Tasmania AFL Say No To Tassie Team

Any chance its performance related - after 100 years if you don't perform WHY are you regarded as untouchable on geographic grounds?

When the league forces circumstances that diretly impact your business development abilities but your clubs as a whole make more money for the league than the rest of Australia combined, Thats how.

Thanks Gil.

When the VFL was alive, certain clubs always seemed to struggle. They had their own grounds. They ran their own financial race. Some of them for about 100 years.

Now its the AFL, we have a national draft, we have a salary cap. So why do the same clubs seem to continually struggle? They did under the VFL, they do now under the AFL. How can it be the AFLs fault. Maybe its just Occam's razor.?????

10 clubs just cant all gain success in the one market. They might bob up on occasion, but history shows they seem unable to sustain it on a longer term basis.

Is that possible Wookie? The simplest answer?

Thanks Gil.

When the VFL was alive, certain clubs always seemed to struggle. They had their own grounds. They ran their own financial race. Some of them for about 100 years.

Now its the AFL, we have a national draft, we have a salary cap. So why do the same clubs seem to continually struggle? They did under the VFL, they do now under the AFL. How can it be the AFLs fault. Maybe its just Occam's razor.?????

10 clubs just cant all gain success in the one market. They might bob up on occasion, but history shows they seem unable to sustain it on a longer term basis.

Is that possible Wookie? The simplest answer?

No its not simple.

This isnt the VFL days, things have vastly changed and the AFL does - by its own admission - force circumstances upon the clubs that make them financially reliable upon the AFL. It did this by centralising so much of the revenue and then distributing it back. The AFL competes with the clubs for members, and for sponsors, and then prohibits clubs from taking sponsors that might conflict with the leagues. The league manipulates the fixture and tv broadcasts schedules to the point that some clubs are rarely sighted on fta tv unless playing outside victoria where its guaranteed.

Well fair dinkum - this is a footy forum, there is a political thread, find it if you want to run off at a tangent.
You're talking about Tasmania having the financial capacity to support a professional football team. The fact is, they don't. Government is the biggest industry there by a whopping margin.

You're talking about Tasmania having the financial capacity to support a professional football team. The fact is My opinion is, they don't. Government is the biggest industry there by a whopping margin.
That's better.

You're talking about Tasmania having the financial capacity to support a professional football team. The fact is, they don't. Government is the biggest industry there by a whopping margin.

• The #1 sponsor (major) does not have to be Tasmanian yes/no? YES
  • The Tas taxpayer already pumps in $ mils sponsoring AFL footy yes/no? YES
  • A Tas team would increase the number of games locally from 7 to 11, up 50%+ YES
  • All AFL clubs would play in Tas including Collingwood YES
  • Would there be an increase in tourism YES
  • Would that tourism increase be greater than 50% (bigger clubs playing) YES
Perhaps you might support your fact claim sproketman .....

Indeed the AFL fiddles & some clubs suffer. How much of that suffering is because there are 10 teams in one market, aka the FIXture :confused: ...

How much damage to our game can it endure? We see clubs like Geelong keen to get out of the grips of pokies revenue whilst the Bulldogs are looking to increase this source of revenue.

• A Tas team would increase the number of games locally from 7 to 11, up 50%+ YES

the number 1 sponsor is going to be the Tasmanian government - it doesnt matter who is there. And given AFL form, not every club would play in Tasmanian - You wont see a lot more vairation than what you have now. The Tasmanian club isnt going to pull Collingwood/hawthorn like sponsors deals. hell look at West coast and Freo's actual sponsorship figures (and not their corporate hospitality)..

Its current AFL policy to ensure that at least one of Essendon or Collingwood make it to each state, but not necessarily both. Given present crowd maximisation theories at AFL HQ (rightly or wrongly), Tasmania will end up with a lot of non victorian clubs and the medium - small ones, plus probably Hawhorn and one of Collingwood/Essendon. Which means that the tourism impact isnt going to be be as big as you think.

