AFL Members' feedback wanted please

MCC > AFL membership
Was really only making a comparison to a standard club membership. More than sure that a MCC membership has its advantages and suits many people.

Not sure how useful it would be if your club plays the majority of its games at Docklands (or Skilled etc etc).

The MCC has a recipical rights arrangement with Docklands' Access1 membership. Also, a lot of the clubs have a MCC membership category which has entry to the non-MCG home games. And now there is the 3 game memberships.

The AFL Members census has been conducted every year for the past decade or so. It is supposed to go to every member, but there have been one or two years when I or my sons didn’t get it. Increasingly, though, the questions asked get more and more meaningless.

For a few years they did ask for members’ pre-booking preferences. It's been a while since they published the census results but here is their report on that part of the 2003 census (which may be the last time they published the results):
"Members were asked to select their preference for attending matches throughout the home and away season at the MCG:
- I like to book seats in advance for most/all matches I attend: 19.5%
- I like to book seats in advance for 'Big Drawing' matches only: 35.9%
- I prefer to just arrive at matches and find a seat: 44.2%"

Using these figures shouldn’t 44.2% of the seats in the Reserve be available for walk-up only? I would have thought so. Just because the majority want one thing doesn’t mean they shouldn’t also cater for the (quite large) minority. (In that same census report they told us that 39.4%, ie not a majority, thought “More reserved seating should be made available.”)

I remember seeing last years results and the majority of people now want to book seats for big games and finals. I know my attitude has changed since that time.

What annoys me is tickets go on sale 4-8 weeks before the game. Makes it hard to organise tickets for friends and family so far out. Why cant they go on sale two weeks before the game?

The MCC has a recipical rights arrangement with Docklands' Access1 membership. Also, a lot of the clubs have a MCC membership category which has entry to the non-MCG home games. And now there is the 3 game memberships.
Thanks for that. Wasn't aware of those arrangments. Was probably trying to make the point that different types of membership suit different people for different reasons.

I bought an AFL membership this year thinking I'd drop in after work to a few blockbuster friday night games etc, boy what was I thinking!

what a waste of money. I ended up falling back on my club membership - better seats, no booking fee, etc.

I learned that the AFL membership is for fans of no club and those with money to burn.

Its a joke and I wont be renewing next year.
HAHAAHHA

You have NO clue

AFL membership is the best.

I have GUARANTERED GF tickets every year.

And it's a 10 minute process to book my tickets for the year

Why ar you complaining that it doesnt cater to you wanting to rock up and just see a blockbuster like its nothing.

Please, drop off, makes it even better for us who have it

I have both AFL and MCC memberships. They are also both full memberships.
I get annoyed with Etihad at times and not being able to just rock up and get a seat first in best dressed style but apart from that I love the AFL.

On top of that I always get good seats to prelim finals and have always been able to get grand final seats. I have never been unable to get seats to a grand final if I wanted them.

The only reason I keep the MCC is I don't want circumstances to change in 5 years and wish I had it back. So basically I fork out 500 bucks each year to go to a couple of games.
The most annoying thing about the MCC is 1 person getting there at 5 and claiming 20 seats. So by the time I get there 90 mins before the game the entire 1st level is taken up and all good top level seats taken. It's ridiculous and they never police it.

I got a great seat in the ballot this year though so I might go or just sell it if I can find a buyer with a membership.

My 2c: I signed up for AFL membership, upgrading from a 11 game club member at the end of 2006. I have to admit it was moreso just to get along & see other games as I'm a footy junkie, & after our terrible season in '06, wanted to go see other games quickly, cheaply & without ques! Additionally, i remember the information sheet telling me every AFL member who had wanted to go to the past 3 Grand Finals had been able to! Of course, those were the 3 all-interstate GF's!

Anyway, I've loved AFL membership - think its great, & wouldn't go back! I really only pre-book for the big blockbuster games at the G & the Reserved Seat games at the Dome. Yeah, I find the extra $6 sting frustrating, but its worth it for a decent seat at a huge game. Vast majority of the games at the G I've had no trouble finding a good seat getting there just 20 mins before the game. What other major world sport could you walk-up, scan in & easily find a seat in for the first 2 weeks of a finals series?
I haven't been able to get tix in the AFL reserve for a GF yet, but obviously with the Vic teams back in power, the Full members take up all the allocation, which is fair enough. 2 out of the 3 GF's I've been lucky in the ballot draw!
I got the survey via e-mail a few weeks ago, too. And in terms of the facilities, hopefully the recent announcement of the Southern Stand upgrade will include the AFL reserve sections. I agree that they lack behind the other, newer stands.

Was hoping to gain some feedback from fellow AFL members, preferably full members.

I recently raised some issues I had with the AFL membership department.

My main query was wanting to know

a) the overall capacity of the AFL members reserve

b) the amount of GF tickets issued to full AFL members

Of course they were unable to provide me with an answer on the spot and I doubt that they'll get back to me so if anyone can shed some light it would be greatly appreciated.

Another issue I raised is that it's rare these days to not have to go through some form of pre booking process / payment just to attend an AFL match (unless of course it's Freo v Melb at the G etc etc).

I let them know that no matter how big the game, my prefernce would be to rock up early and get a seat that way, the old first in best dressed system.

The response I got was that "the majority of members have said they prefer to pre book"

Is this the case?

And further to that, if the only reason the AFL now pre sells tickets is because that's "what the members want" why do they also charge us $126 for a GF ticket when it used to be free, did the members also "overwhelmingly" vote for this?

