AFL Cairns - 2011 Season Part 2

Yeah a good win by Saints, doesn't seem to be much separating the top 3. I heard 2 things last night, 1 Walsh carried off near the end of the game with a nasty ankle injury. 2 A couple of Hawks lads arguing amongst themselves when the heat was on at the end. Any truth to either of these?? The fella telling me looked like he'd had a thousand :D

Walsh did go off with an ankle. Not as bad as first thought but will miss a few i reckon

Hawks lost a close one yesterday, and that's exactly what happened, hawks lost rather than Saints winning. It was an ugly game and Hawks played poor footy and paid the price. Still with 5 to come back in, and I reckon Saints probably have about the same to come in also. It was a loss that will only snap them out of the half pace footy they've been playing the past month.

Walsh looked as if he's snapped his ankle in 100 places the way he came off! I doubt he'll be back.

Hawks lost a close one yesterday, and that's exactly what happened, hawks lost rather than Saints winning. It was an ugly game and Hawks played poor footy and paid the price. Still with 5 to come back in, and I reckon Saints probably have about the same to come in also. It was a loss that will only snap them out of the half pace footy they've been playing the past month.

Walsh looked as if he's snapped his ankle in 100 places the way he came off! I doubt he'll be back.
I'll go out on a limb and say Saints can't win it without him....but then again it is Saints we're talking about...

Talked with a mate of Walshy's today... he is gone for the rest of the season. Rumour is that it's broken.

Walsh was at the rooms last night after getting an x ray and it's not broken... He will be back for sure.

not so confident he will be back now ... :s

How about giving Saints some credit for the win. All these teams who think they are better than they are always say We lost it not the other team won it. Who are the 5 walk in starts who are out. Didn't seem to be many stars from memory not out there.

Yeah I'll disagree lachrilly. It seems that almost always everybody says the same old thing, which is "all credit to them, they were the better team on the day etc etc". I thought I'd tell the truth and say that Saints were the better team on the day because the scoreboard says so, but you must admit it was an ugly scrappy game and that Hawks were very ordinary..? I think the game was lost, not won. But opinions may vary.

I think we have Warren, Halter, Aisi, Perry, Martin, Ward, Stenfors that will walk into the senior team. But I'm sure you guys can name as many to come? And as your players were so loud in reminding our guys as they walked off yesterday, "you don't win premierships in May!" or was it June? I can't remember which month it was but I know the message will be etched firmly in the memories of every Hawk that walked off yesterday.

If you didnt kick goals for them, they won the game. End of story. AFL is at times a scrappy game, better teams get through it and win the game.

the message will be etched firmly in the memories of every Hawk that walked off yesterday
The message they should take is "WE ARENT AS GOOD AS WE THINK WE ARE". Maybe if 1/2 you blokes werent so worried about what people in the stands are saying or posting shit on bigfooty you wouldnt play such scrappy football. At the end of the season you guys can all give each other a big pat on the back and wank each other off, the buildup has gone on for long enough. That is until you get down on the scoreboard, then you hate each other and thats easy to see.

Deathtouch: Hawks to finish 3rd even if they bring in their X number of players that were "out last week" or "still to come in the side" or any other same old excuse they've been pumping out all year..

Warren, Halter, Aisi, Perry, Martin, Ward, Stenfors
2 out of these 7 played in Round 10 when you beat Port by ~50 points.. Aisi has played 2 games all year and Perry played the 1st game only :confused:... Why are you trying to make it seem like you are down when you arent? Warren & Halter fair enough, they've had good seasons and should walk back in but saying you are 5 players down and that helped saints win is just another cop out hawkie.

Just say it... "WE LOST" its really not that hard and doesnt make your club look like a bunch of sore losers..(too late)

Yeah I'll disagree lachrilly. It seems that almost always everybody says the same old thing, which is "all credit to them, they were the better team on the day etc etc". I thought I'd tell the truth and say that Saints were the better team on the day because the scoreboard says so, but you must admit it was an ugly scrappy game and that Hawks were very ordinary..? I think the game was lost, not won. But opinions may vary.

I think we have Warren, Halter, Aisi, Perry, Martin, Ward, Stenfors that will walk into the senior team. But I'm sure you guys can name as many to come? And as your players were so loud in reminding our guys as they walked off yesterday, "you don't win premierships in May!" or was it June? I can't remember which month it was but I know the message will be etched firmly in the memories of every Hawk that walked off yesterday.

None of these guys have been regulars in the best players and a couple have hardly played at all. Will they make that much difference? I'm only asking because i dont know much about Hawks. Did Aisi play 2's and get sent off or have i got my players wrong?

Ahhh had to post you are obviously a teenager at best. The remarks shouted out to our players didn't come from the stands, it came from the saints players, hence why it will stick in the memory. As for the rest of your rant, I won't bother.

Lachrilly, all are walk up starts, some haven't played a lot due to work or injury or suspension or all of the above. They're in our best 22 but whether or not they play is to be seen. And yes Aisi got carded in the 2's.

Fellas or maybe a Lass there, in the chat,
who knows with all our non-descriptive names,

LOL

it sounds like tit for tat at the moment,

careful the Dogs & Tyson Lane are still there to unravel the top during the finals,

I can't write them out of the scenario at this time even though they are behind the 8 ball,

Remember the Finals are another murderess challenge.

