Past #6: Shannon Grant - Sydney '95-'97 - traded to NM for W. Schwass - 243 games for NM (301 overall)

Was shagga unlucky to miss out on AAS.

• Yes

Votes: 8 80.0%
  • No

Votes: 2 20.0%

God, it seems like just yesterday he was drilling them from 50 out at the Corner Oval on Racecourse Road in the Flem Juniour under-11s.

Good on ya Shagga. A great footballer and a great career.

(I just reckon he could retire with two Norm Smiths)

I've heard tell that it came from the fact that he would be listed as Sha. Gr. on some teamsheets in juniours . But that sounds like bullshit to me.

Occasionally, I used to be nicknamed 'Shagga' by my teammates because my first name begins with 'Sha' (at least I think that's why), so it could be that.

Round 21

R21 vs Geelong L33 KP Conditions: Good, fine

Gameday statistics:
Kicks: 5 /186s Handballs: 5 / 118 Tackles: 1 / 32 Frees 0-0 Scoring: 0.0
Marks: 3 / 87 Ins50: 2 / 63 Clearances: 1 / 21 Assists: 3 / 22 Clangers: 2 / 37

My Rating out of 10. 4 / 105t
Season Average : 5.53
Season Scoring: 25.14

Summary: Collected 8 uncontested possessions mainly as a extra midfield link player without having any influence on the score sheet. Team were outplayed by a more desperate, harder running and busy Geelong outfit which didn't allow North & Shannon any leeway. Didn't waste much of his limited disposals which was a plus but still not the serviceable type of game we expected.

:( Really like Shagga, the way he goes about it, the way he has taught thomas and campell is great.

Hope he is kept at NM in some sort of role.

Congrats on a great career Shagga. One of the great sights in footy is watching Shagga pounce on the fall of the ball, balance up and nail it with that deadly left foot.

I'm also glad to see him go out on top.

Congrats Shagga on a magnificent career and thanks for some wonderful memories :thumbsu:

I'm sad that North is losing an out and out champion but think it's better that he bows out on his own terms rather than fading away in another season or two.

I'll be there on Saturday for his 300th and hope that the positive momentum that has been building at the club for the last couple of years can see him climbing the dais on the last Saturday in September and hoisting the Premiership Cup above his head one more time. (Unfortunately I won't be at the G on Grand Final day).

Shaggas goals in the 99 grandfinal is here with the highlight package. Enjoy!!

[YOUTUBE]HY1jEcDvEKw[/YOUTUBE]

Lovely shot of young Shagga and young Boomer celebrating yet another Grant goal, at about 4:12 in that clip. And I'd forgotten that ridiculous leg-break goal Grant kicked.

That 99 highlights video is classic viewing.

Motlop, Welsh and Mooney would have to be 3 of the luckiest premiership players in history :D

Oh, and I didn't mind seeing Ratten get flattened either ;)

Some of my fondest memories of Football involved Shannon Grant running down the centre of the ground and nailing a shot from 50 metres to put us a goal in front. Congratulations on a stellar career mate!

Just a top player all round. Thought he could of gone one more year but did the right thing in the end.
Going to pass on a wonderful legacy to 2 young players in Linsday Thomas & Matt Campbell(going to take the number 6 I believe).
Thanks for the memories, Shagga
Star!

Past #6: Shannon Grant - Sydney '95-'97 - traded to NM for W. Schwass - 243 games for NM (301 overall)