AFL is on the decline - the younger generation is just not that into you

I find it odd so many richmond supporters are not fans of the game given their team is the reigning premier.

When the Hawks were winning flags en masse, their supporters loved every aspect of it.

If you are referring to me i suggest you read my post again.

I am saying that the younger generation does not share the passion of the game of my generation

Just one sentence to sum this up.

This has been said every year for the last 20 and it doesnt happen.

Record crowds, both TV and live last season.

When you take into account

1. Smaller venues
2. Less games less teams
3. Lower population

More people went to games in 1980, than in 2017.

In 1980, the VFL was played in the states of Victoria and NSW.
The population of NSW and Victoria in 1980 was about 8.4 million people
The total crowds for the 1980 season 3.8 million people.
On Average, 4.5 out of every ten people went to a vfl game in 1980

In 2017, the AFL was a true national competition
The population of Australia in 2017 was 24.8 million
Total crowds for the 2017 season about 7.3 million ( best ever )
On Average 3 out of every ten people went to an AFL game in 2017

So even though there were less teams, and smaller venues on average, You were 50% more likely to go to the footy in 1980, when compared to 2017. More or less.

1. Smaller venues
2. Less games less teams
3. Lower population

So even though there were less teams, and smaller venues on average, You were 50% more likely to go to the footy in 1980, when compared to 2017. More or less.
Bit of a furphy to call it completely national. How much opportunity does the NT, FNQ and tassie have to go to games?

Although as a business you would 100% be happy with getting 33% of 24mil as opposed to 45% of 8 mill.

1. Smaller venues
2. Less games less teams
3. Lower population

Love to see the figures for WAFL & SANFL back then compared to the SA & WA sides now.

Thread is fine and worthy of discussion - articulated well and not just another 'old fart whingeing' OP so no need to treat it as such.

I'm in my mid-twenties and have lost interest - maybe because I have other responsibilities now, but I genuinely struggle to sit through 4 quarters of any game ('yeah yeah lol I would too if I were a Carlton fan lel'). I actually enjoy the news (if it's worthy), discussing, the off-season, I play locally and have a very keen interests in a variety of local leagues, also don't mind popping my head in the VFL; so I still love the sport. But when it comes to watching a full game start to finish of AFL; half the time I am struggling to keep up with what free kick is being paid, who a lot of the players are and getting annoyed by the commentators make it all about themselves.

And don't start me with this weird push to commodify the living **** out of it. Drawing ideas from the Superbowl and trying to make AFL similar - are you serious? The Yanks are obsessed with loud noises, fireworks and gawking at celebrities; Australians have never had that in their culture so stop trying to make us enjoy it, we don't care, neither will the younger generation.

It is harder to enjoy the overall sport when your team is rubbish though.

I find the pre game garbage, and during the breaks, makes me sit there and think "do I need this shit".
Back in the day, I remember the conversations of thousands of people hung low in the air and that was it. I dont give a rats toss bag about some hoe from Narre Warren in the crowd guessing who wears what number or whatever being blasted across the P.A
Add a very liberal dose of betting adds and constant flashing ads on the boundary and yeah...."do I need this shit?" .

1. Smaller venues
2. Less games less teams
3. Lower population

Very naive perspective. In fact I'd go as far as saying short-sighted analysis.

1.Both the SA and WA stadium are sold out every week.
There would def be another 10k tickets sold to most of the games if possible.

2. The increase in TV ownership and coverage quality has meant a lot of people watch from home that wouldnt have had access or chosen to in 1980.

3. Prices are more expensive comparatively, keeping some lower income people from being able to attend.

There's about 10 more reasons that what you said is hugely short-sighted...but I cant be bothered typing them all out.

I find the pre game garbage, and during the breaks, makes me sit there and think "do I need this shit".
Back in the day, I remember the conversations of thousands of people hung low in the air and that was it. I dont give a rats toss bag about some hoe from Narre Warren in the crowd guessing who wears what number or whatever being blasted across the P.A
Add a very liberal dose of betting adds and constant flashing ads on the boundary and yeah...."do I need this shit?" .

If you wanna see good football at a good venue with a league that is run somewhat competently and your club to survive, yes you do need that shit.

2017 Queensland & Northern Rivers Participation Highlights

• Overall participants – 252,624 (up 10.21 per cent)
  • Community club participants – 29,525 (up 6.2 per cent)
  • Senior community club participants – 8,045 (up 11.27 per cent)
  • AFL Queensland Schools Cup teams – 521 (up 102 teams)
  • Schools program participants – 144,173 (up 18.35%)
  • Roy’s Junior Footy & Superstars Under 6 Match Program participants – 1632 (up 57 per cent)
  • A 10.47 per cent growth in AFL9s
  • Accredited umpires – 1,234
  • Accredited coaches – 1,125
Female Participation

• Total female participants – 100,841 (up 16 per cent)
  • New female community club teams – 70 (up 39 per cent)
  • Females now account for 39.9 per cent of all Queensland and Northern Rivers participants
  • Female NAB AFL Auskick participants – 8,526 (up four per cent)

http://www.aflq.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/2017-AFLQ-Participation-1.pdf

If you are referring to me i suggest you read my post again.