I don't think had to post is a saint, but saying hawks won't finish top is a big call. Saw the last half of the hawks v saints game (it was a great game, fast, big grabs, good skills but unfortunately the umpires were inconsistent). Hawks posters - can't you just admit to a loss, maybe the saints boys made you play bad. I know I'd hate to play Sydney because that is what they do to the opposition. Swallow your medicine boys, you lost! Watson's - why isn't Kane playing yet?

Haha pretty sure I said we lost, that's my point! Seems as though there's a few that love remind you. Haters are like crickets, they're loud. But when you get close to them they go quiet.

Hawks will finish top theres no doubt about that and it will probably come down to the last game of the year when Saints play Port to see who finishes 2nd. Aisi was easily best for Hawks till he got sent off in the 2's

Hawks will finish on top... The pressure applied by the saints made it a scrappy game and you can only play as well as the other side lets you. Hawks got found out with Martin, Rowe?? (numb 11), Langford etc all running off the half back line well early but when their were skill errors they failed to push back and man up... Looks great when everything is going well but when their is a turn over they got hurt by Hallas, Mcqueen and Hislop being left with a paddock to run into..
Thought 17 for Hawks had a great game.... Ferrier for Saints was best on as he proved what most on here think.. Booth is no superstar..

Plugger... must be fun playing with Barlett haha all the team works hard all game and to have him give away stupid frees and 50m's would be frustrating ...as good as he can be you would be better off without a hot head like him come finals time.

No disrespect to South Cairns or Port, but can anyone please tell me why the Cairns Post would preview the Port (2nd) V Souths (6th) game in last Friday's paper when the Hawks (1st) V Saints (3rd) game had much more riding on it & would have had much more interest from people associated with Cairns AFL? It seems ridiculous that this would happen.

Yeah I'll have a crack at this one. They obviously think a lot more of Port and Souths and don't think Hawks or Saints are worth writing about. Another reason could be, that the management of the Cairns Post wanted to sell more papers. :p:p:p And before you all get on your bandwagons, I made this comment with tongue firmly planted in cheek. Look Carl41, I hear what you're saying, maybe they're just spreading it around.:confused:

Okay you lot I heard a good rumour yesterday and as I have said already, it is just a rumour. The news is, that the current player/coach of Souths will be moving on at the end of season. And next year, will be running out in AFL Cairns 2012 season in Bulldog colours.

Flintstone your comments are a little confusing. I insinuated that souths u18s lacked passion and several have either transferred or left, than in an attempt to discredit me you said

Sometimes people are unable to travel and if these kids aren't motivated enough to get themselves there by asking for a lift etc, there isn't much the club can do. Over the last few years, the club has bent over backwards for the U16's an 18's (in a number of ways) and let me tell you, not once have I ever heard anybody and not even them, thank either the senior or junior club. Some of these kids couldn't give two shits and have the attitude of take, take, take.

which seems to back up what i said....

Plus the fact I note that you have neglected to say that the Souths boys had to travel to Trinity Beach. Which, the last time I checked, was a bit of a trip.

True that is a bit of a trip, however what about Napiorkowski who must make the trip 3-4 times a week from south cairns up to trinity for training and games. You wanted me to name someone there it is, he was that keen to get away from souths he was happy to add several hours to his travelling times a week. As for naming other u18s souths players that have left the club, their isnt a paper trail for players that quit, or players that go play other sports, i never said the kids that have left all joined other teams, they just didnt have the passion to continue and quit because they werent enjoying themselves.

Maybe next time actually read what is written instead of just start firing off insults.

Yeah I'll have a crack at this one. They obviously think a lot more of Port and Souths and don't think Hawks or Saints are worth writing about. Another reason could be, that the management of the Cairns Post wanted to sell more papers. :p:p:p And before you all get on your bandwagons, I made this comment with tongue firmly planted in cheek. Look Carl41, I hear what you're saying, maybe they're just spreading it around.:confused:
I think you're right Flinstone, they must be spreading the write up amongst the teams..that's the only reason I can think of. It's definitely not because they wanted to sell more papers ;)

Port came close to Hawks and Souths had a massive win so maybe they thought it would be close. Not the case. If Adams is found to be heading for the Beaches do you think they should sack him now, like they talk about in the AFL with players signing for GCS or GWS. Would not blame them one bit if they did.

The way I read your post Teamwork was that the Hawks should have won, Saints had nothing to do with the game? I thought the Saints did well to get back into it. I am pretty sure Glen Martin played so there is one of your so called 5 walk in players. Why was Aisi playing 2's if he is a walk in player? Lots of excuses there I think. Who do Saints still have out Dr? I didn't see Powell or Poyner, any others?

Funny little write up in the paper about the Hawks supporters drinking bubbly and eating cheese and dips at Griffith Park. Do Saints sell dips at the canteen, bubbly at bar or was it BYO? I think the reporter is taking the p*%s out on the hawks. Does he have a grudge?

Plugger... must be fun playing with Barlett haha all the team works hard all game and to have him give away stupid frees and 50m's would be frustrating ...as good as he can be you would be better off without a hot head like him come finals time.

I don't know about the rest of the team but I love Bartlett being in the team. Regardless of what ever free kicks he does give away he presents a great option and his hard attack on the ball provides more than he may give away. Remembering that was his first game back for a while.

I am pretty sure Glen Martin played so there is one of your so called 5 walk in players.?

Jacko Martin, not Glen Martin Teamwork would of been speaking of.