Past #7: Adam Simpson - 306 games for NM (95-09; 5th AT) - NM captain (04-08) - current WCE head coach

who is better boomer or simmo and who would win the brownlow

• boomer

Votes: 8 66.7%
  • simmo

Votes: 4 33.3%

AA selector Gerard Healey was talking Simmo's year up. Said it's quality cannot be overlooked.

I reckon the captain might be in the mix.

I ADMIT IT....IT WAS ME......I was one of those people who questioned Simmos place in the 22....but after the last few months of footy.....he is paramount to our recent success! I am sorry captain!

But *** he was good on the weekend...his ability to get to where the ball was and his effectiveness was first class! A true captains game and one of the best last quaters by a player for a while!:thumbsu:

Kudos, bornaroo77.

Respect for having the ghoulies to admit your error in judgement.

Actually, I was just going over a few old Simmo threads and, believe me, it was more than just you taking chunks out of him. I wonder if any of those posters will also put their hand up as you have done ?

I'm sorry, I don't usually go in for the whole naming and shaming thing (unless, of course, it's ZondorFish), but dissing Simmo is just wrong.

The bloke is an absolute champion.

As Zebra said....AA form ??

I gave Simmo 3 votes, he was super.

Interesting observations from where I watched the game v Freo.

(*) My relatives from the missus side are 1 eyed Carlton pr1cks and never support North at all. Actually always have cheap jibes and never have displayed any interest in NMFC. Yet yesterday v. Freo, they watched the game and....
(1) They were oohing and ahhing at all the right times, cheering when we nailed clinch goals, Petrie's huge mark, JWS poise etc etc, and HIGH FIVED me when we won :eek:
F'n Awesome

(2) Two of them asked who No.7 was!!!

Yesterday was huge.
(You're still Carlton pr!cks;))

Same with my girlfriend. Must REALLY like me because she has absolutely no time for footy and still puts up with me disappearing most weekends.
Anyway yesterday she spends the first half looking at her nails in boredom, by the end of the game she said her heart was pumping like crazy. :D Maybe I'll sway her one day, hard work when she followed the tiges as a kid. That would put anyone off footy.

AA selector Gerard Healey was talking Simmo's year up. Said it's quality cannot be overlooked.

You believe Gerardo?? he's a liar. He's stringing us along. I'm far from convinced although I agree with your opinion Z.

I'm pretty sure that Healy became a very big Simpson fan on one of the Ireland tours. He said that he didn't know much about Simpson pre-tour, but after spending time with him, said that he was a superb leader.

KANGAROO skipper Adam Simpson isn’t comparing the 2007 Roos to the club's dual premiership unit of the 1990s, but says the synergies between the two groups are striking: A senior core driving a young, energetic group.

Ten years ago it was Wayne Carey, Wayne Schwass, Anthony Rock, Craig Sholl, Glenn Archer, David King, Dean Laidley and Mick Martyn leading the likes of Simpson, Shannon Grant and Peter Bell to premiership glory.

Today it’s Simpson, Glenn Archer, Grant, Jess Sinclair and Brent Harvey leading youngsters Andrew Swallow, Scott McMahon, Hamish McIntosh and Jesse Smith to the finals.

All are being led by Laidley, who has staved off the critics to become hot property on the coaching market.

“Even playing in the 1990s, the senior players played well and then the younger players feed off that. It starts with your leaders,” Simpson said.

“If they are doing their bit, then the cream comes from the young guys and I reckon that’s what happened in the mid-90s and, to a certain degree, what is happening this year.

“When the senior players are doing their bit, the young guys can bob up and do their thing.”

The younger brigade certainly did that in the 64-point demolition of the Demons with McMahon snaring three goals, Smith grabbing 12 telling possessions off half-back and McIntosh dominant in the ruck.

Simpson, who felt the game was potentially a danger for the Roos, given the 200th appearance of Melbourne’s Russell Robertson, said it was pleasing to win so comprehensively.

“It had a scent of danger I suppose,” he said.

“I reckon we did what we had to do and in the end ran away with it, which was a bonus.

“Good teams win games they are meant to win.

“Hopefully we can become like that. Coming from last year, sometimes you come into games hoping you are ready to go, but I don’t think we’ve faulted this year in terms of that.

“We’ve pretty much come to play each week and that’s been the biggest improvement for the year.”

The 31-year-old skipper, who recently signed a deal keeping him at the club for two more years, said the Kangaroos' tradition dictated the playing group would not get ahead of itself.

“I think we are always like that, it’s just the way our culture is I suppose,” he said.

“With the personalities around the club, I don’t think we’ll get too far ahead of ourselves.

“I can’t remember a time when we haven’t come to play and the coach is driving that pretty strongly and we are trying to back that up.

“The coach is always saying, 'Just worry about the moment in front of us, don’t look too far forward and don’t look back'.”

Asked whether he thought the Roos were a good side, the skipper was forthright with his answer.

