Adam Goodes lacks courage in the contested situations when he goes in feet first

It was around the knee, it was ugly and dangerous, lucky not to cause serious injury, Fraser, the MRP chairman?? said that it wasn't referred to the tribunal because Gibson wasn't injured by the contact, would have been a very different result had Gibson been injured, similarly Buddy's headlock.

Hang about, when did he say that? Because i'm pretty sure he also said that no player should be punished at the tribunal for trying to kick the ball. Incidental contact. (paraphrasing)

Maddo11 said:
He does have a problem with going in feet first; that challenge on Rioli in the GF posted a couple pages back is quite confronting actually. If that had have happened in the last 7 rounds, he definitely would have spent time watching from the box.

My only major issue with this thread is the massive over reaction of the Hawks fans that are saying he -deliberately- tried to take out Gibbo. To say that he wanted to take out Gibson is just silly, when he's clearly just trying to poke the ball over to Hanners (?) a few meters further up.

Consider Goodes other options (to win -the ball-, not tackle Gibbo after he takes possession) ; - Dive head first toward the ball, give away the free kick and potentially cause Gibson a serious injury (more weight hitting leg). Probably chose the lesser of two evils in that snap second decision.

Dermie is right in saying that Goodes has a problem, but i wouldn't call it a courage problem, just a technical fault in his game.

NB: Ask a sensible question, get a sensible answer.​

Funny how the good posts get lost amongst the rubbish

No, for the umpteenth time, I said the initial contact was thigh on thigh. And that's a fact.

Can you furnish some footage showing Gibson clutching his shin? (Or ankle, as it was in your previous post? Might a copy of Gray's Anatomy come in handy here?)

Why does it matter where the intial contact was when his foot clearly takes out Gibsons lower leg (there we go, that should cover both shin and ankle!). His intent was the ball in any case but his action took Gibson legs out from under him. Like I said reckless act but not intentional. Needs to sort it out before he hurts someone.

You actually didn't put in much effort. If you had you would have read enough to see that multiple threads you posted involved Goodes being found guilty. How on earth does that support your premise that there's been multiple occasions where he should have been suspended and wasn't cited?

Did you read the threads?
Some of them were posted due to references to other incidents, I knew it would be a waste of time, you're not interested.

G
He does have a problem with going in feet first; that challenge on Rioli in the GF posted a couple pages back is quite confronting actually. If that had have happened in the last 7 rounds, he definitely would have spent time watching from the box.

My only major issue with this thread is the massive over reaction of the Hawks fans that are saying he -deliberately- tried to take out Gibbo. To say that he wanted to take out Gibson is just silly, when he's clearly just trying to poke the ball over to Hanners (?) a few meters further up.

Consider Goodes other options (to win -the ball-, not tackle Gibbo after he takes possession) ; - Dive head first toward the ball, give away the free kick and potentially cause Gibson a serious injury (more weight hitting leg). Probably chose the lesser of two evils in that snap second decision.

Dermie is right in saying that Goodes has a problem, but i wouldn't call it a courage problem, just a technical fault in his game.

NB: Ask a sensible question, get a sensible answer.

Goodes has no problem .

He did nothing wrong in the GF nor the other night against Gibson because he WAS NOT reported or suspended for either contest.

When he gets it wrong he has been suspended. Against Surjan he got it wrong..........only just.

The whole thing is an over reaction because it was against the Hawks that are a little precious at the moment because it was no fault of theirs that they don't have their name inscribed on the 2012 p'ship cup.
The hypocrisy is damning from this team. Only a week before Buddy nearly broke a bloke's neck in one incident & crudely flung out his arm in another incident that resembled many other times he has been brought up by the MRP.

No body is perfect. Goodes is not perfect. But he is not a thug like Dermie was.

How's your form... Pfft... :rolleyes:

Not only do you avoid discussing Goodes, but you try to portray Hawthorn fans as "hypocrites" by posting misleading still-images of a 50/50 contest that bears no similarity whatsoever to the dangerous actions of the protected species, Adam Goodes.

