Free Agent # 6: Joe Daniher - derp Brisbane player

Anyone care to post the Herald Sun articles about us playing hard ball that have just been posted?

Nothing to it. Just a reheating if the day’s quotes. This is how they do, keep the nuffies fed with “DODORO!!” content

Essendon has declared it will keep father-son gem Joe Daniher at the club against his wishes next season unless Sydney cedes to its trade demands.

The gun spearhead has informed the club he wants to move to Sydney, but the Bombers are prepared to follow Geelong’s move with Tim Kelly last year and hold Daniher to his contract.

It means the Swans will have to consider forking out pick No.5 and possibly 9 (from Carlton for Tom Papley) as part of a mega deal to satisfy the Bombers.

The standoff comes as former Essendon captain Brendon Goddard said Daniher, 25, didn’t dedicate himself fully to his recovery from his first groin injury early last year.

Essendon doesn’t want to release Daniher now, as there are limited key forward replacement options in this year’s trade and draft periods.

The Bombers would be better-placed to try to gatecrash St Kilda’s plans to nab burgeoning tall Ben King or zero in on Greater Western Sydney free agent Jeremy Cameron at the end of next season.

While Daniher officially informed the club he wanted out on Sunday, Essendon list boss Adrian Dodoro said the Bombers intended on keeping Daniher and speedster Orazio Fantasia for 2020 and beyond.

“It’s our intention to keep Joe,” Dodoro said.

“He’s an All-Australian centre-half forward and a best-and-fairest winner at our club. He is coming into the peak years of his footy.

“We have expressed to him and his management team that we’ll be doing everything possible to keep him.”

If Essendon traded Daniher now it would be at risk of selling the gun forward at his lowest value after groin problems wrecked his 2018-19 seasons.

Daniher has played only 11 games in the past two years and is recovering from serious groin surgery in May.

Goddard, who played alongside Daniher until he retired last season, said the full-forward could have worked harder in the gym to repair his groins.

“I think he could have gone about it a better way with his rehabilitation and particularly the first time around to get himself right, or give himself the best chance,” Goddard said on RSN.

“And he still may have been in this situation and missed the whole year of footy, and had the surgery.

“But at the time, I didn’t think he dedicated himself hard enough to recovering and rehabilitation and give himself the best chance to get himself right.

“That is why it is a bit disappointing.”

However, Fantasia said there was nothing wrong with Daniher’s work ethic.

“He’s probably one of the hardest-working when he’s at the club, and I think he’s got the work-life balance really good,” Fantasia said in June.

“You need a break away from footy you can’t just be footy-footy-footy, otherwise you will go insane.”

Port Adelaide believes Fantasia will eventually ask for a trade back home but as of Monday were yet to be told of his official request.

The speedster has told people close to him that he wants to get home in this trade period and will never have a better chance given Daniher’s high-profile want-away request will take most of the limelight.

But Fantasia was meeting new managers today ahead of a decision either way, with

Port Adelaide still in the dark on Monday night.

It meant Essendon wasn’t even willing to discuss potential terms for the 24-year-old, with the Power holding picks No.10 and 29.

North Melbourne, Essendon and St Kilda have all expressed interest in 199cm swingman Dougal Howard.

But no club put a trade proposal to the Power about Howard, with Port Adelaide telling him he will play as a key forward if he honours his contract next year.

Could a fit Stewart, Hooker, McKernan/Brown play the tall roles with Stringer etc running around their feet?
McKernan had 1 touch to half time in the final in Perth. He finished with 4 disposals (2 rushed) and 2 hit outs. After a much improved season, let us down big time.

Brown and Stewart constantly get injuries when you need them the most.

Couldn’t see that combination ever winning a final.

McKernan had 1 touch to half time in the final in Perth. He finished with 4 disposals (2 rushed) and 2 hit outs. After a much improved season, let us down big time.

Brown and Stewart constantly get injuries when you need them the most.

Couldn’t see that combination ever winning a final.
Hey MarkG - after a considerable absence, I've noticed you've been posting a lot more the last week or so - it's good to have you back mate!

I would have thought there would be just as much pressure going to a new club on big bucks and a big price Sydney payed for him. At Essendon he was a father son.
When Buddy went to Sydney, the Hawks said he couldn’t mark over his head. He suddenly became a good mark. 4 pain killing injections each thumb prior to every game. You would expect them to inject Daniher in a similar way.

Money would be big for Joe and the expectation of a big performance huge. Buddy went missing for a season in Sydney to escape that pressure.

If Daniher thinks he can cruise around with no pressure, reckon he is completely wrong. Essendon fans would be far more forgiving of him.

When Buddy went to Sydney, the Hawks said he couldn’t mark over his head. He suddenly became a good mark. 4 pain killing injections each thumb prior to every game. You would expect them to inject Daniher in a similar way.

