AFL Evolution - Out May 5 - (Cont in LAUNCH THREAD - link in OP)

The game will be ordinary. The key here is at least having a good base so in which to build upon. The 2K, FIFA, Pro Evolution, Madden and NHL games have always built upon previous iterations. If the base stinks then the future of the series looks bleak. I don't think anyone is expecting this to be an absolute cracker of an AFL game but I am looking for a game that is at the least solid and has a good base for WW to build upon. In reality this is why AFL games have stunk for so long because of the change in developers, inconsistent output of the games and just a poor overall foundation.

Thats the under-rated point I reckon
Everyone talks about budgets when comparing the big titles to local AFL and Cricket titles.
But if you treat FIFA overall as a project, you have had the same company working night and day since 1995 on the game. So when we look at where FIFA and other sports games are today, its not necessarily just massive budgets that help (although they do) its the ability to continuously build on previous work to make the next game even better.

Even if you apply a reset for next gen consoles (as game engines are rebuilt after a while), FIFA are still 4 years into project development (as old as the console itself).

The AFL however have shuffled around between BigAnt, IRGurus, WW and EA over the years. The last time they gave a company multiple years to build the project was IR Gurus (2003-2007) and AFL 2007 was a pretty good game for its time (not to mention it built on the areas of previous games too).

If the AFL were serious about having a solid video game project and they believed enough in WW they would give them a 10 year contract and say "make 7 or 8 games for us that improve each iteration"

I don't think anyone is expecting a game anywhere near the quality of an EA or 2K title, certainly they shouldn't be. The information about features that have trickled through all sound great and if the gameplay is fun and playable I think most will be very satisfied with that. We can't be expecting it to be the best game of 2017.

Yep, I made a point of this earlier in the thread.

If we want a decent AFL game, we need to be patient and deal with semi-decent gameplay and have it improve after.

The extra game-modes and superficial features are good to have, but I rather have a barebones game with good gameplay first, than a game with all these fancy extras with shithouse gameplay.

I am concerned they may of put too much time into these extras for this iteration, but will wait and see.

Big Ant are totally welcome to build an Aussie Rules game much like they did with Donald Bradman Cricket. If they think they can build a far better game than what Wicked Witch are putting up, there's nothing stopping them from putting their names out there. Sure, it might take a sequel to get a bigger audience, but the option is there. No point in acting like Big Ant are unable to create an Aussie Rules game, they simply can't use the AFL license.

There are two big differences here:

1) Cricket games can sell to a much bigger market than AFL
2) Bradman does not compete against anything else, in particular not against anything with official licences (aside for the Ashes 2013 debacle...). Big Ant could put up the most amazing most amazing AFL game ever but if it's unlicensed it'd probably still sell less than a licensed piece of crap

I mean we have no choice but to give this new game a shot. WW has been a lot better with community interaction this time (although not at the same level as BA).

Everyone talks about budgets when comparing the big titles to local AFL and Cricket titles.
But if you treat FIFA overall as a project, you have had the same company working night and day since 1995 on the game. So when we look at where FIFA and other sports games are today, its not necessarily just massive budgets that help (although they do) its the ability to continuously build on previous work to make the next game even better.

Even if you apply a reset for next gen consoles (as game engines are rebuilt after a while), FIFA are still 4 years into project development (as old as the console itself).

The AFL however have shuffled around between BigAnt, IRGurus, WW and EA over the years. The last time they gave a company multiple years to build the project was IR Gurus (2003-2007) and AFL 2007 was a pretty good game for its time (not to mention it built on the areas of previous games too).

If the AFL were serious about having a solid video game project and they believed enough in WW they would give them a 10 year contract and say "make 7 or 8 games for us that improve each iteration"

Well, Wicked Witch have already been making AFL games for almost 10 years. They started in 2009 with Challenge, which was suppose to be a mobile game. That was such a shonky deal they were even unsatisfied with. I disagree AFL Premiership 2007 was good, it was like all the IR Gurus games before it with the "kick, mark, goal" gameplay. AFL Live 1 was the first time a Football game had been made with any sort of resemblance to real Footy, and that was just one iteration. Imagine a second or a third one, it would have been far better. If The AFL were serious, they would have given Big Ant the licence and assistance with funding, not give Wicked Witch another shot after Live 2. Clearly they're going for the cheaper developer. Although, well see how Evolution does. It's a bit of stretch to say Big Ant are going to have egg on their face, when this is 6 years after Live 1, and we don't even know if it's even going to match it. The grub kicking and selling the dummy component looks promising, though.

