Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

Yes, there were stories that the playing group were heavily affected by the flu, and it certainly showed. Hough is still down with it. I think last week against freo was somewhat an aberration. Let's see what we dish up next week against the crows.

The “reports” are BS. This is 100% not accurate.

Hough also wasn’t out with flu this week.

I'd honestly give him through next year with a healthy list. No coach was going to look good with having 20 players, like 12 of them being on field starters on the injured list. Clearly he hasn't lost the players and they got done pissing away their best chance at a rebuild before Tassie comes in and takes all the picks...so might as well just keep him around

That’s the stale, uber conservative, old boys club thinking that has gotten us into this mess “just another year, let’s see if it changes.. blah blah”

I reckon the team played their hearts out to show support for their "Under fire "Coach.
They gave club and members a big middle finger and good on them.

Another example of the senior players picking and choosing when to give maximum effort.

The club within the club - the older boys + Simmo - sticking it up them.

I’d suggest this highlights the underlying problem rather than suggests steady as she goes.

Fwiw - the board keeping Simpson is actually the brave/tough position

Because it aligns his success/failure with theirs - Should they sack him and the next coach only lasts 3 years - then that is far less likely to fall upon the board

Should simpson be sacked - losing the players won’t be one of the reasons

The Eagles have been AFL leaders in brave decisions for years then by your standard. Stick fat and do little is exactly why we are where we are. Much of that falls on the coach whose unending loyalty in his guys is at the core of the clubs issues.

Another example of the senior players picking and choosing when to give maximum effort.

The club within the club - the older boys + Simmo - sticking it up them.

I’d suggest this highlights the underlying problem rather than suggests steady as she goes.
What is it with you guys and winning? A winning attitude is what wins games.
Winning games is what wins premierships, which is why we supporters watch games.
Instilling a winning attitude into young players is what wins premierships which is what we want and that just happened.
The rest is just hypotheticals.

What is it with you guys and winning? A winning attitude is what wins games.
Winning games is what wins premierships, which is why we supporters watch games.
Instilling a winning attitude into young players is what wins premierships which is what we want and that just happened.
The rest is just hypotheticals.
"I hope we keep losing, so that we can draft a player that may help us win more games!"

Best reply ever.🤣🤣🤣

And I know the 'comeback' will be "Reid will help us win more games to more than balance out the meaningless wins this year and next etc" but...

• Reid hasn't even pulled on the jumper yet and the number 1 pick from two years ago isn't even at his original club any more, much less helping them win more games
  • Things like the 2017 elimination final proved that instilling a winning culture is more important than throwing it the towel when a flag is out of reach, just for the sake of a higher draft pick
  • Melbourne and Carlton have proved that a tanking culture is a stench that is difficult to get rid of
  • It's not like finishing 17th will somehow not give us a top draft pick anyway, or that this year's draft is a guaranteed superstar at 1 and spuds at 2 to 80

And I know the 'comeback' will be "Reid will help us win more games to more than balance out the meaningless wins this year and next etc" but...

• Reid hasn't even pulled on the jumper yet and the number 1 pick from two years ago isn't even at his original club any more, much less helping them win more games
  • Things like the 2017 elimination final proved that instilling a winning culture is more important than throwing it the towel when a flag is out of reach, just for the sake of a higher draft pick
  • Melbourne and Carlton have proved that a tanking culture is a stench that is difficult to get rid of
  • It's not like finishing 17th will somehow not give us a top draft pick anyway, or that this year's draft is a guaranteed superstar at 1 and spuds at 2 to 80
And let's not bring up how well our latest draft picks are progressing.

The posters that went "omg we had pick 2 the highest in decades and we split them, Sheezel is generational, what were we thinking, sack Simmo and Pieman and everyone" have just shifted onto "we should have tanked the Dogs game, Reid is generational, what were we thinking, sack Simmo and Nisbo and everyone"

I learnt to largely ignore them.

The Eagles have been AFL leaders in brave decisions for years then by your standard. Stick fat and do little is exactly why we are where we are. Much of that falls on the coach whose unending loyalty in his guys is at the core of the clubs issues.

