• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Cairns - 2011 Season Part 2

Knock yourself out Saint, you obviously have nothing else better to do in your obviously boring life.

Will you please get your Internet disconnected so we don't have to read anymore of your crap. You have made a number of posts in the last day or so and u they have all been filled with the same dribble. Stop winging like a bitch you waste space on this site with your crap. These people can write what ever the he'll they want. Your cracking it at them for writing things they saw and herd. Just shut up and take it. It's the cards your club have been delt with now deal with it and fix the shit if you are a somebody at the club. Which you act like you are. Remember when norths copped heaps of shit for there supporters and culture at there club a couple of months ago. They did not carry on like u they spoke about the future of the club and trying to change things down there. The comments they were getting were more personal then what you are getting.

HotPies,

I think the scoreboards are particularly harsh on the Lions. Much of it because of poor numbers, they end up having a number of players play both 1sts and 2nds which means there are blowouts in their games due to a lack of legs to run out the game.

I don't think they're as far back as the scoreboard suggests and they have some good young players as well as a couple of good key players and just need to increase their depth. They have a feeder junior club, so long-term they should only improve.

Can't talk to their off-field functions, but their ground and facilities are pretty good and in a great location.

In my experience most football clubs are pretty similar and you'll have fun no matter where you end up. Maybe some people will message you and try to get you down to their club, but if you've got a contact at the club, that's the best way to be welcomed and to enjoy playing at a club.

Will you please get your Internet disconnected so we don't have to read anymore of your crap. You have made a number of posts in the last day or so and u they have all been filled with the same dribble. Stop winging like a bitch you waste space on this site with your crap. These people can write what ever the he'll they want. Your cracking it at them for writing things they saw and herd. Just shut up and take it. It's the cards your club have been delt with now deal with it and fix the shit if you are a somebody at the club. Which you act like you are. Remember when norths copped heaps of shit for there supporters and culture at there club a couple of months ago. They did not carry on like u they spoke about the future of the club and trying to change things down there. The comments they were getting were more personal then what you are getting.

I'll say and write whatever the hell I want. You all do, so am I. Here is one for you, why don't you learn how to spell boofhead.

Hey Guys

Seems like a pretty eventful week in your league!

Just a quick one, I am moving up to Cairns as soon as my football commitments are done down in Brisbane. I am sort of being forced to play for the Cairns City Lions next year through my mum's partners brother being involved in the club.

I have looked at the results and seen that they get belted by 25-30 goals every week but I just wanted to know if it would be a good club to play for as far as there off the field stuff goes. Good people around the club etc etc. And does anyone know if they are planning on recruiting during the off season. Can anyone see them improving at all?

I'll think you'll find they'll be ok in the long term. They have some very talented U18's and U16's coming through. The U18's are into this years grand final.

Last chance chaps,

fellow sh-t stirrers

GF winner

Crathern Medalist

A carton on me, of beer, only 2 from 2

as Flintstone bailed me at our club,

LOL,

saying I don't drink that LOLLY WATER , give me a Keg.

I will go over all posts & close this off Sunday 1200 (noon)

All interested get them in don't forget if you dare who will be the umpire of the year,

Koch, Warwick, BOB ??

you tell me

Last chance chaps,

fellow sh-t stirrers

GF winner

Crathern Medalist

A carton on me, of beer, only 2 from 2

as Flintstone bailed me at our club,

LOL,

saying I don't drink that LOLLY WATER , give me a Keg.

I will go over all posts & close this off Sunday 1200 (noon)

All interested get them in don't forget if you dare who will be the umpire of the year,

Koch, Warwick, BOB ??

you tell me
GF: Port
Crathern: Powell (Hawks)
Umpire: Koch (best of a bad bunch)

Hawks
Powell
Koch, even though umpire of the year is a bit silly. How do they judge it? Least mistakes?

Hawks
Powell
Koch, even though umpire of the year is a bit silly. How do they judge it? Least mistakes?[/quote]

I'd have to agree with you Teamwork. How do they judge it? I'll say Tatts for Umpire of the Year. And as much as I am sentimental Plugg3r, I don't think poor old Bob will get close. One person I know who shouldn't get it, is the Umpiring Development Manager. As for the Crathern Medal, I think I have previously said Mick Markham. Hawks to win the GF.:cool:

Hawks
Powell
Koch, even though umpire of the year is a bit silly. How do they judge it? Least mistakes?[/quote]

I'd have to agree with you Teamwork. How do they judge it? I'll say Tatts for Umpire of the Year. And as much as I am sentimental Plugg3r, I don't think poor old Bob will get close. One person I know who shouldn't get it, is the Umpiring Development Manager. As for the Crathern Medal, I think I have previously said Mick Markham. Hawks to win the GF.:cool:

Surely Souths haven't won enough games for Markham to win it. I agree he will poll well but mostly 1 and 2 votes will not be enough. The winner will come from one of the top 3 i would think

That's a bit arrogant Lachrilly however you're probably right. In the past I have seen players win the Brownlow that haven't been in a team in the top 5. The Sandover Medal is the same, guys have won that and not come from a top 4 team.

