Traded Adam Treloar [traded w/ #28 to Collingwood for #7, #65, 2016 first rounder]

Collingwood don't pay that much for players! They're offering up Sinclair + 2nd rounder for Adam Treloar

You do realise that we are in a pretty strong position with our list and don't require just anything to clog places?

Collingwood will offer the same as everyone else, 2 first rounders. My point is if a lower ranked team offers the same or marginally better we are better off pushing for that or nothing.

Whilst we hear this saying that players always get to where they want it's not actually true. For every one that has there are plenty that don't. Giants have to be careful because if we set a precedent that we fall over then we will get a heap of others doing the same going forward.

If Ads desperately wants to get to Melbourne then what is the issue playing for Carlton or the Dees??

Just a question if Witts is so good why is he the first player that every Collingwood fan throws out for a fair trade??

Tell you what we Giants fans appreciate that but we think Grundy is a better fit. Since you are so inclined to give us a player of equal value that we really need give us Grundy for Treloar and we'll call it even.

You can keep Witts and we'll hold on to Jed Lamb even though we really think you need him.
Because we have 2 brilliant young number 1 ruckman but neither of them is the goal kicking forward that you need your 2nd ruckman to be these days.. makes it very hard to play both

I understand, you can do a straight swap of Grundy for treloar then, sounds fair, and you can keep the up and coming star witts

You do realise that we are in a pretty strong position with our list and don't require just anything to clog places?

Collingwood will offer the same as everyone else, 2 first rounders. My point is if a lower ranked team offers the same or marginally better we are better off pushing for that or nothing.

Whilst we hear this saying that players always get to where they want it's not actually true. For every one that has there are plenty that don't. Giants have to be careful because if we set a precedent that we fall over then we will get a heap of others doing the same going forward.

If Ads desperately wants to get to Melbourne then what is the issue playing for Carlton or the Dees??
You will get a quality player, witts is a dud, you wouldn't involve him in a trade for a star player. I'm sure he wouldn't have any issues going to any Melbourne club, he has no connections to Collingwood whatsoever. From geelong, would Motlop + first rounder be fair?

I would gladly give up a first round draft pick for Witts

Not sure mate, Motlop is a serious talent and personally would prefer him over Witts. He's had some off field stuff which is a concern but no doubting his talent.

If it were up to me I'd be trying to get pick 2 somehow. I think Weitering is the guy that could really improve our list and is a player we genuinely don't have.

If we must lose Treloar, and clearly I do not want to lose him, I think the best result would be getting pick 2 to use on him (I'm assuming Brisbane take Schache but that could change if they landed a Tippett in trade week)

Witts looked good playing against Sandilands because it was a good size and pace matchup. I live near Victoria Park and watch Collingwood VFL reasonably regularly. I see Witts play more often there than on TV at the top level, and he doesn't stand out that much in the VFL. not particularly mobile, doesn't take heaps of marks, lumbering ruckman kicking style.

Grundy is twice the player Witts is. and I wouldn't trade a second round pick for Witts.

In the off season last year Witts was named (by the AFL players) as the best ruckman under 22 years of age.

http://www.aflplayers.com.au/article/22under22-team-announced/

He didn't have a pre season this year after having a shoulder reconstruction. He started late (after a couple of VFL games) after a couple of VFL games at the start, but has mainly been in our best 22 since.

He is fairly mobile for his size, excellent below his knees and handy in the ruck. He was pretty good overhead last year, but has gone backwards in this regard, something I assume can be attributed to his off season shoulder issues.

The only reason Pies fans are offering him up in this instance is because, a) we have two #1 level ruckmen in an era in which you really only need one, b) he is from NSW so could be an attractive proposition for the Giants and c) we rate Grundy slightly above him.

Just a question if Witts is so good why is he the first player that every Collingwood fan throws out for a fair trade??

Tell you what we Giants fans appreciate that but we think Grundy is a better fit. Since you are so inclined to give us a player of equal value that we really need give us Grundy for Treloar and we'll call it even.

