AFL Canberra

Honestly and this is only my opinion, I think it was attitude. Down in the Magoos he was a big fish in a small pond and he was head and shoulders above all that came his way. He enjoyed taking hangers and kicking freakish goals and he was having a ball playing ressies.

In first grade he was the 3rd choice forward behind Merv and Kav for the players kicking the ball inside 50 and I can tell you its no fun being ingored when you think you are in the best position. He was given several opportunities and didnt seem to be having fun. He just didnt have that swagger about him.

Then come finals time with the Tigers needing an X Factor it all clicked and he was outstanding and he has continued that form this year which should earn him a Rep call up.
Probably kickett D jaques if both bourke and dickinson play williams as much as I rate him merv kav bourke up forward williams as you said loves the speccy and freakish moments not sure his discipline is up for reps yet.Irwin and I know it seems mainly QBn guys nothing in that but don't think Irwo rates above other backs getting bit slow.Looked great against Ainslie the other week but on three occassions he was four to five metres behind olsen and ainslie kicked it over olsens head straight to Irwin.Good player but better out there.I noticed you have cooper in the squad up forward or down back.

TD - while i agree that the umpires weren't good yesterday the Qbn boys must take responsibility for alot of it. Their continued desire to play from behind was the cause for a fair majority of the umpiring calls. The game is designed for the player who has the courage to play in front. As you know if you are in front you get first crack at the footy and you have a chance to get a cheap free from the guys in orange. Play from behind and you have closed two doors to getting a kick. I would say that our boys showed a lack of discipline to play in front and its something that is drummed into them at specialist coaching every Wednesday night.

But yes there were other calls which had us all scratching our heads in amazement:confused: The head high late clash on Satchell was one which springs to mind. It should have been a report and god only knows why it wasnt paid down field considering it was after he disposed of the ball. We got the free but it should have been further down the ground.

As far as the game was concerned our boys had a real crack and the scoreboard wasnt a true reflection of just how tight and tough the game was. Full credit to both sides but in the end Belco had a bit more class and composure when it was needed the most. Look forward to a game between the 2 sides with the best 22 v the best 22!

Come off it ABH... You've been smokin' that crap too much mate!!:eek:
Back line players are generally caught behind the leading fwd - that is the fwd's advantage. When a backman uses his fore arm to hold a fwd out so that he can mark the ball or spoil he should be entitled to the same laws as the fwd is when he uses the same action... Agreed? Why then do the maggots (generally at all levels of this game) pay these pathetic free kicks 25m out from goal directly in front as soon as they see a backman with his weight holding out the fwd? Those types of decisions DO change the ascendency of a game. The whole hands in the back rule at the marking contest should be thrown out at this level of the game because it puts to much ownership on the dumbass umpires that we get at this level to make an "informed" decision as to the legality of a contest using only their own interpretation as the rule of thumb..:confused:
I don't want to go on an umpire bashing crusade (although I probably have) because it's hard enough recruiting umpires of any quality to this league. I think that those making the rules of this game have given no thought to how it is going to be policed at the regional level where the umpires are of a much lower quality. Use the KISS method if in doubt... Keep It Simple Stupid.:D:D Give them a whistle and tell them to throw the ball up every now and then and make the obvious decisions without trying to interpret any contentious laws. Let them sit down at 1/4 time and 3/4 time so they can give their brain a rest..:thumbsu:

Come off it ABH... You've been smokin' that crap too much mate!!:eek:
Back line players are generally caught behind the leading fwd - that is the fwd's advantage. When a backman uses his fore arm to hold a fwd out so that he can mark the ball or spoil he should be entitled to the same laws as the fwd is when he uses the same action... Agreed? Why then do the maggots (generally at all levels of this game) pay these pathetic free kicks 25m out from goal directly in front as soon as they see a backman with his weight holding out the fwd? Those types of decisions DO change the ascendency of a game. The whole hands in the back rule at the marking contest should be thrown out at this level of the game because it puts to much ownership on the dumbass umpires that we get at this level to make an "informed" decision as to the legality of a contest using only their own interpretation as the rule of thumb..:confused:
I don't want to go on an umpire bashing crusade (although I probably have) because it's hard enough recruiting umpires of any quality to this league. I think that those making the rules of this game have given no thought to how it is going to be policed at the regional level where the umpires are of a much lower quality. Use the KISS method if in doubt... Keep It Simple Stupid.:D:D Give them a whistle and tell them to throw the ball up every now and then and make the obvious decisions without trying to interpret any contentious laws. Let them sit down at 1/4 time and 3/4 time so they can give their brain a rest..:thumbsu:

Did you sh*t the bed last night TD.... 1.35am:eek:

You know I dont touch that sort of stuff either so comments like that only make people assume that I do.....not needed!

