AFL Cairns - 2010 season

Hasn't been much said this year about the comp, my few predictions for the year are (I won't pick a premier as I on the day a few teams could win it, I'll go with consistency)
Ladder
Hawks - good preseason form, few new recruits and a wealth of knowledge
Saints - Coastworth a huge in, but surely are tiring.
Port - well drilled, coach will bring a healthy winning edge.
Dogs - good coach, should still be up there.
North - dark horse, few ins have helped, have turned the corner which is great for the league.
Souths - might be a tough year, very unsure and found it hard to leave them this low.
Cobras - haven't showed a great deal, rather say they'd finish 7th than last.

League B and F - Coatsworth, past winner and will be wanting to lead his troops.
Goalkicking - ????? M Walsh again? if injuries don't hamper him.

Love to know if I've missed anything.

A couple weeks ago they said at an AFL meeting, they didn't have enough players for one side let alone two, plus wanted player points allocation concession for themselves because of this , when everyone else had recruited to the points system we currently have. They are rehashing an old coach from 5 or 6 years ago.

I've heard a buzz the points will be modified next year to allow strengthening our our league.

rumour has it that Matt Walsh will miss up to half the season with a broken hand. Did it early on against Port in the pre season comp. Massive blow for Saints if this happens to be true.

A couple weeks ago they said at an AFL meeting, they didn't have enough players for one side let alone two, plus wanted player points allocation concession for themselves because of this , when everyone else had recruited to the points system we currently have. They are rehashing an old coach from 5 or 6 years ago.

I've heard a buzz the points will be modified next year to allow strengthening our our league.
Tamba im assuming you are having a dig at Port for asking for concessions(not even sure it did happen?). Very rich considering your club was the reason the points system came in after your (unsuccessful) rep coach r*ped and pillaged oppositon rep players over to the banjo players.
Just on that note cobras must be stretching the points to the limit with their North Cairns recruits. A few would want to play a lot better than they did saturday to justify this.
Crocs will have depth issues but underestimate them at your peril.

It definately did happen! I know someone who was there and he said they went on and on about it, and then North Cairns were the guys arguing the opposite which obviously meant they had recruited to their limit. I don't think anyone would underestimate the crocs thanks to you goalsquare clapper. I'm sure all will thak you for the heads up and be sure to field their strongest side!

It definately did happen! I know someone who was there and he said they went on and on about it, and then North Cairns were the guys arguing the opposite which obviously meant they had recruited to their limit. I don't think anyone would underestimate the crocs thanks to you goalsquare clapper. I'm sure all will thak you for the heads up and be sure to field their strongest side![/quote]

No no torpedo please play your weakest side on purpose so we can still win!! Have a guess what? We might even do a kickout huddle and play a loose man in defence... oops giving away too many secrets.

watched cobras on weekend,would like to no how an where r all the gun recruits that were named in the cairns post 3 months ago,going?because i couldn c them.hope they r not banking on there north cairns recruits,as they have bn a bottom side now for awhile,thought recruiting from a top side would have bn better option.carnt wait to see north cobras team in an outs this week

Tamba im assuming you are having a dig at Port for asking for concessions(not even sure it did happen?). Very rich considering your club was the reason the points system came in after your (unsuccessful) rep coach r*ped and pillaged oppositon rep players over to the banjo players.
Just on that note cobras must be stretching the points to the limit with their North Cairns recruits. A few would want to play a lot better than they did saturday to justify this.
Crocs will have depth issues but underestimate them at your peril.

It happened all right, ask all those who were there,

Wouldn't call the 3 years with SJ unsuccessful, we won two pre-season comps , one reserve flag and yes flags are what we play for but other things within the clubs make it worth while.

the points system wasn't brought in because of us it was to try and balance out the player recruitment across all teams including Port and Saints , the past AFL GM was looking at one before the current GM got his up and running

Also we are not in massive debt. If you commentator's on the subject are on our committee, you would not know our financial situation and where we stand and I know you are not otherwise you wouldn't be talking with forked tongues .

We have had this one in other leagues from vic. Anyone care to fill in the blanks?

