List Mgmt. Ablett to move to Gold Coast

Get a new source cos it's absolute crap.
Maybe I don't want to. You seem pretty assured. All will be revealed soon, but the dispersions cast on ABLETTS' characters on BF is unreasonable. My source was not lying. Doesn't change the result, maybe the reason, but you know for sure that what I was told was crap????

the issue is not whether your source believes what they told you or not

Nathan has issues, no-one will deny it. He seems very much like his old man. But i don't think Gazza going there with all the publicity will help him. Nathan's biggest problem is he needs $$$$ and does not work hard enough for it.

Gazza, would have let Geelong know, not this charade.

Firstly, excuse my abruptness earlier but I really think you should be careful commenting pejoratively on someone's mental state, particularly when it's pure hearsay. I'm fortunate enough to know someone I call a mover-n-shaker (though he hates it) on the GC. Nathan is quite content up there and has felt more so since Kenny Hinkley arrived.

It is true, however, that dollars aren't the only consideration in relation to the prospect of Gaz moving north.

Firstly, excuse my abruptness earlier but I really think you should be careful commenting pejoratively on someone's mental state, particularly when it's pure hearsay. I'm fortunate enough to know someone I call a mover-n-shaker (though he hates it) on the GC. Nathan is quite content up there and has felt more so since Kenny Hinkley arrived.

It is true, however, that dollars aren't the only consideration in relation to the prospect of Gaz moving north.
All you have just said actually supports my assertion, and "emotional welfare" doesn't imply knowledge of mental status. What you've said about Hinkley makes sense . I am not commenting on anything other than Gary wanting to make sure Nathan was OK in a holistic sense.

Just commented on the other Ablett thread. As much as this is gonna sound like I'm bignoting, Im a family friend of the Ablett's, and the BS that random people who have probably never had a conversation with any of them, let alone know them, has stunned me. He is an employee at a business. Yes we all love the GFC, but if KFC offered some of you flogs double what you make at Macdonalds, you'd jump. That's beside the point though. Nathan for many reasons wasn't happy playing in Geelong.

For anyone who has lived in Geelong (having grown up in Torquay and schooled in Geelong I know what Im talkin about) it is a footy mad, consuming town where you cant walk around the corner (as an Ablett) without being stared at. FFS. I had dinner with senior at a pub in Geelong the other day and we got flat out stared at by just about every random in the joint. Disconcerting to say the least. Downright uncomfortable and awkward.

I know he is gonna get recognised in QLD, and even in melb, but not in the smalltown judgemental way that happens in G-Town. So with tat in mind, it is easy to understand why playing for the Cats just wasn't an option in the end for Nathan. And before you all jump up and down with hate and judgement, just for one minute try to empathise what it would be like growing up with Gaz senior as your dad in a country town where they call him "god" You can't know what their life in Geelong has been like. Shiit. I give Nath massive props for at least giving it a go for a few years even when he didnt really want to in the first place.

So seriously. If Gary thinks that by moving up there, he can support and encourage his little brother in a much more laid back town, and help him play AFL footy for 6 or 7 years on great coin, get direction, discipline and a heap of money, who the hell are any of us to judge him? And for all the flogs on here spruiking that athan will just "up and move" and flake out, i would imagine that Gazza would know his brothers character and intentions far more than any of you.

Just commented on the other Ablett thread. As much as this is gonna sound like I'm bignoting, Im a family friend of the Ablett's, and the BS that random people who have probably never had a conversation with any of them, let alone know them, has stunned me. He is an employee at a business. Yes we all love the GFC, but if KFC offered some of you flogs double what you make at Macdonalds, you'd jump. That's beside the point though. Nathan for many reasons wasn't happy playing in Geelong.

For anyone who has lived in Geelong (having grown up in Torquay and schooled in Geelong I know what Im talkin about) it is a footy mad, consuming town where you cant walk around the corner (as an Ablett) without being stared at. FFS. I had dinner with senior at a pub in Geelong the other day and we got flat out stared at by just about every random in the joint. Disconcerting to say the least. Downright uncomfortable and awkward.

I know he is gonna get recognised in QLD, and even in melb, but not in the smalltown judgemental way that happens in G-Town. So with tat in mind, it is easy to understand why playing for the Cats just wasn't an option in the end for Nathan. And before you all jump up and down with hate and judgement, just for one minute try to empathise what it would be like growing up with Gaz senior as your dad in a country town where they call him "god" You can't know what their life in Geelong has been like. Shiit. I give Nath massive props for at least giving it a go for a few years even when he didnt really want to in the first place.