I agree the rule should be scrapped. Even as a forward I believe it is a soft rule. I enjoyed putting to the test my strength against my opponents but in todays football it seem that this is being umpired out of the game. I can only imagine how many frees I might have got if it was around in my hay day.

If you look at the tape Qbn forwards also gave away free kicks as they were behind. I believe if you are behind its one of a few reasons. You have misread the play, your have taken the easy way out or your opponent wanted front spot more than you.

But I agree, its a sh*t rule!!

I agree with Twodogs. The rule is incredibly soft. It's umpire lotto when they blow their whistle at the moment. I've received about half a dozen of the most incredibly soft free kicks in my favour the last few weeks. It's almost embarrasing accepting them.

We've had no umpires turn up the last two games and have done the games with a volunteer from each side and the standard has been so much higher. They just let the game flow and only pull up the obvious. The contrast last week between the first and second halves (after some umpires showed up) was ridiculous. From about a dozen kicks in total to 4 dozen in the third quarter alone.

I agree with Twodogs. The rule is incredibly soft. It's umpire lotto when they blow their whistle at the moment. I've received about half a dozen of the most incredibly soft free kicks in my favour the last few weeks. It's almost embarrasing accepting them.

We've had no umpires turn up the last two games and have done the games with a volunteer from each side and the standard has been so much higher. They just let the game flow and only pull up the obvious. The contrast last week between the first and second halves (after some umpires showed up) was ridiculous. From about a dozen kicks in total to 4 dozen in the third quarter alone.
On a different note 3gm you seem to have info on the CD's comp do you happen to have the makeup of the rep side going away this weekend to wagga.

They've got all the information on the ACTAFL website. There is a link to the regional championships page there. Pretty reasonable side there. If some of the lazy bastards from Belconnen (who are undefeated) had actually turned up to training they would have walked into the side though.

AFL Canberra
No. Name Home Club
1 Danny CHASTON ANU
2 Tim DALWOOD Woden
3 David CARTER Murrumbidgee
4 Ryan FORSYTH ANU
5 Craig SPENCER Gungahlin
6 Andrew HERMANN ANU
7 James ABBEY ANU
8 Jason KOCMAR Gungahlin
9 Joel STEVENSON Gungahlin
10 Sam HALDER Goulburn
11 Dean RAWLINSON ANU
12 Patrick MCCARTHY Tuggeranong
13 Brendan FORAN YASS
14 Joel O'BRIEN ANU
15 Andrew WAINWRIGHT Gungahlin
16 Brendan SCHMID Murrumbidgee
17 Simon CROFT Tuggeranong
18 Grayson STOPP ANU
19 Ryan COX YASS
20 Daniel BROOKER Murrumbidgee
21 Marcus BROERS Murrumbidgee
22 Ashley SYNNOTT Tuggeranong
24 Matthew FITZGERALD Harmon
25 Tom BANSON ANU
E Ben SERAFIN YASS
E Rhys CUTIFANI Tuggernong
E Stephen CHANT Cootamundra

They've got all the information on the ACTAFL website. There is a link to the regional championships page there. Pretty reasonable side there. If some of the lazy bastards from Belconnen (who are undefeated) had actually turned up to training they would have walked into the side though.

