AFL Premier Division - 2011 Season

congrats to noosa, who were much better on the day.

palmy looked out of touch, fumbling and making stupid turnovers.

i think noosa would have won anyway, but the umpires ruined a good opportunity for a good hard local game of footy. i think you would need to do something pretty horrid to be red carded in a grand final, why not yellow card them, report them and let the tribubal sort it out.

obrien has commented that he will never coach in this league again. judging on what went on yesterday, i don't think we would want him back. was like a spoilt child.

the biff all started when noosa player kneed either those 2 midfielders and it was on. after that palmy lost the plot and noosa were just too good. the game was well over at qtr time even when a palmy fan came out and started abusing the umpires in front of their faces at qtr time and 29 was the number he was telling them and that is tromphy

dukes bog, durden had a better game easily

the game was a rather disappointing game, fitting how those 2 were going

It was actually a consequence of Tromphy kneeing Horn in the head in the middle of the ground - was pretty ordinary but seen alot worse. In any case he left the ground as part of his rotation and when he came back on, the first time he went near it the PBC boys swamped him. Unfortunately there was just dumb footy at work here and lead by the bench. The only one who looked half in control was Beaufoy. It was actually laughable IMO. I agree that a yellow card would have been a far more reasonable conclusion (esp being a GF). Not sure but i think O'Brien snubbed his nose at the whole red card of himself anyway by coming back onto the ground to coach, etc. Gave a goal away by doing so.

The saddest thing was that Hewat and Hards could have broken their legs in the 1st qrt - do you throw the towel in bc that happens or do you get out and try to rectify the situation?? Was a GF lost by the bench IMO because that is where the lack of discipline started and just naturally carried over to the playing group (not all mind you).

next year the league has to pick a venue and set it in place as the grand final venue. lack of atmosphere yesterday. probably got a bit spoilt after last year maybe, expecting a classic grand final this year

Surprises me they don't do this Damo - should be held at Yeronga I reckon every year no matter who is playing. Most ppl will travel for GF but not necessarily 2hrs. Provides an unfair advantage i reckon. I know Noosa would have been more than happy to play the GF at Grange again.

saying this i think the Roos made a mozza out of yesterday so thanks to everyone who came...:D

S36.. - 100% agree re comments on O'Brien. well said. Just another AFL w***er who thinks his shite doesn't stink bc he has decided to grace our presence with his AFL scent. Give me your down to earth Benny Matthews any time.

Congrats to Noosa for the winning the Flag and Congrats to Sandgate ressies for their win . Both fully deserved their win.

I agree about a permanent nuetral ground for the GF, Yeronga would be a good choice, good facilities not to mention Aflq's headquarters based there.

Yeah i was at the PBC huddle at that time Damo - probably wasn't the smartest thing the Noosa guys did all day but the old saying winners are grinners I spose. PBC just needed to suck it up.

firstly, 100% disagree that the GF should be at a pre determined neutral ground. We raised a substantial amount of cash on Saturday, why should that cash go to another club not in our division or straight to AFLQ?

We made as much as we did becuase we were invested alot of time into planning, had 30 plus volunteers helping out from 9am to 6pm and have the facilities that allowed to generate alot of money. Our grounds are the fairest in the league for both home and away, with coaches boxes and rooms being completly equal. Also, not sure if you had a chance to get onto the pitch, but I would doubt if another club could get there grass as good as what the council turned out for Saturday.

I wasn't at the GF last year, but I know we turned over almost 50% more than grange (according to someone from aflq), so that would inidicate that there were more people there Saturday. Maybe becuase we have a bigger ground they are spread out more, hence less atmosphere. Also, I am sure if it was a close game from the start people would have been more vocal, plus alot of people left at 3/4 time.

Maybe the clubs need to get together and work out a way of distributing profits equally to all clubs in the league (so long as everyone supports on the day), rather than whoever is lucky enough to get the GF making all the money.

It was disappointing to see the sandgate supporters bus leave at 2.00pm, surprised they wouldn't stick around to watch the grand final.

Re: Noosa to win

Serious? Grand final, plenty at stake and you think Palmy will go the knuckle because that's what they usually do!! Mate not sure the last game you went to, but when the chips are down not 1 of the 44 blokes taking the field will take a backward step! So to single out palmy is rubbish. No one will discount tempers will fly, they always do, two very proud clubs going after the big prize, so go back and re think your comments, then post something educated.

I rest my case!!! U still think I have to re think my comments? It wasnt just your players this time, even your coach.. HAHAHA

At least in the ressies GF Sandgate and the Magpies played the game in
the spirit it should be played. Is it my imagination or do the coast based
teams play a ill-tempered style of football. Not surprised that it was a
slugfest and senior coaches should be setting an example on behaviour.
Good riddance from the PHC.

firstly, 100% disagree that the GF should be at a pre determined neutral ground. We raised a substantial amount of cash on Saturday, why should that cash go to another club not in our division or straight to AFLQ?

