AFL Canberra

How are Tuggers, in your words F-cked. They were fantastic this year with heaps of young blokes. What the - and quote "if Qbno cant survive" where are you coming from. Too many Friday night drinks for you with that type of statement. Them blokes across the border are well placed to be a strong club for at least two more years along with the Maggies. East will again be up there. Ainslie - now they have lost the gorilla off their back will recruit wisely and the Wildcats are rebuilding. Give the League a go stupid instead of putting it down. Do you have anything to do with footy or just another armchair supporter ? (obviously with beer in hand)

bloody hell mate! how can you describe tuggers as being fantastic this year? They struggled to win a game and have been on the bottom half of the ladder for a long time now. They dont have the money to compete at this level at the moment. And i'm not knocking them, it's just a statement of fact. They have done some excellent stuff this year in terms of the players they have managed to keep from their juniors, but lack some key position players. And they will continue to like this until they can afford to recruit some decent players.

And in regards to the qbn comment - all i'm saying the amount of money players are getting paid compared to almost every other league in australia is ridiculous. the huge player payments are reasons why your weston creeks and tuggers continue to strruggle. something needs to be done about it, thats all.

I'm one of the leagues biggest supporters pal. Perhaps if you belconnen blokes had a bit of a look outside your own club, you would realise the problems that we are facing. We just need to look at a few issues or otherwise i'm not sure that the league will be able to survive. If you think thats having a go, then i reckon you need to wake up to yourself.

bloody hell mate! how can you describe tuggers as being fantastic this year? They struggled to win a game and have been on the bottom half of the ladder for a long time now. They dont have the money to compete at this level at the moment. And i'm not knocking them, it's just a statement of fact. They have done some excellent stuff this year in terms of the players they have managed to keep from their juniors, but lack some key position players. And they will continue to like this until they can afford to recruit some decent players.

And in regards to the qbn comment - all i'm saying the amount of money players are getting paid compared to almost every other league in australia is ridiculous. the huge player payments are reasons why your weston creeks and tuggers continue to strruggle. something needs to be done about it, thats all.

I'm one of the leagues biggest supporters pal. Perhaps if you belconnen blokes had a bit of a look outside your own club, you would realise the problems that we are facing. We just need to look at a few issues or otherwise i'm not sure that the league will be able to survive. If you think thats having a go, then i reckon you need to wake up to yourself.

As someone who is associated with Tuggeranong, it is a fact that Tuggers will always struggle to match the big 4 in Canberra/QBN in terms of money, and of course we could use some big key position guns to bolster the team, however the club prides itself on the fact that it develops local juniors and provides a pathway to play at the highest level in the region. If the comp was to lose a team such as this, it would be tragic.

It should be a source of pride for TFC that last years ones side was made up of about 90% local juniors (Bulldogs and Lions) - no other side can claim to be represented like that. Reserves also made a GF, 18s won the flag, we fielded a third grade side, and the women won the premiership which made for a pretty good year as a club.

And while i also concede that the club struggled at times last year, it must be remembered that we knocked of Qbn by 40 odd points in one match, got within 2 and 3 goals of Eastlake and Belconnen, and beat Ainslie and Creek.

As someone who is associated with Tuggeranong, it is a fact that Tuggers will always struggle to match the big 4 in Canberra/QBN in terms of money, and of course we could use some big key position guns to bolster the team, however the club prides itself on the fact that it develops local juniors and provides a pathway to play at the highest level in the region. If the comp was to lose a team such as this, it would be tragic.

It should be a source of pride for TFC that last years ones side was made up of about 90% local juniors (Bulldogs and Lions) - no other side can claim to be represented like that. Reserves also made a GF, 18s won the flag, we fielded a third grade side, and the women won the premiership which made for a pretty good year as a club.

And while i also concede that the club struggled at times last year, it must be remembered that we knocked of Qbn by 40 odd points in one match, got within 2 and 3 goals of Eastlake and Belconnen, and beat Ainslie and Creek.

Tuggers is not the only club that promotes junior development- Belconnen have an excellent record of bringing through juniors into the first grade team, then they top up the list with some good recruiting from interstate (Gippsland has been very good hunting ground). I am not sure about this season, but they have always promoted junior development throughout the club, resulting in a prominent representation in the seniors.
How many Senior coaches of ACTAFL have come from there local junior clubs???

