A Trip Down Memory Lane...

• Thread starter ScouseCat
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

I remember why I started going for the Eagles, it just seemed like the right thing to do when Glendinning went across. He was my fav player, although I supported the Bulldogs.

I remember watching a state game I think ( I was very young), and Beasley was at FF, it was in Perth during midweek ... before '87. That's when I saw my favourite original eagle for the first time, Andrew MacNish!

can't remember the first game I went to, but it would have been a Carlton game, around the late 80's (Dad is mad Carlton). Started seriously going in '93 when I was old enough to buy myself a membership.

best game(s) - non GF of course,

No.3. win v Essendon at Aubi in '99(?) when they kicked 4 for the day. I hate Essendon, i mean really really hate them.

No.2. win v brisbane at Subi last year, so sweet.

No.1. loss v Carlton at Optus when we lost by a kick, the Tony Evans goal, that was a ripper game, even if it was a loss, it was fantastic. Best game I've seen anyone play by Kouta, was a one man wrecking machine.

fav player now .... very partial to any hulk-sized players, so Troy is right up there, as well as Lynch. Also have a soft spot for Collica.

thegur

Originally posted by eagleskickass
we cant help it if your colour blind, believe me blue and gold is the look to go for.:D

And of course I wouldn't know about those colours, I prefer the navy blue and white hoops of Geelong. :p

Anyway, back to the topic at hand.... does anyone remember the 1988 Elimination Final against Melbourne at Waverley?? Murray Wrenstead should have short passed to Ross Glendinning instead of having a shot in the dying seconds, the Eagles were unlucky to lose that game.

Originally posted by Mr Q
I remember at the time my Dad said exactly that to me.

In my case however he was wrong :D

Half time in the 92 GF, I was agitated and thought we played our best till then. I was so annoyed I actually turned the TV off and said we were going to lose. However, I could not bear not knowing so after 2 minutes I turned it back on and had the time of my life.

Originally posted by Goldenblue
Half time in the 92 GF, I was agitated and thought we played our best till then. I was so annoyed I actually turned the TV off and said we were going to lose. However, I could not bear not knowing so after 2 minutes I turned it back on and had the time of my life.

That is really surprising to hear you say that because at the ground, we could sense that the Cats didn't have a big enough lead and with West Coast having the week off, they were a big chance to run over the top of us in the 2nd half. Even when Gary Ablett kicked the first goal after half time, the signs pointed to us running out of legs.

Regretfully I didn't move to Australia until 1995. I wavered between the Eagles and the Dockers a bit. I knew it had to be one of the two, because I always support my hometown team.

Hence the Seattle Sonics, Seahawks, Mariners and U of Washington Huskies.

I decided on the Eagles because the DOckers were reminding me of the Mariners....having great players, losing them, and then having them win championships with other teams. Or just performing well wtih other teams.

Like Winston Abraham and Peter Bell, and Jeffs White and Farmer.

The Eagles looked pretty stable and they had runs on the board, so I followed them, loosely.

Then in 1998, on a Friday Night, I went to the WACA ground with some friends and their kids.

The opponent was the Western Bulldogs.

Do I need to say any more?

My regret is not being here for the premierships.

My only other championships have been the Seattle Sonics in 1979, and a shared College Football Title, the UNiversity of Washington Huskies and the UNiversity of Miami Hurricanes in 1991.

My worst game to be at was the first derby loss in 1999. I was in the two tier stand on the city end in the rain and I did not leave.

The second worst thing was my first yeaar as a member, 2001. Only saw three wins. I renewed anyway, because I said I wanted to be there when things came good so I could say I was there when things were bad.

Best wins...

1. 2002 vs Brisbane - Peter Matera looked like a kid again.

2. 1999 Round 4 vs Essendon. BTW they only scored 3.5.23 that day.