Money would be big for Joe and the expectation of a big performance huge. Buddy went missing for a season in Sydney to escape that pressure.

If Daniher thinks he can cruise around with no pressure, reckon he is completely wrong. Essendon fans would be far more forgiving of him.
Once that contract is signed though it doesn't matter. He gets his money whether he performs or not. If they throw 4mil at him now he would be crazy not to ask for a trade. Sets himself up for life.

We hold all the cards on Joe. He’s a restricted free agent. Sydney better cough up 5 and 9 if they want him then. Or Mcartin/5.

Thoughts on 2020 1st and Reid?

Sam Ried is the worst forward in the history of the game. Joke of an offer that wouldn't be considered for a second. '

Maybe GWS can give us our first round pick back and Finlayson. Pretty sure those two teams are in the same city, as that's the reason he wants to move it will be no problem sending him there instead.

He's allegedly sick of being in the Melbourne footy bubble and having trouble coping with the pressure of being the great hope of Essendon. If that's true then it qualifies as mental health related in my book.

And therein lays the problem today..

That sort of attitude seriously de-values genuine mental health issues. Everyone gets a prize, hey.

I come in peace.
I think you guys are going through what we were last year with Hannebery. He was the lifeblood of the club, Rising Star winner (played his first game for us while he was still at school), 3xAA, AFLCA Award winner, premiership player. However, he was on about $800k and looked like his body was shot. Along came the saints who offered to take him off our hands and it was a traumatic time for the fans. Basically, we gave him up for a couple of 2nd round picks even though he was still contracted. We didn't set the bar too high to get the deal done because we saw that the move may be good for both clubs. Did the saints get a steal? Maybe, but it turns out that if we had kept him then we would have paid another $800k this season for another 4 games.
We were able to get that money off our cap and the rumours last year were that we had a big fish in our sights. I don't know if JD was the fish, but if it was then this has been going on for some time. And let's face it, every club chats to contracted players all the time, so none of us can get on a high horse.
I feel for you guys because we were going through the same thing last year. I think that the worst thing to do would be to set the bar so high that the Swans wait for another year while you pay another year of his salary in your cap for how many games?

A bit different.Well, a lot different, actually.

The Swans were sick of Hannebery & his bad influence on younger players, and wanted to get rid of him. They would have taken a third round pick & laughed their way to the bank when the Saints paid overs. Impeccable source.

Having real life pressures on you is something everyone has. Having the skills to cope with it effectively and not let it drag you down and affect other parts of your life is a mental health issue. That qualifies for treatment too btw.

If it becomes chronic, that's an illness. It's a lot harder to treat, takes longer to heal and I suspect most never fully heal. Avoiding the triggers is often tempting because it gets rid of the immediate problem while you deal with the underlying things that are causing it.

At least that's my experience with it, and I've seen it plenty often enough.

Sam Ried is the worst forward in the history of the game. Joke of an offer that wouldn't be considered for a second. '

Maybe GWS can give us our first round pick back and Finlayson. Pretty sure those two teams are in the same city, as that's the reason he wants to move it will be no problem sending him there instead.
GWS don’t have the $$ to pay Daniher.

I’m Not Reid’s biggest fan- but as a lot of your players are in the window of their peak performance I assumed structurally you would want one.

McCartin was also discussed in MB but for the reasons above I don’t think he would fit your list profile. “worst forward in the history of the game” Is a bit much.

Sam Reid would be our best key forward.

GWS don’t have the $$ to pay Daniher.

I’m Not Reid’s biggest fan- but as a lot of your players are in the window of their peak performance I assumed structurally you would want one.

McCartin was also discussed in MB but for the reasons above I don’t think he would fit your list profile. “worst forward in the history of the game” Is a bit much.

Fact is, if the shoe was on the other foot, Swans wouldn’t accept that trade in a million years. I’d rather we have him for another year and get a compo pick.

I’ve got a really simple theory when it comes to approaching and getting players to nominate your club. If you ain’t willing to go all in don’t sit at the table. Sydney would have known we would want a kings ransom for Joe so there is no point checking the river now. Either go all in pay up or fold and move on and maybe if we don’t persuade him to stay like Francis. Maybe your cards will look better on the next flop.

Fact is, if the shoe was on the other foot, Swans wouldn’t accept that trade in a million years. I’d rather we have him for another year and get a compo pick.
Yep- fair enough.

What are the chances that Joes management are using this “nomination whilst contracted” as leverage to get a better long term contract offer from the Dons?

With his injury history he is vulnerable if he breaks down again next year in a contract year.

I am surprised that anyone would want to keep JD when he's made a specific request to leave the club, and even more surprised some want to match a RFA offer in 2020 if he stays at EFC in 2020.

Free Agent # 6: Joe Daniher - derp Brisbane player