And what's the "members census" that they kept referring to, has anyone seen this?

Basically the AFL is double, triple & in some instances quadruple dipping.

Disgraceful treatment of it's own members from an organistion that prides itself on being a 'leader' in it's field.

I joined this year and think its fantastic value - went to all Pies games and also some neutral games and 4 finals in the 1st 2 weeks of finals. Fantastic value!!!!!

prebooking does essentially increase the cost of the AFL membership..

especially being a collingwood supporter, i prebook probably 8-10 games a year.. thats probably an extra $60 or so....

i mainly book for peace of mind... some games i probably would be able to attend without booking but would not have access to good seats unless i get there very early, which quite frankly, i am not keen on doing. i like to get to the game as close to the first bounce as possible.

would i prefer to not prebook? yeah, if i can have some guarantee of turning up and getting a seat that isn't past row T or so in level Q.

what shits me is that prebooking is more expensive than it used to be.
essentially we have already paid for the seats, all we should have to pay is the ticketek booking fee, which should be per transaction, not per ticket.

ie. if i'm booking 5 seats, i should only have to pay $6, not $36

AFL Membership sucks when you barrack for Collingwood and Essendon. Maybe Carlton. And when you make finals because you're paying extra on top of extra.

But if you've supported Richmond or Melbourne for the last 5 years or so it kicks complete ass.

have been an AFL member for 15 odd years and a full member for over 10 and its the best membership for footy followers rather than club followers i get to go to all my clubs Melbourne games rather than just their home games i also get to go to the footy with my wife and kids, saint supporter all afl members, and they get to go to carlton games with no issues at all. pre booking tickets is bit of a sting but with young kids means we can get there 10 minutes before the games starts with no worries of getting good seats.

AFL > (daylight) > Club membership

I’m a full member, joined in 96, must say there is a lot more booking seats the last few years then there was when we first joined however the cost ain’t to bad at about $6 booking fee.

Love to be able to go to most games with the membership and all finals are easy enough to get tickets to including the grand final as a full member although this year we missed out with the pies being involved. Probably a good thing though as I couldn’t think of a worse place to be if they do get up on Saturday.

Interesting point about the payment of the grand final ticket, i always thought there was some payment attached to it and it just seems to have increased the last few years like everything else has.

However have to say it is the best membership if you like seeing other teams play and almost guarantees you a grand final ticket if your team makes it and you are club support... now just have to wait for that to happen....

Well I've learnt the following:

a) AFL memberships are great if you're a neutral supporter, don't follow Essendon/Collingwood, Essendon/Collingwood don't make the GF

b) the AFL doesn't give a rats tossbag about loyal (pre 1995) members as there is an abundance of newbies who, not knowing how good the service once was, are more then willing to fork out for the current service.

Cheers all

The best part about pre-booking is you can go drink at a pub before the game instead of inside the ground at double price from a plastic cup. Also makes it a shit load easier for Friday night games.

Ive been a full AFL Member for about 10 years and I definitely prefer to pre-book a seat for the big games. I would HATE to see the AFL members area go down the same path as the MCC and have to get to games 6 hours early to line up for a seat. Id rather pay the $5.50 and sit on my arse at home, then get to the game half an hour before the game starts.

Full AFL membership is capped at 30,000 members and last year only 1,000 full members didn't renew. At that rate it would take 19 years for a Silver Member to become a full member. (there are currently 19,000 Silver Members)

How do you find out how many full members renew each season?

Been a full member since '06. I attempted to purchase GF tickets online on Monday. Logged on at 9am and had no luck trying to purchase 2 tickets. Kept trying but the system wouldn't allocate any tickets. Did anyone else have this experience on Monday???

Well I've learnt the following:

a) AFL memberships are great if you're a neutral supporter, don't follow Essendon/Collingwood, Essendon/Collingwood don't make the GF

b) the AFL doesn't give a rats tossbag about loyal (pre 1995) members as there is an abundance of newbies who, not knowing how good the service once was, are more then willing to fork out for the current service.

Cheers all

As a Collingwood Club Support full member I think it would be extremely hard to find a better deal then pay for your AFL membership ($450 odd in my case) and then pre-book all 17-18 Victorian games if need be. At the absolute most you would be looking at paying $550 (combining yearly fee plus the $6 per reserved seat per game) for premium seats on centre wing for the home and away season. I haven't done any research but I doubt there would be a better membership with the club themselves for that money. And being a full member it took me all of 5 minutes combined to get PF and GF tickets this year.

Been a full member since '06. I attempted to purchase GF tickets online on Monday. Logged on at 9am and had no luck trying to purchase 2 tickets. Kept trying but the system wouldn't allocate any tickets. Did anyone else have this experience on Monday???

I purchased a couple for a mate on Monday morning and managed to get two seats in M17 for him.

nope camped out at ticketek was second in line got M17 row E.

Yep. My old man was also about 40th in the queue at the outlet in Exhibition street and we still missed out.

Additionally, i remember the information sheet telling me every AFL member who had wanted to go to the past 3 Grand Finals had been able to! Of course, those were the 3 all-interstate GF's!
For two years in a row the information sheets had the claim that every Full AFL member who had wanted to go to the past 3 Grand Finals had been able to!

There’s a reason why the second year’s sheet wasn’t updated to ‘past 4 Grand Finals’: the claim made the first time wasn’t correct.

AFL Members' feedback wanted please