AFL Canberra

how is Ainslie's ruckman Josh Frawley going???

Josh Frawley has done something to his hip and will not play until atleast round 10, if at all this season. i would guess that if he was to come back this season, it would be a waste; as his fitness would be no where near up to scratch.

Luckily for the big fella he signed at Ainslie on a salary rather than match payments, so he won't loose out.

As for Ainslie fielding only 17 players, it was in their first grade practise match against north shore from Sydney. Coach Chris Rourke was forced to pull on the boots to make up the numbers. Ainslie got done by about 3 or 4 goals. Doesn't look so good for them this year, if they don't have enough numbers to field two teams, maybe they should take a leaf out of the wildcats book and look to field only the one team? :p

Ainslie only fielded 17 players in their ressies and got done by the belco third grade squad. couldn't happen to a better club. it'll be interesting to see how their firsts go, but they will probably be ok with all the cash they've been throwing around. didnt someone say they were trying to change that side of their club???

Yeah your right 3rd grade they had a full side in... definately going to struggle 4 depth this year... say they would be payin the same if not less than any other club this year... mate said that they are confident they can compete in the actafl this year regrding they stay relatively injury free... :thumbsu: :thumbsu:[/quote]Hey Chop now your in the Act, any info on what sort of side Tugra took to Temora.

Josh Frawley has done something to his hip and will not play until atleast round 10, if at all this season. i would guess that if he was to come back this season, it would be a waste; as his fitness would be no where near up to scratch.

Luckily for the big fella he signed at Ainslie on a salary rather than match payments, so he won't loose out.

As for Ainslie fielding only 17 players, it was in their first grade practise match against north shore from Sydney. Coach Chris Rourke was forced to pull on the boots to make up the numbers. Ainslie got done by about 3 or 4 goals. Doesn't look so good for them this year, if they don't have enough numbers to field two teams, maybe they should take a leaf out of the wildcats book and look to field only the one team? :p

how'd the big fella play?

[/quote]Hey Chop now your in the Act, any info on what sort of side Tugra took to Temora.[/quote]

Yeah head was talkin 2 a mate the other day who plays 4 tuggers and he said they basically had their full team in.. said that the eagles looked the best team from the riverina by a fair bit.. the big fella went ok for an old man:eek: :D .. took a few good wacks as well from his old team.. didn't mind mixin it with em at all:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

What happened to that giant Qbn had last year - Chris Lingmore - big man who started to come good at end of year. Tigers used to be land of the little men now they seem to have fifteen footers all over the park !:cool:

Hey Chop now your in the Act, any info on what sort of side Tugra took to Temora.[/quote]

Yeah head was talkin 2 a mate the other day who plays 4 tuggers and he said they basically had their full team in.. said that the eagles looked the best team from the riverina by a fair bit.. the big fella went ok for an old man:eek: :D .. took a few good wacks as well from his old team.. didn't mind mixin it with em at all:thumbsu: :thumbsu:[/quote]
i got a feeling young chop that you could be following on from a few of your older cousins in Munch & Chubb in playing for the tri-colours. Good luck young fella cause it could ne a long season for you blokes from all accounts.;) :thumbsu:

Whats happening in the world of AFL Canberra, there has not been a comment on Bigfooty since the 6th. Have you all gone too sleep. :eek: Will Ainslie defeat the Magpies this weekend ? Rumour has it, they have some injuries which obvioulsy includes thier gun recriut Frawley.

Given that there were no games due to Easter would be the reason for the lack of talk.
As far as Ainslie beating Belco?? No chance!! Ainslie will just be above the Canberra (Let concede 40 goals) Wildcats at the end of the year. Another million plus on players down the drain:D :D

how'd the big fella play?

The big slow unfit unit didnt play. Ainslie sent him to Melb for an operation. Smarter than the average bear that one. Brings an injury to a club gets paid $40,000 on a salary- gets the salary regardless of injury, club sends and pays for him to get operated and treated. Not too bad at all I reckon. The word is even if he does recover from the injury, it will take him a long time to get playing again, as he is largely overweight and unfit. Ainslie never seem to learn, Muir must be pulling his hair out ooopps he doenst have any.....

Given that there were no games due to Easter would be the reason for the lack of talk.
As far as Ainslie beating Belco?? No chance!! Ainslie will just be above the Canberra (Let concede 40 goals) Wildcats at the end of the year. Another million plus on players down the drain:D :D

Think they are trying to rape Campbelltown of a couple of players at the moment !

The big slow unfit unit didnt play. Ainslie sent him to Melb for an operation. Smarter than the average bear that one. Brings an injury to a club gets paid $40,000 on a salary- gets the salary regardless of injury, club sends and pays for him to get operated and treated. Not too bad at all I reckon. The word is even if he does recover from the injury, it will take him a long time to get playing again, as he is largely overweight and unfit. Ainslie never seem to learn, Muir must be pulling his hair out ooopps he doenst have any.....