Tuggers is not the only club that promotes junior development- Belconnen have an excellent record of bringing through juniors into the first grade team, then they top up the list with some good recruiting from interstate (Gippsland has been very good hunting ground). I am not sure about this season, but they have always promoted junior development throughout the club, resulting in a prominent representation in the seniors.
How many Senior coaches of ACTAFL have come from there local junior clubs???

I'm not saying that other clubs don't develop their juniors Chaddles, just that Tuggeranong do it more than any other. Out of the 39 to play first grade footy last year, 34 played either Lions or Bulldogs juniors - that's a pretty good strike rate.

Having the capacity to pick up 4-5 recruits a year would definitely help though there's no doubt about that!

It is good to see clubs that develop juniors like Tuggers, hopefully with the new rules which stop poaching from other Canberra clubs they may be able to put together a very good team. Then recruiting comes into the equation, and that of course involves cash which, is one of the main reason that there is a massive gulf between the top and bottom teams.
Seems to me if you want to have a competitive team in the comp you need to get a licensed club and get some pokies!

It is good to see clubs that develop juniors like Tuggers, hopefully with the new rules which stop poaching from other Canberra clubs they may be able to put together a very good team. Then recruiting comes into the equation, and that of course involves cash which, is one of the main reason that there is a massive gulf between the top and bottom teams.
Seems to me if you want to have a competitive team in the comp you need to get a licensed club and get some pokies!

Your probably right there Chaddles, i think that having a least a licenced club and/or pokies revenue definitely makes that difference between being regularly competitive or only occasionally so.

Having said that though, don't want to seem like we're crying poor down our way - its just something that means you've gotta work harder in other areas!

Dream on BeerDawgs, the manner in which your seniors and reserves limped out of this years series, it will take a large injection of self belief to get some of your guys back up.

there is no lack of self belief thats for sure mate, cant wait for the new season to begin. off season is so boring

The self belief is due to having your heads so far up your backsides that all you can taste is shit!

But thanks for putting something contraversial on the site to stir things up. I was just about over it!!

The self belief is due to having your heads so far up your backsides that all you can taste is shit!

But thanks for putting something contraversial on the site to stir things up. I was just about over it!!

Yeah good to see you two back on board, up each other. FIM will be jealous the way he was talking Brokeback speak with you a few posts ago ABH.

ABH I thought you must have gone to Adelaide to campaign for G.Cornes missus in the election.Talk about all tip and no iceberg that sheila.Lucky Kevin 07 didn't need her. Speaking of Kevin, where would you play him...or would he be an umpire?

BD 33 have the Magpies recruited any yet to get them over the line this year?

ABH I thought you must have gone to Adelaide to campaign for G.Cornes missus in the election.Talk about all tip and no iceberg that sheila.Lucky Kevin 07 didn't need her. Speaking of Kevin, where would you play him...or would he be an umpire?
If "Studdly" Cornes has the same missus I believe Tony McGuiness campaigned her a couple of decades ago!
As for Kevin 07 it amazes me that we have 100's of brands of beer, dozens of different breads, milks and coffee's yet we had 2 muppets to vote for who are identical. Both are closet butt hole surfers! Country is and was run by pussies!

this is boring,
BELCONNEN FOR THE FLAG IN 08, YOU BEAUTY

You guys complain that no other clubs get on here besides QBN and Belco and as soon as they do ya shoot em down and go back to the belco VS qbn thing all over again.
surely there must be something better to talk bout like trades, recruits or something like that rather than the shit talk that goes on here.
just for the record i have no bias towards either belco or qbn but the tiges are in the best position on and off the field of any afl canberra club :D

So Queanbeyan think they are king shit because they got through to the Granny after beating a pathetic Belco?? Still haven't had a premiership win for a few years now.
Belco will be back on the boil again next year, Big Stevie M will have the boys working overtime during preseason and there is no way that they will have a repeat performance of last season. Queanbeyan should be competitive again but won't be as lucky as they were this year.
Eastlake will continue to be a shit club.

