AFL Cairns - 2011 Season

I think many of you show your age by taking a slightly witty picture which has been quite well done and getting all upset about it.

Seriously, there's about 10 people that post here and almost all are anonymous. Why get all defensive when somebody has a go at somebody from your club?

I've heard worse things out on the field said to people's faces and nobody bats an eyelid, but once it gets said to the 10 people on this forum, you act as if its been a personal insult to your family.

All I'll say is this, there are a lot of people on here with a lot of double standards.

If i used the ball aswell as he does i would be sitting on the outside getting it fed to me 2. That's his strength so thats how he plays. Not everyone is a tough as nails wins the hard ball player. Every team needs their outriders who use the ball well.

Must admit I dont like the words used to describe the way Chris plays his footy, seagulling, outrider, seeing his one of ours, but hey you are entitled to your opinion. I like to think he's a good player who's exceptional at finding space, with his work rate he's nearly always "on" as your next option, and I for one am happy to see more options rather than none.:thumbsu:

Personally I think that is quite inappropriate,
if you are not carrying on with others from all clubs

----make it a series then in might be funny.

I had a bit of respect for Plugger3, you were looking at joining us at the start/ or made inquiries,

But now you have belittled yourself & your age mentality,

GIVE the man a chance, Chris is a good friend of mine since he came on board & will back him, he has tried to improve Souths & football in general here in Cairns, why did he make the local Rep side if he was just a seagull, Andy Viola ( an astute coach ) wouldn't have him as a player in the Rep. squad if he thought this & all, most of you want to bag him, you should be ashamed of the rubbish you put him through or are some of you Blatant jealous of some of his abilities & your short comings

(at least the club has won more games & have been above competitive compared to last year when we were under Robbie Douglas, even his own sons were members of the squad of 16 that walked out on the club, a few even signed contracts, then left & refused to be coached by him & their old man, it was not because of money, they were offered enough, but most were greedy, yes we tightened the reins but there was enough around for all)

Steve Symonds was our choice of coach till loured away to NTFL & fantastic career move for him, because Cairns AFL (you know who) pissed farted around about the job offer here.

Chris only applied as assistant coach & was awarded with that by the 5 member selection panel, till thrown in the deep end, he then accepted the upgrade in roll after assurances he was up to the position of Head Coach of South Cairns by Steve S, Lance the Pres, (alias the Penguin) plus the rest of the Selection panel & committee.

Seriously tamba, re read what you just wrote and tell me you dont sound like a w***er..!

Keep em coming plugg3r, funny funny stuff. Just what this site needs is a bit of levity. I dont care what you think about adams, he is a grade A seagull! haha And viola only picked him after so many pulled out, ask him.
Im over the whole issue to be honest but credit whne its due plugg3r.

What was the photos circling around centrals?

Pretty big game for centrals and Souths this week.

If Centrals win, that's Souths' season done and dusted. Centrals look to be in the better form and it's under lights at their home ground. Long drive for the Souths boys after work on Friday after a long day at work. Might be the extra benefit that the Dogs need to get over the line this week. Will be a good sip for the Souths boys at the AFL game Saturday, I think and the Reserves stacking can begin in earnest next week after they thump the Dogs 2s.

Hawks will maul Cities on Sunday in both games out at Holloways. Not much else to say about that one.

Saints v Norths was only 5 goals last time they met and the form the Saints are in, I doubt it will be a bigger difference. This might be the game for Norths to steal to get to a finals spot with a later win over Centrals. Richter to return for such a crucial game? If not now, not sure when. Bigger game than would otherwise appear just looking at the ladder.

Goal kicking challenge looks to be whether Walsh can chase down Booth. If Walsh can keep the same pace and Saints make the finals, he should just about get there. The chase should at least keep it interesting up top if White is out of it. At this rate, Walsh will get to around 70 and Booth to around 80 by the start of the finals. Obviously plenty of water to go under the bridge before then.

Do the Cairns League do the award through the finals as well and not just only H&A season?

Pretty sure it ends at the final roster game. If it doesn't then its only the only league i know that goes through finals.

Pretty sure all other leagues finish before finals, for the league medal that is.

Otherwise old Tony Lockett would of missed out on a few Coleman's because Saints never made the finals.

I for one will not be attending Cazaly's this Saturday, my family will be there without me. I have instead decided to go to the Balaclava and they can meet me there after they're finished. Good luck fighting for a seat if you're in general admission.

On another note, my Kiss of Death this week -

GC Suns to get up in a tight one.
Cutters to sneak home and show up the Dogs
Hawks to flog the City Lions
Saints to account for Norths. (However, I wouldn't mind betting that Norths get up in a nail biter)

Flintstone I think u Like alot of people on here overate souths and norths. As long as saints man up on norths rebound through the middle of the ground they will win comfortably. And dogs should win by 10 goals plus if they come 2 play.. I Highly doubt any of the bottom 3 will beat a top 4 team the rest of the season

I think the Tigers will run away from the Suns Flintstone
Centrals to win well
Hawks
Norths to get over Saints by a kick!

I see Centrals picked up 6 or 7 players from Port Lincoln before the June 30 cut off! In my view that's cheating and should be regulated to maybe 2 to 3 players in the month of June. This stops clubs buying premierships in June which in my view goes against the whole idea of a competition. You mould your list for months to become a competative outfit only to have a team recruit what ever they think they need before the cut off. Does this seem unsportsmanlike to anyone else? I mean one or two is fine but to pick up 6 or 7 seems outrageous.

