• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Canberra

I know a lot of people are talking up the Tigers chances but I was an interested onlooker last Sunday and I wasn't that impressed with their game plan - couple that with an injury to their "gun recruit" Andy Carey (he was taken off early in the 2nd and went straight into the rooms, never to be seen again) and it was a pretty poor day for the mob over the border.:(
I thought they looked slow and had about three players carrying injuries or at least receiving them early in the game (R.Jaques, Kavanagh and Armstrong); this weekends games will see that there are no undefeated teams left in the comp. after 3 rounds!!:eek:
Belco will bounce back... that you can be assured of:thumbsu:; Tuggeranong will be shattered after this weekend and Ainslie won't be far behind them after the Swans belt them as well. I think the Ainslie I saw in week one are the real Ainslie but that won't stop them from losing to the Swans, and if it's a blow out; expect things to get a little uneasy in the Tri-colours camp next week.
ABH, Original, can either of you tell us what is wrong with Carey and how long he will be out for, if he's out at all?
3GM, did Knowlesy re-injure his knee or is this a new injury, he doesn't look to be moving very freely at all - in games or training..

Summed it up well 007. Was also there and couldnt believe the game plan and how much harder Tuggers were in hard running and at the ball. As for the game plan that the new coach brings to the Valley, I can tell you it is identical to what they did every time they played the Tigers last year. On that basis a new plan by Queanbeyan to counter it, is 12 months in the making.

Sorry it's been so quiet ABH, i'm not on the coal face at TFC this year so not completely across everything that's going on although I do get the occasional snippet or two!

Boys have started very well by all accounts, the young kids especially are embracing Horney's game plan and fingers crossed they should be able to pull of an upset or three throughout the year.

Had a look at Noel Sibly's match report on the QBN website during the week and was pretty unimpressed with the arrogance displayed though. I know that it hasn't gone unnoticed down in the Valley.

P.S. Ned Sibly sucks and needs a new tooth.

Noel Sibly is a passionate Queanbeyan person who is always going to talk up the club. If an opposition coach wants to use his passionate report as ammunition he is kidding himself. It would only be ammunition if it came from the coaches and players involved.

007 - I think the people talking up the Tigers weren't at the game against Tuggers. As you can see from this thread they have been given a fair bit of stick for their performance in the 5 goal win. Rest assured this has been discussed with the playing group that the process from last Sunday was unacceptable.

As for Carey its all good news, xrays showed no break and he trained last night and will have a fitness test tonight.

Unless Eastlakes game plan has changed from last year they wont beat the Tigers at MDO. They played very negative footy against the Tigers with a certain leader looking for the easy option of playing loose down back instead of getting where the action is! Tigers will need to get used to this tactic of teams playing loose in defence, kicking sideways and backwards. Ugly to watch from a spectators point of view but Tuggers

proved it effective last week for 3/4 of the match. Tigers have worked on a plan to combat this so time will tell if Merv is on the money!

If you cant get to the game on Saturday you can listen to all the action on QBNFM 96.7.

Enjoyed your broadcast last week ABH. THERE MAY BE A NEW CAREER FOR YOU IN FOOTY. Just a comment on the plan to counter the opposition retaining possession and playing back and sideways. They can only do this when they have the ball. When Queanbeyan encountered this problem last year and changed the way they played, opposition teams never had enough of the ball to play this style of footy. The reason that Tuggeranong played strongly for so long last weekend is that Queanbeyan refused to man up, didnt attack the ball anywhere near as well as they did late last year and spent the day looking slow by chasing guernseys. When ther heads are not in the right space they are very vulnerable, like all teams

Racehorse I haven't seen tuggies play this year yet but have been told they are trying to have a similiar game plan of run and gun a bit like the swans a lot of hard running.If this is the case please let me know,difference being that the swans train professionally and up to six to seven times a week,this game plan would take it's toll on a side that trains 3 times a week.From what I heard tuggers not big and rely heavily on run.

