AFL Cairns - 2011 Season Part 2

As a hawks supporter I enjoyed watching the past weekends game vs port. I enjoyed it because we got the win. It's always exciting to see your team come back and take the lead then continue to the final hooter in front. There was a real goose running around out there wearing no. 19 for port. There was a hawks player down injured in Damien roe and he was laughing calling him weak and pumping his players up by pointing out this injured Player what a tool.

Hawks get on these rolls and look good too working as a team never relying on any 1 team member "even though Lucas is a gun".
I will say Luke Powell made a huge impact hanging around the back line as I feel if he was not there to get in the way of shaw there would have been more points on the board for port. The full back marking shaw has no idea what to do when it comes to a quality full forward. he is young so I won't comment to harshly but I will say he WILL lose the hawks close games due to his lack of positioning and no physical presents. Hopefully it's not a final

Hawks wern't angels in the first half either. Scrymmer was throwing arms around. They are seen as tackles but they are jabs to the mid rift and can cause damage and Martin as good as he was on the day was doing similar things. One ruck contest he was lucky not to get reported from.

Well it wasnt a good look 4 souths tonight barely fielding 14 on the field.. Most teams generally play with 22. No need to be condescending the statistics show there isnt alot of enthusiasm there.

As a hawks supporter I enjoyed watching the past weekends game vs port. I enjoyed it because we got the win. It's always exciting to see your team come back and take the lead then continue to the final hooter in front. There was a real goose running around out there wearing no. 19 for port. There was a hawks player down injured in Damien roe and he was laughing calling him weak and pumping his players up by pointing out this injured Player what a tool.

Be careful Jackblack even mentioning no.19 from Port will get you sent off. Always starts the fights but never gets sent off for it....

Hawks get on these rolls and look good too working as a team never relying on any 1 team member "even though Lucas is a gun".
I will say Luke Powell made a huge impact hanging around the back line as I feel if he was not there to get in the way of shaw there would have been more points on the board for port. The full back marking shaw has no idea what to do when it comes to a quality full forward. he is young so I won't comment to harshly but I will say he WILL lose the hawks close games due to his lack of positioning and no physical presents. Hopefully it's not a final

It's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys...and you my friend are a turkey! What is the basis for your rant against this kid?
The Hawks young full back has not been beaten once this year, not even close. The two times he has played on Matt Shaw, Shaw has kicked 1 goal both times. ONE goal from the 2010 centurion goalkicker that kicked 10 against Saints only 2 or 3 weeks ago.

And 'presents'?? Is he meant to bring a gift on to the field is he? lol

Can someone tell me if Tom Holland got a lengthy suspension after all the talk about him stomping on a head on here? The reason I ask is that we had a report because of a retaliation to the Port #19 on the weekend, and looking at it, it was very very soft.

Tamba, what if they won't get a game at Souths 2s, do they have to not play football because they can't all play for another club?

I guess I'll wait until Saturday to see who's name is next to 19 for the Crocs to see what people are talking about.

Obviously the big game this week is the Hawks v Saints match. 100 points to Saints then 100 points to Hawks. On current form, Hawks would have to be raging favourites. Saints in survival mode until finals, any more injuries and they'll really struggle to cover them. Rserves game should be a good game with lots of reserves from previous encounters in the 1sts for Saints, I don't think it will be a similar scorecard as previously and the Hawks have finals to play for.

Cities v Norths,
Norths 1sts can't make finals and their twos are right on the brink. If they drop enough back it might open up a chance for Cities to get close. But I doubt it.

Port v Souths
Longest trip of the year for Souths and their Seniors are out of finals contention. Twos will cop a pummelling whether they drop people back or not. Tipping a long day for Souths. Will all depend on how Port are feeling about things, if they're feeling ruthless or still in the low gears. Only 8% splits Port and Saints, so Port might be looking for a bit of %.

Good luck to all, especially the umpires!

Tamba, what if they won't get a game at Souths 2s, do they have to not play football because they can't all play for another club?

I guess I'll wait until Saturday to see who's name is next to 19 for the Crocs to see what people are talking about.

Obviously the big game this week is the Hawks v Saints match. 100 points to Saints then 100 points to Hawks. On current form, Hawks would have to be raging favourites. Saints in survival mode until finals, any more injuries and they'll really struggle to cover them. Rserves game should be a good game with lots of reserves from previous encounters in the 1sts for Saints, I don't think it will be a similar scorecard as previously and the Hawks have finals to play for.

Cities v Norths,
Norths 1sts can't make finals and their twos are right on the brink. If they drop enough back it might open up a chance for Cities to get close. But I doubt it.

