Preview Round 15 Changes - Port vs Brisbane @ Adelaide Oval

G'day Port fans,

Big game!

I realise the mood in here so i won't pretend your team is shooting the lights out. nor will i pretend i know your side better than you. But i think there are quite a few factors in your favour:

- Missing SPP and Rioli seems to have been death for your forward line this year. The best two small forwards by a mile, albeit for different reasons. Getting Rioli back helps a lot.

- It's a tried and true formula - take a football club, smash them in the media, watch them improve. doesn't happen every time but it does happen. Your most disappointing losses this year: Melbourne - smashed essendon the week after. Lost to pies - okay not an amazing win the next week but got a big lead before injuries started to bite. 5 goal loss to crows - beat the cats away. So YES it's been two bad ones in a row but back home the bounce back factor looks primed

- The last game between the two sides at the venue - only a year ago, port struggling in the pre season, lions up at half time, then you absolutely belted us. Also happens to be another early arvo saturday game to maximise our ptsd!

- We did manage to beat you at AO in 2019. but our last win in adelaide against you before that was 2012. we don't go that well there as a rule.

- we have been very up and down this year. we just can't be relied on, not just week by week (we let st kilda kick 16 goals last week and easily could have lost at the gabba) but within games we give team run ons all the time. Port to me seem more than most a confidence team, and make no mistake unless we somehow pull out our dogs away or dees away form, we will allow you to get major momentum at some point, and in an away match that could be terminal

Match-ups.

Rioli is a key one, i'd assume starcevich gets him. very crafty player

Marshall - Payne. Payne was pretty ordinary last time. Marshall should just get on the lead as per his strength, cause it ain't Payne's.

Lord - i am assuming he plays because he killed Harris Andrews last time! Surely harris will improve

Neale - Willem Drew to tag? I'd assume so as the rest of your mids are very attacking so it's not like on tag throws out the balance

BUtters- i am assuming a Berry tag

JHF - Expecting a 'play with' role from Dunkley that at least stops him waltzing out of clearances like last time at AO

Daniher - has to be Aliir?

Cameron - doesn't matter he is mentally shattered. I'd worry about Lohman more

Hipwood - yes no world beater but had a good few weeks, expecting Esava to work him off the ball and not let him run at it

Logan Morris - who? Very raw. But bobs up for goals every week. Seems to know where to go. I think he needs someone to just watch him a bit, seems to be getting away a lot, long may it continue!

Enjoy the game

G'day Port fans,

Big game!

I realise the mood in here so i won't pretend your team is shooting the lights out. nor will i pretend i know your side better than you. But i think there are quite a few factors in your favour:

- Missing SPP and Rioli seems to have been death for your forward line this year. The best two small forwards by a mile, albeit for different reasons. Getting Rioli back helps a lot.

- It's a tried and true formula - take a football club, smash them in the media, watch them improve. doesn't happen every time but it does happen. Your most disappointing losses this year: Melbourne - smashed essendon the week after. Lost to pies - okay not an amazing win the next week but got a big lead before injuries started to bite. 5 goal loss to crows - beat the cats away. So YES it's been two bad ones in a row but back home the bounce back factor looks primed

- The last game between the two sides at the venue - only a year ago, port struggling in the pre season, lions up at half time, then you absolutely belted us. Also happens to be another early arvo saturday game to maximise our ptsd!

- We did manage to beat you at AO in 2019. but our last win in adelaide against you before that was 2012. we don't go that well there as a rule.

- we have been very up and down this year. we just can't be relied on, not just week by week (we let st kilda kick 16 goals last week and easily could have lost at the gabba) but within games we give team run ons all the time. Port to me seem more than most a confidence team, and make no mistake unless we somehow pull out our dogs away or dees away form, we will allow you to get major momentum at some point, and in an away match that could be terminal

Match-ups.

Marshall - Payne. Payne was pretty ordinary last time. Marshall should just get on the lead as per his strength, cause it ain't Payne's.

Lord - i am assuming he plays because he killed Harris Andrews last time! Surely harris will improve

Neale - Willem Drew to tag? I'd assume so as the rest of your mids are very attacking so it's not like on tag throws out the balance

JHF - Expecting a 'play with' role from Dunkley that at least stops him waltzing out of clearances like last time at AO

Hipwood - yes no world beater but had a good few weeks, expecting Esava to work him off the ball and not let him run at it

Logan Morris - who? Very raw. But bobs up for goals every week. Seems to know where to go. I think he needs someone to just watch him a bit, seems to be getting away a lot, long may it continue!

Enjoy the game
thanks see you at the footy

In fairness to our coach, credit where credit is due I reckon Ken gave a good captains run presser today.

Clear, definitive, no spin or BS for a change.

Said Marshall needs to lift and so do the mids.

Said Sweet dominates in the SANFL and demanded selection, said Soldo’s form hasn’t been great post-injury.

Said Rioli is by no means a lock but will get to the very last minute, at his age they won’t risk exacerbating a calf injury.

Said our fans are great and very loud, but we need to give them something to cheer about. If we get going early, they’ll come with us.

Obviously I realise this is “broken clock is right twice a day territory” but it’s small mercies at the moment, I’m actually marginally buoyed by it.
Says all that and selects McEntee. Treats the supporters with absolute disdain 99.999% of the time and when it's convenient references how loud we are. Won't risk Rioli BULLSH*T. Marshall needs to lift? Wow. Not much gets past you Einstein. He's a bs artist of the highest order. There is no way he meant a single word. He's a charlatan.

