AFL Round 18 Collingwood V Brisbane Lions Official Thread

What the hell happened after half time, it was like we were just spectating. I had hoped to get through 2009 without watching another second half capitulation like last year, simon deserved a better effort. Thank god they couldnt kick straight or it would have been even uglier. Oh well back on the bike and lets look ahead to the bombers.:mad:

I didn't see the logic in some of Voss' moves. Brown was by himself in the 50 for nearly the whole game. Merrett kicked the first goal and he should have stayed up front for all four quarters. Polkinghorne was pretty much in midfield for the game and Brennan was close to invisible. I said to myself during the week, if we were to win, Brennan had to be used as a forward but Vossy never moved him up front.

Roe and MacDonald had bad games in defence. Roe showed poor skills and Joel showed poor judgement.

Vossy has done a very good job this season but against the Pies, the team has second half fade-outs. In this particular game, he made some questionable moves and I refuse to believe that Malthouse outcoached Vossy. Vossy made bad calls but Malthouse didn't do anything outstanding from a tactical view.

We have the Dons next week and Vossy must get his forward structure right. This has been our problem post-Lynchy and Brown doesn't always get enough support.

I am also surprised Brennan wasn't moved forward. I cannot remember seeing him get a kick. 4 blokes on Brown is ridiculous.

Not a good enough team contribution - where we have improved so much is getting goals from our midfielders, we relied too much on Brown tonight and when he got shut down (triple teamed) we lost it. 4 goals kickers. Ouch.

Pretty poor second half. Disappointing game.

1. Our first year players, debutants got found out in contests. One more preseason we'll be better around contests.
2. Felt the midfield lacked direction. Too much ball watching going on.
3. Either we didnt have a plan to beat the zone or we didnt follow it for some reason. Could see McGrath trying the quick handball through the zone many times, but turnovers cost us.
4. Old habits - no one presenting for kick ins.
5. Merrett as the second target worked for 2 quarters, but strangely for the last 2 quarters it was all brown centric... that too a 4-on-1 browny. Not sure why.

Players looked flat. No initiative. I think with a top 4 spot on the line, we didnt come out firing.

Alright, roll on next week.

Ok..Bradshaw comes back next week, we need him alright :eek:

Nice work Voss...teams who were previously our bitches (Carlton and Collingwood) now have beaten us in consecutive matches :rolleyes::D:p

Against Essendon...The crap we served up..Oh dear...We might miss the finals yet again :eek:

What a disgraceful perfomance....Simon Black...Well done on your 250th but you deserved better :(

Edit: Roe's dropping a simple mark in the 1st quarter was a disgrace...probobly won't have changed the outcome of the game but wow, should never be playing ever again for the Lions

i will tell you who didnt help Roe he should never get another game again he has no clue under pressure and it's time for sheldon to go back to the twos and as for dalziell well lets just say he is happy to get the ball in the open spaces cuz he will not go for a contested one and panics when the heat is on

Kudos to Collingwood [hate to say it] but they came out after the half time and proved the better side. Tonight wasn't our night...bit like Collingwood copping a flogging against Hawthorn.

Still we led at halftime, we've blooded some impressive youngsters and we're still likely to play off in the finals.

Geelong and St Kilda falling in today. I still reckon the comp is relatively even.

Interesting comments on tonights game already.

A few things that stood out, we need more speed in the team. Out of Proud,Hooper and Harding we need one of these 3 to really stand up, it would be better if 2 of them did!

Dalziell has been found out recently, he needs to learn to win the contested footy, body shape may need to change for that to happen.

I thought the Merrett move to the forward line was a good one, but then it didn't seem like a committed one, Clark and Merrett should never have been off the ground, they should have changed at full forward and allowed Browny then to move up to CHF.

We didn't handle the zone at all, i would have loved to have had 3 other Ash McGrath's.

Roe was abysmal, he is now finished at our club!

We have to keep playing the youngsters ,it will cause us short term pain ie. early elimination from this years finals , but with that comes long term gains, just remember the players who were involved in the 1996 finals loss to Carlton.

Calls to drop anyone under 21 are a waste of time, these are the blokes we must play.

Selwood and Brennan don't look fit!

Can't believe my changes but considering we are playing Essendon next week

Out

Roe, Dalziell, Selwood,

In

Bradshaw, Proud, Notting

We got beaten all around the park in the end. Second worst loss for the year. As much as the umpiring in the third quarter pissed me off, we still wouldn't have come within earshot if the calls had been correct. Voss was outcoached tonight, and our youngsters got beaten by a team that's got a year or two more into their youngsters and it showed. Lot of bad decision making too.

Positives though, Clark again. McGrath and Sherman attempting to take the game on, which was better than most. Hawksley definitely looked solid, most of the times he came off looking bad was due to teammates not giving him any options. Wouldn't mind him holding Adcock's position for the rest of the year. Just wish we had go Johnstone in instead of Roe... probably no difference in the end, but I keep finding myself flinching when I see Roe get the ball.

Edit: Roe's dropping a simple mark in the 1st quarter was a disgrace...probobly won't have changed the outcome of the game but wow, should never be playing ever again for the Lions

To be fair to Roe, in the commentry they mentioned there was light rain before start and IIRC that was his first touch. Dropping that sitter is unacceptable but we can give him the benefit of doubt.

He did look a bit lost in the backline though.

Suck it up princess.

You're the most arrogant supporter when you're winning and the biggest sook when you're losing.

Hey tool, Rowe was only a decent player at our club you ********! He was a spud at the Pies, so you must be a spud as well! You got the better of us that is for sure, but your momentum came from 3 gifted goals courtesy of the umpires, I will let you in a on secret though, your team will drift in the finals for the next 2 years, we will overtake you and win a flag. Shit how long has it been since you tossers have one a premiership!

No more warnings, just reds from now on.

man wish we could get some of this stuff on our board, collingwood supporters did about 200 of these posts in our gameday thread and the insipid mods did nothing about it :eek:.

Piss poor disposal, ineffective tackling and completely pathetic decision making.

After half-time we seemed to forget everything that we've done this season and it was pathetic.

Those three incorrect free kicks didn't help but god dammit we're better than this.

Like the first half against Hawthorn, in the second half only Browny seemed to be doing the work and he wasn't getting the delivery. Although Sherman and McGrath stepped up and broke the lines and Clark was his usual self, so it wasn't all bad.

Oh well, it's over with, we can still make the top four but it's going to be hard, very very hard.

Good point in the tackling. Been a while when we got smashed in that area. But everything they did stuck and I don't think we stuck any tackles. Samashed.

Mind you handballing it to a player with an opponent next to him does kind of make it easy.

Travis Johnstone anyone? ;)

Credit to Collingwood who were by far the better side. They really taught our youngsters a lesson. Lets stay positive and look forward to the return of Bradshaw next week.

sometimes i think merrett is just an rookie i mean he moved in slow motion before davis tackled him in the third quarter just does not think on a regular basis .

That was hard to watch. Didn't expect to win this one, but I thought it would have been more of a contest.

The umps didn't help, but the pies still would have won even without that. All I could think in the 4th was it was a good thing they didn't kick straight. Apart from that, they played really well and we seemed to need our nap time. Shades of last year :(.

Its a good bet Voss and the boys will be feeling worse than we do though.

Okay, we lost, now its on to the Bombers.

AFL Round 18 Collingwood V Brisbane Lions Official Thread