AFL Canberra

Doesnt matter how much money they throw around they need to change the culture of the Club. With the likes of Muir (President) and other former players on their Board, they are in the process of doing that. Juniors are the key, not recruits on big dollars.

From everything i have heard from players and people around the club, the culture was fine, however the new board decided try to take the club in a new direction. They sacked an ex junior that had been @ the club for 20yrs, the U/18s coach (that had been involved with the club for 30yrs) for being TOO pashionate and showing TOO much emotion. Aren't pashion and emotion two things that a football club needs to based aroud?????

The new committee has only set the club back 5 - 10years, with the walk out of 20 players (incl numerous juniors, another foundation clubs are built on) and have had to spend big $$$$ on recruits, which was apparently never going to happen under the new committee. It sounds like they didn't look after the players and support staff @ the club and now have to lay in the hole they have dug

Yeah I've walked down the cruddy path to Ainslie FC on more than one occasion (sucker for punishment I know).

The culture is the worst in AFL on the Eastern seaboard - bar none!

I have been involved in many clubs through movement with work and can attest to the Ainslie bashing going on from those who have never actually been involved with the Club.

Lots of money, yeah sure but the Social Club eg. Pokie Palace doesn't give a toss about the Football side of the operations. Too busy trying to squeeze more money out the elderly and disadvantaged on the pokies and the "monster" raffles to worry about the fact that their football team has sucked for the past 5 or so years.

The 5-10 juniors who make their way through the ranks mostly get the honour of winning ressies Premierships due to the fact that the new recruits. e.g. money hungry cretins are given preference and played in the Senior Team as it is too embarrassing to drop them to the 2's.

80% of the interstate recruits' stay one year, get sick of the cold and tough standard of the football in the ACT and then run back to Victoria with Ainslie FC on their resume and ask for a couple of hundred more $ each week.

The culture is just shocking, every player is out for themselves and unless the juniors and former players get a proper hold on the Club then nothing is going to change. The big fall out this season may be the wake up call they had to have, but then again it might also set them back a loooong way.

Wads is a good operator so I kind of hope they can fix themselves up. For the so-called Best Club outside of Melbourne they have been winning not much but 2's trophies for years.

If the person that got shafted is the person I'm thinking of then I'm sorry to say go the Dees, Hawks, Magpies, Tigers anyone really!!
well said:thumbsu: ainslie are paying for trying to buy premierships something they have done for at least the past 20 years. I know wads personally and you woulldn't find a more passionate ainslie man. (which is funny because his late father was the most passionate queanbeyan man around) however there seems to be a trend sneaking into other clubs as well look back over the past 5 or so years at queanbeyan not many juniors have come through to be regular senior players most are in the 2's or even at harman. Belconnen similar not near as bad and eastlake are the same. Don't know why people think the standard is no good admittidly most players are there for the money but you plonk this competition on the murray or in country victoria people would be raving about it. You wouldn't see a crowd of less than 1000 people at every game the standard is fine Canb erra people the most pretentios people in the country just don't support it.

Yeah I've walked down the cruddy path to Ainslie FC on more than one occasion (sucker for punishment I know).

The culture is the worst in AFL on the Eastern seaboard - bar none!

I have been involved in many clubs through movement with work and can attest to the Ainslie bashing going on from those who have never actually been involved with the Club.

Lots of money, yeah sure but the Social Club eg. Pokie Palace doesn't give a toss about the Football side of the operations. Too busy trying to squeeze more money out the elderly and disadvantaged on the pokies and the "monster" raffles to worry about the fact that their football team has sucked for the past 5 or so years.

The 5-10 juniors who make their way through the ranks mostly get the honour of winning ressies Premierships due to the fact that the new recruits. e.g. money hungry cretins are given preference and played in the Senior Team as it is too embarrassing to drop them to the 2's.

80% of the interstate recruits' stay one year, get sick of the cold and tough standard of the football in the ACT and then run back to Victoria with Ainslie FC on their resume and ask for a couple of hundred more $ each week.

The culture is just shocking, every player is out for themselves and unless the juniors and former players get a proper hold on the Club then nothing is going to change. The big fall out this season may be the wake up call they had to have, but then again it might also set them back a loooong way.

Wads is a good operator so I kind of hope they can fix themselves up. For the so-called Best Club outside of Melbourne they have been winning not much but 2's trophies for years.

If the person that got shafted is the person I'm thinking of then I'm sorry to say go the Dees, Hawks, Magpies, Tigers anyone really!!

Who is the person you are thinking of ?

well said:thumbsu: ainslie are paying for trying to buy premierships something they have done for at least the past 20 years. I know wads personally and you woulldn't find a more passionate ainslie man. (which is funny because his late father was the most passionate queanbeyan man around) however there seems to be a trend sneaking into other clubs as well look back over the past 5 or so years at queanbeyan not many juniors have come through to be regular senior players most are in the 2's or even at harman. Belconnen similar not near as bad and eastlake are the same. Don't know why people think the standard is no good admittidly most players are there for the money but you plonk this competition on the murray or in country victoria people would be raving about it. You wouldn't see a crowd of less than 1000 people at every game the standard is fine Canb erra people the most pretentios people in the country just don't support it.

You are dead set right about crowds in Canberra. The competition is excellent, standard right up there with the best country leagues. Unfortunately the press dictate what to watch with all exposure going to the Raiders and Brumbies. Even those two codes local competition suffer because of lack of exposure. The only press AFL Canberra get is when something wrong is happening like the Wagga fiasco, Ainslie uproar and possible withdrawal of Weston Creek. What about a bit of press of Aaron Rogers ex Melbourne / Swans to Eastlake and Powell to Tigers.
The magpies, they have recruited heaps over the years - Campbell, Illet, Knowles, McDonald, Hamllandale, Jeffrey, Jennings, Vince, Ghobrial, Porter, - the list goes.