AFL Canberra
No. Name Home Club
1 Danny CHASTON ANU
2 Tim DALWOOD Woden
3 David CARTER Murrumbidgee
4 Ryan FORSYTH ANU
5 Craig SPENCER Gungahlin
6 Andrew HERMANN ANU
7 James ABBEY ANU
8 Jason KOCMAR Gungahlin
9 Joel STEVENSON Gungahlin
10 Sam HALDER Goulburn
11 Dean RAWLINSON ANU
12 Patrick MCCARTHY Tuggeranong
13 Brendan FORAN YASS
14 Joel O'BRIEN ANU
15 Andrew WAINWRIGHT Gungahlin
16 Brendan SCHMID Murrumbidgee
17 Simon CROFT Tuggeranong
18 Grayson STOPP ANU
19 Ryan COX YASS
20 Daniel BROOKER Murrumbidgee
21 Marcus BROERS Murrumbidgee
22 Ashley SYNNOTT Tuggeranong
24 Matthew FITZGERALD Harmon
25 Tom BANSON ANU
E Ben SERAFIN YASS
E Rhys CUTIFANI Tuggernong
E Stephen CHANT Cootamundra
Whats going on down magpie way 3GM no maggies in the side must love the weekend off.Cutifani emerg he would go close to being one of the best players in that comp from what I've seen of him playing 1sts at tugg last year.League needs to do something about the rep side I coached it a few years ago and we always struggle to get all the best players.Reps used to be an honour,seems these days people have different priorities,shame really we could go well at this level with the best players.In saying that though gives a chance for others to show up.Not having a dig at belco because I notice no Steen from Woden and I'm sure a few other good players from other clubs.Not up with players in this comp since I started to coach in the Division 2 comp.

I didn't think that I would be back on this site again as half the crap written on this site really annoys the s%*t out of me, and I have to say that the half written on this site that annoys me is all the talk about the District competition and how great it is. Come on, it is a standard of football that my girlfiend could play.

The comments about representing the districts as being an honour, is laughable but has really pissed me off and I couldn't keep my thoughts to myself.

I agree that the guys playing in the districts love footy as much as anyone but come on, these players are playing there because they are lazy, non-commital, old, many have no football talent and those that do are satisfied to be a reasonably big fish in a small pond (Pathetic). The point I am trying to make is...'Why is it an honour to represent a league that has a really really s%*t standard of football?' 'How could you possibly be proud of yourself?'

I'm sure that the players listed previously will tell their kids one day that they represented the ACT in footy, i'm pretty sure they won't be to open about the standard of footy that they actually were capable of represented. It is a disgrace to call it representative football!

Further to that, I am constantly reading threads written by 3rd and 4th division players that bag out ABH (The only one who has had the balls to state who he is) who has played at the highest level available here in Canberra and who proved his worth year in year out. When you have some football credentials and are willing to step up and perform well in the ACTAFL Senior Competition then you can comment, until then go back to your hole which is the Canberra Districts (which I also believe is below the standard of Under 18's.)

I am sure that a whole heap of really really mature comments are going to bounce back at me from all those in 3rd and 4th grade division players...bring it on, but remember this "You are the Bottom Feeders of AFL Football food chain across ACT and NSW, it is not an honour to play rep football at that standard of Football so stop pretending it is!!"

I didn't think that I would be back on this site again as half the crap written on this site really annoys the s%*t out of me, and I have to say that the half written on this site that annoys me is all the talk about the District competition and how great it is. Come on, it is a standard of football that my girlfiend could play.

The comments about representing the districts as being an honour, is laughable but has really pissed me off and I couldn't keep my thoughts to myself.

I agree that the guys playing in the districts love footy as much as anyone but come on, these players are playing there because they are lazy, non-commital, old, many have no football talent and those that do are satisfied to be a reasonably big fish in a small pond (Pathetic). The point I am trying to make is...'Why is it an honour to represent a league that has a really really s%*t standard of football?' 'How could you possibly be proud of yourself?'

I'm sure that the players listed previously will tell their kids one day that they represented the ACT in footy, i'm pretty sure they won't be to open about the standard of footy that they actually were capable of represented. It is a disgrace to call it representative football!

Further to that, I am constantly reading threads written by 3rd and 4th division players that bag out ABH (The only one who has had the balls to state who he is) who has played at the highest level available here in Canberra and who proved his worth year in year out. When you have some football credentials and are willing to step up and perform well in the ACTAFL Senior Competition then you can comment, until then go back to your hole which is the Canberra Districts (which I also believe is below the standard of Under 18's.)

