckley.​

SEASON 2007

Nick played in every single game this year - 25 games in all. He really stepped up and improved in all aspects of his game and showed many people why his spot in the side is warranted!!
He showed pure grunt and true passion wearing the Collingwood jumper.
He had a bit of a rough patch in the middle of the season, but he picked up again when it mattered and played a very important role in the Pies finals campaign.​

Nick showed why he is such an important part of the Collingwood team during the finals, lifting when it mattered and making sure the opposition earned every possession they made. He was fierce with his tackles and also kept his opponents as quiet as he could.​

His season could be defined by his bone crushing tackles and it was clearly on display in the Preliminary Final against the Cats when he laid one of the best tackles ever seen on Max Rooke (they arent only my words either haha)
The Pies bowed out of the '07 finals with a narrow loss to the Cats in the Prelim. final but showed an awful to suggest teams should be worried in the new season.​

Nick has also shown himself to be quite a leader on and off the field this year, and was rewarded when he was named in the 2007 leadership group. Many have tipped this young man to take over the reins as the next Collingwood Captain. He has my vote!!!
He has also taken on the responsibility of an AFLPA Executive delegate, taking over from Nathan Buckley this year.​

This year Nick was nominated for the AFLPA's Robert Rose Award for the most courageous player.​

Nick finished his season off in style by winning both the Darren Millane Award for Best Clubman and also the Gavin Brown Award for the most courageous.
Congratulations Nick.​

Season 2008 is coming and Nick is in for a big one and I let hope he can add Collingwood Captain to his already outstanding (to me anyway) resume.​

2007 Statistics
Round 1 31/03/2007 Kangaroos 8 1 9 6 0 3 0 2 1 1
Round 2 07/04/2007 Eagles 8 6 14 6 1 5 2 1 0 0
Round 3 13/04/2007 Tigers 2 2 4 1 2 3 0 1 0 0
Round 4 21/04/2007 Power 7 6 13 5 0 7 1 1 1 1
Round 5 25/04/2007 Bombers 6 6 12 6 0 4 0 0 0 1
Round 6 05/05/2007 Crows 7 4 11 5 0 2 0 0 0 1
Round 7 12/05/2007 Blues 8 8 16 5 0 6 0 2 0 0
Round 8 20/05/2007 Bulldogs 5 6 11 3 4 3 1 0 0 1
Round 9 26/05/2007 Lions 7 8 15 4 0 1 1 1 0 0
Round 10 01/06/2007 Freo 7 6 13 2 3 4 2 2 1 0
Round 11 11/06/2007 Demons 4 5 9 2 2 3 1 1 0 0
Round 12 23/06/2007 Swans 6 5 11 5 2 5 0 0 0 0
Round 13 01/07/2007 Hawks 8 6 14 8 3 3 2 1 0 0
Round 14 07/07/2007 Saints 2 5 7 1 1 3 0 1 0 0
Round 15 14/07/2007 Cats 8 5 13 4 1 5 2 0 1 0
Round 16 21/07/2007 Bombers 3 6 9 3 0 3 1 1 0 0
Round 17 28/07/2007 Lions 5 9 14 6 0 3 1 0 4 0
Round 18 04/08/2007 Blues 4 5 9 3 3 1 1 4 0 0
Round 19 10/08/2007 Tigers 3 8 11 2 0 4 1 0 0 0
Round 20 17/08/2007 Demons 4 7 11 6 1 2 0 2 0 0
Round 21 25/08/2007 Swans 8 4 12 3 3 3 2 1 0 0
Round 22 31/08/2007 Crows 6 8 14 6 1 5 1 0 0 0​

Player Statistics - 2007 Finals Season
Finals Week 1 08/09/2007 Swans 8 4 12 2 1 6 2 1 0 0
Finals Week 2 14/09/2007 Eagles 6 5 11 3 0 5 2 2 0 0
Finals Week 3 21/09/2007 Cats 6 2 8 1 0 9 2 1 0 0

maxwell-3.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9PdyUxQ6fQA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CS3D16ZurCM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ANlcNCpUlso

Probably better to use a link anyway.

