Ablett Vs Judd - Alot closer than you all think!!

Every body can rant and rave all they like, my opinion stands, there is bearly a gap between them, in my opinion judd is margionally better, but other wise they are on par.

Just because i go for carlton doesnt mean i dont know about winning games of football, do i go out and play the game for them? do i coach them? i am a spectator and i call the game as i see it.

Dont give me this rubbish about me making up stats, a disposal that puts the ball into the forward 50 is alot more damaging then a handball to a stationary target so he can get another disposal.

If gaz is so much superior in using the ball, why is his efficency only 4% better, he gets so much uncontested ball he should be alot higher then judds.

If judd was playing for geelong everyone would be shown how much it would make him look better. Garry is living the life at the moment, he doesnt have a worry in the world, with the supporting cast he has it is merely impossible for him to play a bad game. Ablett or no Ablett, Geelong would still be a powerhouse in the AFL, the question is how would carlton go without judd, and if we reversed the roles (ablett at carlton, judd at geelong) how would the two rate.

I've got to say that I'm sick of seeing these bloody comparison threads (usually started by insecure / jealous Carlton fans). Ablett is by far the better player and currently by far the best player in the competition. Judd has been nothing more than a regulation good midfielder for the past two seasons and does not deserve the honour of being compared to Ablett jnr.

The only fairish comparison would be whether Judd in his West Coast days is as good as Ablett currently is now (I say fairish because it's still Ablett comfortably, but certainly not as comfortably as it is comparing the two in 2009).

I've got to say I'm sick of seeing these bloody comparison threads (usually started by insecure / jealous Carlton fans). Ablett is by far the better player and by far the best player in the competition. Judd has been nothing more than a regulation good midfielder for the past two seasons and does not deserve the honour of being compared to Ablett jnr.

The only fairish comparison would be whether Judd in his West Coast days is as good as Ablett currently is now (I say fairish because it's still Ablett comfortably, but certaintly not as comfortably as it is comparing the two in 2009).

Yes but your opinion counts for zero , because you are just a jealous essendon supporter. :rolleyes:

Both are great players and every club wishes they had a Judd or Ablett.

Every body can rant and rave all they like, my opinion stands, there is bearly a gap between them, in my opinion judd is margionally better, but other wise they are on par.

Just because i go for carlton doesnt mean i dont know about winning games of football, do i go out and play the game for them? do i coach them? i am a spectator and i call the game as i see it.

Dont give me this rubbish about me making up stats, a disposal that puts the ball into the forward 50 is alot more damaging then a handball to a stationary target so he can get another disposal.

If gaz is so much superior in using the ball, why is his efficency only 4% better, he gets so much uncontested ball he should be alot higher then judds.

If judd was playing for geelong everyone would be shown how much it would make him look better. Garry is living the life at the moment, he doesnt have a worry in the world, with the supporting cast he has it is merely impossible for him to play a bad game. Ablett or no Ablett, Geelong would still be a powerhouse in the AFL, the question is how would carlton go without judd, and if we reversed the roles (ablett at carlton, judd at geelong) how would the two rate.

Gibbs, Murphy, Stevens are spuds are they? You guys are quick to forget the same players posters from your club talked up all preseason.

If you read bigfooty every player in the Geelong team is getting an easy ride. Makes you wonder who actually is deserving of the accolades then.

I agree with your post. Let's see how bright Garry's star shines without the supporting cast. Give me Judd the player, Judd the leader and Judd the person any day.

Gary Ablett Jnr is my favorite player of all time, ever since he was a rookie I've been cheering him on like ... a girly cheerleader. His ability to dodge a tackle, run away from opponents with searing pace, kick some great goals, get the ball inbetween 3 opponents and dish it out effectively to a team mate many times a game is just amazing.

Having said that, although completely biased towards him, I would have to look at reality and say, Judd was doing all this and maybe slightly better (although I'd say he has always been slightly slower in run speed than Ablett - feel free to argue that one). However I will add he is not as good as he was now in Carlton than when he was in the champion Eagles team a few years ago.