I am sure that a whole heap of really really mature comments are going to bounce back at me from all those in 3rd and 4th grade division players...bring it on, but remember this "You are the Bottom Feeders of AFL Football food chain across ACT and NSW, it is not an honour to play rep football at that standard of Football so stop pretending it is!!"
Ok big shot what are your credentials.You have a lot to say,obviously you played at the highest level and acquitted yourself admirably.Whats wrong with blokes playing at their level and being proud of their achievements not everyone can play at the top level.All the teams in this comp across NSW and ACT must fall into the same hole in your opinion.

What is your problem, i reckon half the players that play 3rd grade could match it in reserve grade comp, as an example the belconnen magpies 3rd grade side played in the reserve grade comp last year and beat every side but queanbeyan who took the comp out, i'm guessing your a queanbeyan puff just the way your speaking out of your ass,

....so unless you're playing rep footy at the AFL level, you are a bottom-feeder? This is a pointless argument......'cause unless you're playing rep footy at the AFL level, there's always going to be someone with better ability than you.

Anyone who plays footy, regardless of their age, weight, gender or ability should be allowed to feel proud of their achievements. I would argue that when it comes to the crunch and you get involved in a passage of play that helps your team win a close game, or lift a Grand Final trophy, or just do something on the footy field that is inspirational to those around you, there won't be too much thought given to division you're playing in at that time.

I hope like hell Bush Footy that you are not involved with any kind of football development for your club, but then with comments like yours you have already answered that question.:thumbsdown: Could someone red card this guy please??

Bushfooty, you seriously you are a total tool - not a useful one like a shifter, more like a centre punch! Very simple minded person.

ACTAFL is mostly for money hungry footballers who can commit to the 3 days a week training, where as the Canberra District comp is for those who enjoy playing footy but either don't have the commitment or the time to put enough into footy to play at that level. Most of these guys don't turn up to the rep training anyway - have a look at the CD rep team, no Belco players at all.

For those who are representing Canberra Districts, good luck on the weekend and it sounds like it would be a fantastic weekend down in Wagga - all I can say is enjoy yourself and I wish I had the opportunity to play in the carnival. It really is a good time to get to know a few other guys from around the league and it is a lot of fun - I find you actually enjoy your footy a little bit more when you play against them during the season.

I am no big shot believe me...although I have played at much higher standards then 3rd and 4th Grade Canberra Districts and yes I would like to think that I acquitted myself admirably.

My credentials are not important...for the purposes of this thread lets say I have never played football before because I would still stand by my previous thread. Representative Football should only be available to the best of the best. Having a Districts representative side makes a mockery of the ACT jumper as this side would not represent the best of the best but rather a group of players from the 4th and 5th best level of football in Canberra. Let me put it this way...a Districts representative side is equal to picking a group of kids from the Special Needs Class!

I'm not saying that there is anything wrong with players playing at that level, what pisses me off is when these players think they have actually accomplished something in life by being picked in a districts rep side. I think it is shame that this rep side gives these players hope that they are a good football player. If they were a good football player then they would play grades higher then 3rd grade!!!

I am no big shot believe me...although I have played at much higher standards then 3rd and 4th Grade Canberra Districts and yes I would like to think that I acquitted myself admirably.

My credentials are not important...for the purposes of this thread lets say I have never played football before because I would still stand by my previous thread. Representative Football should only be available to the best of the best. Having a Districts representative side makes a mockery of the ACT jumper as this side would not represent the best of the best but rather a group of players from the 4th and 5th best level of football in Canberra. Let me put it this way...a Districts representative side is equal to picking a group of kids from the Special Needs Class!

I'm not saying that there is anything wrong with players playing at that level, what pisses me off is when these players think they have actually accomplished something in life by being picked in a districts rep side. I think it is shame that this rep side gives these players hope that they are a good football player. If they were a good football player then they would play grades higher then 3rd grade!!!
Having played over 300 senior games in 5 different leagues (4 in victoria and here), I would have given the ol lefty to have played in a rep side, any rep side.
For a player to be judged as one of the best 22 available for the whole league IS an honour and it should be afforded as such.
Mate give me a special needs class rep jumper any day.
IDIOT.

