• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Canberra

as one who has disagreed with you on the swans board,your last post was spot on.
the swans winning by 20 goals meant nothing with rookies sitting on the bench not getting a go.
so porkhead who do you support?

Hey Bedford..great player that bloke.
Sorry I was a bit hard on you on that other board, must have got out of bed on the wrong side.
As you might have gathered I am a really keen AFL Canberra follower but believe it or not also follow the Swans. I am just keen that the two mix well and every one gets a fair go.
Reckon both will benefit from the revised set up this year and there is a real buzz about the comp. 'cause anyone can win it.

Have you tried starting a CD's thread and leave the Canberra footy to the big boys!

What do you mean by the "big boys" ABH? If you are refering to the whinging "has beens" that get on this loop to talk up their own teams, then offend each other, then grovel and apologise, I think you have it all wrong. The ACTAFL teams could learn a bit from the CD teams - how to play for a club and not the money, respect for opponents, and let the score board do the talking.
3GM and others are spot on with the fact that the CD comps are looking very interesting this year and are worthy of a bit of banter. Notice how they do not over analyse every last detail about every game. If you are better than the other team on the day your score should be higher than theirs. It is also a long season (remember Geelong were 2-3 after 5 rounds last year) - get your game plan right and your team disciplined from the very start (doesnt mean you will be thrashing teams from round 1) and if both these are good enough, you will be there at the end.

What do you mean by the "big boys" ABH? If you are refering to the whinging "has beens" that get on this loop to talk up their own teams, then offend each other, then grovel and apologise, I think you have it all wrong. The ACTAFL teams could learn a bit from the CD teams - how to play for a club and not the money, respect for opponents, and let the score board do the talking.
3GM and others are spot on with the fact that the CD comps are looking very interesting this year and are worthy of a bit of banter. Notice how they do not over analyse every last detail about every game. If you are better than the other team on the day your score should be higher than theirs. It is also a long season (remember Geelong were 2-3 after 5 rounds last year) - get your game plan right and your team disciplined from the very start (doesnt mean you will be thrashing teams from round 1) and if both these are good enough, you will be there at the end.

No, I was refering to the guys who start training off their own backs in the "off season" with their own running and gym programs before commencing official training in December, the guys who train 3 nights per week from January - September, attend a pre season camp which is exactly that and not a trip away, sign codes of conduct, attend mandatory functions and events weekly, who want to test themselves at the highest possible standard in Canberra, sacrifice their family lives, help out at junior level and have a burning desire to win.

And most of the above also includes many reserves and U/18 players.

Thats what I meant.

Oh .... and a tip to avoid the whinging "has beens" - start your own CD's Thread (or whatever you call yourselves these days)

ABH A mate of mine just mentioned that the young lad you spoke about last week (played reserves last year and seniors this year) was badly injured against Eastlake. Any news as to how he is going?

Dont know to much but I can say that he received broken ribs during the game, later he wasn't feeling well so he went to the hospital and they discovered he had internal bleeding.

Up shot is that they ended up removing his spleen.

He is in good spirits and keen to get back on deck.

All at Tigerland wish him a speedy recovery!

Dont know to much but I can say that he received broken ribs during the game, later he wasn't feeling well so he went to the hospital and they discovered he had internal bleeding.

Up shot is that they ended up removing his spleen.

He is in good spirits and keen to get back on deck.

All at Tigerland wish him a speedy recovery!

Thanks. I think we all wish him well for a speedy recovery. Great story about how he hung in and went onto play for your seniors.

Didn't see the game yesterday, first one missed in a while but thats parenthood I guess. Ouch thats a belting!
OK our boys were spanked and your boys dominated but can someone give feedback on why our boys were so poor and why your guys were so good.
Im hoping for a sensible football answer but would accept the usual dribble that occurs between myself and many of my combatants.

Didn't see the game yesterday, first one missed in a while but thats parenthood I guess. Ouch thats a belting!
OK our boys were spanked and your boys dominated but can someone give feedback on why our boys were so poor and why your guys were so good.
Im hoping for a sensible football answer but would accept the usual dribble that occurs between myself and many of my combatants.
I'm with you there ABH i'd like an honest run down as i still take a lot of interest in how my home club is faring. Obviously an off day and sounds like were having trouble stringing 2 really good quality performances together which tends to happen early in the season. But an un-biased run down of the game would be good.

what was the attendence like did it draw a crowd. I went to the traditional ANZAC game between Albury and North Albury yesterday and must have nearly 3000 people there. I know Canberra isn't ging to draw that type of crowd but was in larger then normal.

