AFL Canberra

Cadola whilst I can't give feedback on the supposed spat within the club Williams had a headclash and came off second best he was being taken from the ground at three quarter time very groggy and being helped by two trainers he looked in a bad way.Maybe they were going to send him for observation and he left thinking he could drive himself and later realised he could not,just a thought.

Absolutely correct DED; Willo suffered an accidental forearm to the side of his swede bone and had some claret trickling from his ears. The trainers advised him to shower and get some further advice; Willo being Willo thought he could drive himself. He was taken to seek medical attention by a trainer immediately after the game.
Codola.. as for the spat with an off field assistant - I can categorically deny that there is any tension, conflict, disagreements or otherwise within the Tigers camp. Like all footy clubs, there will be some personality clashes but all players, coaches and support staff appreciate that the club is bigger than the individual and we have an agreement in place with everyone involved in the football department that there will be feedback without malice provided to all. I can understand why to anyone outside of the football department it may appear that we are disjointed because of our results; the reality is that we have an excellent group of players with a good mix of youth and experience who have put a lot of hard work into this season since last November. No player from any club runs on to the field in this competition without having done the hard yards to get there; some clubs have more depth than others and without making any excuses, our depth has certainly been tested this year. It can only be a positive step in our development of players for next year and if we can sneak into the finals; who knows what can happen? At the very least, they will experience a whole new style of pressure football.
Sure.. we have a hard path to the finals and it's not entirely up to our own actions anymore but this Club has forged its reputation over 80 seasons.. not 1! We will know the season is gone when we hear the final siren for our final game (whenever that may be) and we look to the score board to find that we are not ahead...;)

Before I sign out; Eat 'Em Alive is a phrase that only those at the Tigers will ever understand... we are happy to keep it that way.:D

Not having a dig at any of the other teams battling injuries at the moment as everyone who has played knows how difficult it can be to go out there without 3 or 4 of your best players playing....but how well are Belco travelling when they can touch up the swans in Sydney minus Mahar, Raadts, Knowles, Henning, Rhodes & Rice??...Must have great depth...:thumbsu:

Does anybody know how Terry O'Kane goes? he just moved up to newcaslte and signed with a club up here.

TOK goes very well although he is getting on a little...was one of the best players in AFL Canberra in the last 10 years or so...played in all of Belconnens premierships 2002 - 2004 and is a great bloke as well...:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Does anybody know how Terry O'Kane goes? he just moved up to newcaslte and signed with a club up here.

Great player and great bloke. Played in flag sides for Belconnen.Thought he might be getting on a bit. Reckon he would be 33 or 4??
Other might know more but think he will go well.

Shame that this blog has gone so quite lately no ABH to stir the pot and the others just want to slag off at each other.Well the weekend threw up some great footy with Belco getting over the Swans in Sydney,talking point in itself Ainslie in a cracker over Qbn won in the last five and QBN were great after the three injuries to key players they kept coming(and no I'm not a QBN supporter) but they tried hard all day and almost stole it.Armstrong would have a sore back he carried them almost to victory on his own back D Jacques also outstanding in the last Quarter.Ainslie look to be getting their act together.Tuggies and Eastlake didn't see it but either team could have won and tuggies have been in good form and will be looking to back it up again this week against Ainslie.Swans will be looking to take revenge on Eastlake after their first loss in Syd in 3 years and Belco would appear to strong for a struggling Qbn after all their injury worries.any thoughts.

Tough to stir any pot DED when the club you follow is 2nd from bottom.

Would love to hang as much as I can but at the moment I got nuthin.

All I can provide is my opinion and even that seems to fire a few "nuff nuffs" up!!;)

TOK goes very well although he is getting on a little...was one of the best players in AFL Canberra in the last 10 years or so...played in all of Belconnens premierships 2002 - 2004 and is a great bloke as well...:thumbsu::thumbsu:

I can 2nd that....great person on and off the field..true leader!

ABH can you shed some light on why Paul Williams was fully dressed and showered seen leaving the ground 5 mins prior to the end of play at the weekend, with no visible signs of injury or ailment. Only to return (obviously because he realised he was doing something that he would regret) and was seen skullking around the back of the grand stand back towards the Queanbeyan rooms, only then to be walking out the door 30 seconds after the final siren. Would he/ should he have been at the players address after the loss? Apparently he was “injured” but sources close to me at the Jerrabomberra tavern tell me there is a spat between he and other player/coach/ off field assistant? I know that you try to stay out of the inner workings (personalities) of the club however as “forwards coach” you would also know that he is disgruntled. Now before you don’t answer properly or give some BS answer remember that you are the champion of free and honest “feedback” and a necessity for honestly appraising the team so if you could let the thread know would be nice. See ABH, Codola is not some college punk but a Jerra boy through and through.