You aren't serious on that last part, right? Tasmania's second biggest industry is already tourism. A footy team is not going to see a 50% boost to tourism, there are enough people already visiting Tasmania for wineries, wildlife, food etc. It's a nonsense argument, as flimsy as arguments governments make to justify wasting billions of tax payer dollars on events like the Olympics and World cup.

Which sponsor would sign up to Tasmania in preference to one of the existing clubs? Why would a company in Melbourne sponsor Tasmania as opposed to the Western Bulldogs? No greater exposure, no wealthier market to appeal to, no growth prospects. As I said, the same facts that undermine a club in Melbourne apply to any club formed in Tasmania.

Collingwood would player there? Really? Out of the 8 current non-Vic clubs they travel four times per year, meaning they realistically only visit each state once per year at best. How many times would they go to Tassie. Think carefully.

Which sponsor would sign up to Tasmania in preference to one of the existing clubs? Why would a company in Melbourne sponsor Tasmania as opposed to the Western Bulldogs? No greater exposure, no wealthier market to appeal to, no growth prospects. As I said, the same facts that undermine a club in Melbourne apply to any club formed in Tasmania.

I think you would find that a Tasmanian team would be higher profile than a few smaller Victorian clubs (as much as I don't like to admit it), and would probably offer better value for a sponsor's money than these teams could unless the AFL radically changes its fixturing and FTA TV allocation.

Would it?

People say this, but living on the east coast, I hardly hear about Freo. Freo are one of the better supported clubs in the nation, currently reasonably successful, have the biggest name in the game playing for them. I hear about them less often than I do any of the Melbourne clubs, while living in NSW.

Would a Tasmanian club have greater exposure than St Kilda, Bulldogs or GWS outside its main market? You would certainly get greater exposure in Tasmania that GWS does in Sydney, but Tasmania is a poor market. To whom is a potential Tasmania sponsor advertising?

Would it?

People say this, but living on the east coast, I hardly hear about Freo. Freo are one of the better supported clubs in the nation, currently reasonably successful, have the biggest name in the game playing for them. I hear about them less often than I do any of the Melbourne clubs, while living in NSW.

Would a Tasmanian club have greater exposure than St Kilda, Bulldogs or GWS outside its main market? You would certainly get greater exposure in Tasmania that GWS does in Sydney, but Tasmania is a poor market. To whom is a potential Tasmania sponsor advertising?

That's just the thing though, Tasmania does have its own market. Smaller Vic clubs are all fighting for a small slice of the pie taken up by Collingwood, Hawthorn, Essendon etc.

There is a fundamental point of difference with Tasmania that these other clubs cannot hope to claim.

That's just the thing though, Tasmania does have its own market. Smaller Vic clubs are all fighting for a small slice of the pie taken up by Collingwood, Hawthorn, Essendon etc.

There is a fundamental point of difference with Tasmania that these other clubs cannot hope to claim.
But what prospects does that market have? Who are they advertising to? What Kwality is talking about is a sponsor based outside Tasmania sponsoring a club there. Why would LEDified sponsor a Tassie club over St Kilda (or any Melbourne based one)?

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...about-tasmanian-football-20150827-gj94ip.html

Fear of retribution for speaking out. Tiny percentage of money spent by the self appointed "custodians of the game" compared to NSW and Qld.
Disgraceful.
I find it hard to believe that the AFL cares about Tasmanian football -at any level - to any significant degree.

Existing heartland, not worthy of an AFL side, just pay them lip service and if the game withers and dies down there it's no big deal, as it's only a small market.

Which mirrors the views of many here it would seem.

I hope Flanagan keeps going at them.

The Hawks have signed a five year $19million deal to extend their stay in Tassie until 2021, so if Tassie can't get their own team why don't the Hawks make a compromise with their colours when they play down there? Green & Gold vertical stripes for Tassie home matches? Just saying.

But what prospects does that market have? Who are they advertising to? What Kwality is talking about is a sponsor based outside Tasmania sponsoring a club there. Why would LEDified sponsor a Tassie club over St Kilda (or any Melbourne based one)?