Judd is on the downward slope and Ablett is still to peak (in my rose-glass-eyed opinion - but I do see it as very possible). By the end of this year if they both continue playing how they are playing I'd say Ablett 08/09 = Judd 04/05.

However, for 08/09 so far... Ablett is much better of course, especially since Judd was still slow and recovering from injuries.

So the players, coaches, media and majority of the fans think Ablett is the best currently running around but they should all change their minds because of a stat you just invented. Try watching the game for a moment and see just how damaging Ablett is. You can debate careers forever but right now, as of today, Ablett is the best player in the land - which makes him better than Judd.

I feel really sorry for a bloke like Scarlett or Glass, according to you they have barely had any damaging possesions in their entire careers - ouch!

But it is the truth. You made up a stat that made Judd look better. You can say to yourself all you like that any kick inside 50 is more damaging than a handball to a stationary target, but it doesn't make it true.

At least once a game, someone bombs a ball inside 50 to absolutely no one, which results in it being rebounded. Is that a damaging possession :rolleyes:

Some of the handballs that Geelong perform are just as important than any kick. The handballs through two defenders to release a running player...the 1-2's that help open up the play. They can be just as damaging.

No. Only delusional Carlton idiots think that Judd is anywhere near Ablett. Why waste your time? No-one is going to agree with you. Ablett is the AFL's best player.

Agreed

Ablett is far better, Judd isnt the same player he was before damaging his groin. At Judd's best I would have them equal, but he hasnt been near his best since that groin injury.

Judd of 04-06 >>>>>>>>>>>> Judd after the groin injury. The Melb media talk Judd up because he is now playing for Carlton, but I am still yet to see him yet hit that form that he was in with the Eagles. He has had to alter his hard running line breaking style of play and to be honest I think that injury has been the cause of this, it seems that the groin injury has had a long term effect on Judd and seems to have restricted him to being about 85% of the player he was in his prime at the Eagles.

Forget Ablett, Judd hasn't even been better than Sewell this year.
Brad Sewell Name Chris Judd
Hawthorn Team Carlton
88 Career Games 160
Newlyn Origin Caulfield Grammar
February 2, 1984 Date of Birth September 8, 1983
25 Age 25
181 cm Height 189 cm
84 kg Weight 85 kg
3 2009 Games 5
25.0 Disposals 27.0
12.7 Kicks 14.4
5.0 Long Kicks 3.0
3.7 Marks 1.8
0 Contested Marks 0.2
12.3 Handballs 12.6
9.7 Tackles 5.6
0.3 Goals 0.8
0 Behinds 0.2
3.0 Frees For 2.0
0.7 Frees Against 1.6
0.3 Hitouts 0
7.0 First Possessions 8.0
6.7 Clearances 7.8
6.7 Inside 50s 5.8
1.3 Rebound 50s 1.0
3.7 Contested Possessions 5.6
22.3 Uncontested Possessions 21.4
6.3 1%ers 5.0
2.3 Errors 7.0
0 Bounces 0
70.3 Prowess Ranking 61.0

Even being injured, he's still smashed it this year and I think deserves to be up there in the top 5 mids in the AFL.

Judd is managing 1 more clearance per game but sewelly is averaging 9.7 tackles to judds 5.6 and only 2.3 errors per game to judds 7.

Truely he has to get some recognition sometime.

But in response to the OP... get your hand off it. Ablett is far and away the bes tplayer in the game.

Even if alot of his touches are handball 1-2's, he still runs all day to get there.

Judd's injuries have lessened his impact. But Judd at his peak was easily better than Ablett is now. But right now Ablett is better simply because Judd isnt at his best. I watched Judd at his best week in and week out at WC. Trust me, he wasnt of this earth.

64% disposal efficiency
with 29 uncontetsed possesions (hardly any pressure)
he should do better

16 of his disposals were ineffective

to contrast
gibbs in round 3
also 2 goals
1 more goal assist
4 more clearences
2 more isndie 50's
2 more rebound 50's
12 more marks
2 more kicks
27% more efficency
and althoguh gibbs had 8 less possesions in total he had 5 more effective
possesions

i know giobbs didnt get a heap of contested footy, but had the same amount of unconstested footy as ablett and used it a hell of a lot better

oh and he had 9% of his total teams possesions while ablett had just 8.5%

How many of Gibbs were contested? Tell me what makes a posession effective/ineffective? How many hard ball gets did they both have?