Weston Creek changed their name from Wildcats to lions origionally for financial gain, they were aligned with the Brisbane lions, same as Ainslie and the roos. The recent name change was to distance ourselves with the past but also winde up any debts from the lions days.

in all honesty i'm not having a dig at you guys and a sincerely hope you guys become a really good football club god knows the Canberra league needs 6 clubs. All the best to you guys i hope you have people there who are going to stick it out for the long haul although it will be tough.:thumbsu:

Nah niether peeler. Just trying to get the facts straight. Coz we have had a lot of bad press in the last couple of seasons, and a lot of it has been un warrented and the truth has been stretched on more than one occaision. But that is not saying that there is no problem with the club, but those problems are being eradicated.

anyone know the full list of in's and out's for all clubs to date.

know a few

Belco
In's
Curtis from Wodonga
Early from Ainslie
Ghilchrist from Edan
Hanley from Finley
Illet from Port Adelaid
Foster from colingully
Out's
Jeffreys
Mcdonald
Vince
Henning ?

Eastlake
In's
Rogers from Glenelg
Cooper from Ainslie
Clark from QAFL
plus five or six from Marist College
Out's
Southern
Gallagher

Ainslie
In's
Bourke from WAFL
Frawley from Yarra
Gray, Matherson and Lawlis from Gippsland area
Prior - Edan
Daniel from Weston Creek
Taylor from Weston creek
Renet from Tuggeranong
some young gun from Ariah Park
Losses
Brown
Kavanagh
Cooper
Fruhardt
Barber
Pulford
Wainright
Pellow
grayling
Austin
lehman
Foster
Heaslip

Weston Creek
in's
Brown from Ainslie
lehman from Ainslie
out's
Daniels
Taylor

Queenbyan
in's
Powell from Roos
Kavanagh, fruhardt, foster from Ainslie
Cavedon from Myrtlford
out's
Gilbert
Gisik
Ellis
Longmore
Prior

Tuggeanong
In's
grayling from Ainslie
healy from SANFL
Howman from Sturt
Whitby,Funnell ex juniors returning
Morris from Vic Country
Losses
Spencer

Canberra Wildcats mate, not weston creek.
Also got Winter and Underdown from Eastlake as well as Zane Nossiter from Tassie.

Ty Lehmann kicked 8 first half goals on the weekend against murrumbidge who we pumped by 200pts. But good to see the affiliation in full swing. Good bunch of blokes.

If you've got that many at training maybe you should have a dip and actually put a team in seconds so other clubs don't have to cover your shortcomings.

Agree with that mate!

If only Belconnen fielded 2 Reserve Grade sides in 03/04 - I might've played more ACTAFL and less Canberra Districts...

Good luck getting a kick this year big fella!

Cheers,

Canberra Wildcats mate, not weston creek.
Also got Winter and Underdown from Eastlake as well as Zane Nossiter from Tassie.

Ty Lehmann kicked 8 first half goals on the weekend against murrumbidge who we pumped by 200pts. But good to see the affiliation in full swing. Good bunch of blokes.

icon6.gif

Does anyone know what trial games are on this weekend ?

I know Tigers are playing Tuggers down at batemans bay. not sure which day. should be a good hit out. not sure of anything else though.

can't say i know much about the league up here, but what i do know is that ainslie's new coach chris rourke is an absolute certainty to turn things around...by the sounds of it the club is really battling with the whole 'loyalty' issue...and players are just playing footy for the money and not jelling well as a team...Chris will turn that around, he is a smart man and the entire ainslie football club should listen to him (committee members included!) he knows a lot about the game of football and also knows a lot about what makes a good football club...so all the best for rourkey and his club this year, by the sounds of how things are up there rourkey, your the man to turn it all around, all the best for the season!

i hope your right and i hope he does turn the committee. As thats where a lot of Ainslie issues have been.

:thumbsu:
heard qbn will get walloped on Sat by tuggers. They are taking second string team to Batemans Bay for supposed exhibtion match
icon10.gif
Thats interesting Armstrong playing his cards close to his chest. I know they are still reeling after missing the finals last year for the first time in 25 years. Might be a big year for the once mighty tigers to bounce back:thumbsu:

:thumbsu:
Thats interesting Armstrong playing his cards close to his chest. I know they are still reeling after missing the finals last year for the first time in 25 years. Might be a big year for the once mighty tigers to bounce back:thumbsu:

Is young Quade still at Queanbeyan ? quite a talent that bloke.

rumours very true about ainslie players ;edt everywhere i know Kavanagh, Fruerhardt have joined Queanbeyan as well as Todd Pulford has there fitness coach. Payers leaving Ainslie for Queanbeyan was unheard of 10 years ago. Clubs with a mutual dislike for each other. Grayling i believe is at Tuggeranong. Not sure about any others thats just the ones i know about. Ainslie's committee has been doing that for years only have to go back to when they sacked David Cloke.

From what i understand they sacked Cloke for getting his fingers caught in the till ............

Is young Quade still at Queanbeyan ? quite a talent that bloke.

Think his old man Coached a few premiership teams there in the eighties. Got the flick from Manuka at the time and then went to QBN. Few red faces at the bullants after that decision. Is he still kicking ?

Yeah Brian is a legend at QBN thats for sure. He is still heavily involved in football as a director of the NSW/ACT commission stills gets to see a fair bit of Queanbeyan.