A Third Team In Sydney - It's Only a Matter Of Time !!

You should read up about concussions in contact sport - I wouldn't let children play
till a certain age

Thanks for your concern. It’s ok though, Auskick is strictly non-contact. Out of interest, what are your thoughts on kids playing soccer? The fact they’re encouraged to routinely allow the ball to smash them in the head must worry you?

No - shows afl is on more prominent network. Fact netball averages only 2,000 viewers less shows how irrelevant game is in Sydney - this is from swans fan.
I wonder why the AFL "... is on a more prominent network ..."? And netball is quite a popular sport. So popular that it averages 2,000 more (that's more - not less) viewers than the NRL & A-League combined (yes - combined) in Melbourne, so for the AFL to get more Sydney viewers than netball (not to mention the hapless A-League) is actually very good in comparison.

And stop pretending you're a Swans supporter. Your posting history shows a peculiar hatred and paranoia about the growth of our Australian game right from the very start.

Thanks for your concern. It’s ok though, Auskick is strictly non-contact. Out of interest, what are your thoughts on kids playing soccer? The fact they’re encouraged to routinely allow the ball to smash them in the head must worry you?
Well thankfully Auskick with its modified rules is about as non-contact and safe as any ball sport can get.

I've read the disturbing studies on the concussion affects of kids heading soccer balls, as widely reported on the BBC and the New York Times (resulting in a sudden downturn in junior soccer numbers in the USA), so that really should be avoided.

I imagine soccer will eliminate heading before too long - not sure what will happen to afl

I wonder why the AFL "... is on a more prominent network ..."? And netball is quite a popular sport. So popular that it averages 2,000 more (that's more - not less) viewers than the NRL & A-League combined (yes - combined) in Melbourne, so for the AFL to get more Sydney viewers than netball (not to mention the hapless A-League) is actually very good in comparison.

And stop pretending you're a Swans supporter. Your posting history shows a peculiar hatred and paranoia about the growth of our Australian game right from the very start.
Outside NRL, bbl & wallabies TV ratings for other codes in Sydney so low not worth boasting about. Wonder what netball costs 9 & compare that to afl deal.

The answer to that should tell you everything you need to know. It costs 9 a GREAT deal less to buy the rights to Netball than it costs to buy the rights to AFL. And Netball had to sweeten the deal by taking a profit sharing arrangement to get that.

No - shows afl is on more prominent network. Fact netball averages only 2,000 viewers less shows how irrelevant game is in Sydney - this is from swans fan.

You aren’t a Swans fan Pip

And if a frontier sport like Aussie Rules is irrelevant up here it must be truely gutting to you that a heartland sport like football is in an even worse predicament.

The answer to that should tell you everything you need to know. It costs 9 a GREAT deal less to buy the rights to Netball than it costs to buy the rights to AFL. And Netball had to sweeten the deal by taking a profit sharing arrangement to get that.
Yet it gets about same rating in Sydney

Wrong again, like always.....ABC main channel has over double the audience of 7 Mate.....humiliated again...you really are a glutton for punishment aren't you?

1581659172145.png

I imagine soccer will eliminate heading before too long - not sure what will happen to afl

That’s not an answer. Would you subject your child to a sport that requires, as a fundamental skill, the repeated thudding of a heavy ball against their frontal lobe? Would that concern you? Or is only football-related head trauma that keeps you awake at night?

Play futsal

How many ads do ABC run? 7 constantly promoting

Hahah, so the reason that Sydney siders collectively watch over 300K hours of the AFL during NRL season each weekend on a secondary channel - while watching only 30K hours of the A League on the primary channel of the national broadcaster's main channel in the off season - is because the ads tell them to?

Seriously, this is too easy. Are you a parody of a soccer troll? It's like you are setting yourself up

Well, in AFL or should we say, in Australian Football, heading of the ball has never been a problem.
I thought that would be obvious to anyone with any knowledge of the Australian game.

1. The AFL 2019 Official Regd. Participation Report will soon be announced, showing significant growth in NSW & the ACT (& most other parts of Aust.).
Strong female growth is contributing to the increases in NSW & the ACT (& all other states of Aust.).

The Australian J. Stensholt 19.2.20

Stensholt said "Women & girls are putting on the boots in such numbers that...R.Goyder credited their involvement as powering the success of footy...".

AFL Commission Chairman R. Goyder said "The desire of women & girls to be part of our game at every level drives our growth".
"586,422 women & girls playing the game".
(The AFL's 2019 figure of 586,422 is rubbery. As with all Aust. sporting organisations official regd. nos., less than half of these are in the only truly relevant nos.:club & school competition regd. nos.)

Glebe (Sydney inner WS) JFC president S. Tracy said "Girls' teams & girls' footy have exploded and we have seen such fantastic growth. But the girls have nowhere to get changed...".

(Behind paywall- can anyone open?)

2. Whilst this link below refers to GR female AF on the far north coast only of NSW, where "female footy continues to boom", I have decided to include it here- since it gives reasons for the female AF growth. The comments are probably applicable throughout all NSW & ACT (& Aust.).

Re North Coast female netball & soccer players reasons for playing AF, females "love the extra physical contact"; & for local basketballers, females "...love the extra space to move in".

3. Canberra Star/ Daily Telegraph K. Christian 10.6.19

Christian said, referring to female ACT GR AF growth in 2018 "There has been a phenomenal 169% increase in the number of females...from 484 in 2016 to 1304 in 2018. The under 10 & under 12 girls were experiencing the biggest surge in numbers..".
(Following the time-honoured Club trajectory, this virtually guarantees, along with the recent even greater surge in Club Auskick nos. for 5 y.o-8 y.o males & females, that current ACT club male & female nos. will be approx. double in 2030).

"Where do we fit everybody...".

Female AF players "...love to bump, they love to tackle...".

The article is incorrect that female AF Club nos. are greater than male AF club raw nos. in the ACT- only the % increase is bigger.

4. Female private & govt. school (both primary & secondary) AF growth has been having significant growth in Sydney in the last few years.

Here is a snapshot.
Loreto College, a private girls' school with 1100 students in Normanhurst, Sydney's upper North Shore, has introduced competitionl seasonal AF for its senior girls on 15.2.20.
This link has a video of the senior girls' first training session on 11.11.19!; & photos of the 4 smiling teams on 15.2.20.

(go to tweets dated 15.2.20 & 11.11.19)

Ideally the league gets up to 23 teams so that we can play a 22 round season and alternate home and away each year. I don't think we need to double up the derbies, playing them once a year just makes them more special to win because you have to wait a whole year for revenge (like the old state of origin). Plus if we end up with 3 teams in each state then each club still has 2 derby games anyway.

With 5 new teams I imagine it would be 1 in each of wa, sa and nsw, plus Tassie and one of qld or nt

Winning the North would be epic an epic long term achievement and begs the question, how many teams could Sydney actually host in 2050 and beyond.
14 if the 'more teams, more, more' nutters who dont give a toss over the standard of the game get their way !!
Do the Yanks keep adding teams in grid iron, Gil seems keen to follow them.

14 if the 'more teams, more, more' nutters who dont give a toss over the standard of the game get their way !!

Super League nutters don’t work out either.

If Australian Football truly wins the north and become the first choice sport in Qld and NSW there would be a huge increase in the talent pool.

On a side note. The standard of the game or as i prefer to say the standard of the bad teams, has dropped off significantly, as bad clubs are so much younger than they ever were. When you see clubs playing 7 teenagers or 10 guys under 22 you realise why the bad teams have no chance and the "State of the Game" gets called into question. They're playing glorified colts sides. Raise the draft age and it will raise the standard.