Codola, dont know of any spat with Willo and coaches so can only comment on what I see at the club and what I know of Willo. He is an emotional guy who loves playing football so my guess is, if you did see anything it was probably Willo being frustrated at not being able to continue and probably at himself for having a below par performance till he came off. As a forward you always believe you can help win the game for your side at any given moment and my guess is he was upset that he couldnt continue. TD has provided the inner sanctum response so I need not regurgitate it.

Happy your a Jerra boy and not some college punk but that doesnt mean your old enough to have hair on your arse;)

Good To See The Creative Coaching Staff Of The Tigers Come Up With Something Differant & Put Kav Loose In Defence For The Last 1/4 While Williams Was Off, Not Sure Were The Goals Would Come From To Win The Game Rather Than Save It These Blokes Making The Moves Will Be The Ones Leading Our Rep Team Lets Hope The Games Wont Be Close

Flanka im with you it seemed to me that qbn run up the white flag a little early considering that was qbns grand final they put themselves in a position to win then completely changed the structure while i no they suffered injurys what message are you sending the players out there.Anyway all in all it was a great game maybe qbn use it to build into something good for next year.:rolleyes:

Being a close student of the game you should have noted that the Tigers went to a 2 goal lead while Kav was getting heaps of ball down back in the last qtr. It was only when they moved him forward in the last 10 minutes and the tigers failed to win any centre clearances that the Ainslie midfield ran riot and pushed the ball forward consistantly.
When there is a bit over a kick in the result and both sides have had a red hot go it is hard to see the value in bagging any move or anybody.

Being a close student of the game you should have noted that the Tigers went to a 2 goal lead while Kav was getting heaps of ball down back in the last qtr. It was only when they moved him forward in the last 10 minutes and the tigers failed to win any centre clearances that the Ainslie midfield ran riot and pushed the ball forward consistantly.
When there is a bit over a kick in the result and both sides have had a red hot go it is hard to see the value in bagging any move or anybody.

Well said Porkhead. You wonder if people actually are watching the same game at times.
Its also interesting to note that the same "creative coaches" were also responsible in helping the side make the GF last season.

Some people have short memories...Easy to bag a club/people over one unfortunate season in a history spanning over 80 years of many successes.

Tough to stir any pot DED when the club you follow is 2nd from bottom.

Would love to hang as much as I can but at the moment I got nuthin.

All I can provide is my opinion and even that seems to fire a few "nuff nuffs" up!!;)
Easy done with the nuff nuff,s also looks like you might need to make another cameo this week if all the injuries keep coming,looking at Williams blood from ears would be surprised if medicos let him play this week after head injury,Irwin looked in a lot of pain on the sideline surprise or maybe miraculous recovery needed for him and Daniher didn't see him will he be back this week.You also said Walmsley and one other almost made it back last week what are their chances.Must win for QBN as is every game now.

You never know??

I actually had to dust the boots off last week because the boys were short and would you believe I spent most of my time playing down back due to certain circumstances that occured during the game:eek:

I cant shake that competitive nature and as far as Masters is concerned I dont know to much about it or who is involved.
If your who i think you are mr touch and feel you would be great for masters it is full of passionate players like yourself.Go into sporting pulse and have a look at the masters site.There are x qbn players involved and while im to old myself ive seen them in action and it really is great for blokes who want to continue without all the bumps and bruises and heavy strain of training.

You must have been at training wednesday night?? or saw the effort v Ainslie at FB??

Codola, dont know of any spat with Willo and coaches so can only comment on what I see at the club and what I know of Willo. He is an emotional guy who loves playing football so my guess is, if you did see anything it was probably Willo being frustrated at not being able to continue and probably at himself for having a below par performance till he came off. As a forward you always believe you can help win the game for your side at any given moment and my guess is he was upset that he couldnt continue. TD has provided the inner sanctum response so I need not regurgitate it.

