AFL Canberra

So I wonder what the likelihood of Barry Hall getting a game or two in the Swans reserves is? And who would be looking forward to playing on him? Even though he's not a fullback, and is no longer playing seniors, it would be interesting to see Eckers on Hall....;)

Cheers

Why??

Yeh mate......I wont be available!:D

Gee that's too bad...:( I heard they were looking for an over opinionated, umpire abusing, procrastinating (and slow) runner to take the heat off the precious players... Based on those requirements; you're a shoe in..:p

Procrastinating?? 2 out 3 aint bad, I will see you Sunday my friend;)

Opinions are like arseholes - everybodies got one!

Sorry for the late response, been away from the site for a while. We haven't had the best start to the year at the JETS :eek:, a lot of new players, a new coach and a new game plan have us out of our comfort zone. Bidgee were very good the day we played them, but we were bloddy awful. ANU our first 1/2 was what we were like against Bidgee, but second half (apart from last 5 minutes of the game) we started to get things to work. Ainslie couldn't have come at a better time for us, just to get a bit of confidence back into each other and the way we can play for a very tough game against the Maggies this week at the shyte hole that is Jammo (Amaroo, despite the Amaroo Dr that is ever present, is heaps better!). Sunday will let us know how we are really going though, no doubting that...as long as we all dont disappear into the cest pit in the middle of Jamo :D

How are you going Gbanger? 7 rounds in and your 8th with only Ainsle and Tuggers behind you. Craig Spencer seems like a good coach:thumbsdown:

Gungahlin have achieved some ordinary results this season - is the team just shit, no recruits to cover players, poor coaching/admin or a combination?? Interested to hear what has changed over the offseason.

Anyway good to see Belco back on top in the CD1's

Gungahlin have achieved some ordinary results this season - is the team just shit, no recruits to cover players, poor coaching/admin or a combination?? Interested to hear what has changed over the offseason.

Anyway good to see Belco back on top in the CD1's

The scary thing is they are still playing Lavo in the middle. Any side with him playing on ball has PLENTY of room for improvement!

Scott Campbell makes his senior debut for Albury Tigers this weekend, cleared from Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs, also played in Canberra League I think, anyone know anything about him?As a Tigers supporter, interested to know what to expect.

Scott played for the Queanbeyan Tigers before transferring to Sydney. Very good player with skills on both sides of the body and has heaps of pace. Brother Paul plays for Qnbeyan and his father Ken is a former 100 1st grade game player and assistant senior grade coach of Queanbeyan. Could you please give him our best regards.

Cheers, thanks for the rundown, if I say Original says g'day, will he know who where talking about?

Selections this week:
Belco to beat Tuggers by only 10 goals as they take an opportunity to play some less talented players for experience.
Swans to win their first game for 2008 in Canberra as they just get over the line against Ainslie by 3 goals.
Tigers to beat a more competitive Demons by 20 points.:thumbsu:
Tigers do have some quality players out (as some of you have stated) but the depth is stronger this year with the fresh batch of juniors coming through and they will grind out a strong win away from home.

Hey 2dogs - strong rumour coming from struggletown that at least eight players siting on the pine this Sunday for the clash against Demons including entire on ball division from previous encounter. Any truth in this ? If so looks like a flogging coming up for you blokes !!!!. You will probably lose all three grades if any truth in the info. Belco to win by even more this week (like 15 goals) due to very strong lineup being selected and the Swans easily over Ainslie even though neely billy returns.

Has anyone heard news on the Rep Team selections??? I thought they would have started training by now in a Carnival Year - I know some other Leagues have already had trial games...:confused:
Possible Squad Key Positions:

Full Forward - Armstrong (Ghirardello in pocket with Williams)
CHF - Maher (Kavanagh on a flank with Hughes)
CHB - R. Jaques (L.Bennett on a Flank with Quade)
FB - Raadts (Irwin in a pocket)
Ruck - Dickinson and possibly Rice if Bourke is still injured
Followers - It's disgraceful how many quality on ballers there are in this comp. - Neely, Knowles (inj), Clarke, Illet, G. Underwood, M. Daniher, Powell, Carey, Lieschke, Healy, Pocock, J.Bennett, Moussi, McGrath and the list goes on - sorry for those I missed but my memory is on it's way out... too many ales after the game..:eek:

Before anyone sparks up on how many Tigers players there are... I think that there are probably at least another 6 that I can think of that should be in the training squad and obviously I am a Tigers fan and have watched more of their football this year. Here's your chance to include those players that you think should be selected in the training squad and then collectively this forum can "judge" them leading up to the Country Carnival. ;)

Irwin is no chance. Takanen is best FB by far and should get given the post. And maybe Ned Sibly if he can stay off the p*ss for 5 minutes.

