AFL Canberra

Sorry, forgot you were the english police.
If we are handing out lessons, dont forget this decade dosen't equal the last ten years. Do the Math on that dic*k wit.

WTB, you really should put some thought into your posts....
A decade is indeed explained in nearly every dictionary simply as a period of 10 years. This can be from the start of January 1998 through until the end of December 2007 or from the start of January 2000 through until the end of December 2009. And if it's not too much trouble... do you think you can explain your interpretation of what a dic*k wit is? Perhaps you need to be from Belco way to fully appreciate the phrase but to me it seems as if you are stating that Original is both smart and funny!!:eek:

Let me explain... a dic*k is a colloquial term for Detective ie. clever dic*k; wit is the ability to make clever connections between ideas, and so give pleasure and amusement to the people around them.
Are you sure you meant to call Original a dic*k wit? Perhaps you should have a lie down before you hurt yourself...

I'm hearing this same correspondence in regards to the AFC Footy Manager.

Sounds like big Shrek has finally seen the light and given "The bad egg" the sack.

Can anyone confirm this?

Confirmed bush footy. As of last night he is gone:)
. Its only two years to late. Maybe they should offer the football managers job in a package to Ben Cousins , he couldn't f#%k the place anymore than the last bloke did.

Thanks whiteant.

Congrats to Ainslie for finally achieving something positive in 2007. Now all they need to do is spend the next ten years rebuilding after the bad egg destroyed the place.

Great news that the idiot is gone! Now all they need to do is get rid of some of the idiots on the committee...starting with shrek!

We don't want to rush them spewie...obviously they are only capable of taking baby steps. But agree with you...

All responsibility for Ainslies downfall will now be pushed out the door with the clown who was sacked, which from what I can gather is mainly fair, however surely the committee have to also put their hands up and take some of the responsibility as they are the ones who sat back and watched the Footy Manager tear the place apart and didn't do a thing about it.

Ainslie still have a long way to go!

We don't want to rush them spewie...obviously they are only capable of taking baby steps. But agree with you...

All responsibility for Ainslies downfall will now be pushed out the door with the clown who was sacked, which from what I can gather is mainly fair, however surely the committee have to also put their hands up and take some of the responsibility as they are the ones who sat back and watched the Footy Manager tear the place apart and didn't do a thing about it.

Ainslie still have a long way to go!

Believe it or not there are still a couple of good men left at Ainslie however in saying this there should be a few more blokes drag their sorry arses out the gates of Ainslie oval behind him as they supported him for far too long. They had been warned on NUMEROUS ocassions of what this bloke was up too but chose to ignore it, and it was not just players it was coaches, supporters, sponsors and volunteers giving the warnings. Don't know how true it is but apparently he had a hit list of players he wanted out of the club (and the board knew of this), which included probably Ainslies 10 best players at the time, and he got his way, as not one of these blokes is still there :mad:. Now they decide to get rid of him!!!! I'm confused:confused:.

Anyway, enough banging on about AFC - we'll be doing plenty of talking about them when they sign Benny Cousins in March 2008....

Are all clubs up and running with pre-season training yet? Does anyone know what the numbers at Creek have been like?

Anyway, enough banging on about AFC - we'll be doing plenty of talking about them when they sign Benny Cousins in March 2008....

Are all clubs up and running with pre-season training yet? Does anyone know what the numbers at Creek have been like?

Tigers start Dec 3.

Yep, this and previous committees are to blame for keeping this jerk. He has ripped off the club and upset players with his arrogance for too long. This committee has been spell bound by him, and he has built an empire around him, their admin department is huge! The committee should hang their heads in shame, but I guess they have a scapegoat now (a worthwhile one at that) but like you suggest they will have their hands up and say "it was him and not us", well the buck should stop somewhere higher- Shrek should resign! he and his mates are the reason why the club has slipped back ten years. A shame for a once proud and successful club, but it has allowed other clubs to take the stage and develop- which has been a positive. You cant but help admiring a club like Qbn, who have a fantastic culture that only enhances everything they do. It fascinating to read that they have so many passionate volunteers, that is awesome and a real crestit to them. Beln and eastlake have also made fantatsic advaces forward. Just goes to show that if you want success you have to get it right on the field and off the field and from the top down.

you saddling up again ABH?

