Expansion AFl says 2nd team in Sydney by 2015

Do you seriously believe West Coast (or Sydney for that matter) is as valuable to the competition as Geelong, North Melbourne and Melbourne combined or St Kilda, Port Adelaide and Western Bulldogs combined.

Get over yourselves.
In terms of generating TV rights revenue yes West Coast and Sydney are that important, while Victoria is the biggest market its share it spilt 10 ways and buy no means is it even spilt
My estimation of the state by state breakdown
VIC ≈ 56%
WA ≈ 15%
SA ≈ 11%
NSW ≈ 10%
QLD ≈ 8%

My estimation breakdown of the Victorian Market
Collingwood ≈ 18%
Essendon ≈ 18%
Carlton ≈ 13%
Richmond ≈ 13%
Hawthorn ≈ 9%
Geelong ≈ 7%
St Kilda ≈ 7%
Western Bulldogs ≈ 5%
North Melbourne ≈ 5%
Melbourne ≈ 5%

West Coast is the dominated force of the 2nd biggest AFL market, while Sydney may only be a bit player in the New South Wales TV market the market is so big it contributes are reasonably % of the AFL rights.

In terms of generating TV rights revenue yes West Coast and Sydney are that important, while Victoria is the biggest market its share it spilt 10 ways and buy no means is it even spilt
My estimation of the state by state breakdown
VIC ≈ 56%
WA ≈ 15%
SA ≈ 11%
NSW ≈ 10%
QLD ≈ 8%

My estimation breakdown of the Victorian Market
Collingwood ≈ 18%
Essendon ≈ 18%
Carlton ≈ 13%
Richmond ≈ 13%
Hawthorn ≈ 9%
Geelong ≈ 7%
St Kilda ≈ 7%
Western Bulldogs ≈ 5%
North Melbourne ≈ 5%
Melbourne ≈ 5%

West Coast is the dominated force of the 2nd biggest AFL market, while Sydney may only be a bit player in the New South Wales TV market the market is so big it contributes are reasonably % of the AFL rights.

So now Sydney's contribution is equal to Adelaide's and Port Adelaide's combined.

Instead of making things up, try doing some research before you post.

And include Tassie as its a football state.

Hey , psst , your ignorance is showing again .

North Shore AFC was a founding member of the Sydney Football League and is still going strong unlike it's North Sydney counterpart .
Australian Football is strong on the North side , unlike it's rl counterpart .
Take a suburb like St Ives . Has soccer , RU and Australian Football clubs .
But , hey , no rl clubs .

:D

So they are playing the round ball code then?

So now Sydney's contribution is equal to Adelaide's and Port Adelaide's combined.

Instead of making things up, try doing some research before you post.

And include Tassie as its a football state.
The Swans have a very wide area to tap into, not only including Inner Sydney and Greater Sydney, and the oft ignored AR mad suburbs like Woolongong, country NSW and borderline Victorian suburbs.
But in no way do I think that we are close to achieving ratings of the calibre of footy based States.

On the matter of a second team?
AR was introduced as an alien league into Sydney, and only after a massive 25 years we have started to rack up the kind of ratings and memberships you see in Victorian suburbs, with an initial loyal fan base.
To introduce another team the AFL have to be prepared for allowing draft, marketing and $$ concessions, and wait for the same if not longer period that the Sydney Swans have taken to settle.

Western Sydney, I believe, looks to the AFL as a huge, fickle, 'quick fix' answer to a problem; and if they think that Sydneysiders are going to take heartily to the idea, then they are dim.
I would say, be prepared for the Swans re: 1985-2000.

In fact a lot of rl teams copied the colours of the original Australian Football clubs .

Just FYI the local rugby clubs used those colours long before any ARF teams were even formed. When the NSWRFL first came together in 1908 the teams continued using the same colours, as the clubs went straight from playing ru one season to playing rl the next.

nbcthemoreyouknowpn8.jpg

Hey , psst , your ignorance is showing again .

North Shore AFC was a founding member of the Sydney Football League and is still going strong unlike it's North Sydney counterpart .
Australian Football is strong on the North side , unlike it's rl counterpart .
But , hey , no rl clubs .

:D

Except not. There's 26 RL Juniors clubs in the Northern Suburbs spread across the North Sydney, Manly-Warringah and Balmain Districts, 3 Semi-pro clubs (One an NSWRL Grand Finalist and another a JB cup finalist) and the team currently representing 'daylight' between the Storm and the remainder of the NRL. A plethora of schools on the North Shore, including the renowned Holy Cross Ryde and Marist Eastwood play RL. Mitchell Pearce, Starting half for the Roosters, and Aaron Groome, who'll be starting Halfback for the Bulldogs, are two recent NRL products from the North Shore. Manly has about 5 Northern Beaches natives in their top 25.

Aussie Rules has MacU, North Shore, Manly-Warringah and Pennant Hills in the Sydney AFL.

Drummoyne, Forest, Hornsby, Manly, Mosman, North Ryde, Penno, Pittwater, St Ivs, Willoughby and Cherrybrook all have junior AFL outfits on Paper. How many currently contract AFL players come from the Northern Suburbs I wonder?

Please get a clue before you speak...

If you knew anything about St Ives you'd know full well that RL has never been strong on that part of the North Shore...