Before that even. His job on Tom Stewart gave the rest of the league a blueprint to beating Geelong but locked him in the side for the rest of the season, at least.

At least they should use him to tag an opposition midfielder. Having his selection based as a "pressure forward" is a complete fallacy. I guarantee any younger player fighting for their AFL career would give their all and then some, and likely show a trajectory of inconsistent improvement as opposed to consistent irrelevance over a 2 year period.

G'day Port fans,

Big game!

Match-ups.

Enjoy the game

Does Logan Morris play for Port or Brisbane? :p

No wait, ours is Logan Evans.

Biggest screw up we ever done was the 2009 draft.

To think we could have traded in Josh Kennedy from Hawthorn for Shaun Burgoyne (they probably would have thrown in McGlynn or a pick too) but that wasn't good enough for Choco.

Oh well, Sydney were able to do something with them.

Subjective, I disagree but you're entitled to your opinion.

Objectively incorrect.
So..

Moving up 4 spots in the first round with a future 3rd round selection for Ladhams = basically nothing. This is for the guy that's played 20 games in 2.5 years and not once this year.

Pick 10, Howard & Ryder, and a 4th rounder for Pick 12, 18 and future 3rd = literally nothing. Not sure a 32 year old Ryder with injury concerns amounted to much in this scenario but lets assume his currency was able to change a 4th to a 3rd rounder. Which means Howard and 10 got us 12 and 18. Which is basically rating Howard around a pick in the 20's. Not sure how that is literally nothing for what most Saints supporters i talk to think he is a certified spud.

But on the other hand:
Esava for pick 25 = sold the farm (how is this much different to the Howard trade, and i personally rather Esava to Howard).

Soldo for freo's future second (and some steak knives late picks) = sold the farm (once again how is this worse than the Ladhams trade, and i would have Soldo ahead of Ladhams).

BZT (and some steak knives late picks) for Duursma = sold the farm. (probably the only one where we may have given up more than we needed to, but overall looks like a good trade for both parties, BZT is going okay).

To think we could have traded in Josh Kennedy from Hawthorn for Shaun Burgoyne (they probably would have thrown in McGlynn or a pick too) but that wasn't good enough for Choco.

Oh well, Sydney were able to do something with them.
Congratulations for making a shyt draft year sound even worse. 😂

Does Logan Morris play for Port or Brisbane? :p

No wait, ours is Logan Evans.
Ha fair

not getting heaps of it but after his first sub game has kicked 2/2/2/1/3 goals in each game. not bad for a first year player

of course i have now MOZZED him and he will not trouble the scorers. you're welcome

So..

Moving up 4 spots in the first round with a future 3rd round selection for Ladhams = basically nothing. This is for the guy that's played 20 games in 2.5 years and not once this year.

Pick 10, Howard & Ryder, and a 4th rounder for Pick 12, 18 and future 3rd = literally nothing. Not sure a 32 year old Ryder with injury concerns amounted to much in this scenario but lets assume his currency was able to change a 4th to a 3rd rounder. Which means Howard and 10 got us 12 and 18. Which is basically rating Howard around a pick in the 20's. Not sure how that is literally nothing for what most Saints supporters i talk to think he is a certified spud.

But on the other hand:
Esava for pick 25 = sold the farm (how is this much different to the Howard trade, and i personally rather Esava to Howard).

Soldo for freo's future second (and some steak knives late picks) = sold the farm (once again how is this worse than the Ladhams trade, and i would have Soldo ahead of Ladhams).

BZT (and some steak knives late picks) for Duursma = sold the farm. (probably the only one where we may have given up more than we needed to, but overall looks like a good trade for both parties, BZT is going okay).
tl;dr

We traded Ladhams, a first rounder and a second rounder for Josh Sinn who has done nothing. We delisted Hayes. We traded Howard, Ryder and our choice of Pickett or Day for Bergman and Williams, that's a massive loss even without taking Howard into account. One of the worst trades we've ever made.

We traded this year's first rounder for the picks that got us Esava and Soldo (keeping in mind neither Esava or Soldo were best 22 at their former clubs), and we traded a former first rounder for BZT.

So we've burned the careers of three talks who showed a lot of promise during their early years for **** all, and we've burned two first round picks (one of which could easily turn out to be top 10) on the triumvirate of average stopgaps that is Esava, Soldo and BZT. Appalling list management and appalling player development.

Who's going to hack kick into the forward 50 now??

Hey, he put some very nice passes onto the chest of opposition defenders

We really only have two forwards in MG and Rioli who look good enough this year to kick a reasonable amount of goals.
We seriously struggle for multiple goal kicking forwards.
Jed takes a spot in our forward line and yes I understand he’s there to do a particular job.
Unfortunately Jed is not a goal kicking forward and with the people we have up forward not kicking goals the pressure comes on him more than the others.

A tagging type forward can be successful if he has high quality forwards around him who can kick a bucket load of goals.
Thing is he shouldn’t be in the side but there’s others playing up forward who are just as much to blame but don’t get scrutinized like he does.
So the people that want Jed dropped are correct but the people calling for forwards that get a game each week and do bugger all like Marshall are also correct.
All in all it paints a sad picture of our forward line.