Didnt they do that with Jamie Shanahan a few years back, he came to Ainslie knowing he had a suspect knee, played a few trials,:eek: well limped through a few trials then Ainslie payed for an operation and he never played again.:cool: 100,000 for a playing coach who doesnt play, thanks for coming.
They really are a stupid club these days!!:D :D :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Didnt they do that with Jamie Shanahan a few years back, he came to Ainslie knowing he had a suspect knee, played a few trials,:eek: well limped through a few trials then Ainslie payed for an operation and he never played again.:cool: 100,000 for a playing coach who doesnt play, thanks for coming.
They really are a stupid club these days!!:D :D :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Although I don't take to keen an interest in the ACTAFL these days, I am happy to see Ainslie struggle.

They were a blight on the competition back in the 80/90's.

Belconnen knocked Ainslie by 6 goals today. Twos punted Ainslie by 170 odd. Threes (who also play in the Reserves comp now) knocked Eastlake by 3 goals. Bit of depth out Belconnen way.

Canberra Wildcats proved that it's same shit, different bucket with another 30 goal spanking. Quality league this.

Canberra Wildcats went down about 173-41. Wildcats kicked 4goals 16. Would of looked alright if it was 16-4. Missed some pretty gettable shots too. Will be more competitive by the end of the season. Young kids need more experience.

stop making excuses i hate people who get around with an excuse for everything. just get on with it you may have to accept that there just not going to be good enough

You guys are crap and shouldn't be in the major comp FACT

Hey Orange Peeler - you have obviously never been an administrator of a footy club, otherwise you would understand the hard times some clubs go through !!!! Two of the top AFL Canberra Clubs in the last twenty years should have folded in the late sixties / seventies but tough people with long term ideas kept Belconnen and Queanbeyan afloat until such times as they had the right "balance" to go forward. Look at both clubs now !!!!!!!

Get of the Wildcats back and give em a go. They will be there long after you have gone !!:cool:

We are gonna give it a red hot crack. when you think about it I reckon we will prob do as well as Tuggers. Coz eastlake got beaten by 10 goals by the swans and we got done by 150, equalling 210. that would be a good result. Nah its good experience for us. Although I agree it does make a bit of a mockery of the comp but give it time and if AFL canberra actually helped the clubs that need it and stop helping the ones that are dominating (bar Ainslie) we might have an equal comp.

So it's AFL Canberra's fault now. I can't believe you jokers didn't take a year or two in the District League to build up some finance before having a crack at the big league again. Does Weston Creek/Canberra/Manuka Weston even have a five year plan for success? Or is it just to trot along to the league every 12 months, cap in hand?

Face it you guys will be belted by 50 goals if they are fair dinkum which puts our league in a bad light for those who dont understand your circumstances.... What are your circumstances?? You have a ground, a club, a new name but you cant attract players....It cant just be financial. Look at Tuggies, they have no money, no club, a crappy cold place to play but they are competitive and have put time and effort into juniors. Your circumstances have not changed since you made Preliminary Finals in the mid and late 90's early 2000's. Get over yourself and stop sulking that you dont get an equal go because thats B*llsh*t!!

Are all you guys in this forum kidding yourself? Could the AFL Canberra competition survivie with only 5 Canberra teams?

NO!

Sooner or later the swans reserves are going to pull out of the competition and join one of the other major leagues around Australia, or a national AFL reserves competition, leaving the ACTAFL with only six teams again, or 5 if the Creek fold.

Yes the creek are struggling, financially and on the field, put simply how can you attract decent players to a club that has not won a game in three years? But the answer is not kicking them out. The ACTAFL needs to get stronger, with more clubs and a stronger competition. The league administrators should be working with the creek to ensure that they are around for the next five ten, or 20 years.

Everyone on this forum should stop knocking them, yes they aren't performing on the field and might not win a game for the year, but the competition is f^%ked with out 6 Canberra based teams.

Are all you guys in this forum kidding yourself? Could the AFL Canberra competition survivie with only 5 Canberra teams?

NO!

Sooner or later the swans reserves are going to pull out of the competition and join one of the other major leagues around Australia, or a national AFL reserves competition, leaving the ACTAFL with only six teams again, or 5 if the Creek fold.

Yes the creek are struggling, financially and on the field, put simply how can you attract decent players to a club that has not won a game in three years? But the answer is not kicking them out. The ACTAFL needs to get stronger, with more clubs and a stronger competition. The league administrators should be working with the creek to ensure that they are around for the next five ten, or 20 years.

Everyone on this forum should stop knocking them, yes they aren't performing on the field and might not win a game for the year, but the competition is f^%ked with out 6 Canberra based teams.

Well said Christamshams. The League with a new General Manager and President are working towards those goals - attracting new district teams into the competition. In the meantime lets support the Wildcats / Creek, but they do need to be positive and not rely on handouts or sympathy from other clubs or the League. Everything cannot go their way just because they are not winning games.

The Swans will stay in the comp. Its less financially draining and to their liking. Ask them. They are able to develop young players in a good standard competition as a team under their own direction. :cool:

The reason I said that stuff was because we were not actually accepted into the league untill late feb leaving us little or no time to sign players. Plus AFL Canberra stated they wanted us in the comp so they would wipe the Weston Creek Lions debt and we would start a fresh. They then decided to through that money at Wagga coz they were going bad and then AFL C themselves decided to keep the money. Pretty tough going. I mean we had been training since mid November without even knowing if we would be playing and that was with regular turnouts of around 30-35 players.