Here are the latest two news articles on Nick. Enjoy reading!!

New Pies captain 'won't copy Buckley'

2:07 PM Tue 11 December, 2007
By Sam Lienert

CTV - Watch Nick Maxwell's Tuesday press conference

FOLLOWING Nathan Buckley into the Collingwood captaincy will be one of football's more daunting challenges, but Nick Maxwell says he will stamp his own style on the job if given the chance.
The reliable 24-year-old defender is rated as one of the top contenders for the honour but Maxwell says there are probably about six players in the running. "Who could fill Nathan Buckley's shoes? Obviously that's the toughest gig around," Maxwell said. "But everyone would stamp their own authority on it and everyone does it in different ways, so I'd like to do it. "But as I said, there's half-a-dozen guys who are in line and they'd all be more than capable and I'd be happy to support every one of them."

The field of options for the Magpies' captaincy was thrown wide open by James Clement's shock retirement at the end of last season, as he had been seen as Buckley's obvious successor. Maxwell's main rivals for the job would probably be Josh Fraser, Scott Burns, Heath Shaw, Tarkyn Lockyer and Ben Johnson.
But he said a large group of players were stepping up to provide extra leadership in the pre-season, after the retirements of Buckley, Clement and fellow veteran Paul Licuria.
"There's a lot of guys who are standing up," he said. "We've got 26 guys [aged] 21 or younger, so it's a pretty young squad, but there's a lot of experience there as well."
Maxwell said the captaincy was probably still nearly three months from being decided and the more pressing issue was to fast-track the progress of the Magpies' youth brigade and work on their game plan.
With Collingwood's pre-season two weeks shorter than last year, after reaching a preliminary final this year, he said they were doing more game-oriented training, working in specialist groups as defenders, forwards and midfielders.
There were high expectations of at least reaching the Grand Final in 2008, after getting within five points of Geelong in the preliminary final. "As a playing group we know where we want to go and what we want to achieve and we know how to get there now," Maxwell said. "We know how close we got and we're sort of ready to go and that's the way we're aiming."

Nick Maxwell says he's ready for Collingwood captaincy

Gareth Trickey
December 11, 2007 12:32pm

ASPIRING Collingwood captain Nick Maxwell says he is ready to take the reins from retired skipper Nathan Buckley if called on.
Maxwell said today there were at least six other candidates in the mix for the top job.

“If they offered it (the captaincy) to you you’d take it but there are half a dozen guys who are in that boat and a chance to take it,” Maxwell said.

“It’s not a focus for us at the moment, it’s still two and a half months away so at this stage we’re just trying to work on our game plan and get the young guys up to scratch for when we need them.”

Maxwell had his hands full today taking on the best budding footballers in Victoria in the annual Bega Cup Grand Final at Keilor Recreation Reserve.

Keilor Primary School earned the right to play the Magpies after winning the Victorian Primary Schools Sports Association football competition.

The match was close a contest with Keilor edging out their heavyweight opponents by six points, Keilor 3.6 (24) to Collingwood 3.0 (18).

Maximum interest Pie captaincy

16 December 2007 Herald Sun
Jackie Epstein

COLLINGWOOD defender Nick Maxwell has enhanced his claims for the club captaincy after inheriting Nathan Buckley's No. 5 jumper.

Maxwell recently accepted the honour from retired skipper Buckley and will move from No. 27.

Maxwell is fittingly in the mix to replace Buckley as captain.

The 24-year-old was promoted to the club's leadership group this year and is a member of the AFL Players' Association executive.

Buckley retired at the end of last season after 280 games, a Brownlow Medal, a Norm Smith Medal and six Copeland trophies.

Maxwell spoke recently about his prospects, saying he was vying with at least six other players for the captaincy.

Among them are ruckman Josh Fraser, veteran midfielder Scott Burns, Tarkyn Lockyer and teenager Scott Pendlebury.

"Who could fill Nathan Buckley's shoes?" Maxwell said. "Obviously that's the toughest gig around.