We made as much as we did becuase we were invested alot of time into planning, had 30 plus volunteers helping out from 9am to 6pm and have the facilities that allowed to generate alot of money. Our grounds are the fairest in the league for both home and away, with coaches boxes and rooms being completly equal. Also, not sure if you had a chance to get onto the pitch, but I would doubt if another club could get there grass as good as what the council turned out for Saturday.

I wasn't at the GF last year, but I know we turned over almost 50% more than grange (according to someone from aflq), so that would inidicate that there were more people there Saturday. Maybe becuase we have a bigger ground they are spread out more, hence less atmosphere. Also, I am sure if it was a close game from the start people would have been more vocal, plus alot of people left at 3/4 time.

Maybe the clubs need to get together and work out a way of distributing profits equally to all clubs in the league (so long as everyone supports on the day), rather than whoever is lucky enough to get the GF making all the money.

It was disappointing to see the sandgate supporters bus leave at 2.00pm, surprised they wouldn't stick around to watch the grand final.

The bus left after the score in the Senior game was 52 to 0. So effectively the game was over! Why would Sandgate supporters want to stay around when the two's had just won flag, watch a game with two sides that have nothing to do with them? We all paid our 8 bucks, and bought beers and food during the two's game supporting the host. We all just wanted to get back to our own club and celebrate a great win.

Agree that the funds from a day like the GF should probably be spread among the other clubs. Bit rough that a club can make an extra say $20k that no one else has the chance to. Neutral venue probably makes this easier to do. Having said that, both Grange last year and Maroochy this year did an excellent job hosting it.

Obviously extremly dissappointed in the result on the weekend. Noosa were head and shoulders above the boys. Will not go in to the umpires, but I think everyone will agree it robbed all of what SHOULD have been a fantastic game. Full credit to the manner in which the Noosa boys conducted themselves after the game, I know first hand they have a lot of respect for the palmy lads and wwould agree that it wasnt the way a grand final should be played. Still nothing away from the club up north all they could do was play, and they did that perfectly. Enjoy

[/b]

The bus left after the score in the Senior game was 52 to 0. So effectively the game was over! Why would Sandgate supporters want to stay around when the two's had just won flag, watch a game with two sides that have nothing to do with them? We all paid our 8 bucks, and bought beers and food during the two's game supporting the host. We all just wanted to get back to our own club and celebrate a great win.

Agree that the funds from a day like the GF should probably be spread among the other clubs. Bit rough that a club can make an extra say $20k that no one else has the chance to. Neutral venue probably makes this easier to do. Having said that, both Grange last year and Maroochy this year did an excellent job hosting it.

i can understand wanting to get back to your club to celebrate the 2s winning a well deserved flag, i just thought it was disappointing that as a club you would send up a bus and it leave before qtr time in the seniors.

to me, it shows a lack of respect for the competition, that you wouldn't be atleast interested, or respectful enough to stick around and watch the seniors play out the final, then hit the road back to the club house.

In saying that, apart from stealing a stop/go sign, Sandgate did pay entry and purchase drinks over the bar, and from what i could judge were well behaved.

Also, kudos to the Sandgate supporter who put Brendan Wulf in his place at 3/4 time. Certainly put a smile on some weiry volunteers after hearing the story from the far can bar staff after the presentations.

s364376;22236075[B said:
]i can understand wanting to get back to your club to celebrate the 2s winning a well deserved flag, i just thought it was disappointing that as a club you would send up a bus and it leave before qtr time in the seniors.[/B]

to me, it shows a lack of respect for the competition, that you wouldn't be atleast interested, or respectful enough to stick around and watch the seniors play out the final, then hit the road back to the club house.

In saying that, apart from stealing a stop/go sign, Sandgate did pay entry and purchase drinks over the bar, and from what i could judge were well behaved.

Also, kudos to the Sandgate supporter who put Brendan Wulf in his place at 3/4 time. Certainly put a smile on some weiry volunteers after hearing the story from the far can bar staff after the presentations.

Geez mate, you win a flag, your seniors arent playing, youve won, got your medals, sang your song and then are expected to hang around and watch teams you probably have nothing to do with and feel your doing the right tining!! Have you won a flag before?? Its all about your team and teams mates. Good on them for going and getting back to THEIR club and spending their money there. They won, they deserve to celebrate were ever they choose. Not get their adrenilin up and then sit back and watch 2 teams they have nothing to do with.

was talking about the supporters mate, not the players.

anyway, so they get their adrenalin up, then sit in a car and drive back to brisbane for an hour, then get shitfaced.

like i said, i just found it disappointing that as footballers, who played in the league (the guys on the bus were the sandgate seniors and mates etc), they wouldn't want to hang around and watch what was going to be a cracking game of footy. i understand the game was over at qtr time, but from what the bus driver said he was pre booked to leave at 2.30pm, so no matter the score was they were always leaving to go back.

