Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

We are playing the kids who have not been there for 5 years - you really don’t understand what sacking him will mean

It’s fair to say that bringing kids in to an environment that looks stale, with senior players who give conditional effort, is a poor environment to bring kids into.

I’ve been of this view for majority of the year well, and I think it’s largely true of 2021/22 however Simpsons inability to get consistent effort from senior players he has at disposal is what has done him in imo.

I wouldn’t be surprised if the club has canvassed some players who have arrived this view.

I also wonder about the timing with Barrass contacting Sydney and then last week telling the club that he will stay.

In 2013 it was the threat of a player exodus that did Woosha in.
In others words the coach has lost the players.

Exit interviews will reveal as much in 10 days time after r24 game.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

It’s a requirement that assistant coaches are told in August if their contracts aren’t going to be renewed so they have time to look for a new position

Has been the case for quite some time now at the behest of the AFL Coaches Association
That's all well and good.

But if there is truth to simmo not getting a say in his assistant coaches this smacks of a typical corporate play. You can't sack someone but you can make life so uncomfortable they feel ostracized they resign. Squeezing a senior coach out of decision making processes and killing their agency at the beginning of a rebuild would make any of them resign.

That's all well and good.

But if there is truth to simmo not getting a say in his assistant coaches this smacks of a typical corporate play. You can't sack someone but you can make life so uncomfortable they feel ostracized they resign. Squeezing a senior coach out of decision making processes and killing their agency at the beginning of a rebuild would make any of them resign.

Either that or they are thinking of sacking him at the end of the season so there is no need for his input.

Interesting.

You'd think a footy club would always want a senior football person on the board. I know they have Langer as a former elite sportsman/coach, however cricket is vastly different to footy.

I know they have Rowan Jones but he's never been a senior coach of an AFL side/football manager.

Sounds like a challenge maybe in play, although Woosha's language was very tempered and more along the lines of asking for an invite than proposing a challenge.

Trying to read the room / media / speculation, I think it's looking likely Simo and the Eagles will part ways after the season ends. I have mixed feelings, no one else could have had a good season this season, but has he lost the players? Some of the performances would suggest that. I wonder if / when the truth will come out. Other problem for Simmo is do the Eagles management now think they need to make a change simply so they are seen to be doing something?

Bevo is closer to getting the ass than Simmo

Not even close, Simmo only has a coaching job because of a financial brain fade by our club. He would of been sacked last year or even earlier than that without this stupid contract we gave him. Not his fault of course he got the contract but he is way below Bevo in my view. At least most weeks the Bulldogs put in.

🙃

Hope he never goes, earned a lifetime deal for that post game interview.

“Yeah, we tried to tank that in the last three minutes but it didn’t work. I kept on saying kick it the other way and play an equalised game but no.”

My coach.

After sitting on the fence all year, Duffield jumped on the Sack Simmo Wagon last week based on the derby loss

Claimed the board might as well move him on because they weren’t going to learn anything new from the last two games

I think the board just learned something new, not least that he still has the playing group

I think what happened is our board is very weak. They should have come out and backed him in publicly as they have all year. Why after our best month of footy for almost two years we all of sudden were thinking of sacking him God only knows. I mean if we you wanted to sack him should have done it after the 171 point loss.

The players clearly put everything on the line to try and save Simmos job. Has cost us the number one pick. If the board had just backed him reckon we may well have lost this match and realistically that would have been better for us.

After sitting on the fence all year, Duffield jumped on the Sack Simmo Wagon last week based on the derby loss

Claimed the board might as well move him on because they weren’t going to learn anything new from the last two games

I think the board just learned something new, not least that he still has the playing group
Exactly, unfortunately the board has forced our players to do everything they can to save the coach.

Should have publicly backed him this week. As good as this win was the reality is it may have set back the rebuild

Simmo pack your bags and gtfo. I've put up with enough 2 years in a ******* row we have finished second last.
****me dead mate, you're like a dog with a bone.

We get it, you want Simmo sacked.
You don't have to keep posting it in every ****ing thread.