"I'd love to do it, but there are half a dozen guys who are in line and they'd all be more than capable."

Magpie president Eddie McGuire told the AFL website it was an exciting time in the aftermath of Buckley's nine-year reign as captain.

"Nathan Buckley was such a wonderful captain, he was the longest serving captain in the history of the Collingwood Football Club . . . we want to give the boys a chance to step out from his shadow," McGuire said.

"Already we've seen guys like Josh Fraser, who probably in the last couple of years hasn't shown a great desire to be in the leadership group, now really wanting to be in the leadership group.

"Far from having a void with Nathan's decision to retire, we've got a very, very open field and, in fact, an amazing decision to make for the future of our club.

"The great thing for our club is that we've got a Melbourne Cup field full of candidates."

McGuire said there was no hurry to make a decision, but was adamant there would be one captain.

Buckley said he was comfortable with the options available to replace him.

"This year, we had leaders popping up left, right and centre," he said.

"No matter how old they were, they were leading by example, so I hold no fears for the leadership of Collingwood.

"We've had some guys where the penny's dropped in the middle tier . . . and they realise that every year they're getting closer to the oldest guy on the list and they're taking responsibility."

My pic just for me!!!! Thanks Snag Breac!!! You made my day when you said you got it for me!!! Your a champ!!!!

86hwsv4.jpg

NICK FOR CAPTAIN!!!!

My pic just for me!!!! Thanks Snag Breac!!! You made my day when you said you got it for me!!! Your a champ!!!!

86hwsv4.jpg

NICK FOR CAPTAIN!!!!

No worries, LuvMaxforCap, I'm only sorry I didn't get his autograph for you. My two assistants (huh!) who were looking after essential reporter tools like notebooks had disappeared and I couldn't find them. They'd wandered into the shop for an spending-fest, and to hell with the real work in hand! But he'd have been happy to give you his autograph - he'd have written it in blood! Maxi - always maximum output.

Its all good mate!! Yeah a sig with the #5 on it would have been awesome, but I shall get that in due time hahaha!!! I am still ever so appreciative that you got him to pose on his own just for me!!! Thanks again!!! Your awesome!!!

I didn't think that I would like the look of this!! But I must admit he doesnt look half bad!!!

5maxwell.jpg

Good work Nick!! You will totally do this jumper proud mate!!!!

Sorry people have been having trouble with my internet so havent been able to log on until now, and even now I'm borrowing a computer!! Will be back on line as soon as possible!! Cheers!!

Luvlicca!!!!

How Pies’ No.5 was hit for six

2:14 PM Thu 17 January, 2008 |
By Ben Broad
for collingwoodfc.com.au
News

COLLINGWOOD hard man Nick Maxwell says he was “hit for six” the day recently-retired Magpies champ Nathan Buckley asked him to take over the club’s most famous number.
Maxwell will wear the No.5 jumper from 2008, although the 24 year-old admitted to reservations about taking on such a responsibility.
Magpie greats including Copeland Trophy-winner Barry Price and triple grand finalist Ron Wearmouth have worn the No.5 jumper.
Six-time Copeland Trophy winner Buckley surprised Maxwell on an end-of-season trip the pair took with teammate Josh Fraser.
“As soon as we sat on the plane to go, as soon as we sat down he said, ‘I want to get this out of the way right now, I want you to wear my number’,” Maxwell recalled.
“It sort of hit me for six because I’d never even considered it at all. It had never crossed my mind.”
It’s fair to say Maxwell’s mind on the way to San Diego and Las Vegas was racing, with the 72-gamer uncertain how to respond.
“At first I sort of said ‘Oh, I’m not too keen on doing it’, obviously because of who he was and I suppose the pressures that would come with that,” he said.
“But after I spoke to a few people I realised the influence he had on my career and that it would be the right thing to do and just out of respect for him.
“If that was his request then I was happy to do it … and I think he’s pretty happy with me saying I’d do it.”
Joking that he was sorry he would be disappointing the Magpies masses who did have his old No.27 on their Collingwood jumper – “both of them” – Maxwell said he was looking forward to “having a few more people with my number on their backs!”
Some Magpie faithful believe the move could be symbolic of things to come for Maxwell, who is among a group of players in contention for the captaincy Buckley has also vacated.
The club leaves for South Africa and Dubai this weekend, but Maxwell doesn’t believe the trip will play a huge part in captaincy permutations.
“I think that by this stage Mick [Malthouse] knows who the candidates are and who’s a chance and who’s not,” he said.
“It [the captaincy] is not really a focus for us, it’s still sort of six or eight weeks away from being decided so at this stage all we’re trying to do is get our team up to where we have to be, get them up to the game plan and make sure the young guys know what they’re talking about.”
Maxwell said the captaincy was likely to be rotated between the senior players during the pre-season, with an announcement unlikely until shortly before the AFL season.