“Bloody oath,” he said.

“We have proven we are capable this year but there is still that feeling of we can’t take it for granted because we’ve come such a long way. It feels like if we take our foot off the pedal, we could really drop off.

“You only have to look at the ladder to realise how tight it is.”

With a sea of fans cramming into the rooms to celebrate after the game, Simpson took time to reflect on how far the side had come in 12 months.

“It’s a bit easier this year,” he said of skippering the side.

“I probably didn’t realise how low we actually got last year. It was a very difficult year because we where 2-9 at the break and the season was over. Before last year, we hadn’t experienced being out of finals contention at the half-way mark.

“I think we learned a lot about our leadership group and we stuck together pretty tight.”

On Sunday, the leadership group - including Simpson, Glenn Archer, Brent Harvey, Daniel Harris, Drew Petrie, Brady Rawlings, Jess Sinclair, Shannon Grant and the injured Nathan Thompson - met after the team meeting in what Simpson would only describe as a “just a meeting”.

All is forgiven Simmo I loves ya, has taken his game to another level this year and I class him as one of the elite midfeilders in the comp now.

30-15

YOTR serving.:D

Don't mind the occasional bump thread when you bag yourself.
How is "stop wasting your post" a winner? It's a forced error.

Nim should go and bake me a cake.

Game. Set. Match.

Jimmy's Hotdogs - I'll be over to shake your hand shortly.

LOL @ Nim posting a picture online of him baking that cancels out any insult he tries to make to others.

Karen Lyon | September 4, 2007

AS THEY embark upon an unexpected September campaign, Kangaroos coach Dean Laidley and his captain Adam Simpson have warned that the Roos are better prepared for the contest than they have been in recent ill-fated attempts at the flags.

The Roos have not won a final since beating Hawthorn in the first semi-final of 2000 and were humiliated in their most recent appearance, losing an elimination final to Port Adelaide in 2005 by 87 points.

Former Kangaroo defender and Geelong captain Leigh Colbert believes the loss, which was his last game, will hold the young Roos in good stead. "We just got absolutely smacked on the day. We were rapt to get the opportunity to play but we got in there and got totally thumped in half a game of footy and the day was over," Colbert said.

"The players that did play that day, or who were involved in the club, will not forget it and they are certainly not (about) to let it happen again.

"They did all the work to get there and, once we got their, we let ourselves down. There probably has been a bit more resolve and they will be a bit more steely because two years ago we got there and we got knocked on the head."

Colbert believes his former teammates are better prepared for having experienced at least one final and thinks the Roos are a more even unit than they have been in recent years.

"Their year has been outstanding and I think they are more evenly balanced since I was there two years ago. They have got a much more balanced level, there isn't that drop away that there probably was two years ago.

"You think of guys who are now 50-game-plus players, guys like Daniel Harris and Wells and these guys. It was only one game of course, against Port Adelaide and it didn't really last long, but they are in better shape in terms of those players have at least been there once before and seen it and experienced it."

Simpson believes the Roos were happy just to make the finals in 2005 but simply showing up will not be acceptable now. "… We were pretty happy that we made the eight. I think now we see that we've got a really good opportunity to get deep in September, so it's a little bit different.

"We've been preparing really well for the last five weeks, it's been a lot different to 2005. You can tell the boys are a little bit fresher and there's still a bit of momentum."

While the Roos have been rated $4 outsiders by the bookies, Colbert gives them some chance of beating the Cats. "They give themselves a good chance, it's 1-1 for the year to date and in the top eight anyone can beat anyone on the day."

The coach has asked his team to dig deep for its second crack at the Cats in a month. "Everyone's on a level playing field (now) and it's about who performs best this weekend. We'll prepare our boys like we have done every week and we'll send them out there with a confidence that they can win the game of football," Laidley said.

"I've certainly asked the players and the whole staff to prepare like they've never prepared before, for all the staff to go to the nth degree so that the players can run out on Sunday afternoon being the best prepared that they've been this year.

"Where we are now, mentally and physically, we're probably the best prepared that we've been since I've been at the football club."

1.) "We'll prepare our boys like we have done every week..."

2.) "I've certainly asked the players and the whole staff to prepare like they've never prepared before..."

Whoa Dean! Love ya mate, but what the fcuk does that mean?

DP

1.) "We'll prepare our boys like we have done every week..."

2.) "I've certainly asked the players and the whole staff to prepare like they've never prepared before..."

Whoa Dean! Love ya mate, but what the fcuk does that mean?

DP

"Yeah, nah...."

I like the bit about "deep in September". Heard Simmo say that on Fox Sports today. "Deep in September".....sounds like the kind of pr0n flick that dreams are made of. But then there's no doubting that a Premiership this year would be about as sexual as it gets.

Past #7: Adam Simpson - 306 games for NM (95-09; 5th AT) - NM captain (04-08) - current WCE head coach