AFL Cairns - 2012 Season

WTF does that have to do with anything?

You come on here and agree with an absolute moron who decided to have a go at a kid and said

After that way Alex has left the Hawks I have no issue with the jabs given to him to be honest.

So I ask you, in what way did he leave the club?

If you must know Im John, 187cm/92kg.. not that it matters...

He left the club whilst supposably being in Brisbane to play football, only to then go to the Saints without telling anyone. Whilst one of his parents being on this current years football committee...

And I thought height and weight must have meant a lot seeing as mines always brought up.

How many of the regions promising juniors have left over the last 3 years to go and play in Brisbane or even further south due to better footy, I reckon roughly 30 blokes. From Saints alone we have had over 5 and that is without upcoming juniors. Having a NEAFL side in Cairns gives these boys a chance to stay around so a huge recruiting drive is not necessary. Maybe they will top it up a bit but the whole idea of a Cairns team is to promote the local youth instead of sending them south. How good would it see all the local 18 - 22 aged boys running out together. It will bring a better competition to the area, blokes come up and play here and align with a local club. If they like it, they stay.

I am sure the AFL would fund the majority of it, but professionals in the area would be keen to be involved. Physio's, trainers, water boys and property stewards thrive on volunteering their time for this stuff.

The expense is where Tommy Big Guns has said, in the travel. Is there both a seniors and reserve grade? The travel for both would be the killer, 50+ people have to fly out of Cairns every 2nd week would hurt someones pocket, it is a pity we are so isolated. I would love to see it go ahead, clubs should be thrilled if one of their own makes the side.

I think only Manunda would be the only losers, Cazaly's would no longer be their home.

I know what you re saying Dick - on the sunshine coast we used to say the same thing. Kids left for Brisbane every year (alot easier to do mind you than for your kids). After a fair bit of work done and a fair bit of surveying it was decided in 2010 that the idea would be shelved for a few years. Money is the #1 issue, AFL will only do so much, needs to be self sustaining. And you might be surprised as to how competitive the side would be (or would not be) with just local blokes, trust me it would need topping up especially when you look at the sort of guys being recruited into the NEAFL in 2012 alone.

And it will definitely affect the local comp - has to IMO.

Knock it off Pagans Paddock, you would want to have a few league medals around your neck. Digging into a 19 year is poor form, really poor form. Stick to gossip going on in the league.

Kid has done no wrong at the Saints, trains hard and expects nothing. For his sake I hope the boy goes well. He would have only left both clubs for his own reasons, same as 500 blokes have left Hawks and Tigers before him. Ellich, Martin, Seymour, Allick, Lane, Miller - why don't you have a crack at all of them as well? Worry about yourself ********.

You are kidding right? You sound like your oblivious to the family and the high needs of this infant! To say he expects nothing is in total denial of the spoon feed, baby bottle and tantrum throwing behaviour he is sooooo know for! Lets not even begin on discussing the parents but safe to say the apple hasnt fallen far from the tree! Norths did absolutely everything to help this kid and when he and his family turned their back and left for hawks not only were we scratching our heads to deserve such a rubbishing but felt it would happen again should he not be picked in a team or told to not be lazy or to be told to not SOOK!

Sounds like all 3 have happened based on looking in from an outsider and having a hawkies life member told me he was dropped from the A grade GF side. TANTY TANTY TANTY! Good luck saints but knowing old dog o'halloran wont cop any such crap from he or the parents!

You are kidding right? You sound like your oblivious to the family and the high needs of this infant! To say he expects nothing is in total denial of the spoon feed, baby bottle and tantrum throwing behaviour he is sooooo know for! Lets not even begin on discussing the parents but safe to say the apple hasnt fallen far from the tree! Norths did absolutely everything to help this kid and when he and his family turned their back and left for hawks not only were we scratching our heads to deserve such a rubbishing but felt it would happen again should he not be picked in a team or told to not be lazy or to be told to not SOOK!

Sounds like all 3 have happened based on looking in from an outsider and having a hawkies life member told me he was dropped from the A grade GF side. TANTY TANTY TANTY! Good luck saints but knowing old dog o'halloran wont cop any such crap from he or the parents!

He seems to be fitting in well at Saints. Quiet kid just training hard and come rd.1 he should be around the mark. I heard that Hawks had knocked back his clearance so if they happy to see him go why try and stop him?

No one said we were glad to see him go from here, I like Alex and he has a lot of mates at Hawks.

Manunda finally have a coach. Clinton Gribble... Looks a likely footballer. How long since Manunda have had a playing coach? I reckon the signing of Weetra is the key, will keep a few hot heads in line. Plugger - Has your boyfriend Glen Martin been training?

Norths looked to have improved, I have walked past training a few times (Feb Fasting) and the boys look good. Hopefully the Tigers can make the finals this year. Unless all of the top 3 have dropped off from last year I think we are still a bit off going any further.

My young bloke told me that Eagle will not be playing footy in the NEAFL this year. Heard that he will be heading back to Cairns. Has the Eagle landed at Griffiths Park?

Manunda finally have a coach. Clinton Gribble... Looks a likely footballer. How long since Manunda have had a playing coach? I reckon the signing of Weetra is the key, will keep a few hot heads in line. Plugger - Has your boyfriend Glen Martin been training?

Clinton Gribble looks great will be a very handy footballer, blitzed in the training session last night. Gabby will be great as the bench coach, though he was around all last year with the reserves as well. Great bloke :thumbsu:

Well paganspaddock..a litle known fact for you. o'halloran has known and followed Alexs' progress for the last 12 years.( if you remember Max is a life member at Norths) His parents used to work with him when he was president at the racecourse. Also the parents busted their guts for hawks last year. Stop talking thru thine arse!!