Wasn't actually at the game but was getting updates, word I got was that Belconnen just applied relentless pressure all over the ground and allowed Qbn very little easy ball.

Belco were just too good in every position. Relentless at the ball especially centre bounces. Out coached I would say. Magpies had an answer to Qnbo's key forwards - grabbed every knock from Tigers ruck division and ran all over the place. We were too quick and buggered up Queanbeyans fruitless attempts to hold possession. Tigers will not make the four on that effort !!! especially with injuries to Danaher and Oppi.

Those signs were evident two weeks ago when they played Tuggers and well documented and criticised. The only difference is they had an ugly win and were able to justify the way they played footy. Thats a 180 point turn around in the last two games with almost the same playing personel. Well done to Belconnen and it shows the comp is going to be an interesting one.

what was the attendence like did it draw a crowd. I went to the traditional ANZAC game between Albury and North Albury yesterday and must have nearly 3000 people there. I know Canberra isn't ging to draw that type of crowd but was in larger then normal.

What they needed to do was make a day out of it. Have the Belco v Qbn game earlier and then have a big screen for the Collingwood v Essendon game.

Sounds like a pretty convincing team effort by your guys FIM. I stated a couple of weeks ago that your boys were to talented to not be a force and they proved they will be up there again this year.

Thats 2 poor performances out of 4 for the Tigers and they have a lot to do to improve.

Your comment on them not making the four "on that effort" is fair but if you saw last week against Eastlake you would say that Qbn will be miles in front of the Demons and will be in front of Tuggers so they will be in the four, marks my words!! With only 6 teams its assured as they have to much talent to miss out, they just need to capture some consistancy.

Sounds like a pretty convincing team effort by your guys FIM. I stated a couple of weeks ago that your boys were to talented to not be a force and they proved they will be up there again this year.

Thats 2 poor performances out of 4 for the Tigers and they have a lot to do to improve.

Your comment on them not making the four "on that effort" is fair but if you saw last week against Eastlake you would say that Qbn will be miles in front of the Demons and will be in front of Tuggers so they will be in the four, marks my words!! With only 6 teams its assured as they have to much talent to miss out, they just need to capture some consistancy.

It seems that Eastlake, Qnbo and Belco struggled against Tuggers. Tigers and Magpies beating them in the last quarter. The only team to give them a touch up was Ainslie today. Therefore dont right nappy valley off just yet. In this comp you only have to string a few good games together to be in the mix. Reckon the Demons will win tomorrow over Swans. That will leave the Swans down near the bottom depending on percentages. After watching the anzac day clash and based on results so far I am predicting a Belco v Ainslie GF

Based on the Swans team listed in the paper on Friday I would be very surprised if Eastlake get within 10 goals of the Swans.

I dont know a lot about this league here in Canberra, but after yesterdays performance is it safe to assume that the Tigers win over the Magpies in last years prelim was a fluke?

Based on the Swans team listed in the paper on Friday I would be very surprised if Eastlake get within 10 goals of the Swans.

I dont know a lot about this league here in Canberra, but after yesterdays performance is it safe to assume that the Tigers win over the Magpies in last years prelim was a fluke?[/quote

doing some fishing shit eater

I dont know a lot about this league here in Canberra, but after yesterdays performance is it safe to assume that the Tigers win over the Magpies in last years prelim was a fluke?

best you wipe your chin:D

It seems that Eastlake, Qnbo and Belco struggled against Tuggers. Tigers and Magpies beating them in the last quarter. The only team to give them a touch up was Ainslie today. Therefore dont right nappy valley off just yet. In this comp you only have to string a few good games together to be in the mix. Reckon the Demons will win tomorrow over Swans. That will leave the Swans down near the bottom depending on percentages. After watching the anzac day clash and based on results so far I am predicting a Belco v Ainslie GF

big call after 4 rounds FIM, way to many twists and turns to come yet

The tigers form for 6-7 weeks leading into last years finals and their finals form against Eastlake, Belconnen and even the Swans was no fluke. They were almost unstoppable. THEY ARE NOT EVEN CLOSE TO PLAYING that type of foorball consistenly this year. They wasted a perfect opportunity to put themselves three games clear of Belconnen, but werent good enough to do so. As ABH said a couple of weeks ago, Belconnen has a list that isn't going to struggle for long. Good luck to Belconnen the pressure of bouncing back from the loss last year and maintaining the hold over Queanbeyan remains.