Lewis sprinted at top pace from 25m away to get on the end of that handball. Birchall was stationary and 10m away from the fall of the ball. Birchall moved to his right and desperately tried to dive on the ball as Jetta (courageously) sprinted into the contest and beat Birchall to the ball by a millisecond.

Birchall didn't dive into Jetta's legs. He tried to dive on the ball and Jetta ran into Birchall.

You've just lost all credibility.

Go to 2:11:00 and watch it again

It's a pity Channel 7 stuff up the coverage with too much close-up, so you can't see the ground that Jetta makes to get there. But you can see the open space on that outer flank as Goodes kicks the ball inside fifty and you can also see it was a 50/50 contest and Birchall made the ball his sole objective.

It does not even compare to the Goodes/Rioli incident @ 0:52:40 where Rioli was over the ball and Goodes flew straight into him from 15m away.

People have been throwing a lot of insults around in this thread. Quite a few at me. You were calling me a "muppet" earlier in thread. What insult am I allowed to use at you for posting those misleading still-images of Birchall?

I remember thinking at the time what the ****!!!

It's like a karate leg chop move. Bloody disgraceful and Bruce comes up with some shit saying he got in lower than Rioli.

What a crock.

Even assuming that the basis of your argument isn't insanely flawed (that is, bigfooty says it, so it's true), you realise that when you offer something as proof it's your job to show why?

I'll just add in the bit you missed from the quote.
I knew it would be a waste of time, you're not interested.

You were never going to be satisfied.

G

Goodes has no problem .

He did nothing wrong in the GF nor the other night against Gibson because he WAS NOT reported or suspended for either contest.

When he gets it wrong he has been suspended. Against Surjan he got it wrong..........only just.

The whole thing is an over reaction because it was against the Hawks that are a little precious at the moment because it was no fault of theirs that they don't have their name inscribed on the 2012 p'ship cup.
The hypocrisy is damning from this team. Only a week before Buddy nearly broke a bloke's neck in one incident & crudely flung out his arm in another incident that resembled many other times he has been brought up by the MRP.

No body is perfect. Goodes is not perfect. But he is not a thug like Dermie was.

And here it is, hypocrisy at it's finest, Buddy nearly broke a blokes neck (no report) but Goodes did nothing wrong. wow

I remember thinking at the time what the ****!!!

It's like a karate leg chop move. Bloody disgraceful and Bruce comes up with some shit saying he got in lower than Rioli.

What a crock.
You can sort of hear in Brucey's voice that he thought it was not on. The way he exclaims, "Geeee... he got down lower than Rioli."

Bruce is more forgiving of the game's icons, more likely to raise an eyebrow, but stay silent about transgressions from the game's protected species.

I prefer Brian Taylor's more colourful style. As an ex-player, he has a far better feel for the game than Bruce and he is also less-inclined to hold back when calling out players or umpires for dodgy shit.

Brian Taylor:
Goodes has another go... Gibson... Got him right in the ankle, I reckon.... Ball off hands and spills out of bounds. Gibson has a look and says... GIVE ME A BREAK!!

Great call from BT

And here it is, hypocrisy at it's finest, Buddy nearly broke a blokes neck (no report) but Goodes did nothing wrong. wow
We agree to disagree.

I don't really care what you think. You shouldn't care what I think.

I'm not unhappy that you won the other night.
You're not .........well...........you & your mates can't stand us because we won the GF.

Go watch the GF replay & yell "bullshit" at your players. They 've obviously done you supporters so much harm, having to spend many nights after in the foetal position just to get to sleep.

Why does it matter where the intial contact was when his foot clearly takes out Gibsons lower leg (there we go, that should cover both shin and ankle!). His intent was the ball in any case but his action took Gibson legs out from under him. Like I said reckless act but not intentional. Needs to sort it out before he hurts someone.
Because a trip is defined as below the knees.

This was established about 18 pages back.

And do you have footage of Gibson holding his ankle or shin? I'd like to see it.

You can sort of hear in Brucey's voice that he thought it was not on. The way he exclaims, "Geeee... he got down lower than Rioli."