Clinton Gribble looks great will be a very handy footballer, blitzed in the training session last night. Gabby will be great as the bench coach, though he was around all last year with the reserves as well. Great bloke :thumbsu:
Clinton Gribble is indeed a very good pick up for the Hawks. I have known and watched him play from 12 yrs old through the development squads for Peel Thunder back in WA....

So no credit to the premiership coach Flintstone? Well he was the best coach I've ever been involved with and many of our young players at Hawks will tell you he often went above and beyond for them. Yes he would tell you what for if he thought it was warranted and maybe a bit hard in areas but you find me a perfect coach and I'll find you a myth.

I've read here for a good 6 months now and have had a good laugh at times. I never knew how serious our little comp was up here!

Credit where credit is due and I agree, Coach Griffiths has to be given credit. I was simply relaying the word on the street.;)

Norths looked to have improved, I have walked past training a few times (Feb Fasting) and the boys look good. Hopefully the Tigers can make the finals this year. Unless all of the top 3 have dropped off from last year I think we are still a bit off going any further.

My young bloke told me that Eagle will not be playing footy in the NEAFL this year. Heard that he will be heading back to Cairns. Has the Eagle landed at Griffiths Park?

The Hawks have picked up a good find in young Gribble. The word from my contacts in the West tell me he is a more than capable footballer. Hawks should do well this year with him at the helm.

Well paganspaddock..a litle known fact for you. o'halloran has known and followed Alexs' progress for the last 12 years.( if you remember Max is a life member at Norths) His parents used to work with him when he was president at the racecourse. Also the parents busted their guts for hawks last year. Stop talking thru thine arse!!

Hart a little lesson son. I have known slappsy ohalloran back in the days when the cutters were souths balacava with the big v on their strips and ran water for him when he crossed from souths to norths back in the 80's. I know max well and i have spoken to him about ellich, charlie dixon and allick at hawks. Quote end quote ' the kids parents are worth 20kg on that kids back' straight from the horses mouth ;) I hope the kid proves me and the other knockers on this site wrong. 2 clubs already and all departed on bad terms!

The Hawks have picked up a good find in young Gribble. The word from my contacts in the West tell me he is a more than capable footballer. Hawks should do well this year with him at the helm.

My mail is from south west league club mandurah is that he has a dodgy back and played a dozen games and won the league medal by 5 votes last year.... First time coach..... We trialled maguane, oakley, lord and finally on a winner with KR! Go tigers

You must have a lonely life pagans :eek:

Clinton is from the Bunbury football club in the South West league. As for Mandurah they are in a different league and I don't think he has ever played for them. He played "A" grade amatuers last year which is one level of competition down from WAFL. To win the medal for best player in that comp is no mean feat as there are a lot of very good footballers running around in that comp. He has a very good pedigree with his father being a very good player for Bunbury and his younger brother winning the Association F & B in the strong South West league a couple of years ago........

Is this another coach assassinate, :confused:
he didn't play in that league according to my sources :cool:

Pagans Paddock, last year Richter's plan was to blood as much youth as they could. Will that still be the case this year? If so who will they be? I hear that Sam Raumer has left to brisbane for Uni and i think the other u/18s just left. Will there be holes to fill?

Tamba, how are those 4 new fellas travelling?

Quality footballer is Gribble...tough hard nut that finds plenty of it and along with Gabby will be a force for the Hawks in 2012. Struck me as a strong fit type so would think he will lead by example.

Pagans Paddock, last year Richter's plan was to blood as much youth as they could. Will that still be the case this year? If so who will they be? I hear that Sam Raumer has left to brisbane for Uni and i think the other u/18s just left. Will there be holes to fill?

Which 4 r ya asking about :confused::confused::confused: :DLOL

The side is going well under the New Coach, we have a trial match next weekend in Townsville. Should be a great hit-out for both clubs.

Well done to the Hawks, better late than never on their coaches announcement during the week.

Bring on the season 2012 :footy:

Re the Carters saga, the family should have their own TV show! He's 19 and sooked on to his third club. He'll be quiet and train hard early, then he'll turn lazy and his parents will be a nightmare if he isn't playing seniors.

What are the teams looking like for the pre season cup? Anyone going to try and win it? Or just try to get numbers together to get thru it?

I havent been in the ground last 2 weeks but Jesse Batten told me that there are alot of new faces which is great to have new blood! Sam stepped up last year into a role that allowed tennick to not have to take on the duties himself. I still see occassionally rowan gray running on the track but as i said i havent been down there recently. Around the ground, it looks good with our pick ups. Looking forward to Josh Marriot and Marley Anderson getting very fit, great juniors!

Re the Carters saga, the family should have their own TV show! He's 19 and sooked on to his third club. He'll be quiet and train hard early, then he'll turn lazy and his parents will be a nightmare if he isn't playing seniors.

Don't forget he signed with Belconnen last year and lasted about 5 mins. In regards to training, he will win the sprints when the coach is watching but happily come last when the coach turns his back.

He has done nothing wrong so far so will have to wait and see. Saints dont put up with players like that so any sign of it and no doubt he will be told. Maxy seems to have taken him under his wing a bit which might be great for the kid.

Also see Rex Liddy on the clearance list to Norths. That one went down quietly,nice pick up for Norths. With all the Norths boys pumping up this season looks as if the Tigers are the team to beat at this early stage.

AFL Cairns - 2012 Season