I have been impressed with Tuggers as a team for the last eighteen months. They have genuine pace, run hard to block and create space and as I witnessed on the weekend attack the ball and body. Impressed with all the juniors that are now playing seniors. They lack bigger bodies and senior match experience. When their players achieve 40-60 games at senior level and they strengthen their tall man department, they will be a force. Fantastic for them and the comp. They will surprise teams this year. As a tiger supporter, nothing they did on the weekend was a surprise and that is what disappointed me about Queanbeyan who should have been ready and countered accordingly.

ABH - thanks to the AFL Canberra Strategic Review of 2007, its not CD's, its AFL Canberra 3rd grade thank you very much! :D

Although anyone who talks about it still calls it CD's - and the older blokes still call it the Monaro League

Sorry GF, I dont pay much attention to it. I still remember it as Monaro

I have been impressed with Tuggers as a team for the last eighteen months. They have genuine pace, run hard to block and create space and as I witnessed on the weekend attack the ball and body. Impressed with all the juniors that are now playing seniors. They lack bigger bodies and senior match experience. When their players achieve 40-60 games at senior level and they strengthen their tall man department, they will be a force. Fantastic for them and the comp. They will surprise teams this year. As a tiger supporter, nothing they did on the weekend was a surprise and that is what disappointed me about Queanbeyan who should have been ready and countered accordingly.[/quote]

Tell me Racehorse, did you watch YOUR team the week before. They were very good and thats coming from a Belco supporter. By the sounds of your gripes about the team YOU support, perhaps its time to change colours. Hate to see what you would have said if they had lost last weekend.

I have been impressed with Tuggers as a team for the last eighteen months. They have genuine pace, run hard to block and create space and as I witnessed on the weekend attack the ball and body. Impressed with all the juniors that are now playing seniors. They lack bigger bodies and senior match experience. When their players achieve 40-60 games at senior level and they strengthen their tall man department, they will be a force. Fantastic for them and the comp. They will surprise teams this year. As a tiger supporter, nothing they did on the weekend was a surprise and that is what disappointed me about Queanbeyan who should have been ready and countered accordingly.[/quote]

Tell me Racehorse, did you watch YOUR team the week before. They were very good and thats coming from a Belco supporter. By the sounds of your gripes about the team YOU support, perhaps its time to change colours. Hate to see what you would have said if they had lost last weekend.

They would have copped the same, win lose or draw. For a side to go back to the same old habits from early last year with an apparent improved playing list is crap. This forum is designed to allow honest evaluations. As a supporter I am entitled to my opinion. Maybe as a belco supporter you should stop patting your team on the back for past success and have a closer look at why they are winless. Dont concern yourself, if they served that shit up again I would not bother going to watch

While I agree with alot of what your saying re the Tiger performance from last week, your constant negativity is starting to get on my nerves. Your passion is clear but for some reason all you want to do is run the team down. Do you have anything positive to say or is all your going to do is look at the negatives? What are your credentials to put players and staff down? Whats your suggestions? Is the 22 that played on the weekend the right 22? Are the players in the right positions? Given the talent in the side what should the game plan be? Feel free to give me a private message and I will pass your suggestions onto Merv for consideration. Maybe he will get you in the box to make a few match winning moves.
Im not having a dip at you but for F*ck sake get over last week and move the F*ck on.

While I agree with alot of what your saying re the Tiger performance from last week, your constant negativity is starting to get on my nerves. Your passion is clear but for some reason all you want to do is run the team down. Do you have anything positive to say or is all your going to do is look at the negatives? What are your credentials to put players and staff down? Whats your suggestions? Is the 22 that played on the weekend the right 22? Are the players in the right positions? Given the talent in the side what should the game plan be? Feel free to give me a private message and I will pass your suggestions onto Merv for consideration. Maybe he will get you in the box to make a few match winning moves.
Im not having a dip at you but for F*ck sake get over last week and move the F*ck on.

Some people cant handle the true to use a movie quote. It isnt about negativity mate or winning versus losing. Tell me what comments made have been incorrect. You were there as were other people, full credit to Tuggeranong they at least came to play.