Port v Souths
Longest trip of the year for Souths and their Seniors are out of finals contention. Twos will cop a pummelling whether they drop people back or not. Tipping a long day for Souths. Will all depend on how Port are feeling about things, if they're feeling ruthless or still in the low gears. Only 8% splits Port and Saints, so Port might be looking for a bit of %.

Good luck to all, especially the umpires!

Who said they won't get a game at Souths --not me or Flintstone, the club is already playing some who want to play up in grade, all the others have to do is turn up for training to be considered, which they don't do.

#19 from port is a thug. I saw him hit a norths player who looked to be 16/17? and then kicked him whilst on the ground, not a blatant kick but a shove with the foot.

I am totally against any kind of violence on the field but i am sick of people carrying on about guys hitting the young players. Yes it shouldn't happen but if they are out playing senior football they are open to anything the opposition dishes out. The kids are an easy target and should be looked after but when it comes to 22 v 22 age doesn't matter. Saints have a young guy who plays in the 2's with the odd 1's game and gets belted week in week out. He is a bit of a mouth so he probably deserves alot of what he gets and no doubt he isn't the only one.

look mate, i couldnt agree more. 22 on 22 is how its played, regardless of age. But seriously why dont people like that pick on someone their own size. It is not the right message to be sending juniors watching and playing the game

The kids are 90% of the time the smallest on the ground so therefore are the easy targets. These guys targeting the kids obviously dont have kids themselves

Some handy ins for the Saints this week. Hislop and Bryne are two red heads that will keep the Hawks honest. The Saints boys and the faithful will be happy to see them on the paddock. Hawks still favourites, but I wouldn't be betting with my testicles.

On a serious note! I love a milestone so congratulations to Josh Martin of the Saints who plays his 100th game this weekend, a good hard clean competitor and one of the reasons the Saints have been so successful on and off the field over the last few years. Could not have a better bloke around our club.

How many blokes in the league have 100 senior games at one club? Cooper? English? I think Kennedy reached the ton this year. Great effort with all the crap of footy politics these days.

Kiss of death this week (before I unleash) -

Port (Although I do hope Cutters can cause an upset, they have nothing to lose and almost did it last time they played)
Hawks to get over Saints.
Norths to give Cities a going over.

Well it wasnt a good look 4 souths tonight barely fielding 14 on the field.. Most teams generally play with 22. No need to be condescending the statistics show there isnt alot of enthusiasm there.

Dear, dear ShowNtell, you obviously don't engage brain before typing a comment. I am certain that Souths are no different to any other club. Young guys at this age think of other endeavours such as girls, alcohol, cars etc. Plus the fact I note that you have neglected to say that the Souths boys had to travel to Trinity Beach. Which, the last time I checked, was a bit of a trip. Sometimes people are unable to travel and if these kids aren't motivated enough to get themselves there by asking for a lift etc, there isn't much the club can do. Over the last few years, the club has bent over backwards for the U16's an 18's (in a number of ways) and let me tell you, not once have I ever heard anybody and not even them, thank either the senior or junior club. Some of these kids couldn't give two shits and have the attitude of take, take, take. And if you don't believe that what I said isn't the case, you're walking around with your head shoved up your behind. As I have said before, you're obviously in the know, put up or shut up.

The full back marking shaw has no idea what to do when it comes to a quality full forward. he is young so I won't comment to harshly but I will say he WILL lose the hawks close games due to his lack of positioning and no physical presents. Hopefully it's not a final

Hope you are not referring to who I think you are referring to. If it is indeed him the bloke is probably in the top three backmen in the comp. Rarely beaten one on one and even on the lead. He plays a strong traditional role on his Forward player. Against Port I believe there was one man on man contest he was beaten on. But he was giving up a lot of size and when the ball is kicked on top of the Forwards head in a standing prone position, you would hope the Forward would capatilise.

But each to there own.

Tips for this week;

Hawks - Hopefully another good game and not as one sided as the last affair.
North - Smashing
Port - Be good to see some fight from Souths for a close finish.

Dear, dear ShowNtell, you obviously don't engage brain before typing a comment. I am certain that Souths are no different to any other club. Young guys at this age think of other endeavours such as girls, alcohol, cars etc. Plus the fact I note that you have neglected to say that the Souths boys had to travel to Trinity Beach. Which, the last time I checked, was a bit of a trip. Sometimes people are unable to travel and if these kids aren't motivated enough to get themselves there by asking for a lift etc, there isn't much the club can do. Over the last few years, the club has bent over backwards for the U16's an 18's (in a number of ways) and let me tell you, not once have I ever heard anybody and not even them, thank either the senior or junior club. Some of these kids couldn't give two shits and have the attitude of take, take, take. And if you don't believe that what I said isn't the case, you're walking around with your head shoved up your behind. As I have said before, you're obviously in the know, put up or shut up.