So seriously. If Gary thinks that by moving up there, he can support and encourage his little brother in a much more laid back town, and help him play AFL footy for 6 or 7 years on great coin, get direction, discipline and a heap of money, who the hell are any of us to judge him? And for all the flogs on here spruiking that athan will just "up and move" and flake out, i would imagine that Gazza would know his brothers character and intentions far more than any of you.
Unfortunately Nathan doesn't have the desire to play at the top level, he wouldn't do the hard yards at Geelong and it's highly doubtful that he will at the GC either. Gaz needs to make decisions for himself not for Nathan.

And regardless of the reasons Gary may leave for - Geelong has looked after him extremely well and deserves an honest answer from him

Go CATS!!

Unfortunately Nathan doesn't have the desire to play at the top level, he wouldn't do the hard yards at Geelong and it's highly doubtful that he will at the GC either. Gaz needs to make decisions for himself not for Nathan.

Go CATS!!

Might be a very sensible sentiment - not sure that Gary however necessarily we see it that way.

If Nathan is a big part of his decision why don't we get the GFC members to provide $2 a member (unoffically of course) to the NAblett fund - to keep him in money to allow Junior can concentrate on captaining Geelong to another flag.

If NAblett is not a AFL player - nothing the AFL could do about this type of payment to keep Gary at the Cats.

And regardless of the reasons Gary may leave for - Geelong has looked after him extremely well and deserves an honest answer from him

Go CATS!!

This is EXACTLY the sort of rubbish I was referring to. How on earth do you claim to know that Nathan's decision to leave Geelong was about his "desire"? It has been well documented this year that Guy Mckenna has been more than happy with his work ethic. Seriously. You wouldn't have the first idea what the GFC has or hasn't done for the Ablett family over the journey. no doubt they have paid Gazza jnr for his services. But it's common knowledge this current contract has seen him getting unders the last couple of years. Massive unders. They have also never honoured their public offer to snr re a assistant coaching job when he has pressed them about it. Gazza has MORE than paid the club back both off field and onfield for what they have paid him since we took him in the draft. Hopefully, some of you other posters on here can be more fair and reasonable than peanuts like eclefitc...

Definitely family reasons, Nathan in particular, and that is Gary's main concern, Nathan's emotional welfare. Can't elaborate on that but that may be the cause for deliberation.

FWIW, I totally believe it.

Yep...
I consider my brothers emotional state as a major factor in all of my multi-million dollar deals too....
WTF? :p

This is EXACTLY the sort of rubbish I was referring to. How on earth do you claim to know that Nathan's decision to leave Geelong was about his "desire"? It has been well documented this year that Guy Mckenna has been more than happy with his work ethic. Seriously. You wouldn't have the first idea what the GFC has or hasn't done for the Ablett family over the journey. no doubt they have paid Gazza jnr for his services. But it's common knowledge this current contract has seen him getting unders the last couple of years. Massive unders. They have also never honoured their public offer to snr re a assistant coaching job when he has pressed them about it. Gazza has MORE than paid the club back both off field and onfield for what they have paid him since we took him in the draft. Hopefully, some of you other posters on here can be more fair and reasonable than peanuts like eclefitc...
Excuse me but there is no need for name calling - I don't believe I am being unfair or unreasonable. You do not know how I have come by this information. You say you are a friend of the Ablett's and that probably is true but then you don't know who I know. I will say again Gary needs to make decisions for himself.

Go CATS!!

Macho i don't doubt you know them, maybe too well.

Guy has not been positive on Nathan at the end of the year. If he was he would have signed him up.

He was the one who quoted a lack of desire as the reason for leaving football. He said he wanted to be a builder.

Nathan was paid overs whilst at Geelong.

Gary was paid overs when he signed the contract. Yes he signed it and was very happy. Now it looks like a great deal for the Cats, but that was not gteed at the time.

As for Senior, how much money has the club paid him. And maybe ask him about the photo that was pulled from the Sun whilst he was playing.

The Ablett family has received a fair share of handouts.

Your bias is so clear.