Maybe I have played. Maybe I have coached. Maybe I dont really even barrack for the Tigers but instead Tuggeranong. Took a while, but I finally sucked you in big fella

Reckon it will still be a long year for those sides trying to break into the 4 like Tuggers and Ainslie.Good luck to them if they do but Belco and Tigers will be in when the crunch comes. Eastlake, I just can't work them out yet so perhaps this weekend might help me assess them better.

It would be nice to see a few upsets now and then like round one and the final four decided on the very last minor round game. Reckon there may only be one spot up for grabs that changes from last years top four.

Some people cant handle the true to use a movie quote. It isnt about negativity mate or winning versus losing. Tell me what comments made have been incorrect. You were there as were other people, full credit to Tuggeranong they at least came to play.

I believe the quote was "You cant handle the truth" and if you read my comments I agree with most of what you stated as I have stated them as well. Unlike yourself I have mved on and will reserve judgement until we play Eastlake. Tuggers did come to play but lost. Reward for losing is SFA.

Not sucked in RH, just over your negativity towards the Tigers thats all. I had a go at them also and moved on. The 5 goal win could prove vital at years end when your form really means something!

Interesting porkhead so thats first and second sewn up maybe they should rest and let the remaining teams fight out the other two spots.Fair dinkum we are two games into the season and anything could happen,couple of injuries to key players look at the swans started less than we all expected lost to Tiges just got over Belco and all this without a host of injured players.Great to see the Tiges knock them off but would they have with the like of playfair crouch everitt in that side.Time will tell as they will all be inclusions over the next couple of weeks.Any side this year that has a few injuries including the Tiges will be in a testy position,Depth is not that great at any club this year.All have players that will fill in but will they always cover the players they replace.Not too sure on that.

How good is that for the comp. Would be nice to see all teams still in with a chance right up to the end of the minor round. That makes ABH POINT INTERESTING. HOW IMPORTANT MAY THE UGLY WIN BE FROM LAST WEEKEND????

Winning well and pretty is nice but I always believed that really good teams can win ugly because bad teams play ugly and lose.So ABH is right on the money that win could be the difference between 2nd and 3rd and I use these places for the obvious of the double chance could also mean the difference between 1st and 2nd but at that point of the year not so important.minor prem is nice but no-one remembers who the minor prems are.

does anyone know if the rumours are true about the big spider playing in the swans 2s this week?

Was talk of it however the injury update on the swans site says test.But also predicted return was next week.he has a degenerative knee injury and this will slow his progress.Probably another week.But Ainslie should plan for him.

Reckon it would be to Ainslies advantage if he played. They would nurse him through and you couldn't see him out there for more than 60 to 70 minutes.Same with their other crocks when they come back.

Take you point DED about depth etc and made that point earlier myself.

I didn't mean that tigers and belco were home and hosed for finals spots just that I reckon it would be dangerous to write them off at any stage because of their list and experience.The others won't find them easy to shove out of a spot and coming from 4th, 5th or 6th last year is hard.

Reckon it would be to Ainslies advantage if he played. They would nurse him through and you couldn't see him out there for more than 60 to 70 minutes.Same with their other crocks when they come back.

Take you point DED about depth etc and made that point earlier myself.

I didn't mean that tigers and belco were home and hosed for finals spots just that I reckon it would be dangerous to write them off at any stage because of their list and experience.The others won't find them easy to shove out of a spot and coming from 4th, 5th or 6th last year is hard.
Agree on that but at the moment belco are last without a win if this was to blow out another couple of weeks it could also be hard for them to catch up given we think the comp is fairly even.Many a good side has had bad luck and lost plenty of games by less than a kick and not recovered.Be interesting to see what happens this week Ains V Swans Belco V Tuggies East V QBN if belco were to lose again pressure is on.Any tips.I think Belco Qbn and one for the upsets Ains

Geez the Swans dropping two of the first three games, big call but for some reason I think you may be on the money, with Belco and Qbn the other likely winners. Will be interesting to see how Eastlake perform and respond to the finals hiding of last year. Wanting Tuggers to be ultra competitive at least, a win a bonus for them and the comp