You can keep Witts and we'll hold on to Jed Lamb even though we really think you need him.
We throw up Witts' name because he is from Sydney and I honestly can't see us fitting 2 ruckman in the one side when they both struggle to play forward. I think I can speak for many Pies fans also when I say that Grundy is a better player than Witts, albeit marginally, and thus we would obviously prefer to keep him.

An established player and a first round pick will get the deal done. Talk of two first rounders is ridiculous considering what we received for Beams (Effectively Pick 5 & 25, with Jack Crisp thrown in as steak knives) when both the on field and off-field benefits of Beams to Brisbane outweigh that of Treloar to Collingwood, also remembering that Beams was not out of contract and Treloar is. Whether that be one of Witts, Seedsman, Blair, Kennedy or Toovey and a first rounder, I'm confident it will satisfy both parties.

My proposal was purely tongue in cheek Andre

We dont need Witts. Either people dont watch games outside their own club or they cant be arsed doing any research. Lobb has looked every bit as good as Witts in the 6 games he has played to date.

Downie has looked pretty good in patches as well. I reckon you guys are okay for rucks actually. By the time Mummy is ready to hang them up Lobb will be ready to go full time.

We dont need Witts. Either people dont watch games outside their own club or they cant be arsed doing any research. Lobb has looked every bit as good as Witts in the 6 games he has played to date.

To be fair, Witts' name has been thrown up for longer than the past 6 weeks.

I understand, you can do a straight swap of Grundy for treloar then, sounds fair, and you can keep the up and coming star witts
Even if it was Grundy it would still take our first round pick on top as well, the kid is a gun

I'm not really fussed which ruckman we keep, Witts is the better tap ruckman and Grundy is better around the ground.. but Witts is from NSW so his name is always going to be mentioned before Grundy

I highly doubt witts would be happy playing neafl until a time that Mumford is unavailable to play. Already showed before that Mumford plays better alone than with help (Giles). I'd rather back in Phillips, lobb and Downie than tak

Doesn't make much difference to us if we have to get a 1st rounder from someone else to give you 2 x 1st round picks but seeing as the kid is from NSW and his ceiling is higher than any ruckman at your club I can see why it's being bandied about

The problem is you guys don't need anything haha, got talent lining up everywhere. Maybe another key defender would be your biggest "need" even though you recently drafted Marchbank.

I'm assuming if Treloar wanted to go to Collingwood it would take two first round picks.

Doesn't make much difference to us if we have to get a 1st rounder from someone else to give you 2 x 1st round picks but seeing as the kid is from NSW and his ceiling is higher than any ruckman at your club I can see why it's being bandied about
Don't see how he has a higher ceiling than our rucks. He may be more advanced ATM but that doesn't mean his ceiling is higher. Both only got into footy in their late teens. They were always going to take longer

Well we all look at our players through supporters eyes don't we.. I'd back Witts and Grundy to take Lobb and Downie to the cleaners over time for pure talent, the rest is variables like attitude injuries culture etc so you never really know for sure until they mature and the big boys take longer

And yet you're hellbent on gifting Witts to us?

Be honest are you a Giants fan trolling as a Magpies fan?

With Aish almost certain to join Carlton, think you can count out us of the race to sign Treloar. Got a feeling Melbourne and St Kilda may become players, at the very least forcing Collingwood to increase their trade offer to the Giants.

The problem is you guys don't need anything haha, got talent lining up everywhere. Maybe another key defender would be your biggest "need" even though you recently drafted Marchbank.

I'm assuming if Treloar wanted to go to Collingwood it would take two first round picks.

Hence why the usually quiet Derek Hine has been doing numerous interviews this year, and in all of them has been pushing hard for future trading to be brought in THIS year.

There shit sides!

Traded Adam Treloar [traded w/ #28 to Collingwood for #7, #65, 2016 first rounder]