Adrian Dodoro: Football’s Biggest Fraud IMO

I’m not sure we drafted Francis with the hope he’d be just an intercepting defender. He was extremely dominant all over the ground in the champs.

I think we’ve always viewed him as a defender much to my annoyance. Didn’t persist with forward time, never tried him in the guts, despite running poor tank Stringer though.

Those draft penalties didn't happen then? Missed out on 3 X 1st round picks if I recall. Haven't had the picks

Excuses. The Crows copped similar and played in a GF in 2017. Geelong's highest draft pick in 20 years was pick 7. Essendon have a pick 1, two pick 5's, two pick 6's, a FS who would have gone top 5, a pick 8, all on the current list.

Carlton have had a million first round picks and have gone nowhere.

They have had the best list in the competition for 4 years. They should be like Essendon in 2000 every year. Grand finals should have been the minimum standard every year. They have a better list individual vs individual than Hawks during their three peat.

Ling could get thirty himself, complete outlier in referencing taggers. youve really got one tagger in 20 years that was lucky the best team in the competition fell over in the prelim. Not a basis for emulation.

Then you name two people who could be both part of a system and win their own ball like McGrath and use that as evidence... you’re supporting my argument.

Not one of Shiels, Langford or Hutchings is like McGrath. Shiels closest but he is a grunt mid.

What about Crowley at Freo (GF and prelim side), Cornes at Port (ball winner too but none of McGraths skill, more an accumulator), Jones and Baker at St Kilda sides that were bounce of the balls away from being probably dual premiership players.

Ling got 30 rarely, was a ballpark 20 disposal mid most of his career. Again, not a big influencer disposal wise.

You changed the goalposts from "struggling to make finals" to "should be Essendon 2000 and better than the Hawthorn 3peat side". So, clearly you didn't believe your own argument because there's a massive gap between those 2 statements. And enough evidence to say playing a tagger doesn't mean your system is broken or your team sucks.

It's a worry that a lot of focus is going on the injuries list. A lot of what I'm hearing is all about the injuries. Yep, they certainly have a fairly long list but...

Sure, Hooker, Daniher, McKenna and Fantasia are losses, but are they going to be there much longer? Is Fantasia actually any good anymore? Daniher hasn't played good footy in a couple of years, Hooker is in his swansong, McKenna is a go home risk. Are these 4 players you get back for a full season to improve your side?

Stewart is average at best. Same with Ambrose, although he's probably getting a game when fit, he would be seen to be behind Francis and BZT going forward.

Heppell, Stringer, Laverde, Zaharakis are losses yes but probably comparable to other teams.

I'm not saying their injury list isn't bad, just that out of the main ones that have missed games this year, 4 are potential "gones" and 2 are senior depth anyway. It's possible that this year may be swept aside because of injuries but I'd be surprised if they get through next year without the loss of 4 calinre players of Stringer, Heppell, Zaharakis and Laverde. It still doesn't cover their forward issues even with Stringer and Laverde back.

It's a worry that a lot of focus is going on the injuries list. A lot of what I'm hearing is all about the injuries. Yep, they certainly have a fairly long list but...

Sure, Hooker, Daniher, McKenna and Fantasia are losses, but are they going to be there much longer? Is Fantasia actually any good anymore? Daniher hasn't played good footy in a couple of years, Hooker is in his swansong, McKenna is a go home risk. Are these 4 players you get back for a full season to improve your side?

Stewart is average at best. Same with Ambrose, although he's probably getting a game when fit, he would be seen to be behind Francis and BZT going forward.

Heppell, Stringer, Laverde, Zaharakis are losses yes but probably comparable to other teams.

I'm not saying their injury list isn't bad, just that out of the main ones that have missed games this year, 4 are potential "gones" and 2 are senior depth anyway. It's possible that this year may be swept aside because of injuries but I'd be surprised if they get through next year without the loss of 4 calinre players of Stringer, Heppell, Zaharakis and Laverde. It still doesn't cover their forward issues even with Stringer and Laverde back.

Raise some good points. Where I would disagree is:

- At some point the numbers add up. Stringer, Daniher, Stewart, Laverde, Hooker, Gown and Jones have been injured this hear plus Mckernan has been playing injured. That’s every marking forward on our list over 190cm. We’ve played games with Townsend and Langford as our 2nd and 3rd KPPs

- Ambrose is good, not that I think another KPD would make much of a difference.

Obviously with a good injury run Essendon may have been able to fluke some finals success this year but it was always going to be short lived anyway.

Not one of Shiels, Langford or Hutchings is like McGrath. Shiels closest but he is a grunt mid.

What about Crowley at Freo (GF and prelim side), Cornes at Port (ball winner too but none of McGraths skill, more an accumulator), Jones and Baker at St Kilda sides that were bounce of the balls away from being probably dual premiership players.

Ling got 30 rarely, was a ballpark 20 disposal mid most of his career. Again, not a big influencer disposal wise.

You changed the goalposts from "struggling to make finals" to "should be Essendon 2000 and better than the Hawthorn 3peat side". So, clearly you didn't believe your own argument because there's a massive gap between those 2 statements. And enough evidence to say playing a tagger doesn't mean your system is broken or your team sucks.

They aren’t the same physical make up as McGrath but facilitate the same role as he would with better players around him. Win the ball when required but cover for the defensive deficiencies of those ball players. You can still play well inspite of having a tagger but in an ideal system they aren’t required, they only occur due to the weaknesses of your other players.