Our discipline over 35 years and desire to avoid Band-Aid fixes is precisely why we have been one of the most successful clubs

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Hasn't lost the playing group.
---------------------------------------------------------------

West Coast star Tim Kelly says Eagles win was message to board that players want Adam Simpson to remain coach​

West Coast star Tim Kelly says their upset win over the Western Bulldogs was a message to the board that they wanted Adam Simpson to remain as their coach.
The Eagles responded to a week of scrutiny and speculation around their under-siege coach with a 14.8 (92) to 12.13 (85) win over the Bulldogs, who were an almost unbackable $1.01 favourite heading into the game.
A 101-point derby loss to Fremantle last weekend appeared to be the last straw for the Eagles’ board, who are set to decide on Simpson’s future in the coming weeks.
Kelly led the embattled Eagles to show that they still had life under the premiership coach, bursting out of the blocks with 13 disposals on his way 32 disposals, eight clearances and 12 score involvements in a best-on-ground performance.

When asked if the win was a message to the powers that be that they wanted Simpson to continue as a coach into next year, Kelly responded emphatically.
“Absolutely. I think I’ve said this before, I’ve got a great relationship with Simmo and at this point, I can’t really see anyone else doing it,” Kelly said.
“We’ve got Simmo’s back, he’s got our back and today definitely felt like it was a bit about him and each other.”
Forward Jamie Cripps, who kicked an equal career-high five goals, also backed Simpson.

“Simmo’s been copping it which is a bit unfair,” Cripps told FoxFooty.
“It’s on us boys coming out each week and playing like we did today.
“We just wanted to come out and have a real crack today pretty much for Simmo because he’s a great coach and he should be our coach going forward.”
Kelly, 29, said his stellar performance came party from the build-up of frustration from a tumultuous 2023 season and a tough week.
“Last week was disappointing, there was a lot going on during the week, a lot of background noise so it was important that we came out and focused on the things we were chasing as a footy team,” Kelly said.
“It just felt like there was a bit more on (the line) today.
“It wasn’t about winning today, it was about putting our foot down, being competitive and giving our supporters something to cheer about and doing it for each other as well.”

Kelly said their focus now turned to ensuring they sent retiring champions Luke Shuey, Shannon Hurn and Nic Naitanui off the right way against Adelaide at Optus Stadium on Saturday night.
“Knowing all of those three boys and how selfless they are, they’ll just want us to treat it like another week,” Kelly said.
“But it’s going to be extremely hard to do just because of how much they mean to us at the footy club and everything that they’ve done.
“They’ve had a lot to do with a lot of people club at the club and it’s important we send them off the right way.”

If the players truly do have Simpson’s back, and I believe they do, then they’ll replicate the effort from the Bulldogs game against Adelaide

However, another meek effort like we saw in the derby and those bemoaning the win yesterday will have a point as it will have done little other than weaken our draft position

It’s up to them really

If the players truly do have Simpson’s back, and I believe they do, then they’ll replicate the effort from the Bulldogs game against Adelaide

However, another meek effort like we saw in the derby and those bemoaning the win yesterday will have a point as it will have done little other than weaken our draft position

It’s up to them really
Surely they will get up for Shuey and Hurn's last game.

There is one thing I can say with 100% certainty.

Simmo’s future has divided this board.

To be fair, that doesn’t take much.

A simple win yesterday has divided this board.

Guys here comes the vultures. we need strong and stable leadership. Stop spazzing out after 1 week.

Simmo and Nisbet provide that strong and stable leadership

Nope the board needs to look at the totallity of two years and understand this.

What exactly has changed since this year and last. A member said we had one extra win this year yay....

We finished second last 2022 and we finished second last 2023. Are we going to magically rise next year? Or are we going to wooden spoon in which case he's got to go

Yeah I'm not sold on the 'did it for Simmo' stuff. If that's the case, do it every week. I think TK has dug the boys an unnecessary hole there. The issue this year has been injuries. We've got players back and put in a decent effort over the last month (sans the Dockers game when the flu was going around).

So a few Senior guys and a few middling guys and a few newbys finally crack it for a bit of cohesion and chemistry and a glimpse of our future and you are unsatisfied?
Tough crowd or it is just that you are never really happy that we have a MUCH needed win?
You must be difficult to buy Chrissy presents for, never satisfied.