3. ROund 13 vs Demons in 2001...BECAUSE it broke the nine game losing streak and showed how we could play potentially. The way the crown went up on the siren you would have though we had won a preliminary final. We'll see that later this year.

4. Last Saturday...listened to the game on ABC regional travelling to Busselton for the Weekend. Blew horn for at least 30 seconds on the siren. Shouting and yelling and really confusing the kids.

Best Goal.....

On video... has to be Peter Matera off the left half forward flank in the 1992 GF, (not the won where he receives from Kemp) but the won where he goes in hard on his knees, gets the ball out from a scrum, stands, turns and runs to the top of the 50 metre arc and snaps sideways at full speed for goal. (2nd quarter I think)

Live... Could Be Sampi out of the air against Geelong

or it could be 1998 vs Bulldogs at WACA....Chad Morrison on full run kicks over stands on Trinity end from about one metre out. It was at that point I knew we would win, even though we were still down by 20. That was a footy version of a slam dunk. Crowd ignited, I lost my voice.

Other good ones...Peter Matera over the shoulder snap VS Brisbane last season...Most of Judd's, but especially in round 4 vs Port last year...Broke away from centre bounce, got hand ball from Kerr, broke two tackles and slotted it from 52.

Originally posted by USAEagle

Then in 1998, on a Friday Night, I went to the WACA ground with some friends and their kids.

The opponent was the Western Bulldogs.

Do I need to say any more?

One of the most memorable games I've ever been to (the others would be the 94 QF against Collingwood, and the 1-point loss to Carlton at Subi in 95).

McAvaney copped a fair bit of flak for his "Carey would've kicked that" comment after Grant missed from about 40 out just before half time. But I felt (at the time, at least) that the result would be determined by that kick. If he kicks it, the stirring Eagles resurgence still sees them behind at half time. If he misses it, the Eagles go in ahead and with confidence sky high.

I might be the only one who liked watching footy at the WACA, but I miss it as a football ground. Nothing quite like getting there at 3:30 and having to scrounge for the last couple of seats on Level 5.

Originally posted by USAEagle

Best Goal.....

On video... has to be Peter Matera off the left half forward flank in the 1992 GF, (not the won where he receives from Kemp) but the won where he goes in hard on his knees, gets the ball out from a scrum, stands, turns and runs to the top of the 50 metre arc and snaps sideways at full speed for goal. (2nd quarter I think)

Live... Could Be Sampi out of the air against Geelong

I could tell you about the time Karl Langdon kicked a running right foot (i.e. wrong foot) banana from the boundary line at Subi......but you'd hardly believe it.

Best mark - Muddy Waterman over Carey & Jako in '93.

Ahhhh, my 2nd team once(pre Malthouse era) and now 2nd team again (behind the the 2002 VFL winners, plus 92.94 and 95 CATS) Watermans mark was a Hanger as was Troy Ugles described a few replies ago(CH 7 mark of the yr from memory) Fav eagles would have to be D.Lamb,Malaxos(might have won 91 flag with him, Hawthorn were d***heads for not learning where to play him) and Big Wilson(he'll have some say still this year) I still half remember rd 1 1987 and Richmond gtting squished, bring back the 87 jumper for an away strip, send 'em blind!!

Originally posted by ScouseCat
That is really surprising to hear you say that because at the ground, we could sense that the Cats didn't have a big enough lead and with West Coast having the week off, they were a big chance to run over the top of us in the 2nd half. Even when Gary Ablett kicked the first goal after half time, the signs pointed to us running out of legs.

Just me being pessermistic(sp?). After the heartbreaking GF loss last season (91), I was beginning to think it would be 91 all over again. I was glad to be proven wrong. :D

My first live game watching the Eagles was 1989 against Geelong. I went with my grandfather who was a WAFC life member and I remember how loud the crowd was and how big the players were.

Fave Players: I've got too many to mention - but the most joy to watch would have been Peter Matera and Chris Mainwaring.