A Saints player would have to be odds on to win the Crathern. After all, they are the favoured club of AFL Cairns.:cool:

That's a bit arrogant Lachrilly however you're probably right. In the past I have seen players win the Brownlow that haven't been in a team in the top 5. The Sandover Medal is the same, guys have won that and not come from a top 4 team.

A Saints player would have to be odds on to win the Crathern. After all, they are the favoured club of AFL Cairns.:cool:

How is that arrogant. For him to win he would need to poll in most games. Saints haven't had a league B&F for a few years now so they are hardly a favoured club

I don't think so really

wouldn't they be taking votes off each other?

Wasn't there a few in the mix early & mid season

when Kennedy won he was above all else,
didn't take many votes off the others as they were not really noticed,

Too many stars ruin the clubs chances for taking the medal,

but then again who knows which way this bunch of umpires will go.

Who ever wins it will know that they beat a good field out there :thumbsu:

I don't think so really

wouldn't they be taking votes off each other?

Wasn't there a few in the mix early & mid season

when Kennedy won he was above all else,
didn't take many votes off the others as they were not really noticed,

Too many stars ruin the clubs chances for taking the medal,

but then again who knows which way this bunch of umpires will go.

Who ever wins it will know that they beat a good field out there :thumbsu:

This certainly occurred at the Junior presentation night. But Tamba, you would have to agree that Saints are the favoured club.:D

I agree Flintstone... It was ridiculous how much the goal umpires and the people on the score board favoured Saints on Saturday..... Also the lady on the gate because the ratio was 20 saints supporters to 1 Cutters.. Thought the lovely old lady on the gate could let some of the home sides supporters in...

The Souths players weren't much better. More than half of their kicks went to Saints players and any time there was a contest they just let the Saints guys have the ball.

Their flat out refusal to stop the Saints players kicking goals was plain for all of the fans to see. It is a pity there weren't enough Souths fans to point it out to the coach.

I agree it was wrong of the umpires to let so many Saints supporters on the ground at the breaks considering Souths had none and also that they let Saints have someone carry the coaches board out for Coatsworth. Adams had to carry the board out himself and it was a big board to. Plain wrong really.

Bit of piss taking I see....

With the tigers season over early again I will scout around for another game to watch and can't go past the one at Griffiths (location wise it is walking distance also). Should be a cracker, win and you have to get up again for the clash with the Hawks or lose and who knows what could happen against the Bulldogs.

I'll tip Saints in a very close one, there are to many players to cover. I like Alex Macqueen up forward, he is a tough match up for any side and gets under the radar. Saints midfield is strong so if the forwards can get on top that will go a long way to victory. White for Port is the big one, I know nothing about him but from all rumours he can play.

Tough times at Souths and their pride will be tested against Hawks, I think the winner is an obvious one but will Souths dig deep to get within 10 goals. I hope for the everyone involved that they can put in a huge effort.

Centrals to fine tune and get the confidence up with a victory over Lions. Long year for the new boys and I reckon it is great how we haven't heard a squeak from them all year about excuses. I hope the bloke who wrote on here about going there next year plays at the Lions.

A fair bit of arrogance being flung around, and by the Saints supporters which is a huge surprise to us all I'm sure!

Tips this week:
Hawks
Saints by a goal
Centrals by 1000

One question which is probably better asked now and again next week.

Would teams prefer to have the kind of preparation for the 2nd semi that either Port or Saints will have (i.e. coming off what is essentially a finals-type game) or the Hawks preparation (two weeks in a row of playing teams planning their footy trip?)

They're going to be two very different preparations and since I think most coaches would want their players to have played the game before the finals, resting wouldn't come into it and I think you're as likely to be injured in a belting as in a close game, so injuries wouldn't come into it that much either.

I'm tipping Hawks by 150+
Saints by a goal in the reserves (2nd semi preview) and seniors.
Centrals by 100 points.

I'm sure there'll be plenty of Hawks at Saturday's game cheering for fights etc (in good fun) and Centrals will be hoping for the same. Should be another cracking day at Griffiths.

Have there been any close games between any of the top sides outside of Griffiths this year? I dont' think there has.

Tips this week are as followed;

Hawks by what ever they feel like. With one of our best sides in for the year and finals knocking on the door I would expect one of the best games played all year by the boys in Gold and Brown.

Saints by over 12pts, I think everyone expects them to win. Which brings it to the fact Port are coming in as the underdog. Though I don't suspect they'd care to much. But what ever happens in the match, you'd dare say they'd have next week in the back of their mind. Port lose they play Centrals next week. Port win and they have Hawks next week.

Centrals you would expect to post the BIGGEST margain of the season. Last game before finals, there best squad on the ground. You'd hope for a massive win as next week they play Saints or Port. And neither are going to be easy. Confidence required as the team they play next week will be on a loss this week. And a wounded team is a dangerous team.