AFL Cairns - 2010 season

Match of the round at Port Douglas this week, Hawks and Port. Will be worth a look as it will give both sides their best indication yet as to where they both are.

GO PIES!!
I agree centreman,Port douglas have'nt been pushed on the score board to much thus far, but will be without k. uebergang and b.cooper this week both through suspensions, and c.beetham reportable has been unwell for a few weeks and probably wont play, luke bloom a hamstring injury, and b.beall the ruckman with a knee injury might leave them a little vulnerable againts the hawks, who have got numbers and more depth.
VERT INTERESTING GAME FOR SURE

All of this after i said the game wouldn't be much of a game to watch. Well by the looks of the scores i was right and it wasn't much of a game. I wasn't having a go at anyone i would have said the same thing if Saints were playing Souths. Last weeks game was a very dull boring contest between Saints and Souths so don't think i was having a go at any clubs. It just happened to be Souths and Norths that were playing on the day. If 2 of the top sides were playing no doubt it would have been a better contest to watch but they wern't. How about stopping all this off field bull crap and some talk about on field stuff. Will Port really be a force this year. By the looks yes but they will need to stay fit because there isn't alot of depth from what i have seen. An early top 4 prediction would be Hawks,Port,Centrals and Saints in no order with those 4 clearly better than the other 3.
Exactly Lachrilly, keep the comments on the field. I hope you show the way and lead by example.

How about we all chip and buy a yearly supply of kleenex for all the sooks out there! haha Harden up fellas it's footy, you take the good with the bad and move on. If someone has something to say so be it, but don't sook up about it! It's sounds pathetic.

Now, did oakley quit or did he get the arse? or did he jump before he was pushed. Either way Norths team leaders are now running the show and coaching the club! That's gotta be a big step backwards surely.

How about we all chip and buy a yearly supply of kleenex for all the sooks out there! haha Harden up fellas it's footy, you take the good with the bad and move on. If someone has something to say so be it, but don't sook up about it! It's sounds pathetic.

Now, did oakley quit or did he get the arse? or did he jump before he was pushed. Either way Norths team leaders are now running the show and coaching the club! That's gotta be a big step backwards surely.

This is the second time I have seen this written this year on here. The first time was incorrect and I haven't seen a reply to this. Not great news if it is true, thought Oakley had them on the right path. Probably the hardest coaching job in the league.

I hope, for AFL Cairns sake and especially the Tigers, that this is just a rumour and Oakley is moving the magnets on the weekend against the Saints.

[/i][/b]

This is the second time I have seen this written this year on here. The first time was incorrect and I haven't seen a reply to this. Not great news if it is true, thought Oakley had them on the right path. Probably the hardest coaching job in the league.

I hope, for AFL Cairns sake and especially the Tigers, that this is just a rumour and Oakley is moving the magnets on the weekend against the Saints.

I agree totally collo, let's hope it is just rumor all though I fear it is true. The last thingthis comp needs is a coachless club. Surely someone will step into the breach and take it on for them?

Sorry fellows its in the local chip wrapper page 57 today and apparently backed up by their pres.

as a port fan oakley has an always will b a favoriote son,of the port douglas club.he was warned from the start about joining a pack of back stabbing dogs,wel that appears to have come,, true,u might b able to help us out wit that one mr watson park,truth would b good.looks like u lost a good tream man,trying to make a difference,shame on u north cairns back stabbers,u dogs no who you, are,weak as piss

How is Port shaping up this week redcard, strong as past few weeks? Should be a good game up there between you guys and the hawks mob. Whats wrong with Beetham, a bit crook is he?

yes centreman beetham is a bit crook an has bn for awhile,crocs have a few out this week but stil will b strong

Haven't heard any stories champ, other than the one that was in the paper, although by the end of the weekend there could be more to tell. From what I knew of the fella he did try hard and seemed like a decent bloke, so IF it wasn't the truth in the paper, not sure what happened. With your aggressive tone I assume your one of the minority who still hasn't got over what happened between out two clubs a long time ago. C'mon mate the people who were involved in that have long since left the club and moved on, we don't need to get into a big slanging match

Agree that a slanging match on here won't do much for you red card. I do wonder that if a coach can be sacked by the players 4 weeks into a year after the president and his comittee put faith into Oakley, are there more people to rid from the club? I feel for the Tigers, sounds like a tough place to be if your in some position of power.

All the best to Oakley, hopefully he can stay involved with AFL Cairns as his heart seemed to be in the right spot. From what I read, he wanted the best for the Tigers, but the players thought otherwise???