looks like he has put on some much needed bulk which is good to see.

I actually thought the same Loki! I think thats only going to help him this season. He was getting pushed out occassionally, but he did certainly did improve in the latter stages of 07.

I hope he has a ripper season, and shows all of his critics he is worthy of his spot!!!!

Maxwell puts value on the air up there

1:39 PM Mon 21 January, 2008 | Back

By Ben Broad

Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

News
How Pies’ No.5 was hit for six
Thu, Jan 17, 08 Before Collingwood departed for their South African training camp on Saturday, afl.com.au's Ben Broad caught up with leading Magpie Nick Maxwell.

Click here to see video of Maxwell explaining how Collingwood use the altitude training room.

COLLINGWOOD leader Nick Maxwell believes his club’s decision to invest in a state-of-the-art altitude training room has given the Magpies an immeasurable edge on their AFL rivals.

Maxwell says the altitude room, set up at the club not too long after the Magpies’ last overseas venture to Arizona, was purchased at the urging of club conditioning coach David Buttifant.

The Magpies left for South Africa on Saturday where they will engage in a two-and-a-half week dose of altitude training, before most of the squad departs for Dubai and the club’s round one NAB Cup clash with Adelaide.

So beneficial have the Magpies found their previous experiences at high altitude that Buttifant – who has worked with Australian Olympic teams in the past – believed Collingwood could gain an advantage by using the high-tech room.

“It’s pretty hard to put a percentage on it, but when you’re at an elite level like the AFL, only two or three per cent makes a massive difference,” Maxwell said.

“We’re not talking 10 or 20 per cent difference but if you can get a few per cent increase in your speed or your fitness … then it’s beneficial.”

Up to eight or ten players can use the room at once, either cycling, rowing or running on a treadmill.

The altitude room decreases the level of oxygen in the room and creates a high altitude-like environment or, as Maxwell says, “it feel like you’re breathing through a straw”.

While a lot of work is done in the room in the summer, the Magpies continue do use the room throughout the season proper.

Maxwell said the Magpies were best able to utilise the facility by maintaining fitness levels, also giving them greater time to work on skills and game-related drills.

“During the year it’s really helpful to maintain fitness without having to do that extra physical work,” Maxwell said.

“David Buttifant manages what we do … some players will need to go in a few more times than others, so it’s different for everyone but he knows what he’s doing and he does a good job with it all.”

The altitude training room has helped the Magpies prepare for their upcoming trip to South Africa and Dubai – a journey Maxwell thinks will be of enormous benefit to the young Collingwood side.

“You spend two or three weeks together so you get to go over whatever you need to go over, the game plan and talk about values and anything you want to chat about as a group,” he said.

Maxwell said he would be playing in the Pies’ NAB Cup opener – against Adelaide on February 9 – which will be played in Dubai.

Temperatures are only expected to be in the mid-20s despite the match being played at 1.45pm local time, although the 72-gamer said some of his more experienced teammates wouldn’t pull on the boots as a result of the AFL’s rule changes for the NAB Cup.

Under the new rules trial, the number of interchange players for each team will rise from six players to eight. However, each team will only be allowed a maximum of 16 interchanges per quarter – something that has drawn criticism from some clubs, including the Magpies.