Just commented on the other Ablett thread. As much as this is gonna sound like I'm bignoting, Im a family friend of the Ablett's, and the BS that random people who have probably never had a conversation with any of them, let alone know them, has stunned me. There is no credibility in some random relationship with the family. Either explain the link, or no need to ad, as it is irrelevant.He is an employee at a business.i would say geelong looked after him more than any emplyee i know of. did the family get many handouts, assistance when he was growing up. Why was he so protected from the media. Yes we all love the GFC, but if KFC offered some of you flogs double what you make at Macdonalds, you'd jump. Not always, as there is a long term perspective. If there is risk that KFC piss you off in 2 years, whereas Mc look after you for the rest of your life, i would believe this would be taken into account.That's beside the point though. Nathan for many reasons wasn't happy playing in Geelong. Nathan wasn't happy playing at broadbeach last year either.

For anyone who has lived in Geelong (having grown up in Torquay and schooled in Geelong I know what Im talkin about) it is a footy mad, consuming town where you cant walk around the corner (as an Ablett) without being stared at. FFS.Works both ways. Given the $$$$ he receives, and all the freebies. I had dinner with senior at a pub in Geelong the other day and we got flat out stared at by just about every random in the joint Who cares, relevance to the story. I am sure if you went to the Hawthorn with Crawford randoms would look at you as well. This is such a small town comment you have made.. Disconcerting to say the least. Downright uncomfortable and awkward.everytime i have seen a celebrity people look and commnet. I don't think this only occurs at Geelong.

I know he is gonna get recognised in QLD, and even in melb, but not in the smalltown judgemental way that happens in G-Town. Lauren seems to love the publicity. Made her career out of it.So with tat in mind, it is easy to understand why playing for the Cats just wasn't an option in the end for Nathan. And before you all jump up and down with hate and judgement, just for one minute try to empathise what it would be like growing up with Gaz senior as your dad in a country town where they call him "god" You can't know what their life in Geelong has been like. Shiit. I give Nath massive props for at least giving it a go for a few years even when he didnt really want to in the first place. No worries given he was well paid, and got a premiership. Was he paid overs, and was he paid whilst in qld.

So seriously. If Gary thinks that by moving up there, he can support and encourage his little brother in a much more laid back town, and help him play AFL footy for 6 or 7 years on great coin, get direction, discipline and a heap of money, who the hell are any of us to judge him? everyone is pissed with the charadeAnd for all the flogs on here spruiking that athan will just "up and move" and flake out, i would imagine that Gazza would know his brothers character and intentions far more than any of youno one is denying his brother knows him better, but his actions do not show a dedicated person in a new environment.

So what you are saying is Gary has made up his mind and is telling fibs.

And Senior flogged all his gear to the faithful, who deserve to waste their money.

Let's consider a manager at a medium sized business which is looking to expand.

The owner consider the manager to be a very important part of the business, and expects him to stay on after some preliminary chats about the future of the company. He has worked with this man for many years, and has worked hard to help said man develop his skillset.

He then discovers that said manager had a secret meeting with the competition across the street regarding working there instead.

The boss queries the manager about this, and what it means for his future role at the company. The manager has already come to an agreement with the competitor across the street, but instead says 'I'll make a decision in the next few months'. He continues to lie to his employer of many years (nearly a decade) for the next twelve months.

In the meantime, it becomes increasingly clear that the manager fully intends to move at the end of the year, yet he still refuses to give his colleagues or employer a straight answer. Everyone is annoyed as hell, and it's making expansion plans difficult. Eventually, the boss gets an email one afternoon from the manager saying 'working for competition now, sorry!' Now imagine that the boss is Frank Costa.

To everyone saying that Ablett can be excused because footy is just like any other business, guess what? This is atrocious professional conduct and a massive slap in the face to everyone who has worked with him. If I was offered twice my current salary, yes I'd change jobs. But I'd be ashamed if I treated my employer with such selfishness and contempt, it's hugely arrogant and disrespectful.

Perhaps he genuinely hasn't made up his mind, but going by the other GC signing and the strong mail coming from the media, this was all finished up in October 2009. It will eventually all come out. And non disclosure clauses? Please, they're offering him 1.5 million, they'd waiver that if he really felt the need to be honest with the club (and surely the scrutiny wouldn't have been worse then the 'Will he/wont he' saga that we've all had to endure).

