Expansion AFl says 2nd team in Sydney by 2015

I think it says a lot about how many AFL supporters are in Western Sydney, (an area with a population bigger than Perth), that theres not a single one of them on BigFooty to defend it against all this badmouthing.

If 'Western Sydney' is not going to be a marketable brand, then, perhaps the new team should be known as the NSW ... wear blue, etc.
They will ultimately play their games @ Homebush, which is not nearly as far west. Does where they train really matter?
Would this be good for the game or just damage the Swans?
Where do the extra 25,000 people who go to the Homebush games come from?
I have been to the Blacktown site (actually in Rooty Hill) recently and it is truly in the middle of nowhere. It's on the train line but a least 1K from a station. The new freeway goes past but there is no exit within 3Ks of the ground.

Having a rough supporter base never hurt Collingwood any... or Freo

yeah yeah, they are all rugger diehards who have sold thier soul to bumsniff and are unconvertable loyalists. I dont agree - that can be changed with careful marketing.

The roughs in west sydney are exactly the demographic the AFL and NSW aussie rules need.

You say that you have lived here for 11 years, and you think that the train system is the bees knees. Laughable.
have you ever tried to catch the train anywhere else in australia, ronin? regularly? probably not, because there arent any. in perth, if you want to catch the train, you have to drive for 15 minutes and park. seriously, park and ride is how the perth system works. now THATS a joke

so whine like a bitch all you want, but the coverage alone makes the sydney system the best in aus, just like the poster above said.

You might want to at least spell it right first - it's Campbelltown. And from what I know about the place, it's not big enough on it's own, and a team based at Campbelltown isn't likely to garner support from other areas of Western Sydney because it's out of the way.

LOL i'm sorry I forgot the l. Deadset that will do me.

You do make a fair point, Cambelltown certainly isn't central Wesat its more South West. IMO the best place to set up a team would be Parramatta but Blacktown could be the way to go. It is between Parra and Penrith. Good trainstation with multiple lines. Problem is current intrest would be low. That needs improvement

Have you ever been to Blacktown?

It is 'centrally located' in the same way that Waverley was once touted as the 'demographic centre' of Melbourne.

And if you thought Waverley sucked as a far-away, outer suburban place for a footy ground, just wait till you visit Blacktown.

PS: Bonus points if you can get out of there with all the wheels still attached to your car.

Think of it as Dandenong, surrounded by less appealing suburbs.

Most Sydney based AFL fans I know are either transplanted Vics, eastern suburbanites or rugger boys who wouldn't give league the time of day but want a bit of variety. Western Sydney is about as close to rugby league heartland as it gets. If one team and their flag can barely raise a murmur in the city outside of finals time, how the hell are two teams supposed to convert the heathen masses?

On a seperate note- nice to hear the Invective will be back in business
this year, it was a staple of my week (along with a few other guys I put onto it). 10 weeks of 2007 with only the lesser football media was too damn long

Arrogant, stuck up tossers. That would suit both of you well. You wonder why AFL supporters are looked on as pansys

Few places? How about the Northern Beaches, Hills District and Lower Eastern Suburbs? There are gaps everywhere, and they don't even run past places like the SCG.

People who think that supporters will get on the train from the North Shore out to the Western Suburbs to watch a game of AFL is living in Fantasia.

Name the suburbs. The places you named are where snobs are from and they will refuse to have train lines there to ensure they can keep to themselves. As for the Hills district there are plans currently to expand.

You obviously have little to no idea of trainlines in other states. We have the best network in Australia. Do some research and you might agree.

As for people coming from Nth Sydney to the West to watch AFL, they got 60k+ in 3 Telstra Stadium (now known as ANZ stadium) games last year (Telstra/ANZ is in Western Sydney if you didn't know) and i'm sure quite a few of those fans were catching the same train I was towards the city (on there way to some of them I assume to North Sydney):rolleyes:

have you ever tried to catch the train anywhere else in australia, ronin? regularly? probably not, because there arent any. in perth, if you want to catch the train, you have to drive for 15 minutes and park. seriously, park and ride is how the perth system works. now THATS a joke

so whine like a bitch all you want, but the coverage alone makes the sydney system the best in aus, just like the poster above said.