“I’ll be playing [but] I think there’ll be a couple of the senior blokes who won’t be playing,” Maxwell said.

“It’s disappointing that they’ve [the AFL] changed it a couple of weeks out from the game but, I mean, the AFL make decisions and they run the competition and we can’t do a lot about it.”

Honing in on the season ahead

4:56 PM Thu 24 January, 2008 | Back
Nick Hulett
Exclusive to collingwoodfc.com.au

News

Nick Maxwell says the players are using the South Africa training camp to ensure they are fully equipped to achieve greater things in 2008.

With the club having used their high-altitude Arizona camps in November of 2005 and 2006 to acquire a fitness base for the pre-season, the South African camp is conditioning the players from both a fitness and match scenario standpoint, with the team preparing for the pre-season cup match against Adelaide in Dubai on February 9.

After arriving on Sunday evening at the club's base in Potchefstroom, about 120 kilometres south west of Johannesburg, the group had an intensive training run on Monday, before focusing more on strategy on Wednesday, with the differences to the Arizona camps noticeable.

"The training's a lot different which is good," Maxwell told collingwoodfc.com.au after Wednesday's session.

"We went to Arizona in November so it was more based on fitness and getting up and going, where as now we're looking at games, and I think everyone's preparing for games so I think they're enjoying it a bit more.

"Today was a bit lighter. Monday was going to be light, but I think everyone was pretty fresh and everyone wanted to get into it after having the weekend off and doing all the travelling, so everyone was keen to get into it and have a pretty solid hit out."

More specifically, on Wednesday the squad took the chance to focus on the game plan.

"Today was more based on stoppages, and we did a lot of different work with our structures and moving the ball forward.

"I think the boys got a lot out of it, especially the stoppage and midfield boys, they had a really good hit out, so it's going to be good for them come Friday to have the full structure at either end of the ground."

With leaders Nathan Buckley, James Clement and Paul Licuria retiring at the end of 2007, Maxwell has identified some young players who have made noticeable strides in their leadership.

"It's good to see Danny Stanley, Ryan Cook, Sam Iles, those sort of guys who are three year players now, and Sean Rusling, that group.

"They're showing a lot more direction and they're a lot more confident, because they're all coming off such good pre-seasons themselves, and they're all super fit, so those guys have come out of their shells a bit more now, they've been around a few years and are starting to realise they can play at the level. Those four guys are going really well."

While the on-field training has so far been done on a rugby ground, the players will be using an oval on Friday for an intra-club practice match, while the off-field training has involved using the world-class facilities at the North West University, which Maxwell described as "sensational".

While the physical benefits of training at altitude allow the players to place more aerobic stress on the body than if they were at sea level, Maxwell also explained the benefits of the group travelling together from a bonding point of view.

"Obviously we've only been here a few days, but I think what it's done is it's brought everyone closer together.

"We're a tight group and we spend a lot of time together, which is good because you get to know everyone a little bit better, and a lot of the new guys who have come through are fitting in really well."
In comparing this camp to previous camps in Arizona, there are also palpable culture differences that allow the players to live and learn about another foreign country.

"The one (major difference between South Africa and the United States) is probably the safety aspect, we're told to always be careful where we're going.

"The headlines in the newspaper in the last two days have been ‘rapist gets r*ped' and ‘three cops shoot one another', so it's been a little bit of an eye opener for us, so safety's probably the main one.

"Apart from that, just different facilities, and we went out to the slums, and got to see what it is like for some of the people here who live in little tin shacks and it's obviously pretty hard for them.

"So it was good to get down there, give out a few hats, and get to know them a little bit, and cheer up some of the orphaned kids who were around, so that was a good experience for us."

Some pics from day 3 too, well of Nick anyway!!!

DSC_0347.jpg

Here is Nick in action in the intra club match in day 13.
He seems to have bulked up a bit, looks impressive hehehe!!!!