I think Tasmania as a team would probably be more iconic than these clubs. Plus even if much of the new team's exposure was only in Tas it is probably a bigger market than what St Kilda, Melbourne, North Melbourne and the Bulldogs are capturing at the moment.

The interest generated in "Tasmania FC" outside of Tas would also be far greater than what Gold Coast and GWS receive outside of QLD and NSW at the moment, and likely far greater than they will ever receive on a consistent basis. That puts them ahead of at least two teams already.

It would be interesting to know how the AFL funding of Tasmanian football compares to its investment in regional Victoria as I think that would be a fairer comparison than to NSW and Qld.

NSW/ACT/Qld has around 12.5m people and 54% of the Australian population. These areas are 25 times that of Tasmania with that ratio becoming bigger year by year. It's understandable the AFL invests overall a lot more money in these areas and it's probably a good thing their junior elite teams are now proving too good for Tasmania's (provided that's not due to a decline in Tasmanian football).

It may come as a shock to some people, but a lot of major businesses sponsor clubs because of the exposure to national television, NOT because of where a particular club is. Ie Mazda (Japanese & not making cars here) sponsor North Melbourne. Etihad (from the Dubai) sponsor Collingwood, Mars (from the USA) agreed to be the major sponsor for a Tasmanian team as part of the Gemba report, now sponsor Carlton.

Local markets are a side issue. For major sponsors, Its about national exposure.

Gil will probably announce a Tasmanian academy. A good move to help the pathway for kids to the AFL. Its of stuff all value to Football in Tasmania. Its of stuff all value to the economy, its all about the Tasmanian cabbage patch mentality for AFL recruitment. Again its all one way traffic.

More of the same old crap.

No its not simple.

This isnt the VFL days, things have vastly changed and the AFL does - by its own admission - force circumstances upon the clubs that make them financially reliable upon the AFL. It did this by centralising so much of the revenue and then distributing it back. The AFL competes with the clubs for members, and for sponsors, and then prohibits clubs from taking sponsors that might conflict with the leagues. The league manipulates the fixture and tv broadcasts schedules to the point that some clubs are rarely sighted on fta tv unless playing outside victoria where its guaranteed.

No its not the VFL, but its the same old perennial strugglers in the VFL as in the AFL, thats my point.

You cant explain that by blaming the AFL. The Draft & salary cap is about evening out of opportunity, & they still cant make a good go of it!

The simple answer is that many of the 10 clubs in Victoria attract more than their 10% cut of the market, the rest get less than 10%. As Melbourne grows, so too will the inequity of public support. The bottom few clubs will remain the bottom few strugglers. They always have, they always will.

It may come as a shock to some people, but a lot of major businesses sponsor clubs because of the exposure to national television, NOT because of where a particular club is. Ie Mazda (Japanese & not making cars here) sponsor North Melbourne. Etihad (from the Dubai) sponsor Collingwood, Mars (from the USA) agreed to be the major sponsor for a Tasmanian team as part of the Gemba report, now sponsor Carlton.

Local markets are a side issue. For major sponsors, Its about national exposure.

Gil will probably announce a Tasmanian academy. A good move to help the pathway for kids to the AFL. Its of stuff all value to Football in Tasmania. Its of stuff all value to the economy, its all about the Tasmanian cabbage patch mentality for AFL recruitment. Again its all one way traffic.

More of the same old crap.
Correct re the bolded - Tasmania may be a small local market compared to the eastern states, but a Tas team could attract national sponsors/corporations piggy-backing on Tassie's clean and green environmentally friendly tourist-marketing pitch. There is a lot of upside there to base a financial plan on. It could attract a number of food companies or energy companies - it may even get Shell Oil Company ("green and clean" in some markets - but that might cause the Tasmanian Green Party to get their panties all bunched up...).

PS I would call them the Thylacines, as it would be fun to see the ex-jocks masquerading as footy commentators trying to pronounce that word.

Tasmania AFL Say No To Tassie Team