Centrals to win well
Hawks

I see Centrals picked up 6 or 7 players from Port Lincoln before the June 30 cut off! In my view that's cheating and should be regulated to maybe 2 to 3 players in the month of June. This stops clubs buying premierships in June which in my view goes against the whole idea of a competition. You mould your list for months to become a competative outfit only to have a team recruit what ever they think they need before the cut off. Does this seem unsportsmanlike to anyone else? I mean one or two is fine but to pick up 6 or 7 seems outrageous.

Looking at the guys they have grabbed, they are all playing in teams at the same level as Centrals. I was expecting the teams to be bottom 4 sides. Look to be mostly forward players as well.

The Dudley Boyz ;)

How old are you Flintstone?? How hard is it to stand up and watch a game of football?

I'll be standing over on the grass watching what I hope is the start of a lot of games in Cairns. Just the boost the league needs for the juniors to stay interested and gather momentum.

I'm tipping the Suns to get out to a flyer but the Tigers to reel them in. I think it will be a close game. Hopefully the home crowd gets behind the Suns and gets them over the line!

How old are you Flintstone?? How hard is it to stand up and watch a game of football?

I'll be standing over on the grass watching what I hope is the start of a lot of games in Cairns. Just the boost the league needs for the juniors to stay interested and gather momentum.

I'm tipping the Suns to get out to a flyer but the Tigers to reel them in. I think it will be a close game. Hopefully the home crowd gets behind the Suns and gets them over the line!

Saint, some days I feel real old. I absolutely agree with your comments, this is the best thing to happen to AFL Cairns since Kevin Crathern started ripping into an old swamp. I think next year and the year after will be the game/s to see. I'm not being negative towards the game at all. I personally hope that it stands up to everyone's expectations. One thing I will say, at least AFL Cairns aren't inconveniencing anyone by blocking off an entire highway (said tongue in cheek):p:p:p. This can only be a boon/bonanza for local business owners and operators. So there:p:p:p:p

Flintstone I think u Like alot of people on here overate souths and norths. As long as saints man up on norths rebound through the middle of the ground they will win comfortably. And dogs should win by 10 goals plus if they come 2 play.. I Highly doubt any of the bottom 3 will beat a top 4 team the rest of the season

Well my learned ShowNtell, it just goes to show how much you know about the teams in this league. Last season the "precious" Bulldogs were beaten by the 2010 Wooden Spooners in their last fixture game. Both Souths and Norths have nothing to lose. Both clubs are known historically for knocking off teams in the top 4 at the business end of the season. And if I'm correct, I did say previously that Saints should win but I would like to think that Norths will let them know they've played a game of footy. The results will speak for themselves and you or I for that matter maybe completely wrong about everything.:cool:

Centrals to win well
Hawks

Well mate, I think the Cairns crowd will get the Suns home just the same as last year. I was sitting in the stand last year when Suns played Bendigo and that crowd got those blokes home. It was actually quite interesting to watch. The first and second quarters consisted of polite clapping and cheering and then the locals got behind them and lifted them. Of course the players had something to do with it. But I'm sure if you asked the team after the game, they would have said the crowd got them over the line. McKenna even said so himself in an interview.

As for the extra players (if this is indeed the case), well if I was an existing player I would have walked out. Morally it's not right but the rules are rules and are there to be adhered to (or exploited).

Well mate, I think the Cairns crowd will get the Suns home just the same as last year. I was sitting in the stand last year when Suns played Bendigo and that crowd got those blokes home. It was actually quite interesting to watch. The first and second quarters consisted of polite clapping and cheering and then the locals got behind them and lifted them. Of course the players had something to do with it. But I'm sure if you asked the team after the game, they would have said the crowd got them over the line. McKenna even said so himself in an interview.

As for the extra players (if this is indeed the case), well if I was an existing player I would have walked out. Morally it's not right but the rules are rules and are there to be adhered to (or exploited).

I agree flinstone. Think of the fringe senior players who busted their ass all pre season to get a senior game just to have guys brought in half way through the year. Would certainly annoy me and i wouldn't blame them for moving on if they chose to.

This is why the points system came in to try to stop this,
knowing Lane he would have this factored in, & to help boost the magoos as well

If I were a Bulldog player I think I would be a bit peeved until I had all the facts

maybe we need to get them before we condemn or praise.
In saying this, this team has been notorious for stacking at the business end for the Magoos

How dies the point system actually work. I feel like ive never had itexplained it fully because I thought it was 2 stop moving players who were already in cairns. Is there a clause about players from other leagues? Or is there some online document that outlines the criteria?

I agree flinstone. Think of the fringe senior players who busted their ass all pre season to get a senior game just to have guys brought in half way through the year. Would certainly annoy me and i wouldn't blame them for moving on if they chose to.

Well said Lachrilly. It would certainly piss me off to be bumped back to the 2's after a big preseason and a solid half of the year earning your jumper. IMO it's a little bit like cheating, but apparently we aren't allowed to use that word anymore :rolleyes:

How dies the point system actually work. I feel like ive never had itexplained it fully because I thought it was 2 stop moving players who were already in cairns. Is there a clause about players from other leagues? Or is there some online document that outlines the criteria?

http://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&s...BBRnHO62g&sig2=cZKGA9s5FFKXIYO_4AHg2w&cad=rja

this will help,

yes it was, to stop the poaching that was rife back a few years ago. Garry Young (league pres) formulated the scheme based on what happening south where he was involved

And NO it wasn't brought in because of SJ, it was announced before he was named coach at Souths

This is why the points system came in to try to stop this,
knowing Lane he would have this factored in, & to help boost the magoos as well

If I were a Bulldog player I think I would be a bit peeved until I had all the facts

maybe we need to get them before we condemn or praise.
In saying this, this team has been notorious for stacking at the business end for the Magoos

Centrals would have to drop back half their seniors to the 2's to make a difference after losing to Lions on the w/e