Well done on sparking some action on the site but if you actually believe any part of the dribble that you have written then I have two words for you............

KNOB .....(pause for effect) JOCKEY!!!!!!!

I agree with Bush Footy - that list of players does not resemble a representative team. in fact Belco 2's would beat that side
Lets get real.....
eg. The Tuggies players dont train ,and just rock up to game get pumped by 38 goals then get picked in a rep team ..... how does that work?
You other blokes are living in a dream world where you think getting a few kicks at 3rd grade level means you can play ...not so
Bushy is spot on with the fact that they are just a lazy group who will tell their grand kids they played for ACT in 30 years.
Ideally , they should be given a totally different jumper and tracksuit etc... as it makes me sick seeing a 4th grader from Yass who couldnt get a kick in a fuse box strutting around town in his ' Rep' top. What a joke!!
Realistically for these guys it is a new tracksuit and a weekend on the piss away from their missus - no honour at all
Honour would mean they care about the results....they wont care if they get beaten by 30 goals every match

But they aren't representing the ACT. They are representing the Canberra District League, the new name for the old Monaro League. It incorporates clubs from all around the district and gives them a chance to play in a viable league. The fact that the team is placed in Pool B must mean that they are rated at a reasonable level amongst other leagues in the State - not just fat blokes out for a week on the piss.

The big boys get a go in a few weeks when they get to represent ACT - the Territory, not just a league - in the National Championships.

Brown Hornet, does that mean you like it prison style?
You and bushfooty are either the same dh or shared the same cell.. Pretty idiotic comment for your first post...

I agree with Bush Footy - that list of players does not resemble a representative team. in fact Belco 2's would beat that side
Lets get real.....
eg. The Tuggies players dont train ,and just rock up to game get pumped by 38 goals then get picked in a rep team ..... how does that work?
You other blokes are living in a dream world where you think getting a few kicks at 3rd grade level means you can play ...not so
Bushy is spot on with the fact that they are just a lazy group who will tell their grand kids they played for ACT in 30 years.
Ideally , they should be given a totally different jumper and tracksuit etc... as it makes me sick seeing a 4th grader from Yass who couldnt get a kick in a fuse box strutting around town in his ' Rep' top. What a joke!!
Realistically for these guys it is a new tracksuit and a weekend on the piss away from their missus - no honour at all
Honour would mean they care about the results....they wont care if they get beaten by 30 goals every match

Being a Blues supporter you would be used to that type of result lately wouldn't you???:D
On more serious note though, I played at some very decent levels in my heyday and I also played a couple of seasons at CDFL level and achieved rep honours a few times. I played there becasue my mates were playing there and I worked long hours for myself and had two young kids... not the ideal platform to launch a successful ACTAFL career. I had three choices; play at CDFL level and train once or twice a week, play at ACTAFL level training 3 nights a week (leading to divorce and most of my wage disappearing) or give up footy altogether:thumbsdown: It was a no brainer for me... todays "superstars" are probably more determined to play ACTAFL than I was but then again there is money involved in footy today. I used to get my kit and subs for free and I was thankful for that.:thumbsu:
Would you "Superstars" rather see these guys walking around with a track suit that states ACTAFL DIV.3 Rep Player??? Everyone involved in footy in this region knows it is only treated for what it is.... Amateur players getting the most out of their fledgling careers before father time prevents them from playing.
A lot of what you have said is true to an extent; there are some players who probably wouldn't get a game if all the best players tried out; but thats the beauty of amateur footy... only the ones who want to be there get a game. If the league was still known as CDFL or Monaro League; I doubt whether much of this criticism would have even eventuated... except that maybe Bushfooty has nothing better to do!!:D

Very intelligent reply chaddles...it's what everyone comes to expect from the Special Needs Class! Keep them coming...no really you're hilarious!!:thumbsdown:

I have no issue with players playing District Footy, I understand why alot of the players do. All I am saying is that I believe it is disgraceful that these "Representatives" get an ACT jumper and can tell there family friends and anyone they meet down the pub that they are Representing ACT at a footy Carnival in Wagga. I would suggest there wouldn't be to many that actually explain that they are not only not representing the 1st 2nd or even probably 3rd (U18's) best standard of footy here but the fourth grade in this area.

