AFL Evolution - Launch thread

We hope this helps and you have a great weekend learning the game and exploring the modes and options.
Lastly, we are collating the feedback, and hope we can bring a patch to address any concerns, major and minor, in the near future!
Whats the plans to be addressed in future patches? Any details because honestly, everything I have heard suggests this is an avoid buy despite being a massive AFL fan and gamer.

I'm a fanatic about manager mode, play decades of in game seasons in FIFA at a time, get through multiple 82 game seasons on 2k, it's the only mode I'll ever care about. Have only played a few games of my first season on Evolution, so can't answer three, but:

1. There is finance, albeit limited. You can edit merchandise and membership prices, as well as expenses such as how much you spend on medical staff, marketing staff, backline/mid/forward coach etc. Haven't got far enough to see if this makes a long term difference, but your fan interest and your prices impact how much cash you make. Interested to see where that goes.

2. I haven't worked out why (it seems to be based on in game performance, but have also seen this amongst players who weren't in the squad), but players accumulate experience points after each game which you can then spend to increase their stats to your liking. Got BOG with Nic Nat in my first JLT game and got him to 99 speed and acceleration straight away, which all but broke the game until I upped the difficulty. Seems to be a decent enough effort into development. Players' overall rating is fixed based on their attributes, but you edit the attributes. Can also have EXP allocated automatically e.g all defenders automatically spend points on defensive attributes, or attacking attributes, or physical attributes, or do tackle bag training etc etc.
Thanks!

The experience implementation sounds great, it's ridiculous in FIFA that you can have a player score 5 goals a game yet because their "potential" is low they never grow.

Do they gain more experience if they have a blinder?

Anyone else encountered the bug in career where the game continues after the 4th quarter

Thanks!

The experience implementation sounds great, it's ridiculous in FIFA that you can have a player score 5 goals a game yet because their "potential" is low they never grow.

Do they gain more experience if they have a blinder?
They seem to but, as I say, I've had people gain heaps of experience who didn't play while people who did play for me end up with 0 experience at the end of the week.

Choosing how you up their stats is interesting to me though, means you can really tailor your players to your play style and could see it having more impact when it comes to list management. I don't want to lose someone I've poured exp into who fits my play style perfectly, even if I can get a player with a higher overall in a trade for example.

Anyone else encountered the bug in career where the game continues after the 4th quarter

Ha ha... I'm going to be able to handle a lot about this game once I start it off properly tonight but that glitch would be unforgivable.

Literally game is finished. Stats come up. Commentators talk about the game being over, Next minute ball is in the middle for a bounce. Scoreboard says 4th quarter. So I sim game. Game finishes. Commentators talk about the game being over and then ball is in centre for another bounce. Only way I can see to get out of it is quit the game and forfeit

Hi all,

Good to see people exploring the game and letting us know their thoughts and comments, positive, constructive or otherwise! ;) Special thanks to those that are giving the game a chance and supporting us, it goes a long way.

From reading through comments in various locations here and other places, we can see many people are not installing the day1 patch before playing!
This patch is a MUST for the game as it improves gameplay, and fixes some important bugs.
Furthermore, it is a good idea to delete save game or start a new career after the patch is confirmed as installed, as save games may have bugs saved within them.

Also, if players are seeing *censored* names, please ensure every controller that is connected is signed in, and that the sign in profile is set to over 18.

We hope this helps and you have a great weekend learning the game and exploring the modes and options.
Lastly, we are collating the feedback, and hope we can bring a patch to address any concerns, major and minor, in the near future!

Sincerely,
Daniel
Please fix the marking. Players don't jump and miss the ball completey. If he miss times his jump he should drop the mark not miss the contest

Literally game is finished. Stats come up. Commentators talk about the game being over, Next minute ball is in the middle for a bounce. Scoreboard says 4th quarter. So I sim game. Game finishes. Commentators talk about the game being over and then ball is in centre for another bounce. Only way I can see to get out of it is quit the game and forfeit

What happens if you play it?

(Honestly though, that's diabolical).