the gf should be played at a central venue and it should be set in place at the start of the season. but common sense thinking should be used in that. but than again we are talking about the local league here

who gets the money from the central venue?

who organises the day so that profit is maximised?

what if noosa play maroochydore, or palmy play surfers, would it still be yeronga?

alot of holes in your theory champ.

i would prefer the system they have now, with maybe the exception that profits need to be spread between all the clubs, so long as all the clubs put in and supply volunteers to help out on the day as we had 30 plus people donating there time plus all of the pre planning etc that went into ensuring everything went well.

medal presentations where ordinary, no stand and no sound, is that maroochy's effort due to being busy counting there money from the day?

Losing hards early was a huge set back, ball magnet and tough player, losing hewatt on the other hand! should have lost him at the airport on the way up, sent of twice against noosa this year both for weak shots, expected from someone who sits out wide in the contests also.

Hat off to noosa ruckman, tromph, got PBC off their game, stood face on to 2 or 3 guys swinging at him and just laughed and encouraged them! almost worthy of a new aged "rope a dope" , only he didnt need to throw a punch.

PBC have some quality people and young players coming through, will be a force again next year, the weekend was a clear show off strength from Noosa, who have strength to boot, They saved there best for last.

good luck to them, 2012 will be red hot, is there a points system?

i can understand wanting to get back to your club to celebrate the 2s winning a well deserved flag, i just thought it was disappointing that as a club you would send up a bus and it leave before qtr time in the seniors.

What happened there mate? Wulfy certainly had a bit to say to the PBC huddle at 3/4 time on the way thru...:D

Hear what you are saying S36... but not sure any side should have a natural advantage in a GF. If Noosa had lost their 2nd semi then the game wasn't going to be at Maroochy but at Surfers - thats just as ridiculous IMO. I think this GF should always be played out of Brisbane TBH, even if it is 2 coast sides (north or south). Is central and far likelier to get the neutral supporter to attend and fairer. Bit like saying the GF should be played at the Gabba if the Lions finish on top...

Agree with this, and I reckon supporters, club staff and senior players are exactly the same. When a club wins, even those not involved directly with playing are a part of it, and cant see why not watching a game between two clubs is disrespectful. There are clubs in our comp whose reserves dont hang around in the normal season to watch their own seniors play, been a few empty club houses when I have been watching senior games this year.

Going on the theory that senior players should show an interest in the GF, are all the other clubs who had nothing to do with the final disrespecting the comp by not driving up to watch the game?

medal presentations where ordinary, no stand and no sound, is that maroochy's effort due to being busy counting there money from the day?

Losing hards early was a huge set back, ball magnet and tough player, losing hewatt on the other hand! should have lost him at the airport on the way up, sent of twice against noosa this year both for weak shots, expected from someone who sits out wide in the contests also.

Hat off to noosa ruckman, tromph, got PBC off their game, stood face on to 2 or 3 guys swinging at him and just laughed and encouraged them! almost worthy of a new aged "rope a dope" , only he didnt need to throw a punch.

PBC have some quality people and young players coming through, will be a force again next year, the weekend was a clear show off strength from Noosa, who have strength to boot, They saved there best for last.

good luck to them, 2012 will be red hot, is there a points system?

Ah yes classic Tromphy:D Hook, line and sinker

[/B]

What happened there mate? Wulfy certainly had a bit to say to the PBC huddle at 3/4 time on the way thru...:D

Hear what you are saying S36... but not sure any side should have a natural advantage in a GF. If Noosa had lost their 2nd semi then the game wasn't going to be at Maroochy but at Surfers - thats just as ridiculous IMO. I think this GF should always be played out of Brisbane TBH, even if it is 2 coast sides (north or south). Is central and far likelier to get the neutral supporter to attend and fairer. Bit like saying the GF should be played at the Gabba if the Lions finish on top...

what he said

In relation to Craig O'Brien, wasn't he suspended by the AFL for a few weeks in his playing days (with Essendon?) when as a reserves player he followed an umpire home after a game. Can anyone else remember this?

There is no excuse for reacting to Tromphy, would have thought after playing against him for a number of years (coaches included) we would have learnt our leasson. Was at the huddle at 3/4 time and could only hear trash being spoken by both camps, but in fairness to the situation wouldnt know wulf if i fell over him, who is he? Would once again like to applaud the manner in the way the noosa boys celebrated, Not once did they rub the pbc boys nose in it, infact the was more pats on the back and arms around dejected pbc boys. Class act by Noosa, and starts at the top, so no surprises they are as successful club! Obviously a lot of respect for the boys, a few of them played together in last years rep squad so good to see some humility and grace shown when they had every right to let them know all about it, Well done.