If you don't likie what I have to say then so be it...this is my belief and I still haven't heard any reason at all as to why anyone would want to be one of the best players in the 3rd or 4th best league available to them.

Go hard...I am sure you will have some great Representative stories and photos to show your grand kids!!

Very intelligent reply chaddles...it's what everyone comes to expect from the Special Needs Class! Keep them coming...no really you're hilarious!!:thumbsdown:

I have no issue with players playing District Footy, I understand why alot of the players do. All I am saying is that I believe it is disgraceful that these "Representatives" get an ACT jumper and can tell there family friends and anyone they meet down the pub that they are Representing ACT at a footy Carnival in Wagga. I would suggest there wouldn't be to many that actually explain that they are not only not representing the 1st 2nd or even probably 3rd (U18's) best standard of footy here but the fourth grade in this area.

If you don't likie what I have to say then so be it...this is my belief and I still haven't heard any reason at all as to why anyone would want to be one of the best players in the 3rd or 4th best league available to them.

Go hard...I am sure you will have some great Representative stories and photos to show your grand kids!!

...I'd say you just haven't listened. If a player chooses Div 3 or 4 because it suits their life situation or playing style, then why shouldn't it be an honour if they are selected to represent that level? You seem to be missing the point which is these guys are in Wagga representing DISTRICT Footy (amatuer status). So in AFL Canberra football - the guys selected are the best running around for DISTRICT footy - it's not hard to understand surely.

Jesus - they should make blokes sit an IQ test before they're allowed on here. Might make for some more intellegent conversation.

Getting to Tuggernong.

Hey guys. in light of the recent little fracas between as few swans and the act lads about the standard of the comp I had decided to have a look at the comp myself when I make the trip from Melbourne for the Melbourne V Swans clash. But our two's are playing on the Saturday against Tuggeranong, who I appreciate are probably a cog below the rest of the comp.

Anyway. just some advice if i can ask. Whereabouts is Tuggeranongs home ground and how hard is it to get to from Kingston/Manuka, is it practical for public transport if you don't know your way around or is a taxi best.

And who are the Tuggeranong players we should keep our eyes on during the contest. As a fan of local footy we will put a few beers and snacks into Tuggeranong's coffers for the day too.

Greenway Oval is a $40 cab fare each way from Manuka/Kingston. Public transport in Canberra sucks balls and is worse on weekends. Go out to the Qbn vs Belco at Margaret Donohue for $25 each way same day for the best of Canberra footy - the two clubs hate each other and it will be a cracker of a match.

Back to the rep team

The CD's team doesn't have a single player from Belco or ADFA - the two best sides in Div 3 (CD1's).

If these blokes had any ticker they would have turned up... 3GM - why have no Belco boys taken the chance to play?

Answering why others are out, there were 5 guys from my club who were keen, but 3 withdrew with injury (and would have all missed this week) and one had the fun sheriff pull him up. Other older blokes needed the week off to get over niggles and soreness - and when you are over 30, with a couple of kiddies and playing footy with mates rather than chasing a dollar, its not a bad idea to take any chance of a break...

Using Bushfootys theory though, any team the CD's and Sydney amateurs beat should all completely retire from football as they are obviously *******s.
:D

I am so shocked at your lack of intelligent comment that I hardly know where to start. I have played "true rep footy" - where it was the best players in the state. I have those stories to show/tell my grand kids. But I also have played districts rep footy. Sure, different standard, but still representing my State and still stories to tell.

I think you'd be surprised as to how many disctrict players would say that it is only district level. These players have a reason for playing at that level and are proud that they can still challenge themselves and turn up for a game with other good players from their league (granted, not always the best 22).

By your arguments, only the AFL state of origin matters. None of the ACTAFL players are good enough to play AFL let alone State of origin (Dream team or whatever). Therefore, by your logic they shouldn't be able to get a rep jumper either.

Clearly this is a stupid notion and the ACTAFL players who make the rep team should be recognised in the same way as any player who makes a rep team in their respective league.