Mega Thread Adam Goodes: Confirmed racial slur by fan, apology made and accepted

I wonder if Goodes would have left the ground if scores were level? Would he have been so upset at the racist remark to go, or stay and help get his team over the line.

Dunno, wonder if she would of abused him in a game her team was not being flogged in, who knows

I suppose a perfect example would be on the TV logies many years ago when Bert Newton said to Mohammad Ali, "I like the boy"...obliviously being unaware that the word "Boy" is a racist offensive word to African Americans.

And Ali, the champion that he was, had the grace and good sense to realise, that despite the history having weighted this term with racial inference, there was no such intent from Newton. Granted it may have been a little different had Bert shouted it at him as an insult during a bout, but once the dust settled, I think better sense should have prevailed from everyone.

I wonder if Goodes would have left the ground if scores were level? Would he have been so upset at the racist remark to go, or stay and help get his team over the line.

You have many what ifs? Why don't you write them down put them in a bottle and open them later?

Dunno, wonder if she would of abused him in a game her team was not being flogged in, who knows
Its a bit rich using the term abused. A silly immature 13 year old can say stupid things at the best of times. And seriously, its a valid point. Would he have gone off if the scores were level. No is my guess, and if he had, he should have been dropped for the following game.

Since when has Quentin Lynch been of Aboriginal background? Why haven't we been informed of this? The guy is as white as Caspar the friendly Ghost, surely he isn't aboriginal? :rolleyes: If he isn't, he has no reason to take the term "ape" in an offensive/racist interpretation. If he is, then you should put yourself in to the AFL for being a racist flog.

The face of anti-racism o_O FMD!

Yeah good to see you've got a handle on the real issue.. god the Concession Swans supporters are pathetic in this thread

How pathetic are you? Do you really care about the girl or do you just have something against Goodes the Swans or both? You've added nothing intelligent to this conversation.

You accuse Goodes of being a sook he's moved on. Maybe you should. Seek help.

Jesus a frickin Carlton supporter gets it.. that's how bad you Swan supporters are going, better ask for another $900,000 from the AFL for racial education

or would you just spend that on another player... again o_O

Now your just flapping around in your own filth. Make another anonymous account. This ones getting ugly.

And Ali, the champion that he was, had the grace and good sense to realise, that despite the history having weighted this term with racial inference, there was no such intent from Newton. Granted it may have been a little different had Bert shouted it at him as an insult during a bout, but once the dust settled, I think better sense should have prevailed from everyone.

Ali was the biggest racist of his time. He was a very nasty person.

So do you think it would have been a different scenario if the game was tight?

Possibly if the game was tight there might have been more crowd noise and he wouldn't have heard it

But it remains an interesting question nonetheless

Its a bit rich using the term abused. A silly immature 13 year old can say stupid things at the best of times. And seriously, its a valid point. Would he have gone off if the scores were level. No is my guess, and if he had, he should have been dropped for the following game.

What if an alien turned up to the game or it rained coca cola? Ifs and butts

Why would I do that when I'm listening to Adam's own words which are basically him whining that she racially vilified him and holding her up as the face of racism, he's a dog and you were too gutless to even quote his words because they contradict your story :rolleyes:

You want a quote tough guy. Lets go:

"It was a 13-year-old girl but it's not her fault."

More? Yeah ok...

"She's 13, she's still so innocent, I don't put any blame on her"

Gee he's really tearing her a new one. Ok, let's go one more time.

"But I think the person that needs the most support is the little girl, you know. People need to get around her, she's 13"

Ouch Adam please stop!

And just so I don't get accused of a selective quote here's the rest of the para. "she's uneducated. You know if she wants to pick up the phone and call me and apologise, I'll take that phone call and I'll have a conversation with that girl about 'You know what, you called me a name, this is how it made me feel', and it's school stuff, it is school stuff."

Funny that doesn't really gel with your description does it?

Read more: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/breakin...pt/story-e6frfkp9-1226650430791#ixzz2UV3oaT4z

hey mate.
i just saw a replay of the incident on 360 which was a more extended replay than i'd seen before and before he runs off it clearly shows goodes gesturing to the security guard to 'kick her out'.

i understand his reaction but i reckon he's cocked this one up pretty bad.
he has stated that he thought she was 14, he had to of known that the camera was on him (he was right where the ball was at the time) and that ch.7 was of course going to film his exchange on the boundary and he had to know what the immediate fallout would have been for that child. (and for the record, in looking for a youtube of that extended replay, i noted that she is still being abused on those sorts of social media networks with insults such as "fat little swine girl" etc.)

i think he did the right thing the next day at his presser trying to protect her, but he, as an adult, clearly cocked up on the night.

I think you're being a bit harsh on Goodes expecting him to think through all these things you've mentioned in the heat of the moment - after being racially vilified, then to turn around and be shocked that it was from a youngster, all while the game was still continuing. I don't know about you, but in a moment like that where I was as upset as Goodes was, in the heat of the moment, I wouldn't be thinking about cameras on me and the immediate fallout of the kid.
I know the gesture you are referring to, and you're right he points for her to bugger off but in my post all I said was that it wasn't Goodes' call to kick her out, which it clearly was not. He can point and tell that steward to remove her but at the end of the day, it wasn't his call to kick her out. I know Adam Goodes is a pretty talented guy and can could probably do a lot of things really well, but run the MCG security whilst playing a game of footy is probably not one of them.
What the little girl did was wrong and I have no problem with her being kicked out of the ground. What I did have a problem with, was that she was escorted out by a hand full of security guards, without a parent or guardian to accompany her whilst being booed by the crowd. (I read somewhere that her grandmother was told to remain seated?) That's got to be pretty daunting for a 13 year old and that's the part I didn't like.
Now, you think Goodes should have known that is exactly how things would have gone afterwards, and that he should have taken all that into account in a 10 second period after being racially vilified in his place of work? You think in that time, he should have summed up the whole situation and reacted better? I just think that's a bit harsh mate. I'd like to know how people would do a better job than what Goodes did in the same situation. Most people couldn't even put themselves in his shoes and understand what he would have felt. It's easy for us to sit back in the comfort of our living room and say that the way he reacted wasn't good enough. I thought Adam Goodes handled it like the true professional that he is. I have a huge amount of respect for him for everything that he has done throughout this whole ordeal.

Its very interesting. When was the last player to just leave the ground uninjured? Has it ever happened before in modern times.

I believe fev might have done it once a little while ago with his side holding a narrow lead in a game they may not have necessarily wanted to win ;)

Mega Thread Adam Goodes: Confirmed racial slur by fan, apology made and accepted