First Jumper: I had a VFL jumper, but it wasn't the dominant gold jumper. I had a Dwayne Lamb autograph on it.

Best Eagles game: So many to choose from. The game last year vs Brisbane, 1999 vs Essendon where we taught them a football lesson, "that game" vs Western Bulldogs at the WACA, 1995 Western Derby aka Mothers Day Massacre

Worst Eagles game: Those horrible losses under the Ken Judge regime. He was a man of mass destruction.

Originally posted by GoEagles
First Jumper: I had a VFL jumper, but it wasn't the dominant gold jumper. I had a Dwayne Lamb autograph on it.

I had the original strip - the only actual jumper I've owned. However since I was 15 at the time, I doubt I could fit into it these days - if I could even find it.

Probably not in that good nick anyway as I used to use it for footy training back in '88 and '89 before I discovered just how crap at the game I really was...

Dockers supporter but being West australian through and through I love the Eagles too.

Best Memory: Against St Kilda (no idea which year but quite early) at the wacca. Craig Davenport kicked about six in the first quarter and the Eagles were gone for all money and then they came back to win. The crowd were truly delirious. Hysterical with joy.

Worst memory: without doubt murray wrensted running into an open goal in the finals against collingwood and kicking a point to lose the game. I fair dinkum broke down in tears

Originally posted by GoEagles
Worst Eagles game: Those horrible losses under the Ken Judge regime. He was a man of mass destruction.

Where would you rate the Windy Hill massacre of 1989?

Surely that would have been the worst.

Originally posted by spring6
Worst memory: without doubt murray wrensted running into an open goal in the finals against collingwood and kicking a point to lose the game. I fair dinkum broke down in tears

Wasn't it Melbourne?
Collingwood was the drawn final in 1990

Originally posted by Jabber
Wasn't it Melbourne?

1988 first ever final for the club. Melbourne got up to win by 2 points. That kick was the last for Wrensted in the blue and gold. Went to Collingwood and failed.

Originally posted by Jabber
Collingwood was the drawn final in 1990

Which caused the AFL to add extra time in finals. I dare say if Sumich kicked that goal, we would have go on to the GF, but it would have been a Bomber flag.

That's a big call, I think the best two teams made the Grand Final in 1990 but the better team (throughout the year) lost on the day.

Essendon were done over by having to wait 3 weeks before their semi final against Collingwood and were rusty. If the Eagles had of beaten Collingwood, they would most likely have had a return match against Collingwood in the Preliminary Final at Waverley... a very tough ask in front of the Magpie faithful.

Originally posted by jod23
The Mothers Day Massacre and the Demolition Derby are my two favourite Derby moment. Although we lost the latter it was still a hell of a game.
Funnily enough, I agree. It was a game that seemed to have everything - when the maggot cleaned up Phil I turned to my brother and said, what else could possibly happen in this game?

If we had fallen over the line we would be rating it as one of our better wins.

Definately the worst game in the clubs history, but thankfully I was too young to remember the game.

I put the Judge games because I was at the games and was so frustrated because we had kids who could play, but were lacking so much confidence in their ability they were afraid to get in and have a red hot go.

I vaguely remember that game... you guys kicked something like 1.12.18 for the entire match and lost by over 100 points!!

142 points to be exact and the blackest day in Eagles history (thank god we kicked *a* goal)

In the end though we had the last laugh at Windy Hill when we finally won there in the last game we played there (1991, round 8, 7 points)

Originally posted by Mr Q
142 points to be exact and the blackest day in Eagles history (thank god we kicked *a* goal)

There's a good trivia question...

Who kicked West Coast's only goal that day against Essendon at Windy Hill in 1989??

Originally posted by ScouseCat
There's a good trivia question...

Who kicked West Coast's only goal that day against Essendon at Windy Hill in 1989??

Everyone knows that- Ashley Samp-er-Chris lewis.

A Trip Down Memory Lane...