Preview Adelaide v Port Adelaide - 4.10 Sunday 3rd May @ Adelaide Oval

I would say the favourite has won 25 Showdowns. 12 underdog wins.

The whole "Showdowns are 50/50" schtick was started by the Adelaide media to excuse why Port was winning half of them at the start with a team that was playing against the reigning premiers.

The only other time you've seen the favourite lose is due to teams getting ahead of themselves (Adelaide) or injuries (Port) - remember that game in 2007 when Brogan I think pulled out before the game with back spasms and Lade was rucked into the ground? Games like that.

I made a shitty banner for the gameday thread.

DhzVPQk.jpg

The whole "Showdowns are 50/50" schtick was started by the Adelaide media to excuse why Port was winning half of them at the start with a team that was playing against the reigning premiers.

The only other time you've seen the favourite lose is due to teams getting ahead of themselves (Adelaide) or injuries (Port) - remember that game in 2007 when Brogan I think pulled out before the game with back spasms and Lade was rucked into the ground? Games like that.
Yeah that one only needed Choco to use Thurstans for five minutes end of first and second and Lade wouldn't have been stuffed in the last. Shit match day coaching.

Surley all Port and Crow supporters have learned by now that SDs are 50/50 and form means shit. I'd like to see a tally and who went in as favorites and who actually won. I reckon the underdog would get up more often than not.

When the crows have been up at the top and we've been mediorcre we've either upset them or copped hidings. When vice versa we've most times only just beaten them. Ironically we've been the club over the years to mostly keep calling these games 50/50 even when we've been the favourites. The crows rarely voice it to be 50/50 but their media lovers do.

I just want to know how they intend on scoring against us when we held the Hawks for 2qtrs.

If what Ken said about tweaking the game after the second half against the Hawks is true, we may have won by more than just 8 points.

On Paper, we have the talent to match any top 4 side come finals, I can't say that with the Crow's due to lack of experience in their younger brigade, which is where we should win the game with Young, Mitchell, Jasper AND Arch... giving us that run all day. (Polec/White as sub)

Even though I think its always a 50-50 game, I cant help think if the Crows were playing Sydney tomorrow would it be a 50-50 game?

If we are to replicate the performance of last week in that 1st qtr in one of the qtrs. tomorrow it will be another bolt from out of the blue that will knock the stuffing's out of them. When we done it against Richmond it was considered as complete annihilation in the first qtr, that was number 1, against the Hawks it was considered as the best performance in the 1st qrt in a long, long, some saying EVER, which was number 2. Will it come three's? And if it does, is it now more than just luck? I think NOT..

Both the Cows and the Bullies were on the same level at the end of last year, the improvement in the Bulldogs was clear to see. The Crows have defeated one team that was in the 8 last year and lost heavily to a team that finished lower them last year who beat Sydney today.

I am not painting a pretty but Washly is talking this game up so that they can cover up the shambles of last week from being out coached and outplayed in every department.

If the Cows are overcome us tomorrow they would have to improve 10 fold in one week, you could do that if it was mind set.

If we come out switched on, it will be a mauling.

When Boak turned to Taylah and said "So you're jumping off the jetty again if we beat you in the ground ball?" I knew they are switched on. The boys want to make sure that Walsh has a torrid time of it, purely because he chose to leave Port Adelaide for Adelaide. No one with a spine does that unless they have no choice. Have a look at how Daisy Thomas was treated by Collingwood players when they first met - that's what we'll be doing to every single Crows player.

Remember what Hinkley said in the Richmond EF: "You've gotta be wound up to be at your absolute brutal best. And if it is personal, then nothing will stop us. We'll make it happen."

This game is personal. Because it involves a flog who looked at Port Adelaide, saw the journey we were going on, and said "No thanks, I'm going to join your bitter rivals because I'm a traitorous flog of the highest order."

You'll be seeing Crow flogs going for a nice 5am swim on Monday morning. Don't worry.

If we lose ill be qouting this. Too cocky

You're right, all losses come down to Janus being cocky ;)

I don't get it - I talk about how the boys are switched on for this game and how they'll be up for it because they want to make Walsh regret leaving them for Adelaide, then say how the Crows will be going for a swim because they'll lose the ground ball again...and that is somehow cocky?

Oh well, I'll take the losses as long as I get credit for the wins as well :)

I don't get it - I talk about how the boys are switched on for this game and how they'll be up for it because they want to make Walsh regret leaving them for Adelaide, then say how the Crows will be going for a swim because they'll lose the ground ball again...and that is somehow cocky?

Yeah don't ever change mate. You just write what we're all feeling but can't put into words. If the other teams don't like it, why would we care?

Done :thumbsu:

Yeah don't ever change mate. You just write what we're all feeling but can't put into words. If the other teams don't like it, why would we care?

:thumbsu: So much this, although the missus is getting a little tired of me running through brick walls (well the lattice on the patio) after reading one of your inspirational post Janus :D

Preview Adelaide v Port Adelaide - 4.10 Sunday 3rd May @ Adelaide Oval