DSC_0248.jpg

Not the best of games from Nick, but not a poor effort either. Hopefully this was just an off game and he will be right as rain sooner rather than later.

untitled1_173.jpg

DETAILS
ADELAIDE 0.3.2 2.9.4 2.12.74.15.10 (136)
COLLINGWOOD 0.3.3 0.4.50.7.100.7.13 (55)
GOALS
Adelaide: Goodwin 4 (SG), Sellar 3, McLeod 2, Burton 2, Reilly (SG), Douglas (SG), Stevens (SG), Tippett, Porplyzia, Knights, Maric, Vince.
Collingwood: Cloke, Reid, Medhurst, O'Bree, Bryan, Anthony, Lockyer.
BEST
Adelaide: Goodwin, Bock, Thompson, Sellar, Porplyzia, Knights.
Collingwood: H Shaw, R Shaw, Swan, O'Bree, Thomas, Maxwell.
AUSTRALIAN football yesterday made its Middle Eastern debut in a small green oasis amid the desert outside Dubai as a second-quarter scoring rampage lifted Adelaide to a commanding win over a disappointing Collingwood in the opening game of the NAB Cup.
As AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou cast his pre-season sights further afield yesterday — promising to pursue games in Japan, South Africa and the United States — the Crows set about dismantling the Pies, dominating the second quarter to end the game as a spectacle by half-time.
Staged on a polo field flanked by palm trees and polo ponies and accompanied by a loudspeaker blaring Cold Chisel and AC/DC, the Crows trailed the Magpies by a point at the first break, but made the most of almost every chance in the second term to lead 2.9.4 (76) to 0.4.5 (29) at half-time.
And while Collingwood pegged Adelaide back in the third quarter, kicking 3.5 to 3.3 in the term, the Crows steadied, keeping the Magpies goalless in the final quarter as they ran out comfortable winners, 4.15.10 (136) to 0.7.13 (55).
But it was the second quarter that would have pleased Adelaide coach Neil Craig. With a helpful breeze at their backs, the Crows looked superior from the outset, with Collingwood rarely entering its forward 50 in the opening 10 minutes.
Young Crows ruck pairing Ivan Maric and Kurt Tippett — carrying added responsibility entering this season after the serious knee injury to Rhett Biglands — had the better of Collingwood duo Josh Fraser and Chris Bryan.
The duo gave the Adelaide runners first use, as they kicked the opening seven goals of the second quarter in an 18-minute burst — including new Crows captain Simon Goodwin kicking the first of two super-goals in the second term.
Before the game, Demetriou announced that the competition planned to explore regular pre-season games in Japan, South Africa and the US on the back of yesterday's game.

“I wouldn't have imagined a day like this was possible five years ago," Demetriou said. "It's been an unbelievable experience. We've played games overseas before and I believe all sorts of things are logistically possible for us.
"South Africa certainly is a priority and so is Japan — with our Toyota partnership — and Los Angeles has appeal as part of our Australia Day celebrations over there. And we certainly plan to continue to rebuild our relationship with Ireland."
The AFL's corporate thrust into the United Arab Emirates was heavily sponsored and came at a loss to the competition of only $100,000 — a cost covered by Victorian Premier John Brumby, who flew into Dubai yesterday and immediately announced a $150,000 State Government injection into the league's international fund.
Adelaide chairman Bill Sanders said there were disappointed players who missed out, singling out Kris Massie and young ruckman Jonathon Griffin, who both flew to Dubai in the belief they would play.
Sanders said the Crows bought their entire squad minus rookies to Dubai at a cost to the club of $180,000.
"We'll do a complete debrief with the footy department," he said. "I would be confident of saying our club is supportive of international development of the game.
"In the past, we've been to New Zealand, we've played in South Africa and we know the need to develop overseas. We're also mindful that Australia doesn't get neglected in all of this."
Collingwood came to Dubai two days after the Crows, bearing mild signs of travel fatigue and a stomach bug that had affected one-third of the team.
But Magpies president Eddie McGuire praised the conditions as he arrived at the ground: "When Collingwood comes to play, the sun always shines."
Yesterday, it shone on the Crows.

#5 Nick "THE BRUISER" Maxwell