Absolutely not mate. Happy to retire after the 2nd's premiership.
I have starting running again to maintain fitness but my knees are shot! Will be helping out with the senior grades to stay in touch plus it keeps me off the beer and pies on match days particularly on those cold Greenway games!:eek::eek:

Macca was passed over because M.Horne gave an outstanding presentation to the Board that made him the number 1 choice.

Don't get me wrong as I have played against Horney since his Nth Adelaide days and he is a champion bloke. But to have the best list of 2nds players at his disposal over the past 2 years and not even win a final shows me that something inspiring may be lacking. Does he have what it takes to get his troops over the line in the big games. Not that this will be needed out your way as I can't see finals footy coming to soon. That's just my opinion, not wanting to start a war of words.

Yep, this and previous committees are to blame for keeping this jerk. He has ripped off the club and upset players with his arrogance for too long. This committee has been spell bound by him, and he has built an empire around him, their admin department is huge! The committee should hang their heads in shame, but I guess they have a scapegoat now (a worthwhile one at that) but like you suggest they will have their hands up and say "it was him and not us", well the buck should stop somewhere higher- Shrek should resign! he and his mates are the reason why the club has slipped back ten years. A shame for a once proud and successful club, but it has allowed other clubs to take the stage and develop- which has been a positive. You cant but help admiring a club like Qbn, who have a fantastic culture that only enhances everything they do. It fascinating to read that they have so many passionate volunteers, that is awesome and a real crestit to them. Beln and eastlake have also made fantatsic advaces forward. Just goes to show that if you want success you have to get it right on the field and off the field and from the top down.

They should (Ainslie) make an offer to some of the more established Football Managers of other Clubs to take charge. Surley the bloke at Qnbo (Foulie) would be siutable or even Miller at Eastlake. These two have been around for years and maybe are looking for a change. Even Bartells at the Creek could be an option.

The Creek have been split into a couple of groups with half doing a cardio session at Reid Oval and the rest of the group split into two sides playing Rec Footy Wednesday nights - numbers have been OK there too.

A few old blokes who were looking at giving it away have been offered much better money, and are going again. The group seemed pretty young, and they are confident of getting a reserves side together for next season.

And no, I have nothing to do with the club, just spoken to a few blokes around the traps.

They should (Ainslie) make an offer to some of the more established Football Managers of other Clubs to take charge. Surley the bloke at Qnbo (Foulie) would be siutable or even Miller at Eastlake. These two have been around for years and maybe are looking for a change. Even Bartells at the Creek could be an option.
it would take an axe handle and a pine box to remove chook from Queanbeyan. Great credit to the club as with what has been said in earlier posts about the volunteers and the culture, but it wasn't something that happened overnight its taken nearly 30 years to get the club to the admirable position is now. and volunteers are what makes great footy clubs.
You can pay people a million dollars to play but when the shit hits the fan they are the first to jump off. Which has been the problem with clubs such as Ainslie and Eastlake for years. Belconnen have gone along the right track and modeled itself on a club like Queanbeyan.
I know i'm a passionate queanbeyan man born and bred in the place but have since moved away and i tell most admininstrators of clubs that i have become heavily involved in to have a look at what chook and the committee and the volunteers do because thats what makes a genuine club. People who have pride in where they are and don't let any bad apples spoil the bunch. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
There i'm off my soap box now to some banter Belconnen still is the most hated club in footy. Must have something to do with the pies logo.

it would take an axe handle and a pine box to remove chook from Queanbeyan. Great credit to the club as with what has been said in earlier posts about the volunteers and the culture, but it wasn't something that happened overnight its taken nearly 30 years to get the club to the admirable position is now. and volunteers are what makes great footy clubs.
You can pay people a million dollars to play but when the shit hits the fan they are the first to jump off. Which has been the problem with clubs such as Ainslie and Eastlake for years. Belconnen have gone along the right track and modeled itself on a club like Queanbeyan.
I know i'm a passionate queanbeyan man born and bred in the place but have since moved away and i tell most admininstrators of clubs that i have become heavily involved in to have a look at what chook and the committee and the volunteers do because thats what makes a genuine club. People who have pride in where they are and don't let any bad apples spoil the bunch. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
There i'm off my soap box now to some banter Belconnen still is the most hated club in footy. Must have something to do with the pies logo.