Whats this nonsense about Shiels being a grunt mid yet McGrath isn’t. McGraths contested>uncontested possession ratio is at a higher ratio than Shiels ever has.

Anything not top 4 is struggling to make finals. You aren’t challenging you’re there making up numbers except for once every 20 years. Which they are going to acheive for the 3rd time in five years despite having the best combination of individuals in the competition.

In isolation each selection can be justified as valid at the time. You can also look at injuries and the saga as excuses. However when you top midfielders are Mcgrath 178cm, Shiel 182, Parish 181, Merrett 180, Smith 174 something has not gone right.

That's actually a good midfield group on paper. Just lacks a fearless key inside mid. As you say, we lack height and marking in the middle of the ground.

Why isn't Derek Hine on the hot seat as well as The Jacket (Dodoro) ?

Collingwood's drafting since the 2010 flag has been putrid. THEY are very close to falling off a cliff by 2022 unless they get their act together.

Because for some reason Dodoro is one of maybe 3 recruiters people know the name of, and so cops an immense amount of criticism for being pretty well average at his job.

I wonder what those reasons could be...hmmmm

Could it be that he has been a complete media hound running every trade through the News Corp rags and every other media outlet he can back channel every October for well over a decade since the draft/trade season became popular

or

Could it be that he has a twitter account dedicated to updating every day of his 5,835 day drought

or

Could it be that while that finals drought has continued on unrelentingly and that twitter account keeps ticking over, Adrian made a splash all over the news making millions in dodgy land deals with his EFC mates that keep him in his hobby recruiting job.

He is a ripper ol Jackets and long may his vaudeville hobby act live on. What's a decade or two's frustration for Bomber fans in the big scheme of life.

Increasingly flabberbasted that Bombre fans are still talking in circles about Adrian. A little clip here, a little pat on the back there. A little well done Adrian here, a little well done Adrian but you coulda done a teeny bit better there.

17 yrs - Zero finals wins.....nearly 6,000 days with zero end in sight and Bombre's are still not completely sold on his extremely well earned title of Football's Biggest Fraud.

As the great philosopher Harry Who would say.....Amazing.

Another attempt at trolling Essendon

Essendon supporters will only agree that they want Dodoro out

Don’t worry guys, Dodorro got all his short comings was apart of the club during the 2000 season.

Some clubs aim for mediocrity and hang there hat on finals wins. My club aims for premierships.

Would prefer to be in a 20 year premiership drought than 21 let alone 40+ year droughts like some clubs currently have.

I wonder what those reasons could be...hmmmm

Could it be that he has been a complete media hound running every trade through the News Corp rags and every other media outlet he can back channel every October for well over a decade since the draft/trade season became popular

or

Could it be that he has a twitter account dedicated to updating every day of his 5,835 day drought

or

Could it be that while that finals drought has continued on unrelentingly and that twitter account keeps ticking over, Adrian made a splash all over the news making millions in dodgy land deals with his EFC mates that keep him in his hobby recruiting job.

He is a ripper ol Jackets and long may his vaudeville hobby act live on. What's a decade or two's frustration for Bomber fans in the big scheme of life.

Basically confirms my point though doesn't it.

Dudoro is a myth.

Just think about what he has cost EFC by not accepting the deal with Sydney last year. They could have 2 high draft picks and have offloaded a huge liability. I'm so glad we didn't take Daniher. He would be worth a 3rd rounder and that's about it now.

Lets his ego get in the way of the club.

Dudoro is a myth.

Just think about what he has cost EFC by not accepting the deal with Sydney last year. They could have 2 high draft picks and have offloaded a huge liability. I'm so glad we didn't take Daniher. He would be worth a 3rd rounder and that's about it now.

Lets his ego get in the way of the club.
He'll be worth more than a 3rd after he kicks 6 tomorrow night.

Gotta get 6 kicks to kick 6 goals.

It's amazing just how brilliant Daniher has become during his stint on the sidelines. I swear he's turned into the second coming of John Coleman.

3 years removed from his only real top shelf season. After some debilitating injuries and people think he'll waltz straight back to what he was. Not happening.

On SM-A530F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Gotta get 6 kicks to kick 6 goals.

It's amazing just how brilliant Daniher has become during his stint on the sidelines. I swear he's turned into the second coming of John Coleman.

3 years removed from his only real top shelf season. After some debilitating injuries and people think he'll waltz straight back to what he was. Not happening.

On SM-A530F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Google facetious. 😘

Consider my efforts not as trolling, but as attempts to help. With truth as my only tool.
Danihers back mate.

The only question is whether or not Hawkins has a big enough lead in the Coleman.

Danihers back mate.

The only question is whether or not Hawkins has a big enough lead in the Coleman.

Genuinely pleased to see the big lug back. He's one of the few bright sparks among a very dull league.

Although they'll probably have him trained right up so he can be part of a full 18 man defensive zone and do all those boring repeat 100 metre sprints up and back and zap his groins again. Or maybe they'll give him the Bellcho only free pass.

Big Joe woulda been a treat to watch when footy players were allowed to entertain with talent alone. Even his early years seem a lifetime ago from the total insistence now that games be won by strict adherence to the coaching box and not on talent on the park.

Alas, we all just keep on watching the dross as our lifelong addiction dictates.