Bruce is more forgiving of the game's icons, more likely to raise an eyebrow, but stay silent about transgressions from the game's protected species.

I prefer Brian Taylor's more colourful style. As an ex-player, he has a far better feel for the game than Bruce and he is also less-inclined to hold back when calling out players or umpires for dodgy shit.

Brian Taylor:
Goodes has another go... Gibson... Got him right in the ankle, I reckon.... Ball off hands and spills out of bounds. Gibson has a look and says... GIVE ME A BREAK!!

Great call from BT
Yes, great call from BT. Except that Goodes didn't get him "right in the ankle" but yes, let's all run with what Brucey and Brian say in preference to the actual evidence we see with our own eyes.

So not such a great call from BT after all.

Goodes is a champion, no question, but he has a flaw in his game that apparently even his coach spoke to him about, but apparently Swan supporters have never heard of it let alone seen him do it.
It's like the Judd chicken wing thread, which I posted in quite a bit, it shits me when supporters lie to themselves.
And then there's some of the absurd posts about Brereton, some fool called him weak, he was anything but, matter of fact his career was shortened by consistently putting his body on the line seemingly without fear.
We have plenty of ridiculous posters who I don't agree with also.

I have answered this as best I can, but suspect all you will see is that I have offended from losing the GF.
But this isn't a slide which is what Goodes has been suspended for, so, what's the point of all this?

Because a trip is defined as below the knees.

This was established about 18 pages back.

And do you have footage of Gibson holding his ankle or shin? I'd like to see it.

There was still contact below the knees mate. About one millisencond after that thigh contact you continue to bang on about. As I have said before I don't think that particular incident was reportable so whether it constitutes a trip or not is irrelevent. I just think it potentially could have caused a serious injury. Goodes has form leading with his feet and he should stop doing it before he hurts someone or gets himself suspended. I still think he is courageous and a great player and probabaly a ripping bloke. He just needs to eliminate a tiny flaw in his game which puts other players at risk.
Watch the game again if you want to see Gibbo holding his ankle/shin. Its there.

There was still contact below the knees mate. About one millisencond after that thigh contact you continue to bang on about. As I have said before I don't think that particular incident was reportable so whether it constitutes a trip or not is irrelevent. I just think it potentially could have caused a serious injury. Goodes has form leading with his feet and he should stop doing it before he hurts someone or gets himself suspended. I still think he is courageous and a great player and probabaly a ripping bloke. He just needs to eliminate a tiny flaw in his game which puts other players at risk.
Watch the game again if you want to see Gibbo holding his ankle/shin. Its there.
One millisecond? put a stopwatch on it did you? eyes are better than mine and uyour grasp of time, sure you're not lost in The Matrix?

Basically says it all happened at the same time buddy. I also used the word "about" in there implying it not to be an exact timeframe! Took his legs out with a erratic attempt at kicking the ball off the ground. Was dangerous. That is all.
I'm assuming you have no argument hence the resort to pathetic posts like the one above?

You can keep repeating yourself as much as you like but it doesn't make it so. You are the only person who says he didn't even do anything when every single other person agrees that he did but can't agree with whether or not punitive measures should have been taken.
Trust me, I'm sick of repeating myself too, so just tell me which part of "the MRP found there was no case to answer for" are you disputing?

Otherwise I guess I'll just keep on repeating myself.

I'm not the only person who says he didn't even do anything. The MRP says he didn't. I would have thought, as that's their job, their opinion counts for more than every single anonymous flogger on Big Footy, wouldn't you?

Basically says it all happened at the same time buddy. I also used the word "about" in there implying it not to be an exact timeframe! Took his legs out with a erratic attempt at kicking the ball off the ground. Was dangerous. That is all.
I'm assuming you have no argument hence the resort to pathetic posts like the one above?
No, I'm just laughing at the fact you won the game by six goals but still resort to this type of nonsense trolling. Your tears are delicious

Adam Goodes lacks courage in the contested situations when he goes in feet first