[/i][/b]

Agree that a slanging match on here won't do much for you red card. I do wonder that if a coach can be sacked by the players 4 weeks into a year after the president and his comittee put faith into Oakley, are there more people to rid from the club? I feel for the Tigers, sounds like a tough place to be if your in some position of power.

All the best to Oakley, hopefully he can stay involved with AFL Cairns as his heart seemed to be in the right spot. From what I read, he wanted the best for the Tigers, but the players thought otherwise???

Yeah it's tough if that's what happened, you can see he was in it for the right reasons, now will they go backwards? I think they probably will. I've watched tigers twice, once in pre season and last weekend. Lee Purdon is meant to be on plenty! I can honestly only see a reserves player in him, he is woeful. Just runs around out of breath the whole time trying to belt blokes. Maybe the powers that spent the money there are the ones that need removing?

Saints had a 5 goal win against a spirited Norths yesterday. After being 8 goals down at 1/4 time the Tigers showed alot in the final 3 quarters to out score the Saints. In the top of the table match in the reserves Saints won a dour struggle by about 4 goals in windy conditions. Norths kicked an early final 1/4 goal to be within a kick but Saints kicked the final 3 goals to run away with it in the end.

Manunda got the mother of all hidings yesterday. The players and coaches were delayed getting there and pretty much hopped out of the car and onto the ground, Ehlich's wedding was on, the captain had a baby born the night before, and they played without a bench by the 2nd quarter, all up they had 9 out. You can't have that against a side like Port who just snowballed and showed them no mercy as they all saw a chance to in on the action against some very young kids. Still, Port are the side to beat for mine, very even team. Anyone know any other scores?

Surely the league shouldn't have to change things just because someone was getting married on a game day. If someone chooses to do this then surely its tough luck on the side it effects.

The highway was closed for 12 hours due to a truck rollover and the main roads dept. as usual in their inept ways couldn't deal with it.

word should have gone out very early about it.

Nothing to do with the wedding. No, all were told that the road was now clear so they set off but as they all got there, the council in all its wisdom decide to close it for another 4 hours, so from 10 minutes outside port they all headed back to cairns around the kuranda mareeba way. Only to get there within 25 minutes of the delayed start time, some even later. End of the day it's only 1 game in the year but just thought it could have been handled a lot better?

Great effort by the tigers today saw them win pretty convincingly in the end about 8 goals. Richter solid in his first game for the club and will obviously be better for the run. Little man Reynoldson BOG again, yet he can't geta game in the rep squad?? Any other scores from today?

Now I was there today, tigers by 41 points. Richter...unsighted! absolutely not worth the paper he printed his signiture on! which is a shame as the kid put alot of pressure on himself by holding two clubs out for months.(oddly enough the two clubs who played each other today??) Tigers definately played the better footy, and yep reynoldson best by a mile..but richter come on, he was error ridden and streets off being any kind of a gun! Still I was told in confidence the hawks have been 10 short for 4 weeks now. So! will be a good battle for that fourth spot?

Saints had 2 easy wins against a supposed near full strength Cobras. The ressies coming away with an easy 70 point win and the seniors on the back of 12 Matt Walsh goals won by 107. Both margins could easily had been alot more with Saints rearly out of 2nd gear for the match. Surely this weekend's results puts Port and Saints as the 2 early season favourites.

No argument here lachrilly, they the 2 standouts for sure. And Richter was very disappointing..after all the hoo ha I expected a gun but far from it. And reynoldson tore strips of alick all day!

I know the bloke (Richter) has had a fair bit of press on here and wasn't in our best on Saturday, but to be writing him off after 1 game seems a little premature. 1st game in 8 months and with a new team already 6 games into the year, was always going to be a difficult task. I saw one error from him, so to label his game error-ridden is a bit over the top. From all reports his input around the ground and in huddles has been first class, so give him a few games and I'm sure we will see the gun we expected.:thumbsu:

I never said his game was error ridden, just far from any kind of influence on the result. Come on be honest, if he doesn't tear games apart and lead you guys into the finals then he'll be under deserving fire given his dealings pre signing at tigers.

Had to laugh at the ladder in this weeks (Monday) Cairns Post. Had Souths on top of the ladder and Port on the bottom. Thanks Cairns Post for thinking of us Cutters fans.

Hawks down us today again a big score, but they were held pretty much in the second half and only beat Souths second half score by about 10 points. The ladz are getting better and will gel one day this season for a win. We are still holding our heads up with pride.