Right on cue, as you show once again, that you are one of this boards leading Apologists.

I wouldn’t be at all surprised if your idea of ideal Christmas presents was hankies and socks.

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Hasn't lost the playing group.
---------------------------------------------------------------

West Coast star Tim Kelly says Eagles win was message to board that players want Adam Simpson to remain coach​

West Coast star Tim Kelly says their upset win over the Western Bulldogs was a message to the board that they wanted Adam Simpson to remain as their coach.
The Eagles responded to a week of scrutiny and speculation around their under-siege coach with a 14.8 (92) to 12.13 (85) win over the Bulldogs, who were an almost unbackable $1.01 favourite heading into the game.
A 101-point derby loss to Fremantle last weekend appeared to be the last straw for the Eagles’ board, who are set to decide on Simpson’s future in the coming weeks.
Kelly led the embattled Eagles to show that they still had life under the premiership coach, bursting out of the blocks with 13 disposals on his way 32 disposals, eight clearances and 12 score involvements in a best-on-ground performance.

When asked if the win was a message to the powers that be that they wanted Simpson to continue as a coach into next year, Kelly responded emphatically.
“Absolutely. I think I’ve said this before, I’ve got a great relationship with Simmo and at this point, I can’t really see anyone else doing it,” Kelly said.
“We’ve got Simmo’s back, he’s got our back and today definitely felt like it was a bit about him and each other.”
Forward Jamie Cripps, who kicked an equal career-high five goals, also backed Simpson.

“Simmo’s been copping it which is a bit unfair,” Cripps told FoxFooty.
“It’s on us boys coming out each week and playing like we did today.
“We just wanted to come out and have a real crack today pretty much for Simmo because he’s a great coach and he should be our coach going forward.”
Kelly, 29, said his stellar performance came party from the build-up of frustration from a tumultuous 2023 season and a tough week.
“Last week was disappointing, there was a lot going on during the week, a lot of background noise so it was important that we came out and focused on the things we were chasing as a footy team,” Kelly said.
“It just felt like there was a bit more on (the line) today.
“It wasn’t about winning today, it was about putting our foot down, being competitive and giving our supporters something to cheer about and doing it for each other as well.”

Kelly said their focus now turned to ensuring they sent retiring champions Luke Shuey, Shannon Hurn and Nic Naitanui off the right way against Adelaide at Optus Stadium on Saturday night.
“Knowing all of those three boys and how selfless they are, they’ll just want us to treat it like another week,” Kelly said.
“But it’s going to be extremely hard to do just because of how much they mean to us at the footy club and everything that they’ve done.
“They’ve had a lot to do with a lot of people club at the club and it’s important we send them off the right way.”

Do it every week then. This reflects incredibly poorly on the playing group if they need the threat of their coach being sacked to actually put in effort

“We just wanted to come out and have a real crack today.." - Tim Kelly
Isn't that what they're supposed to do every week?

It seems the team really wants Simmo as coach. So how will a new coach impact them?
It has to be said regardless of all the noise out there and the large losses, there have been games
when the team has played fluently, with the attacking, run+overlap style - and it looks good, it works, it stands up. As it did against the dogs yesterday. So that part of his coaching can't be questioned (the gameplan).

The main problem for 2 years running is injuries and never having a consistent team out there.
But why has that been happening...an unbelievable run of bad luck or bad management, both?

6 players different from yesterdays team to the one that lost to the Swans by a million. Admittedly thats a 3rd of the team, but no one can convince me its a talent issue (worth 30 goals) when these were the differences

Out: Bazzo, Barrass, Hough, Ginbey, Sheed, Shuey

In: Cripps, Gov, Rotham, Cole, Jones, Trew

No net talent difference in those 6

It's between the ears.

6 players different from yesterdays team to the one that lost to the Swans by a million. Admittedly thats a 3rd of the team, but no one can convince me its a talent issue (worth 30 goals) when these were the differences

Out: Bazzo, Barrass, Hough, Ginbey, Sheed, Shuey

In: Cripps, Gov, Rotham, Cole, Jones, Trew
The biggest difference is no Sheed.

Can't carry both Sheed and Gaff in the same team. It's Priddis all over again.