Premiers:
Wooden Spooners:
League Medal:
Biggest Improver from 09:
Biggest Slider from 09:
Goal Kicker:
Most expensive team:
Most under-rated player:
Most over-rated player:
Most loyal player in the league:
Toughest bloke in the league:
Biggest Sook in the league:

It happened all right, ask all those who were there,

Wouldn't call the 3 years with SJ unsuccessful, we won two pre-season comps , one reserve flag and yes flags are what we play for but other things within the clubs make it worth while.

the points system wasn't brought in because of us it was to try and balance out the player recruitment across all teams including Port and Saints , the past AFL GM was looking at one before the current GM got his up and running

Also we are not in massive debt. If you commentator's on the subject are on our committee, you would not know our financial situation and where we stand and I know you are not otherwise you wouldn't be talking with forked tongues .

Pre season comps don't count, nor do reserves for that matter. But you shouldnt even mention pre season comp wins, thats ludicrous to claim that as any kind of success. There has to be some kind of a points system to stop clubs raping one another of players. We dont want players having the same mentality as rugby league where there is no such thing as loyalty and money is the highest power.

the point system has to be given time.. it's only had one year, it may take 3-4 years before we see whether it's for better or worse..
i think port douglas are the first unfortunate club to be at the mercy of a few teething problems in the point system, and maybe next year it might be another club..and i would think that you may find a few other clubs who might be feeling the squeeze with points but not saying to much..
port douglas did not ask for consessions, they just pointed out that they may struggle to keep under the 38pts and still battle to fill 2 teams..
garry young ask the 7 clubs at the 2010 review and planning day whether they would like to change the point system for 2010,, 5 clubs said they would like it change,, centrals and north cairns said they would like it to stay in for 2010.. both those clubs were the most vocal about it,so garry young being the messiah of the league basically said 2 votes beats 5 votes,, and the point system stay's as is

watched cobras on weekend,would like to no how an where r all the gun recruits that were named in the cairns post 3 months ago,going?because i couldn c them.hope they r not banking on there north cairns recruits,as they have bn a bottom side now for awhile,thought recruiting from a top side would have bn better option.carnt wait to see north cobras team in an outs this week

I went out & watched Cobras & Port on Saturday & i htought our boys (Port) looked pretty good considering the players still to come in. Was speaking to a Cobras official after the game & said they wont have there full list together until round 3 with upto 10 guys still to arrive. They played ok in patches but i think as with all teams up here rounds 6 to 18 will be a true judge on where all the teams are at. Will be interesting to see how they go in round 1. Lucky they have Souths first up i think!

We have had this one in other leagues from vic. Anyone care to fill in the blanks?

Premiers:
Wooden Spooners:
League Medal:
Biggest Improver from 09:
Biggest Slider from 09:
Goal Kicker:
Most expensive team:
Most under-rated player:
Most over-rated player:
Most loyal player in the league:
Toughest bloke in the league:

Premiers: Port Douglas
Wooden Spooners: North Cairns
League Medal: Caydn Beethan
Biggest Improver from 09: Port Douglas
Biggest Slider from 09: South Cairns
Goal Kicker: Daryl Taylor
Most expensive team: North Cairns (Not kidding, spending a lot on not much apparently)
Most under-rated player: Luke Bloom
Most over-rated player: Cameron Campbell
Most loyal player in the league: Evan Hocking
Toughest bloke in the league: Brad Cooper
Biggest Sook in the league: Lucas Elich [/quote]

heard a rumour today brad mccabe ( 07 prem player ) for hawks just landed today in cairns is it safe to say hawks have him signed up or has some other team brought him up ,,, he was a hard at the ball player whan he was in cairns ,,,, any idea people would be a good pick up for someone

Hi boys/girls

a little more flack on the proposed North East Football League. the chairman of AFLNT was on the radio here today.

of interest to you, he thought a Cairns team might be included with Darwin and the ACT as part of the league with GC, Lions, Swans and GWS reserves.

give you guys access to some pretty decent footy and something for your better players to try and get into.

heard a rumour today brad mccabe ( 07 prem player ) for hawks just landed today in cairns is it safe to say hawks have him signed up or has some other team brought him up ,,, he was a hard at the ball player whan he was in cairns ,,,, any idea people would be a good pick up for someone

Word on the street says he's just signed a lucrative contract with the "Bali Bombers" apparently they're looking for players of his ilk!