Thankyou, good to see someone understanding

For all the people who have bagged out West Sydney. It certainly isn't as bad as what you have made out but of course like anywhere in Aus there are problems.

I drove to visit a friend in Campbelltown, got home with my car and its tyres, amazing! :eek:

I used to work all over Sydney in Bankstown, Blacktown, Parramatta, Doonside, Penrith, Liverpool etc and have never had any trouble on trains as early as 5 and late as 10. Also when I had the chance to drive there was no problems getting to any of these places either, never had my car broken into or stolen.

I think the problem is that people don't know these areas and don't go there and typicaly are scared of what they don't know (typical, especially of many from the North Shore or Eatern Suburbs).

Of course there aren't too many AFL fans in the West because they have nobody to support. Its hard to support the Swans when there are so many people who are so up themselves supporting the Swans while they sip on champas and eat fish eggs.:p Give the boys a team and it will get support, especailly if it is pushed in a way that the new team is the working mans team and the Swans are the pansys.

For all the people who have bagged out West Sydney. It certainly isn't as bad as what you have made out but of course like anywhere in Aus there are problems.

I drove to visit a friend in Campbelltown, got home with my car and its tyres, amazing! :eek:

I used to work all over Sydney in Bankstown, Blacktown, Parramatta, Doonside, Penrith, Liverpool etc and have never had any trouble on trains as early as 5 and late as 10. Also when I had the chance to drive there was no problems getting to any of these places either, never had my car broken into or stolen.

I think the problem is that people don't know these areas and don't go there and typicaly are scared of what they don't know (typical, especially of many from the North Shore or Eatern Suburbs).

Of course there aren't too many AFL fans in the West because they have nobody to support. Its hard to support the Swans when there are so many people who are so up themselves supporting the Swans while they sip on champas and eat fish eggs.:p Give the boys a team and it will get support, especailly if it is pushed in a way that the new team is the working mans team and the Swans are the pansys.

Dude, personally after living in Campbelltown for a couple of years i have come to the conclusion that the west aint as bad as all the eastern yuppies are harping on about. In fact i reckon the west of melbourne is worse.. ;)

But in saying that, i reckon it would be better if they all persisted with all the "working-class, boys in fibro houses, yobbo's" VS the "yuppie,, silver-tail, chardonnay sipping socialites" mentality.

Along with the fact that western sydney has around 2 million people and have a 80 billion doallar economy (and growing fast), its one of the main reason i think it will work :thumbsu::)

So do you think "gayfl fans" can be converted to league(not rugger ..that is union) with careful marketing.
I bet your answer is no.
Just as league fans would say no.

I think with careful marketing people can follow both codes. I currently follow the NRL, AFL, A-League and even at times the Super 14's. I love my footy:p

I am not bitching, it may be better than what you can find in other parts of Australia, but that is their problem.

All I was doing was pointing out that people that don't live here, are commenting on how great the rail network is, when they don't know what they are talking about. Their next sentence is how the great AFL unwashed in the Western Suburbs of Sydney are ripe for the taking.

If it was that easy, they would be the next team up to the plate, not the GC.

So do you think "gayfl fans" can be converted to league(not rugger ..that is union) with careful marketing.
I bet your answer is no.
Just as league fans would say no.

80,000 people showed up to watch 2 4th rate soccer teams simply because the most overmarketed hasbeen in the world was playing.

Sydney people will go to anything with the right marketing.

I am not bitching, it may be better than what you can find in other parts of Australia, but that is their problem.

All I was doing was pointing out that people that don't live here, are commenting on how great the rail network is, when they don't know what they are talking about. Their next sentence is how the great AFL unwashed in the Western Suburbs of Sydney are ripe for the taking.

If it was that easy, they would be the next team up to the plate, not the GC.

Mate it is the best network in Australia. You at first laughed at this. You have been proven wrong because you have lack of knowledge outside of your city/state which is something you critisized other for. You have been shown up a little. I suggest you move on.

As for the Western Suburbs, it is a massive challenge for the AFL to gather support for a team in the area. I am confident it will succeed, although I can't say I know all the politics involved. Hopefully everything can be worked out.

May I ask, would you be happy if a new team was based in Sydney?

As for being the next team, what makes you think they anyone thinks its going to be easy?

Expansion AFl says 2nd team in Sydney by 2015