Player Watch #9: Trent Cotchin is an obscenely good 3 x Premiership Captain, Victorian Captain & Brownlow Medalist

What complete and utter garbage. Cotchin is one of the smarter players in our side and knows where to go to win the footy. Always been a contested/clearance beast, and without him last year, we’d have never gotten to finals.
He has never been used as a permanent forward in games from my recollection, so therefore has no history in the position. From albeit internal practice games so far, he’s finding the scoreboard and no one, not least mugs on here, know how he will go against opposition sides. But I’m tipping that a. He’ll still play a lot of game time in the midfield as he’s elite in the clinches
and b. If the coaches think he will be an asset forward, they know a hell of a lot more than us mug punters.
Instead of so called supporters knocking a legend of the club, and putting young and up and comers ahead of him, perhaps we should see what develops and I’ve no doubt, if the move to play him forward more doesn’t get the result the coaches are after, then another players will be assigned to the role.
personally, I think he will be an asset wherever we play him. He was brilliant last season and writing him off now is just ridiculous
Well said and exactly on the money.

He's not making it from 50 out but he'd get it home from 40-45. Not a big deal if he's staying close to goal, certainly doesn't make or break him as a froward.

That's a fanciful over-exaggeration. His first 2 seasons he had constant leg injuries and averaged 15 touches across 25 out of 44 games. His 3rd season he managed 17 games and averaged 18 touches. His 4th season is when he improved. Trent's been a very good player with a couple of great seasons. History will be overly generous when his career is assessed as a whole.
LOL. I don't know if you've watched much of Richmond. Cotchin is the bloke wearing #9.

When have they tried to play him forward? Serious question! He’s ALWAYS been a centre square player from the games I’ve been to, and I have not missed many

Read the Y&B book by Konrad Marshall. they were getting him working with Rance to play forward and increase the duration of his career. The club has said it a few times as well.

But they never really have done it because we have had to play him in the guts. An obvious case of planning for something that never really happened.

1 goal in 3 weeks Kane Cornes bet is looking pretty safe. That shot he had that missed everything sums up his forward craft. On paper Cotchins game looks good stats wise. Sadly most of his possessions are dinky little kicks or scrubbers or hooked around the body hoping someone will mark. I know he hasn't played entirely as a forward been more mid, but when he is forward him and Graham offer nothing. The ball is just waltzing straight past them. Get games into Sonsie. Needs a rest. Nurse him to that 300 games then pick team on merit.

So the kick last night showed hos forward craft but the left foot snap when the game was on the line last week didn't? 🤔

Actually let me rephrase that his ENTIRE career sums up his lack of forward craft. I swear 100,000 members means there's no shortage of bored, anal, pedantic, campaigners, Rioli debuting yet, micropenis, 10:20, Tom Browne went to uni ya know, NICE melt mate, Collingwood have injuries, umpires robbed us, deadset fu@kwits whose greatest satisfaction in life seems to be correcting someone's spelling/ phrasing whilst offering sweet fu@k all in the way of an original opinion.

Actually let me rephrase that his ENTIRE career sums up his lack of forward craft. I swear 100,000 members means there's no shortage of bored, anal, pedantic, campaigners, Rioli debuting yet, micropenis, 10:20, Tom Browne went to uni ya know, NICE melt mate, Collingwood have injuries, umpires robbed us, deadset fu@kwits whose greatest satisfaction in life seems to be correcting someone's spelling/ phrasing whilst offering sweet fu@k all.
Nice rant.

Actually let me rephrase that his ENTIRE career sums up his lack of forward craft. I swear 100,000 members means there's no shortage of bored, anal, pedantic, campaigners, Rioli debuting yet, micropenis, 10:20, Tom Browne went to uni ya know, NICE melt mate, Collingwood have injuries, umpires robbed us, deadset fu@kwits whose greatest satisfaction in life seems to be correcting someone's spelling/ phrasing whilst offering sweet fu@k all in the way of an original opinion.
Without Cotchin we'd loose more

I agree about cotchin lack of fwd craft. His kicking style is better suited to the middle.
The practice match up fwd bizarrely produced goals but the purpose was to let others play mid. He was never going to play up fwd.
In think cotchin's heat maps show him playing in the middle this year too.

Cotch Tarranto, JH, are not the best kicks at the best of times. Prestia seemed to catch the disease.
Thank goodness Cotch is fit
Thank hesus Bolton is playing well. We need Sonsie in too

I want Cotchin in the team. He's still our best midfielder when we need a lift and he continues to inspire those around him with his desperation. I appreciate that he is slowing down but I feel he should be playing off the bench, rather than resting forward. We can not have tired players, resting in our forwardline and becoming liabilities to our defensive pressure and offensive options. Cotchin is a midfidler. Dimma is making a mistake resting him and other midfielder forward.

I think Dimma is making the same mistake with Graham. Graham has been a solid contributor working off the half forwardline but he is not a forward. If we play him, its instead of Ross in the middle. It should not be instead of Cumberland or Clarke. We are unbalanced which is why we are struggling up forward and to move the ball atm.

I want all our midfielders to play. Particularly those that have helped us win flags. Unfortunately, we just can't do it.