What about old mate Tamba spruikin his "Pre-Season" Premierships down at Banjo Park is he serious about life or was he dropped on his head shortly after birth????

Hi boys/girls

a little more flack on the proposed North East Football League. the chairman of AFLNT was on the radio here today.

of interest to you, he thought a Cairns team might be included with Darwin and the ACT as part of the league with GC, Lions, Swans and GWS reserves.

give you guys access to some pretty decent footy and something for your better players to try and get into.

couldn't be sustained on a weekly base without deprivation to clubs of their stock, not enough players in the mix

but........

could bring a better quality here and worth the perusal

I'll go out on a limb , I'm open to the idea
(now come in with your knives LOL) :D

would the same happen here as there NT Thunder player not being allowed to play with their home club if they have a game that week ??????

Word on the street says he's just signed a lucrative contract with the "Bali Bombers" apparently they're looking for players of his ilk!

What about old mate Tamba spruikin his "Pre-Season" Premierships down at Banjo Park is he serious about life or was he dropped on his head shortly after birth????

Haven't heard from you for a while where ya been hiding ???

no just been banging my head once too often against a brick wall. ;) LOL

couldn't be sustained on a weekly base without deprivation to clubs of their stock, not enough players in the mix

but........

could bring a better quality here and worth the perusal

I'll go out on a limb , I'm open to the idea
(now come in with your knives LOL) :D

would the same happen here as there NT Thunder player not being allowed to play with their home club if they have a game that week ??????

NTFL season runs October to March. will have some effect but not as much as you guys.

Hi boys/girls

Fantastic idea! something has to be done to move forward, clubs wouldn't be losing players to this team as they play in the off season, and surely this would bring more players here to play in the NTFL, and while here these players would be tempted to stay for our season. What about the QAFL? Too far?

Premiers: Cairns Saints
Wooden Spooners: South Cairns
League Medal: Hamish Jarrad
Biggest Improver from 09: Umpires
Biggest Slider from 09: South Cairns
Goal Kicker: Hamish Jarrad
Most expensive team: Manunda
Most under-rated player: Dwayne Bosen
Most over-rated player: Glen Martin
Most loyal player in the league: Budha
Toughest bloke in the league: Gubsy
Biggest Sook in the league: Cam Bartlett

Premiers: saints
Wooden Spooners:centrals
League Medal: m shaw
Biggest Improver from 09: port
Biggest Slider from 09: centrals
Goal Kicker: m shaw
Most expensive team: cobrss
Most under-rated player: a nesbitt
Most over-rated player: allrich
Most loyal player in the league: m kennedy
Toughest bloke in the league: m kennedy
l allrich,biggest ever

Fantastic idea! something has to be done to move forward, clubs wouldn't be losing players to this team as they play in the off season, and surely this would bring more players here to play in the NTFL, and while here these players would be tempted to stay for our season. What about the QAFL? Too far?

as i understand it, a few, 3 or 4, of the bigger current QAFL clubs would also be a part of the league.

so possibly

Cairns, NT Thunder, ACT, GWS, Swans, GC, BL, Southport, Aspley, Moningside.
10 team league.

as i understand it, a few, 3 or 4, of the bigger current QAFL clubs would also be a part of the league.

so possibly

Cairns, NT Thunder, ACT, GWS, Swans, GC, BL, Southport, Aspley, Moningside.
10 team league.

still like the idea, worth looking at, discussing

but.....

travelling costs would cripple AFL Cairns

not enough deep pockets here

Premiers: saints
Wooden Spooners:centrals
League Medal: m shaw
Biggest Improver from 09: port
Biggest Slider from 09: centrals
Goal Kicker: m shaw
Most expensive team: cobrss
Most under-rated player: a nesbitt
Most over-rated player: allrich
Most loyal player in the league: m kennedy
Toughest bloke in the league: m kennedy
Biggest Sook in the league: l allrich,biggest ever

Mark Kennedy fan club, talented yes, toughest give me a break...