Played a game as a team and then as a player (the Bont) last night and had fun. Question to anyone who has played in 'pro' mode, when you get benched, can you simulate until you come back on or does it just sim the remainder of the game?

I clicked sim last night and it simmed to the end of the game which I don't mind but surely there's an option to sim until you come back on?
If you pause the game and go into the team management section you can put yourself back on at any point

You only stay on if you have the stamina though, so let it fill up a bit by watching the game and then put yourself back on

WW needs to make SPOILING actually work!! I think spoiling is the issue - almost impossible - but it would make the game 100% better. A spoil should be easier to pull off than a mark. Bringing the ball to ground more often would open the game up more. Also

Maybe changed mark from hold down and release to just hold!
Change Tap to : Modifier + Handball button.
Solid calls. Spoiling should outrank marking to some extent. The only way to spoil seems to be being in perfect position when you might as well mark anyway.

And a big +1 to tap needing a modifier and not just being handball.

Somewhat figured out marking, turned the camera to end to end, started actually taking my time with the ball instead of rushing and figured out I was using the wrong button for tackle for the first five games.

This is a fun game. Give it a good chance. Plays more like footy than any game before it.

One thing I'd like to see patched, purely aesthetic but it seems like the sort of thing that should never have been wrong; as people have mentioned, a lot of the BLK jumpers are wrong. On top of this, all of the Eagles' flags and jerseys in the crowd are our old tri-panel jersey from two seasons ago. The home jumper has been the navy wings for two full seasons, but everything in the game is old tri-panel jersey from 2015 (almost certainly recycled from AFL Live 2).

I don't pretend to know WW's budget, or the financial/time cost for making such a change, but it seems like the sort of oversight that holds back the game for no reason.

On hard mode when you have the ball can you go for a run or does everybody run you down?

Whoever ticked off the sound effects, wowee. How hard is it to get a good recording of the siren, an actual afl unpire's whistle and crowd effects. Love the nothing when you score a goal and since when does an umpire blow their whistle after goal? Feels like they've gone 'close enough, they won't notice'

Haven't played yet but from gameplay i've seen it looks pretty decent. My mate has it and says it's quite good. Marking started off hard but eventually got easier. I'm looking forward to getting this game. Be a Pro sounds like a blast except for the early interchanges. It'll never be perfect like FIFA or NBA but I'm happy we have a good AFL game. One thing irking me is Fremantle and West Coast both have their old themes. Hopefully a patch gives us the real ones.

One thing I'd like to see patched, purely aesthetic but it seems like the sort of thing that should never have been wrong; as people have mentioned, a lot of the BLK jumpers are wrong. On top of this, all of the Eagles' flags and jerseys in the crowd are our old tri-panel jersey from two seasons ago. The home jumper has been the navy wings for two full seasons, but everything in the game is old tri-panel jersey from 2015 (almost certainly recycled from AFL Live 2).

I don't pretend to know WW's budget, or the financial/time cost for making such a change, but it seems like the sort of oversight that holds back the game for no reason.

But some fans wear the old guernseys still........adds realism. I'll show myself out.

There isn't. If you want to come back on, you have to watch the game until the AI hopefully subs you back on at some point. If you sim the match, it'll sim the whole game.

This is because WW lifted this from their RU game where you wouldn't be able to come back on after being subbed off, so you could either watch your team play the remainder of the game or sim to the end. The difference here is that if you watch the game, you will eventually be brought back on. I'm guessing they found it too difficult to implement simming portions of the game, but they should have changed the options on that screen because it will frustrate a lot of people.

oh man :( surely a patch could be added so you can at least just sim the rest of the quarter.

Fingers crossed.

Paid $100 to get it on the Aussie psn (live in Japan)
Just played my first game as the Bullies and smashed Coburg 0.5 to 0.4 lol
Running into an open goal and hit square to kick a goal (I'm sure thats what it was on AFL Live that I played a ton).

What's with the advantage rule?? I get a free kick. One of my players I'm not controlling goes and gets the ball and it's automatically advantage and I'm tackled holding the ball.