We have (in my order of importance) - Prestia, Taranto, Hopper, Bolton, Cotchin, Dusty, Graham, Sonsie, Ross and Dow. The bolded midfielders are the ones I'd play in the side, with Bolton/Dusty rotating through the mid/fwd/bench. I would not play any other midfielders forward. Imho, our forwardline would be more functional if it was -

Bolton/Dusty Lynch Jack
MRJ Cumberland Clarke
(+ resting ruck when applicable)

It might not look as good on paper as some with midfielders such as Taranto, Cotchin, Graham etc but its far more balanced and functional. You have a forwardline line that is not too tall, tired, small or lacking connection. I don't think you can play Bolton and Dusty in the same forwardline. They are two offensive/unaccountable. Clarke is a natural, young forward who would work his backside off both ways. He doesn't have the big name but he is a role player that would create goals through his fight and determination to keep is spot. Every forwardline needs a player like this.

So, this is my long winded way of saying I want Cotchin in the team BUT not in the forwardline. Cotchin looks lost in the F50 and he's too good of a midfielder to trying to reinvent him now. He's never shown any natural inclination as a forward in his whole career. Why force him not. Leave him playing where he thrives, just reduce his playing time. Simples! :coolv1:

I want Cotchin in the team. He's still our best midfielder when we need a lift and he continues to inspire those around him with his desperation. I appreciate that he is slowing down but I feel he should be playing off the bench, rather than resting forward. We can not have tired players, resting in our forwardline and becoming liabilities to our defensive pressure and offensive options. Cotchin is a midfidler. Dimma is making a mistake resting him and other midfielder forward.

I think Dimma is making the same mistake with Graham. Graham has been a solid contributor working off the half forwardline but he is not a forward. If we play him, its instead of Ross in the middle. It should not be instead of Cumberland or Clarke. We are unbalanced which is why we are struggling up forward and to move the ball atm.

I want all our midfielders to play. Particularly those that have helped us win flags. Unfortunately, we just can't do it.

We have (in my order of importance) - Prestia, Taranto, Hopper, Bolton, Cotchin, Dusty, Graham, Sonsie, Ross and Dow. The bolded midfielders are the ones I'd play in the side, with Bolton/Dusty rotating through the mid/fwd/bench. I would not play any other midfielders forward. Imho, our forwardline would be more functional if it was -

Bolton/Dusty Lynch Jack
MRJ Cumberland Clarke
(+ resting ruck when applicable)

It might not look as good on paper as some with midfielders such as Taranto, Cotchin, Graham etc but its far more balanced and functional. You have a forwardline line that is not too tall, tired, small or lacking connection. I don't think you can play Bolton and Dusty in the same forwardline. They are two offensive/unaccountable. Clarke is a natural, young forward who would work his backside off both ways. He doesn't have the big name but he is a role player that would create goals through his fight and determination to keep is spot. Every forwardline needs a player like this.

So, this is my long winded way of saying I want Cotchin in the team BUT not in the forwardline. Cotchin looks lost in the F50 and he's too good of a midfielder to trying to reinvent him now. He's never shown any natural inclination as a forward in his whole career. Why force him not. Leave him playing where he thrives, just reduce his playing time. Simples! :coolv1:
Would like to see Sonsie in this week
Think Ross and juddy did enough to hold their spots along with cumbo
Not sure who goes out given Dimma believes we will be getting 3 back

Would like to see Sonsie in this week
Think Ross and juddy did enough to hold their spots along with cumbo
Not sure who goes out given Dimma believes we will be getting 3 back
For what it's worth, I'd make these changes -

In: Hopper, Sonsie
Out: Ross, Mansell

I'd give Dusty another weeks rest and swap Sonsie in for Mansell (perhaps Graham in Mansell's spot)

If Short comes in, then Ralph-Smith or Clarke would have to come out (which I don't think is fair after one game)

Could someone clarify the furphy that Cotch is spending much, if any time forward ? I thought he was either in the midfield or on the bench in the three games this year. Constantly seeing in the media that he is washed up as a forward and some posters here carrying on about him clogging up the forward line yet I've very rarely seen him forward (he did kick a great goal on the weekend) at all.

Agree, think its BS. All stemmed from an inside joke during an intra club match. Jack shouldn't have said anything to the media even though it was all light-hearted in nature.

Cotchin, Taranto and Hopper are playing forward a small percentage of time. Dimma is using one 'spot' in the forwardline to rest inside midfielders. The majority of the time these midfielders are playing midfield or are on the bench but this is where the 'playing forward' concept comes from.

The real issue comes from playing Graham at half forward, Bolton in a pocket and Dusty in the other pocket. Too many of the same type of players. Dusty and Bolton were always at their best forward when they played the majority of their time midfield then moved down their causing mismatches. If they are playing the majority of their game time forward and have permanent defenders on them, the chaos/uncertainty is lost.

We're just playing too many midfielders in the team at the expense of forwards and it's throwing out our scoring.

The second part to that is our midfield defense - we are not turning the ball over enough through the corridor or on the outside of stoppages. This always allowed us to spring board the ball quickly into our forwardline where the opposition were not able to outnumber our forwards. I think Hopper and Taranto are still learning how we want to defend and how to better balance out their inside/offense game with our zone/turnover game. Without the forward pressure and more smaller forwards, this falls away too.

Too many midfielders means too much congestion in the forwardline and no room to score.

We're just unbalanced atm. it's not Cotchin's fault, its our coaches trying to fit all their shiny new square pegs into round holes.

Hes only attending 37% Of centre bounces. Was 74% last year.

Player Watch #9: Trent Cotchin is an obscenely good 3 x Premiership Captain, Victorian Captain & Brownlow Medalist