Gibbs is the king of floating around in plenty of space receiving the footy, I would hope his efficiency was better. Plus, you know Gary was playing in a blizzard right?

Why should we believe that you know what is more damaging on a footy field? How is winning posession from amongst a pack of players and handballing to someone in a better spot with some space to deliver an inside 50, any less damaging than being the bloke on the end of the handball.

If Judd is so damaging why aren't you winning all of your matches like we are?

Truth is you have no idea, you watch Ablett with one eye closed and you're sooking because you were meant to have got the best player in the competition.

Point 1 (So there's no confusion about this being a Gablett Bashing): He is the best player in the league.

Now, to my off-topic, rant:
He makes mistakes, just like every other player in the league BUT
every time he fumbles, gets tackled, kicks a clanger etc (and doubtless there are VERY few), the commentator says....
"A rare mistake for Ablett - I think that's the first time he's fumbled all year"
I have heard this stated at least 4 times this year, and I've only watched 4 Geelong games.
Hell, the woman commentator in the game between Carlton and Geelong? in the NAB even said it, and a few minutes later I think Quartermaine said it again!

There's no doubt in my mind, that there are some exceptional players in the league, but the media build these players higher than they are:
Buddy - the call that goes up when he's near the ball is just mind-boggling. The guy is wonderful, don't get me wrong, but FFS! He's not marking a ball while doing a handstand!
Judd - Brilliant, just brilliant. But he makes mistakes (albeit rarely) and he's not a god.
Gablett - I'm in two minds as to whether he's better than Judd. I think (purely based on empirical evidence) that Judd gets more of the hard ball, but that's just opinion. In their respective teams, I think that Judd does more (Geelong are blessed with talent and I think would suffer far less without Gablett than Carlton without Judd.)
Fevola - See Buddy. It staggers me the way they react.

These players get pumped up with big calls so that the ads look great and the game feels great (when you're watching) and so you'll watch again.
But what happens in the middle is that threads like this start, tall poppy syndrome kicks in, the gloss comes off and people realise there's a lot of hype and the player starts getting knocked. They get an injury or go out of form or a relative dies and they have a few off games and suddenly....
they're terrible, they're overpaid, they're selfish, they're this or that.

Truth is, they were never as good as the media said they were, and are probably still around the mark - we (as in the public) have just lost interest.

Just hope this doesn't happen to Gary.

I'm over these threads. But it's like seeing a car crash, I can't stop looking.

The old Judd just about looks like never returning.

Man o man could he burst out of a pack. Carlton supporters shouldn't even be commenting. West Coast supporters should.

I wonder if Ablett is the fittest player in the league?
Yes sure he gets plenty of handball receives, but at the same time he is getting as many contested possessions as anyone.

And he is everywhere. That's what seperates him right now.

lol, the only support for judd are carlton supporters..... just admit it, you're overpaying a hack

atm.... ablett is streets ahead of judd

more disposals, but rarely wasted, the ball is usually passed off to a teammate to keep the run going even in congested positions where regular players (this includes judd) would get mowed down

You guys keep missing the main point in these threads..
Judd in his early days was tearing it up before Ablett found his true ability.
Thats like comparing Judd in his prime, vs Buckley in his days of retirement..

Over paying a hack ???? That would be the most rediculous, immature post i have ever read on here in my life. Regardless of who you think is the best player in the comp etc.....calling Judd a hack and that he is over payed shows you never have seen a Carlton game since Judds arival.

You guys keep missing the main point in these threads..
Judd in his early days was tearing it up before Ablett found his true ability.
Thats like comparing Judd in his prime, vs Buckley in his days of retirement..

no its not

judd is 25

ablett is 24

if judd isn't in his prime anymore, and is on a downward slope already..... ablett wins the argument easy

lol at the argument :D:p

Judd has been better for longer though, in his defence. Judd playing well will have more influence on a game than Ablett playing well.

Ablett Vs Judd - Alot closer than you all think!!