Forget the motivations behind why he's moving, and instead look at how he's doing it, and you get a good idea what kind of a guy he is.

This is EXACTLY the sort of rubbish I was referring to. How on earth do you claim to know that Nathan's decision to leave Geelong was about his "desire"? It has been well documented this year that Guy Mckenna has been more than happy with his work ethic. Seriously. You wouldn't have the first idea what the GFC has or hasn't done for the Ablett family over the journey. no doubt they have paid Gazza jnr for his services.But it's common knowledge this current contract has seen him getting unders the last couple of years. Massive unders. They have also never honoured their public offer to snr re a assistant coaching job when he has pressed them about it. Gazza has MORE than paid the club back both off field and onfield for what they have paid him since we took him in the draft. Hopefully, some of you other posters on here can be more fair and reasonable than peanuts like eclefitc...

The club has offered senior a variety of roles, all of which he's knocked back is my reading of Frank Costa's comments over the journey. Noone has the right to pick the role he wants to the exclusion of all others.

As a player the club not only resurrected seniors playing career, it paid him well and organised a paid role with Ron Hovey's firm. The club also stood shoulder-to-shoulder with him during his major legal issue. It's about time he stopped whining and showed some gratitude. Methinks you're an apologist for the Ablett's and in the process re-writing history.

And putting Nath front and centre in Gaz's decision is a distraction. Gaz also has another sibling in the greater Geelong area who some might suggest is in greater need of help. Let's get back to the substantive discussion rather than these calculated diversions.

Let's consider a manager at a medium sized business which is looking to expand.

The owner consider the manager to be a very important part of the business, and expects him to stay on after some preliminary chats about the future of the company. He has worked with this man for many years, and has worked hard to help said man develop his skillset.

He then discovers that said manager had a secret meeting with the competition across the street regarding working there instead.

The boss queries the manager about this, and what it means for his future role at the company. The manager has already come to an agreement with the competitor across the street, but instead says 'I'll make a decision in the next few months'. He continues to lie to his employer of many years (nearly a decade) for the next twelve months.

In the meantime, it becomes increasingly clear that the manager fully intends to move at the end of the year, yet he still refuses to give his colleagues or employer a straight answer. Everyone is annoyed as hell, and it's making expansion plans difficult. Eventually, the boss gets an email one afternoon from the manager saying 'working for competition now, sorry!' Now imagine that the boss is Frank Costa.

To everyone saying that Ablett can be excused because footy is just like any other business, guess what? This is atrocious professional conduct and a massive slap in the face to everyone who has worked with him. If I was offered twice my current salary, yes I'd change jobs. But I'd be ashamed if I treated my employer with such selfishness and contempt, it's hugely arrogant and disrespectful.

Perhaps he genuinely hasn't made up his mind, but going by the other GC signing and the strong mail coming from the media, this was all finished up in October 2009. It will eventually all come out. And non disclosure clauses? Please, they're offering him 1.5 million, they'd waiver that if he really felt the need to be honest with the club (and surely the scrutiny wouldn't have been worse then the 'Will he/wont he' saga that we've all had to endure).

Forget the motivations behind why he's moving, and instead look at how he's doing it, and you get a good idea what kind of a guy he is.

Best Post so far :thumbsu::thumbsu:

No more distrations thanks, the comments above "sum things up" nicely !

The club has offered senior a variety of roles, all of which he's knocked back is my reading of Frank Costa's comments over the journey. Noone has the right to pick the role he wants to the exclusion of all others.

As a player the club not only resurrected seniors playing career, it paid him well and organised a paid role with Ron Hovey's firm. The club also stood shoulder-to-shoulder with him during his major legal issue. It's about time he stopped whining and showed some gratitude. Methinks you're an apologist for the Ablett's and in the process re-writing history.

And putting Nath front and centre in Gaz's decision is a distraction. Gaz also has another sibling in the greater Geelong area who some might suggest is in greater need of help. Let's get back to the substantive discussion rather than these calculated diversions.

good call

no-one wants to deal with the $$$ senior was paid when he finished his career, and all the incidents that were cleaned up

Didn't Gaz Snr allegedly sign with Hawthorn in the late 80's only to reneg and stay at Geelong? Since everyone is going on about 'runs in the family' etc, maybe Gaz did sign with GC, but will now reneg and stay with the cats, just like his old man :)

I can dream....