Pity to hear this kind of stuff, every club in the comp needs these kids coming thru, and having been involved with kids of this age for many a year, the 1st thing you learn is it is a thankless job, BUT, someone has to do it, and the pleasure you get when they run out in the senior grade far outways the crap you go thru to get them there. Vey hard to build a culture with a group of kids, unless you are prepared to develop them as THAT group from a young age, then instill a culture that may well get the majority thru to senior ranks, again, hard thankless work, but someone has to do it, and do it properly, or we end up with this type of stuff happening.
On Marto from Saints, outstanding achievement and well done to a top bloke, both on the field and off, i reckon Welsford from Hawks who is still playing 2nds has passed the 200 senior games and recieved life membership a few years ago, also Badger, injured at the minute also plays 2nds, would be near on 200 senior games, just a few i can think of.

Geez Jack are you serious mate or have you not taken your medication before writing this???

The kid you are refering to, who has just turned 18 this year, has had every foward he has played on covered thus far, good test tomorrow on Walshy, but to his credit, and the coaches credit to back him, he deserves a crack at the best for the stellar year he has had so far, to the point if there was an 2011 Alll AFL Cairns team, he should without question be 1st picked at fullback.
Just another while i am going, you have mentioned yourself as a Hawks supporter, so why would you get on here and bag the kid!!

Geez Jack are you serious mate or have you not taken your medication before writing this???

The kid you are refering to, who has just turned 18 this year, has had every foward he has played on covered thus far, good test tomorrow on Walshy, but to his credit, and the coaches credit to back him, he deserves a crack at the best for the stellar year he has had so far, to the point if there was an 2011 Alll AFL Cairns team, he should without question be 1st picked at fullback.
Just another while i am going, you have mentioned yourself as a Hawks supporter, so why would you get on here and bag the kid!!

There seems to be quite a few good young backman around the league which is good. Souths and Hawks both have a couple and Saints have Harth who is probably a veteran now but still only young. What about mids and forwards? Any good ones playing at the moment. I have watched most games this year but probably dont know the age of players.

Saints just. A kick
Norths to kick a cricket score
Port about about 10 goals

Refused transfer your questioning my support towards the hawks and doubting it well your wrong. My comments were more aimed at the coach saying I thought his inexperience might worry us when we have a close game at hand. Because on the weekend he was standing about a metre and a half behind shaw at all times even when senior players were telling him to mark up tighter. If everyone disagrees with me than I will take it as call i was wrong about and he must be better than I give him credit for. Everyone but the coach just watch him this weekend and next week tell me if I was wrong I'll take it on the chin.
Teamwork apparently u calling me me a turkey was "getting of light" the people I spoke to say he is your favorite and you were nice to me after my comment about him. Haha thanks

Jack black, leave the coaching to the coaches and the playing to the players mate. Young Wiess played a metre and a half of Shaw because if you know anything about Shaw, he is a man mountain and very strong. Wiess has good pace and closing speed, hence the best way to play Shaw is to play off him, don't give him touch, and use your speed to get to the spoil, or jump at it to spoil. I challenge anyone in this comp to stand side by side with Matt Shaw and out body him. Or maybe you should jackblack??

I think refused transfer is spot on regarding his doubt at your support when you get on here bagging the kid. He is the best choice at full back and will stay there.

Saints pulled off a great win against Hawks yesterday. Saints started well then Hawks kicked into gear and it looked like how far Hawks. But to Saints credit they hung in there and with the aid of the breeze in the last came from behind to snatch a 3pt win. A great win for Saints considering they had some key players out and that Hawks seemed to be near full strength.
Saints also won a very tight reserves game by 6 goals.
What was with Boxall playing 2's for Port. He looked a little out of sorts last week, maybe just to get some touch?

Saints pulled off a great win against Hawks yesterday. Saints started well then Hawks kicked into gear and it looked like how far Hawks. But to Saints credit they hung in there and with the aid of the breeze in the last came from behind to snatch a 3pt win. A great win for Saints considering they had some key players out and that Hawks seemed to be near full strength.
Saints also won a very tight reserves game by 6 goals.
What was with Boxall playing 2's for Port. He looked a little out of sorts last week, maybe just to get some touch?
Yeah a good win by Saints, doesn't seem to be much separating the top 3. I heard 2 things last night, 1 Walsh carried off near the end of the game with a nasty ankle injury. 2 A couple of Hawks lads arguing amongst themselves when the heat was on at the end. Any truth to either of these?? The fella telling me looked like he'd had a thousand :D