The EA NHL games don't build on anything unfortunately. They basically just update the rosters and claim to have new features that were previously in the series that were taken away a few years ago. They're are garbage. Let's hope that the AFL series doesn't go like that

HD Trailer

The depth of field really irks me, hopefully it won't be as prominent in-game.

Secondly, I feel the Gary Ablett evade clip is an ode to the old leaked footage of AFL Live 1 when the beta footage was released of him doing similar, nice reference!

Very small detail, but if anyone was wondering there isn't any special animations

Attachments

• 18009825_1676900408990895_1279743680_n.jpg
    18009825_1676900408990895_1279743680_n.jpg
    54.3 KB · Views: 6

That's the point a lot of us made when Tru Blu made Wicked Witch take over. For a first game, and one that was always meant to be a base game to build on, AFL 1 was amazing. It got so many things right. Yeah the graphics weren't great and there was only 1 season mode, but they nailed the gameplay like no other AFL game ever had. In their first effort, Big Ant made the definitive AFL game in terms of gameplay. Something that Wicked Witch are still trying to equal in their 4th/5th(?) attempt.

When people rag on the "Big Ant should be making AFL" crew, they look at AFL 1 and see an incomplete product and howl everything down because it had a few issues. No shit it had issues. There was no reward for being first to the ball, or for being in front in a marking contest. But at the core, it was a bloody fun game that reflected the scrappy contested nature of current day AFL. Handballs were not only effective, but for the first time in an AFL game they were necessary. As annoying as the negatives were, the positives far outweighed them. In general, the gameplay was so good that people still play it 6 years later.

Again, this is what Big Ant were aiming for, and what we thought we were getting with AFL 1 before Tru Blu shifted the goalposts. We could be on our third iteration of a Big Ant AFL game by now, but instead we're still hoping that a brand new "ground up" game will be a decent base. We're back where we were in 2010, just with prettier face scans.

Going back to the "Dirty Ball", does this mean that the in game weather changes play (eg raining = less ball control)?

Well, Wicked Witch have already been making AFL games for almost 10 years. They started in 2009 with Challenge, which was suppose to be a mobile game. That was such a shonky deal they were even unsatisfied with. I disagree AFL Premiership 2007 was good, it was like all the IR Gurus games before it with the "kick, mark, goal" gameplay. AFL Live 1 was the first time a Football game had been made with any sort of resemblance to real Footy, and that was just one iteration. Imagine a second or a third one, it would have been far better. If The AFL were serious, they would have given Big Ant the licence and assistance with funding, not give Wicked Witch another shot after Live 2. Clearly they're going for the cheaper developer. Although, well see how Evolution does. It's a bit of stretch to say Big Ant are going to have egg on their face, when this is 6 years after Live 1, and we don't even know if it's even going to match it. The grub kicking and selling the dummy component looks promising, though.
DBC 17 and RLL 3 more or less show us where a Live 3 with big ant would have been and I think big ant are still yet to deliver the full package. Stuff like presentation for instance isn't priority 1 but it's something big ant fail miserably at even 6 or 7 years into their sports games

Live 1 was meant to be a foundation to build off of and while it was a great foundation I think their games since have shown that there are areas where big ant still can't deliver

I like that WW have gone for the full package with Evolution and if the gameplay is good it'll be on par or even ahead of where big ant is with rugby and cricket

AFL evolution is a stupid name though. Just call it AFL 17 so we can look forward to it every year.

I like the name, I think they want to distance themselves from other versions of the game whether that be on ps2 or PS3/x360 either developed by them or by big ant. They want to evolve the AFL game virtually.