• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Canberra

Re: Dee Train in da house

Hello fellow ACTAFL followers!

This is the Dee Train reporting for duty.

I have been following ACTAFL for many years and have only recently found out that there was a discussion board.

So here I am!

Looking forward to exchanging thoughts on the weekly match ups, the league and its future and most improtantly the E-Lake Dee Trains dominance in 08!

Yours in football.

All aboard the Dee Train - CHOO CHOO!

Welcome aboard, about time we had a "new fish"

Hope you have a thicker skin than some of your management DTrain...You will need it on here.

Who are most of these blokes?? Is this a totally new team bar a few?? AFC1 can you assist or is this the new youth policy??
ABH you consistantly give it to Ainslie on there policies youth being one of them.You don't seem to rate them much.We all know that they are the team everyone loves to hate but credit where credit is due.Youth players with the Quality to play firsts need to be at the club before you can play them.Ainslie seems to be working very hard with juniors strong in 14's 16,s and fair in the 18's.Ainslie have recruited well this year and should be applauded for this.Do Qbn have any such policies,looking through the record see a few juniors but plenty of ex other club players would be interested to know just how many of qbn's firsts are local qbn juniors.

I think you mistake who i give it to....I actually give it to Belco and have pretty much left Ainslie to others...My "youth policy" was tongue in cheek, however my question on who the hell the others were still stands

you must not have seen the round 1 result ABH, which was not very long ago. Fair enough Belco have improved considerably but so have Ainslie. Ainslie by 5 goals.
Good to have you back AFC now some new input and a different veiw other than those from belco and Qbn.Look forward to watching you and your old sparring partner ABH square off again.How are things down at Ainslie seem to be travelling well with the new recruits settling in.Can they win the flag.

I think you mistake who i give it to....I actually give it to Belco and have pretty much left Ainslie to others...My "youth policy" was tongue in cheek, however my question on who the hell the others were still stands
Tongue in cheek nearly always has an underlying truth about it.Yes you do give it to Belco as we all should.The new players some locals Harris Mulrooney u18's last year Hughes ex listed Kangas Stone Crook Buchanan Holmes all ex Box Hill.Touhey Peterson both played in good leagues elsewhere.Macfalane been here for few years.Hope this helps you out a bit.You still didnt answer my question though.Dickinson Jaques Jaques Kavanagh Armstrong are they all local juniors.

Dickinson played juniors, Armstrong came as a junior and the others are pretty obvious to all

When you say local juniors there are probably two catergories:
Played with Tigers through all Juniors: Renee Ioppi, Jeremy Kirkwood, Chris Walmsley, Neil Irwin, Jared Daniel, Luke Whatman
Played at least 18's with the club before seniors: Scott Dickinson, Mark Armstrong, Chris Davis, Ryan Quade, Paul Franchi, Chris Haddock, Daniel Walker, Kris Thompson, Sam Burly, Paul Slater and Jason Satchell.
There are also plenty of the ressies that have come through the juniors or at least played 18's.
This I reckon is the difference, with more than a fair share of locals mixed with quality recruits is the making of teams and that team having certain club values.
I complied this list from the record of last week.

Played with Tigers through all Juniors: Renee Ioppi, Jeremy Kirkwood, Chris Walmsley, Neil Irwin, Jared Daniel, Luke Whatman
Played at least 18's with the club before seniors: Scott Dickinson, Mark Armstrong, Chris Davis, Ryan Quade, Paul Franchi, Chris Haddock, Daniel Walker, Kris Thompson, Sam Burly, Paul Slater and Jason Satchell.
There are also plenty of the ressies that have come through the juniors or at least played 18's.
This I reckon is the difference, with more than a fair share of locals mixed with quality recruits is the making of teams and that team having certain club values.

Dont believe Merv, CD or Quadie?? played U/18's

Agreed but for me playing 18's doesn't make them local juniors thanks for the other names that is great.You are spot on clubs need these guys and I guess in time with the work being done at Ainslie they too again will boast local talent.I guess at the moment the juniors are just not coming through in some of the clubs.We must remember that all clubs have had halcyon days when 70% of players were local,However with the advent of semi professional sport expectations are far higher and coaches are not prepared sit around waiting for juniors to come through and in the process get the sack for lack of results,after all our game is results driven or we wouldn't all be on this blog debating the merits of all and sundry.

Good discussion guys and merit at both ends. Wonder if tuggers would do more recruiting if the purse strings allowed. They are forced to play their juniors and the juniors need to 3-4 good strong bodied recruits to make this club even more competitive. I say if the juniors are not up too it, develop them and make them earn the chance to play senior footy. Shouldnt just play them because they were club juniors. Too many players get senior games in this comp that are not senior players in other similar standard comps.

What about the youth policy that fat Shrek pu in place, of the team mentioned in this threat there are no more than 4 juniors. McFarlane is not a junior. It was only going to be a matter of time before Shrek released the purse strings and spent some big bucks to get the team winning games. All the social conscious in the world doesnt help when you get hammered, and the ego's need to be soothed by getting wins on the board. When you compare AFC to Qbn the difference in the introduction and deveopment of juniors is chalk and cheese. Qbn work really hard at blooding their juniors, and the support the club and supporters give to the U 18's is fantastic. AFC will be found out soon enough.