The Swans have a very wide area to tap into, not only including Inner Sydney and Greater Sydney, and the oft ignored AR mad suburbs like Woolongong, country NSW and borderline Victorian suburbs.

Oh god. For Starters, it's not a suburb. Secondly, the only sports in Wollongong worth a damn are Soccer and Rugby League...

If you knew anything about St Ives you'd know full well that RL has never been strong on that part of the North Shore...

You've just backed up my argument , bro :D

By the way even by your statistics that's not a very impressive rl list .
And you missed out a many Aussies Rules clubs in your "statistics".

:eek:

You've just backed up my argument , bro :D

By the way even by your statistics that's not a very impressive rl list .
And you missed out a many Aussies Rules clubs in your "statistics".

:eek:

List them then. Go ahead. That's all I can find.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-4015-0-54806-0&a=CLUBS

The funny thing is, nearly half of those clubs aren't even in the Northern Suburbs. Some of them are from the hills and the rest are on the other side of the Bridge! Maroubra :eek:

Hardly backs up your argument.

AR isn't bigger than RL in Sydney's Northern Suburbs,

Dear Mr insecure . Because I quoted .
"Australian Football is strong on the North side , unlike it's rl counterpart .
But , hey , no rl clubs ."

You immediately thought I was implying AR >rl on the North Shore .
All I was implying , as I stated is that AR is strong on the North Shore ,
whereas rl isn't strong on the North Shore .
If you're worrying about who's strongest , that'd be RU , wouldn't it ?

Dear Mr insecure . Because I quoted .
"Australian Football is strong on the North side , unlike it's rl counterpart .
But , hey , no rl clubs ."

You immediately thought I was implying AR >rl on the North Shore .
All I was implying , as I stated is that AR is strong on the North Shore ,
whereas rl isn't strong on the North Shore .
If you're worrying about who's strongest , that'd be RU , wouldn't it ?

What else could the statement possibly mean? If RL isn't strong and AFL is, how couldn't AFL be bigger? Maybe if you'd made the statement somewhat relative, you could have got away with it, but you've just outright stated that AR is 'strong' and RL is not 'strong.'

Good to see you've got the wording right however. RL is bigger than RU on the North Side, on account of the Northern Beaches, but RU dwarfs RL nearly everywhere on the North Shore, except for the Hornsby Shire.

Can you show me all those clubs I've missed? The AFL lacks a good resource for junior clubs like the ARL foundation website, or I'm not aware of it just yet. Cheers Cos.

Calling Woolongong an AR mad suburb is ludicrious. It's rugby and soccer all the way.

Oh god. For Starters, it's not a suburb. Secondly, the only sports in Wollongong worth a damn are Soccer and Rugby League...

Jesus Christ. Two of the dumbest things i've ever heard on these boards and you managed to squeeze both of them into a mere 5 words. Congratulations.

Really?

Well, went i went to Woolongong for holidays, it seemed like a pretty AR mad place. Soccer and League took a back seat according to locals, but you know, maybe I went on a weekend that gave concessions to AR :rolleyes:

Really?

Well, went i went to Woolongong for holidays, it seemed like a pretty AR mad place. Soccer and League took a back seat according to locals, but you know, maybe I went on a weekend that gave concessions to AR :rolleyes:

Newcastle is AFL mad too.

I went there yesterday and all I saw were Swannies singlets and whenever someone said football they were talking about aussie rules! Seriously, I think we should start making jumper designs for their AFL team and discussing who their coach will be. I mean, they're obviously crying out for a team, they need one asap imo.

Next expansion period the AFL should add four more teams; Gold Coast, West Sydney, Newcastle and New Zealand (I read earlier in the thread that Aussie Rules has a pretty good following there, if we gave them an AFL team I'm sure it'd take off!).

The great suburb of Tamowrth needs a team aswell. Amazing the amount of support the game has up there. Its an ever growing suburb and I reckon out of the 60,000 people there at least 50K are AR mad.

Just FYI the local rugby clubs used those colours long before any ARF teams were even formed. When the NSWRFL first came together in 1908 the teams continued using the same colours, as the clubs went straight from playing ru one season to playing rl the next.

nbcthemoreyouknowpn8.jpg

Out of interest, who currently in the NRL is older than, say, your Melbournes, Geelongs, Carltons and North Melbournes?

It doesn't matter where the stadium is build, Sydney has the best train network in all of Australia.

WTF! You seriously are on drugs!!!! Have you ever caught a train out to Blacktown at peak hour in summer. It is just horrendous!

CityRail is one of the thing I miss least since having moved down here. Those old shabby double decker trains are a disgrace & are often full tue the brim during peak hour. :thumbsdown:

JF

That was pretty funny actually.

I think that invalidates pretty much anything Funkalicious has to say about Sydney. I wonder what the State rail planners who approved Bradfield's plans in 1930 would think about the lack of rail lines to Manly and Maroubra nearly 80 years down the track!

Really?

Mayeb you just went on holiday with the voices in your head...

LOL some of you bklokes are demented. If Wollongon is such an Aussie Rules hotbed then why do they have a National Rugby League club? Why have they provided first grade players in their 100's since League's inception? Why are they trying to bid for an A League license for their side the Wolves to be readmitted?

The only thing AFL about Wollongong is their team in the Sydney comp, and they get hammered week in, week out.

you blokes are good for a laugh.

Expansion AFl says 2nd team in Sydney by 2015