geez i thought you were going alright there NOP until you mentioned the logo. qbn certainly seem to know what they are doing especially considering that they have a small lic club compared to belc, ainslie and elake. but how far can that take them. if player payments continue to go up and the price of running a top class club goes up, they wont be able to keep up and then we'll have three clubs struggling. Tuggers are ****ed, weston creek/canberra wildcats are just about done and dusted and if qbn cant survive, all they'll be is a strong district club.

... i worry about the future of afl canberra

geez i thought you were going alright there NOP until you mentioned the logo. qbn certainly seem to know what they are doing especially considering that they have a small lic club compared to belc, ainslie and elake. but how far can that take them. if player payments continue to go up and the price of running a top class club goes up, they wont be able to keep up and then we'll have three clubs struggling. Tuggers are ****ed, weston creek/canberra wildcats are just about done and dusted and if qbn cant survive, all they'll be is a strong district club.

How are Tuggers, in your words F-cked. They were fantastic this year with heaps of young blokes. What the - and quote "if Qbno cant survive" where are you coming from. Too many Friday night drinks for you with that type of statement. Them blokes across the border are well placed to be a strong club for at least two more years along with the Maggies. East will again be up there. Ainslie - now they have lost the gorilla off their back will recruit wisely and the Wildcats are rebuilding. Give the League a go stupid instead of putting it down. Do you have anything to do with footy or just another armchair supporter ? (obviously with beer in hand)

I think your good mate "Macca" has been tooling you off ABH (apparently quite a common occurence over at Tigerland). Macca was passed over because M.Horne gave an outstanding presentation to the Board that made him the number 1 choice. Seems like Macca must've gone back to you guys and told a few porkies to up his price - quite smart work from a QBN boy...

As for blokes not getting payed down south, can confirm that is also not true. Considering that match payments are about $20 per game, there was loose change to go around!

Doing it for the love of it down Tuggeranong way!!

As a bloke who knows McGinley very well, I can tell you terrytuggboat this is a load of rubbish. Mac did have a discussion with the club, but did not interview for the coaching job at all. The new role he is moving into was negotiated months before and he kept the club informed of the approach from Tugg. The only truth in your post was that he is keen to work fulltime in football (who isnt)

Whilst he is keen to become a senior coach, I can tell you that he and Mark Armstrong get along very well and Mac has said he would be happy to continue to work with Mark WELL beyond 2008.:thumbsu:

ABH, I heard on the grape vine that Macca was about to sign on the line at Tuggers when Qbn sponsors opened their cheque books! This grape vine has it's roots in Hawk valley so not sure how true it is... How it was told to me is that he wanted to coach a senior team as he is looking for a full time Gig, Qbn offered extra cash and the first grade job within two years and he signed on. From memory... isn't that what they said to Stevie Wright about 6 years ago! For those that don't know; Stevie lasted one season!
And... why did they get someone from outside the club for the 2nds job when they have all that "talent" sitting at the Growlers Bar? I heard the Asst. 2nds coach spat it and has left to play footy for Harman 2nds!!! I saw him running at this years GF and if he gets a game then I'm dragging my 120kg frame over the fence too!!:D:D

Any truth, some truth, or no truth...

Doubleoh7 there is also no truth in any of this post. As mentioned, I now Mac very well and there was no extra cash or offer of the first grade job at all. As for the asst 2nds coach not getting the gig, he doesn’t have the time to step up and is more than happy with his current role. 2007 was the first GF he has ever won and he being a joint winner of the clubman of the year made it a big one for him.

Good clubs - always have good people, its the backbone of success

Yeah milfan i was getting a bit sentimental and needed to say something to stir the pot you must understand that being both a Queanbeyan supporter and a Richmond supporter and the fact a hate walking through a park in spring through fear of being swooped you can't really take a fondness to the magpie.
As for the rest of your post saying that Queanbeyan is struggling. You are kidding. Thats the whole point i made about having peple at the club for the right reason.