I am saying that the younger generation does not share the passion of the game of my generation
more some of the recent posts.

though i'd query your thoughts on the younger generation.
as an avid draft watcher, the junior levels are doing quite well for participation.

the passion is there. might be a little different these days, but no less enthusiastic imo

Very naive perspective. In fact I'd go as far as saying short-sighted analysis.

1.Both the SA and WA stadium are sold out every week.
There would def be another 10k tickets sold to most of the games if possible.

2. The increase in TV ownership and coverage quality has meant a lot of people watch from home that wouldnt have had access or chosen to in 1980.

3. Prices are more expensive comparatively, keeping some lower income people from being able to attend.

There's about 10 more reasons that what you said is hugely short-sighted...but I cant be bothered typing them all out.

There are about 10 reasons I could quote that my numbers are actually flattering and make the crowd numbers in 1980 worse than they actually are.

Not the least of which is the fact that in 1980, only 4 games were played in NSW, compared to 25 in 2017.

If I really wanted to I could frank back the population of NSW in 1980 to only the 4 weeks NSW actually have a chance to watch footy in NSW, but I didnt.

This would make the numbers look far far worse for 2017.

In any case the fact remains, on average you were 50% more likely to go to an AFL game in 1980 than you were in 2017, more or less.

And that doesn't take into account the smaller grounds , and less games that were on i 1980 when compared to 2017.

2017 Queensland & Northern Rivers Participation Highlights

• Overall participants – 252,624 (up 10.21 per cent)
  • Community club participants – 29,525 (up 6.2 per cent)
  • Senior community club participants – 8,045 (up 11.27 per cent)
  • AFL Queensland Schools Cup teams – 521 (up 102 teams)
  • Schools program participants – 144,173 (up 18.35%)
  • Roy’s Junior Footy & Superstars Under 6 Match Program participants – 1632 (up 57 per cent)
  • A 10.47 per cent growth in AFL9s
  • Accredited umpires – 1,234
  • Accredited coaches – 1,125
Female Participation

• Total female participants – 100,841 (up 16 per cent)
  • New female community club teams – 70 (up 39 per cent)
  • Females now account for 39.9 per cent of all Queensland and Northern Rivers participants
  • Female NAB AFL Auskick participants – 8,526 (up four per cent)

http://www.aflq.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/2017-AFLQ-Participation-1.pdf

if you compared these numbers with soccer participation in these areas the AFL would be embarrassed at the revelations

Admittedly, im not a fan either. the auskickers @ HT is enough for me.
Previous quarter highlights would be alright for the breaks.
The whole game show style thing isn't my bag, but it might be for others, and i can just ignore it.

+1 :thumbsu:

The Rugby World Cup is always good value, but the constantly shifty makeup of the Rugby Union Super competition has never been a good look. I'd only get interested if I moved to New Zealand.

I grew up in Rugby League territory, so became highly fluent. But my interest has waned over the past decade, I'll tune in for the final series and maybe bits of Origin but that's about it. Growing up in the culture, in school and the newspapers, was a major reason why I got interested, as well as things like beach footy. Whenever the Canberra Raiders make the finals I bandwagon fiercely, but otherwise it's a passing interest.

A fact of getting older is that you don't have as much time available for spectator sports as you once did, or interests have diversified. I used to be a fierce follower of the Tour de France from the late 90s through early 10s, but coupled with increasing dislike for late nights, I seldom watch it nowadays.
Oddly New Zealand dont and never did need Super Rugby much. We did as we never had a viable professional 2nd tier league and lack the support for one.
New Zealand could easily return the focus to the NPC and South Africa to the Currie Cup. It'll probably happen. The Waratahs draw paltry crowds while the fans have returned to the Sydney club comp.
The last thing you'd want to do right now is jump from the AFL to Rugby.

if you compared these numbers with soccer participation in these areas the AFL would be embarrassed at the revelations
yeh as would a lot of other areas across the country.
end of the day, there is growth. its the long game...generational

Absolutely correct and have said this a number of times.
The AFL has traded a committed supporter base for a larger "passive" supporter base. Financially that makes sense obviously. But it means you have to keep working for the next new trend or gimmick to keep the fans engaged because its not about the game.

Now has the AFL got it wrong, or just did what they had to do based on the modern culture? Probably a bit of both.

But there is no doubt that the game has fundamentally changed in terms of tactics and players because of professionalism, to the point where it is essentially a different sport to what it was a generation ago. And much as we oldies want to, it will never go back.

That amount of change means they are in a twilight zone between the 'old days' and a new environment that hasnt been bedded down yet (witness the constant tweaking of the rules). Hopefully the game can find a balance where they can leave it alone for a decade and let the spectators feel there is some stability.

Now, about those "commentators".......
Well said mate.

If you wanna see good football at a good venue with a league that is run somewhat competently and your club to survive, yes you do need that shit.
are you for real?
do you seriously believe footy needs loud music/PA announcements, flashing lights and fireworks to survive?
how does all this superficial rubbish translate to "good football"?

Falling interest in AFL from the younger generation so they try and test out AFLX to bring kids back into it and appeal to them. Everyone loses their minds.

Damned if you do and damned if you don't.

AFL is on the decline - the younger generation is just not that into you