The scary thing is they are still playing Lavo in the middle. Any side with him playing on ball has PLENTY of room for improvement!

Change your name to 4th grade Maggy please..... You are a disgrace. In fact Womens Team Maggy probably best describes your courage and ability on the footy field.

Good luck to C. McDevitt for Belconnen in his 1st grade debut today.

Hey 2dogs - strong rumour coming from struggletown that at least eight players siting on the pine this Sunday for the clash against Demons including entire on ball division from previous encounter. Any truth in this ? If so looks like a flogging coming up for you blokes !!!!. You will probably lose all three grades if any truth in the info. Belco to win by even more this week (like 15 goals) due to very strong lineup being selected and the Swans easily over Ainslie even though neely billy returns.
Not sure if its eight missing from QUEANBEYAN but very close to the entire first on ball division.
All it means is that others will get first crack at it and have to step up.

Not sure if its eight missing from QUEANBEYAN but very close to the entire first on ball division.
All it means is that others will get first crack at it and have to step up.

If thats the case there fu/cked - as are the lower grades as they promote inept players as replacements. GO demons, sorry magpies ! Whoever

Change your name to 4th grade Maggy please..... You are a disgrace. In fact Womens Team Maggy probably best describes your courage and ability on the footy field.

Good luck to C. McDevitt for Belconnen in his 1st grade debut today.

Congrats to Cow man, much deserved debut after the work he has done :thumbsu::thumbsu:

PS Lay off 3GM - he only got married to prove to his old man that he wasn't a complete homo!!!

PSS Did someone mention Manchester United got the Double!!!! Ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhh F%CK YEAH!!! I'm on the back ender of a Champions League Spender!! United... United..... Wow, how good is Eddie V!

For some strange reason I go through phases of being wide awake at stupidly early hours of the morning. I am currently in one of those phases, waking up this morning at 2:45 am. The point is that yesterday's senior flogging is now available for your personal viewing pleasure. 18s and reserves will follow shortly.

www.flickr.com/photos/red3photography :thumbsu:

Today I'll be at Ainslie for a quarter and a bit, and then Manuka for a quarter and a bit. Feel free to buy me a coffee; I'll need it after being up since very early....

Cheers

Hey Guys.

Is it possible if anyone here with Ainslie connection confirm that Nick Fosdike damaged (or redamaged) his knee in the game this afternoon.

No Ainslie connection but watched the game. He limped off early in the second quarter and didn't play in the second half.

Yeah FIM, rumours were true but the teams we took into the match (all grades) were still good enough to take home the chockies; too bad we played ordinary footy and ended up taking home boiled lollies instead!:(

Full credit to Demons; played a totally different style than last match and were much more disciplined after 1/4 time. Reserves played one ordinary 1/4 and that ended up being the difference; U18's were good enough to win after some indifferent form of late and first grade have a bit of work to do before taking on the Magpies this week.

Queanbeyan Tigers season is at crossroads! They are in crisis after being totally outplayed by a committed Eastlake Demons yesterday. I will put my hand up and admit that I have been critical of the Demons this season and I still believe it was rightfully so, but yesterday they showed what they can do with an attacking game plan against a vulnerable limp Tiger outfit. Finally the Demons brainstrust threw away the defensive game plan which has Clarke roaming loose across half back to a more attacking plan with 1 versus 1 football all over the ground. They had a more structured forward line with old stagers Cooper and Collins too hot to handle for most of the day but the surprise packet was #19 Matt Williams who was all over his several opponents in a top performance. Others to impress were Roulstone and Matt Kimball. The Clarke v Kavanagh duel was a highlight with Clarke shading it in the best game I have seen from him against the Tigers. First time with a direct opponent for sometime also.

Dee Train, congrats on the sides display. Could you provide some info on Williams, Roulstone and Kimball. Where are they from, how long in the Eastlake system. All 3 where very impressive.

As for the Tigers they were awefull. Poor skills, poor option taking, they looked baffled at times in defence, were smashed in the midfield and didnt get the ball into their forwards enough to put scoreboard pressure on. They refused to pick up their direct opponents. Zoneing off is not touch and feel boys!!

Without Dickinson, Carey, Daniher and Powell they lacked the cleanliness and determination to put up a fight and the 2nd tier players just weren't up to it yesterday. It doesn't get easier for the wounded Tigers who take on their bogey side Belconnen this weekend. If they play like they did yesterday expect a bigger winning margin to their opponents!