Probably right spewie but you have to agree that the comp is better for Ainslie being back up there and the valley pushing sides along each week. Maybe the Ainslie juniors that do earn promotion to the seniors will develop quicker with quality players around them, rather than being forced to play above their weight in key positions to early

Spewie you have a definate distaste for a certain person at Ainslie were you a badly beaten fullback at some stage.because it seems that you probably don't even know the bloke.Are you the only person in Australia allowed to be passionate about your club.He does what he thinks is right for Ainslie.I guess you run your club as well and give up all your time to try and make sure they are going in the right direction.

Good discussion guys and merit at both ends. Wonder if tuggers would do more recruiting if the purse strings allowed. They are forced to play their juniors and the juniors need to 3-4 good strong bodied recruits to make this club even more competitive. I say if the juniors are not up too it, develop them and make them earn the chance to play senior footy. Shouldnt just play them because they were club juniors. Too many players get senior games in this comp that are not senior players in other similar standard comps.
Racehorse Tuggers did that in ( I think) 1986 and beat QBN by a point in the GF.They bought anyone on the market and I believe that this was one of the first steps to them struggling.It took them years to pay off the debt,once they recovered someone else touched them and they have struggled ever since.I am a former tugg junior and would love to see them not only survive but become more successful.They are finally taking the right steps it seems,they need to alighn with a club that has some money get a good sponsorship and spend it wisely.money isn't the only thing required for survival just ask the creek.

Spewie you have a definate distaste for a certain person at Ainslie were you a badly beaten fullback at some stage.because it seems that you probably don't even know the bloke.Are you the only person in Australia allowed to be passionate about your club.He does what he thinks is right for Ainslie.I guess you run your club as well and give up all your time to try and make sure they are going in the right direction.

Wasnt the certain person mainly a backman (CHB, he was when i first arrived) and only moved up forward late in his career due to being "a beatuful kick of the football" or was he finally ruled to slow for down back?

Utility_07 said:
The best ainslie side in my opinion....
up for debate

B- argall ghobrial macfarlan

HB- love stone daniel

c- crooks holmes tuohey

hf- buchanan hughes montague

f- mathis bourke petersen

followers
r- mulroney
rr- neely
ro- lewis

interchange from-
buttler
i lawless
m lawless
brown
mathis
tow

Left Andrew Olson out mate? Ash Harris too?

Wasnt the certain person mainly a backman (CHB, he was when i first arrived) and only moved up forward late in his career due to being "a beatuful kick of the football" or was he finally ruled to slow for down back?
Yes ABH but you and I both know having played up forward that it is the backmen that get bitter.And your deduction as to why could entice much discussion we will both see it how we prefer,either why spewie seems a very bitter man towards &&&&&&.

Racehorse Tuggers did that in ( I think) 1986 and beat QBN by a point in the GF.They bought anyone on the market and I believe that this was one of the first steps to them struggling.It took them years to pay off the debt,once they recovered someone else touched them and they have struggled ever since.I am a former tugg junior and would love to see them not only survive but become more successful.They are finally taking the right steps it seems,they need to alighn with a club that has some money get a good sponsorship and spend it wisely.money isn't the only thing required for survival just ask the creek.

Agree DED. I am not knocking them I think they are on the right track. I just think that given the opprtunity all clubs would recruit quality players to support the comp and their developing juniors.

You are right and it would be fantastic if they could as I said getting the money is one thing having theright people spend it the right way is sometimes another.

Dickinson played juniors, Armstrong came as a junior and the others are pretty obvious to all

wat about Belco they have the best local juniors running around at the moment Steve Mahar, James benett, Lexie Benett, Paul Raadts, Chris York, Matt byatt jst to name a few :thumbsu:

I think you'll find that irwin and whato were tuggers juniors, I know neil won a flag with the lions not sure about whato. So the question that now needs to be asked is who else you put up there falsely??

To be honest AFC1 im not yet convinced, but beat the inform Belco and then Qbn and you have my attention.

The only reason I say Qbn is that your record against the Tigers over the last decade has been poor and you would know this.

Out of curiousity AFC1, how many wins did you have over Qbn in your career??

You are right ABH, not too many wins against QBN in my career, especially out at MDO. Did have a couple of large wins over the tiges when we were stronger. I rate the current QBN side very highly, and will be a very interested observer in a 10 days time. Many of my best mates play out there.

In terms of the AFC side listed, surely you know David Love and Tom Daniel who both played last year. Lovey has been at the club for a fair while and Tommy joined lasty year from the Creek. Dead eye dick has explained the rest of the team in an earlier thread.

Ainslie will intoduce juniors into the team if they make the best 22. I understand blooding youngsters is necessary for future success, but they must be capable and have performed consistently well in the 18's first.

A note on this years recruiting at ainslie, although most of the recruits are too old to have played juniors for the club, ainslie has stuck to it's "youth policy" and recruited a large number of kids in the 18-22 age bracket, a number of whom know at least one other player at or coming to the club, along with bringing over a large contingent of creek boys. looking from the inside, this has really helped the team gel together, and it has more of a feel of a club working and growing together, as opposed to the past couple of years where it felt like a bunch of players just bought for the season and put on the paddock together. I may be proved wrong, but i think ainslie may have recruited boys who'll stcik around this time....time will tell

I reckon good on them smurftown. If they didnt recruit and produced last years result they would have been criticised and lost supporters and sponsors. If they havent got juniors ready to step up (which was obviously the case last year) then they owe to the players who have stuck around to support them with a better playing list. They are damned if they do and damned if they dont. As long as they recruit correctly with players prepared to stick around they should be applauded. They big gun ruckman recruit from last year who was clearly a dud is the type of player they dont want.