Happy your a Jerra boy and not some college punk but that doesnt mean your old enough to have hair on your arse;)

Boys it was with interest that i watched Paul Williams train with the rep squad on wednesday night and when the time came for a bit of competitive/physical work to be done and it was declared "optional" by Armstrong, Paul Williams decided to get involved. In selecting the rep side i wonder if Armstrong will actually pick the leagues best goal kicker (to date) or weather this rift will be played out at Shepparton on 08. Now i know ABH, too dog, original and others will dust this over and say "there is no rift at tigerland" its pretty simple equation that yes there is and there is every chance it will widen in Shapparton. the players obviously have little respect for Armstrong

Anyway can anyone tell us why (and i mean a real reason why, not just wark blowing his load over the finals series last year) Armstrong is the Rep coach and his side kick MacGinley is ASSistant? these guys stink this year, and their players lack of intensity probably back up my statement. The only thing it proves is that Warky has no ability to get the best person into positions at AFL Canberra, Anyway I hope that AFL Canberra continues to hold its great standing achieved through Darren Denneman, and Brett Knowles over the past couple of championships.

Boys it was with interest that i watched Paul Williams train with the rep squad on wednesday night and when the time came for a bit of competitive/physical work to be done and it was declared "optional" by Armstrong, Paul Williams decided to get involved. In selecting the rep side i wonder if Armstrong will actually pick the leagues best goal kicker (to date) or weather this rift will be played out at Shepparton on 08. Now i know ABH, too dog, original and others will dust this over and say "there is no rift at tigerland" its pretty simple equation that yes there is and there is every chance it will widen in Shapparton. the players obviously have little respect for Armstrong

Anyway can anyone tell us why (and i mean a real reason why, not just wark blowing his load over the finals series last year) Armstrong is the Rep coach and his side kick MacGinley is ASSistant? these guys stink this year, and their players lack of intensity probably back up my statement. The only thing it proves is that Warky has no ability to get the best person into positions at AFL Canberra, Anyway I hope that AFL Canberra continues to hold its great standing achieved through Darren Denneman, and Brett Knowles over the past couple of championships.

You seem to believe there is a "rift" but those within the Tigers say otherwise. Have you any substance to the claim or are you just fishing for a bite??

As far as players not respecting Armstrong that has to be you fishing....If not name them!!

The guy is a footballing legend around the ACT with probably only a few players having collected more accolades in the history of this comp. Do you have proof of any of these outlandish statements or is your observations at tad skewed for the dislike for Qbn and its people??

On David Wark and the selection of Armstrong as coach is it not the highest local sides coach from the previous year that now gets the nod??

Not sure why you would have a go at Wark, hes doing a pretty good job from what I hear. Whats with the $$$ signs in reference to McGinley? Likes his cash does he?

Belconnen with smash Queanbeyan this week, Swans likewise to Eastlake and Ainslie over Tuggers

Not sure why you would have a go at Wark, hes doing a pretty good job from what I hear. Whats with the $$$ signs in reference to McGinley? Likes his cash does he?

Belconnen with smash Queanbeyan this week, Swans likewise to Eastlake and Ainslie over Tuggers

I think the word used was ASSistant... And it's true... McGinley does have a huge butt; it runs in his family (sorry Petey but it's true!).
Mac, like everyeryone I know; loves to receive his paycheck... after all, he does work at the Club full time as a Junior Football Club Administrator!!!:D A job that requires him to work about 60 or more hours a week - all you other Junior Administrator's can atest to this!

Codola.. I read one of your statements in another thread and thought that you had finally started to think pragmatically; clearly I was wrong...
Please refer to my previous post from the 8th of July on the previous page; the Queanbeyan Football Club has a code that was developed over 80 years ago and a single season that is less than perfect does not destroy it and cause the players to turn on each other or their coaches...

Nice try though!!:D

I think the word used was ASSistant... And it's true... McGinley does have a huge butt; it runs in his family (sorry Petey but it's true!).
Mac, like everyeryone I know; loves to receive his paycheck... after all, he does work at the Club full time as a Junior Football Club Administrator!!!:D A job that requires him to work about 60 or more hours a week - all you other Junior Administrator's can atest to this!

Who gives a crap about his ass or the amount of hours he works with the Juniors, the reality is that McGinley is the assistant coach and both he and Armstrong have to take a large proportion of the blame for the tigers poor season. They were happy to take the raps for 2007 so they will have to take the heat for an atrocious 2008. I’m sure there will be discussions taking place from within the board about 2009.:confused: