AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist) Part 2

great to see the jets taking the next step, but is it just me or are the jets dropping off the pace in div 3. surely they would have expected to play finals after winning last year, but looks like that wont happen, will this affect their recruiting drive, hopefully they recover and finish off strong in div 3, and not give up and stack div 4 just to try and win a flag before thier big year. good luck again but hope you havent bitten off more than they can chew. are they still going to field div 4 next year?

The Jets lost several key players early on which seemed to have an affect on their consistency. This required several 4's to play up for a number of weeks. I agree finals do seem out of reach but hopefully that won't stop them aiming to win their remaining games for the year and put some pressure on teams above them. They fought hard against Harman a couple of weeks ago and kicked themselves out of it in the second quarter against Belco last week (1 goal 8 behinds!!). No signs of giving up just yet, in fact they seem to be fighting harder. The recruiting drive is about players who want to play div 2. Not sure many of the current players will put thier hand up so results in 3's this year shouldn't influence the recruiting drive for 2's either way. You're the second person to suggest Jets may stack their 4's.:thumbsdown: They have never done it in the past so why should they start now? Their results in 4's this year are very good so you're concerns are un-warranted. I think the Jets would be well aware of the jump next year and probably have realistic expectations about their achievements in 2010. This is a healthy attitude and one that should help foster growth. They are no doubt looking for people who are ready for a huge challenge and want to be part of a club striving for long-term, hard-fought success. It would be great to be part of that. Being a northside club there must be heaps of players floating about who would like to have a crack. Once the coach is announced the Jets should start to see real progress in their development for next year. From what I have heard they will continue to field a 3's and 4's team so emphasis is clearly on recruitig 2's players to the club. It's also very encouraging to see their junior teams perfoming well. Should be an interesting first few years in Div 2 and 18's. Hopefully the League offer as much financial and administrative support as possible to help create the next Canberra based club in the top comp.

cityslicker,
Maybe he is not the second person to suggest it ,maybe he is the same person who previously suggested it under a new name .;)
Thats my bet anyway.

The Jets 4's did not stack a side last year to reach the GF, can't really see them doing it this yr despite what has happened to the Div 3 side.

Given the current form they have shown I think they will get to the GF again.
Apparently a few players are out at the moment and the new guys to the game have shown great potential from the start of the season.

It looks asthough the forfeit in round 14 by Adfa to the jets will have an effect in the out come of the final 4 in both grades.

It kills of i believe Adfa making the four in div 3 leaving us with Anu,Harman,Bidgee,and belco,to fight it out for the flag IMO.

In div 4 it could see the jets finish as high as second and grab the second chance if the draw plays out on current form,
Im not prepaired to predict a top 4 in div 4 for fear of further abuse,but based on the draw you would think that the swans and jets would be in the 4 somewhere,yass and the pies have to play each other twice in the coming weeks and that could go either way.From the current 4 the jets only play yass ,while the swans the pies and anu have to face off agaisnt each other again.

Should be a great finish to what has been a very good season already.
Thoughts anywon !!!!!
goulburn
jets
belco
yass
anu
Yass have a very hard run, but if we are to make it we must beat most in top 3 and that should give us a lot of confidence come finals time. anu v yass will maybe decide 4th spot. time will tell.

Quick q that some here may be able to answer

Cooma have an Auskick and an U14's this year, Snowy Cats, combining kids from Cooma, Jindabyne, Berridale etc.

Do Yass, Goulburn and Coota have Junior programs, and how are they finding numbers?

. look out for number 16 for cooma, we have had trouble with him for years, he tried to eye gouge one of our players so he got tapped then they were wrestling, i dragged him off and he and our player were lying on the ground, he somehow swung his leg around and deliberately kicked our player in the face, splitting his lip, and then tried to go on with it. total nutcase:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

You still whining dj ando??? Maybe you should get your facts right before you publish dribble.... You mate who apparently was eye gouged should watch his late elbows, and the 'tap' was a full king hit the the back of the head. Yass are a bunch of hypocrites who cant handle a bit of niggle.

Do Yass, Goulburn and Coota have Junior programs, and how are they finding numbers?[/quote]

GF, Goulburn have had an U14's team for 07 and 08. This year we have expanded into an U16's (combined with Queanbeyan) and a stand alone 14's. We only have about 8 kids in the mixed 16's team. Auskick runs on Sundays and alot of the kids in the 14's have come through that program. I think there is about 20 odd doing Auskick this year.

It doesn't sound like alot but AFL is making inroads in what is a league/union/soccer town:thumbsu:

You know as much as it sucks to say this but Ando had a decent game yesterday against the Jets :p From what I saw I would say 1 of their better players.. and he was playing in the centre at times to. Lost a bit of weight Ando?

Sero looked like he was struggling a little, guess all that running he does is catching up with him?? Still leading by example though :thumbsu:

Yass looked to be missing some numbers. But a few new faces.
What happened to Foran?

You know as much as it sucks to say this but Ando had a decent game yesterday against the Jets :p From what I saw I would say 1 of their better players.. and he was playing in the centre at times to. Lost a bit of weight Ando?

Sero looked like he was struggling a little, guess all that running he does is catching up with him?? Still leading by example though :thumbsu:

What happened to Foran?
Longhaul do you no if there is any truth in the rumor that sero was reported for umpire abuse .
Also how did ex ainslie ebert go he should carve em in div 4.He was listed on the yass site in there best was wondering how he went

What happened to Foran?
gee thanks longhaul, lost 20kg in off season but put 4 or 5 back on while in america, still trying to lose more. well done to the jets, they played very well, but we did give them a little scare in the third qtr. sero went into game with sore ankle , he still ran a lot but played up forward after he hurt it in the 2nd qtr. brendan foran hasnt played for 4 or 5 wks, finishing his house and moving, i think he might be back next week. sero played his first game, and apart from match fitness he is all class. we had a guy who trained last wk had never played or trained before and played a great game. won our mug. on another note, im starting to get worried about my beloved hawks. premiers one year struggling the next. not giving up yet though:(:(

Ever wanted to be a selector well heres your chance with no rep game for the districts this year i thought it might be fun to put a big footy rep team together so how about each person nominates up to 6 players from any club in either grade in any position and will see what we come up with mite be fun.

Here is mine.
Serafin Yass
Hill Juggs
silby Hogs
truesdale jets
Axleby pies
Quinn Uni

Wes Heinke is a gun up forward for ANU, and the bald bloke Reidy carved us up...

The little Abjeron or whatever is name is for the Jugs gets plenty in the midfield - and the bigger bodies of Pat McCarthy and Crofty are also good additions to their club.

Harmans ruckman was as good as any we've seen this year.

I can't remember anyone from Belconnen, but that was a big drink that weekend....

Wes Heinke is a gun up forward for ANU, and the bald bloke Reidy carved us up...

The little Abjeron or whatever is name is for the Jugs gets plenty in the midfield - and the bigger bodies of Pat McCarthy and Crofty are also good additions to their club.

Harmans ruckman was as good as any we've seen this year.

I can't remember anyone from Belconnen, but that was a big drink that weekend....

This list is nothing without Stuart Dunn.

Quick q that some here may be able to answer

Cooma have an Auskick and an U14's this year, Snowy Cats, combining kids from Cooma, Jindabyne, Berridale etc.

Do Yass, Goulburn and Coota have Junior programs, and how are they finding numbers?
yass do have a junior program, been going for at least 5 years i think , maybe longer. we have auskick and had under 10s last year, this year we have under 12s under 10s and under 8s. numbers for the 12s are light on, my young bloke is playing league and afl and i think a few others are as well. hopefully we can keep them going to under 14s then 16s and then we have a path for the kids to come through. our under 12 team is very young and have been getting touched up, but they are improving.:thumbsu:

Its a big weekend in CD1's

ADFA vs Eastlake - If Eastlake lose, their season is over. Eastlake
ANU vs Gungahlin - ANU are undefeated, but play Harman next weekend. ANU in a tighter match than you would expect.
Ainslie vs Harman - Harman by plenty, even if Ainslie play a few Ressies players this week.
Tuggeranong vs Murrumbidgee - Murrumbidgee by heaps.
Belconnen vs Woden - Woden by a point, after the siren. Jamison will be a glue pot so its going to be a war of attrition and a tough and physical match. 3GM to get the call up as conditions will suit...

Its a big weekend in CD1's

ADFA vs Eastlake - If Eastlake lose, their season is over. Eastlake
ANU vs Gungahlin - ANU are undefeated, but play Harman next weekend. ANU in a tighter match than you would expect.
Ainslie vs Harman - Harman by plenty, even if Ainslie play a few Ressies players this week.
Tuggeranong vs Murrumbidgee - Murrumbidgee by heaps.
Belconnen vs Woden - Woden by a point, after the siren. Jamison will be a glue pot so its going to be a war of attrition and a tough and physical match. 3GM to get the call up as conditions will suit...

The only conditions that suit 3GM these days are that there is a canteen that sells beer and pies....

Agree with the Jamo glue pot and physical match, but obviously disagree on the result!! Yet another cracking round of Districts footy!! BMFC still have to play ADFA, Bidgee and ANU so we had better start putting a few wins together.

The only conditions that suit 3GM these days are that there is a canteen that sells beer and pies....

Agree with the Jamo glue pot and physical match, but obviously disagree on the result!! Yet another cracking round of Districts footy!! BMFC still have to play ADFA, Bidgee and ANU so we had better start putting a few wins together.

Not a big fan of pies actually. Much prefer the pide house kebabs with a few quite ones on the scoreboard hill.

As always, if we play 4 quarters in the 3's we should walk it in. The footy in the last quarter against Harman was the best we've played all year. Just the six goal headstart was too much in the end.

Here are a few player pics for the Bigfooty Rep Team.

Gungahlin - T. LEHMANN, S. TRUESDALE
Murrumbidgee - D. HILL, P. MACARTHY, S. HERBERT
ANU - R. FORSYTH, QUINNEY
Harman - C. GRIGGS, DWYER
Belco - H. AXELBY
Woden - M. STEVENS, S. VISSER
ADFA - K. BELL, J. BELL

AFL canberra has advised that they have made a stuff up in in the div 4 draw Murrumidgee V Yass at stirling oval is now on sunday at 12 and not saturday.:eek:

They sure did. Got over them in both grades.
careful longhaul, dont show too much excitement to early. good to see coota nearly got over undefeated goulburn. hawthorn hawks officially gone, bring on 2010. great to see the cats lose in another big game. seem to only lose the ones that count. was that mark better than leo barrys in gf. i think so. leo barry saved the swans yet, that other tall dude won the game for the saints, takes the pressure of the hawks as the only other team to beat geelong. woden looking like late finals contenders.

Did ADFA forfeit to Eastlake in both grades?

Another forfeit this week to Gungahlin will see them potentially drop out of the 4 in 3rds...

Does this open the window for the Jets to sneak into the race for the 4?