You guys complain that no other clubs get on here besides QBN and Belco and as soon as they do ya shoot em down and go back to the belco VS qbn thing all over again.
surely there must be something better to talk bout like trades, recruits or something like that rather than the shit talk that goes on here.
just for the record i have no bias towards either belco or qbn but the tiges are in the best position on and off the field of any afl canberra club :D

Your a fool, Belconnen are in an excellent position on and off the field just like they have been for the past 5-6 seasons. Financially stable, consistently performing year in year out, outstanding junior development programs, and have great recruiting ability from interstate. The main reason Belco is the better club is because it isn't located in a complete shithole of a town, like Queanbeyan.

Blah, Blah, Blah......does the suburbs Charnwood, Kippax, Holt, Higgins mean anything??

This coming from a bloke who was knocking round in Noble Park for a while.

At least we have the ability to represent a WHOLE town and not just a piss ant suburb.
Say what you like about the footy club but don't start on the town:cool::cool:
or it will be on.
fool.

At least we have the ability to represent a WHOLE town and not just a piss ant suburb.
Say what you like about the footy club but don't start on the town:cool::cool:
or it will be on.
fool.

Belconnen represaents approximately 80,000 people (2001 Census) so I hardly think that it is a piss-ant suburb :eek::eek:..... It is actually a city/district made up of suburbs.
Queanbeyan 36,000 is a piss-ant town, even bum f^&k Wagga is bigger than Queanbeyan and has more football teams per capita. Face it, they don't call it Struggletown for no reason, or Singlemumsville.

I will never apologise for my low opinion of "Sunny" Queaenbeyan- it is a disgrace that it is part of the great state of NSW- on the Shitness Scale it is right up there with Tuggeramong, and maybe that shit stain suburb of Belconnen- Charny.

Belconnen represaents approximately 80,000 people (2001 Census) so I hardly think that it is a piss-ant suburb :eek::eek:..... It is actually a city/district made up of suburbs.
Queanbeyan 36,000 is a piss-ant town, even bum f^&k Wagga is bigger than Queanbeyan and has more football teams per capita. Face it, they don't call it Struggletown for no reason, or Singlemumsville.

I will never apologise for my low opinion of "Sunny" Queaenbeyan- it is a disgrace that it is part of the great state of NSW- on the Shitness Scale it is right up there with Tuggeramong, and maybe that shit stain suburb of Belconnen- Charny.

If you have ever bothered to spend a minute or two in the place you would realise what a magnificant place to live Queanbeyan is.

Then again with your attitude we dont want you here.:thumbsdown:

Belco is still only a suburb of a manufactured city that no one gives a rats arse about.

Only idiots, who no nothing still call it struggletown, as it has a hell of a lot of very affluent and well respected people in all walks of life.

And by your numbers how bloody good are we??????:D:D

It's no West Wyalong, that's for sure.

At least I can admit West Wyalong is a cess pit, hence didn't hang around longer than I had to.

Spent a lot of time out at Queanbeyan unfortunately which is why I can make an opinion on how it is crap. Queanbeyan only exists because of Canberra, which must be extremely embarrassing as Canberra is a dive in itself.

At least I can admit West Wyalong is a cess pit, hence didn't hang around longer than I had to.

Spent a lot of time out at Queanbeyan unfortunately which is why I can make an opinion on how it is crap. Queanbeyan only exists because of Canberra, which must be extremely embarrassing as Canberra is a dive in itself.
Your obviously a well travelled "loyal" person (Belco, Noble Pk, West Wylong) and judging by 3GM comments towards you "well liked". Is this why you jump from town to town?

3GM is a homo anyway, he's only getting married to prove to everyone that he ain't a batty boy. Don't forget Traralgon and Griffith as well Trev, and I don't hang around Noble Park or Springy unless it is to buy illegal weapons etc.
Everyone hates me so they form mobs to drive me out of town- I am also a kleptomaniacand just a shit bloke in general so I can't last too long in the same place.

Chaddles - you are digging a very deep hole. Either bury yourself in it or change the subject.
Perhaps with all your knowledge you could inform us of just who Belco may have recruited and perhaps advise the powers to be out that way to update their magnificent website.