afl vs players pay dispute

Players can go after whatever they're legally entitled to. If the court of public opinion deems them to be a bunch of spoiled brats, they will just have to live with that. When half the country is out of work, I don't think they'll find too many sympathetic ears.
but if they are talking about the number of players on lists dropping, number of teams dropping, they are shooting themselves in the foot, you want to strip down hard this year so that things can go back to normal next year for 18x44 players. Maybe that 50% number insures this, but it seems very high.

This is completely ugly.

Fellas, you’ve been made redundant like so many other Australians, sorry, you have no job!! 80% of staff have been either lost their job or been stood down and they’re arguing over the amount of cash they’ll receive for doing a backyard workout and watching Netflix! Unbelievable.

What makes them immune to a global crisis?
Tom Rockliff cries sad because he has investment properties to maintain!! So bloody out of touch.

Do they deserve to be paid so much money for what they do? Absolutely, they’re generating bucketloads of revenue for the league through sponsorship, TV rights and crowds. At the moment they are not working, they are generating ZERO.

GFY as far as I’m concerned. Time to burst this bubble. Dangerfield and Reiwoldt should be serious embarrassed.

This is completely ugly.

Fellas, you’ve been made redundant like so many other Australians, sorry, you have no job!! 80% of staff have been either lost their job or been stood down and they’re arguing over the amount of cash they’ll receive for doing a backyard workout and watching Netflix! Unbelievable.

What makes them immune to a global crisis?
Tom Rockliff cries sad because he has investment properties to maintain!! So bloody out of touch.

Do they deserve to be paid so much money for what they do? Absolutely, they’re generating bucketloads of revenue for the league through sponsorship, TV rights and crowds. At the moment they are not working, they are generating ZERO.

GFY as far as I’m concerned. Time to burst this bubble. Dangerfield and Reiwoldt should be serious embarrassed.
Yep Dangerfield and Riewoldt and the superstars of all the clubs should publicly declare they are taking 100k for this year only (80-90% cuts)

fu** me. Half my mates have lost their jobs and I'm sure mine isn't too far away either, and Danger on $800K is only offering up 50% for two months? None of them should even be paid. They've already had half their pay for the year, so why give them anymore
The only mitigating factor for AFL footballers is that the career window is so short compared to most others. They need to make hay while the sun shines, because for many of them life after football is unlikely to be anywhere as lucrative.

I'm glad the whole country has now seen what a total and utter flog Dangerfield is.
LOL. Still haven't gotten over him leaving Adelaide!!

Have you forgotten Dangerfield is the President of the AFLPA? Don't confuse that role with the footballer who you despise

The only mitigating factor for AFL footballers is that the career window is so short compared to most others. They need to make hay while the sun shines, because for many of them life after football is unlikely to be anywhere as lucrative.

they’re put through Uni/Tafe/real estate programs funded by the clubs and backed by great connections to ensure they’re in the best possible position after their unbelievable earning power comes to an end. Any half decent player who’s semi personable will be able to land a cushy six figure media role if they choose also, no problem.

anyway, I think the burden is on them to have made sound financial decisions with the money they’ve made so far. IF they’ve chosen to spend the money on cars, luxury items, overseas trips, gambling etc, how are we supposed to have any sympathy for them?

* I understand not all players blow their money.

they’re put through Uni/Tafe/real estate programs funded by the clubs and backed by great connections to ensure they’re in the best possible position after their unbelievable earning power comes to an end. Any half decent player who’s semi personable will be able to land a cushy six figure media role if they choose also, no problem.

anyway, I think the burden is on them to have made sound financial decisions with the money they’ve made so far. IF they’ve chosen to spend the money on cars, luxury items, overseas trips, gambling etc, how are we supposed to have any sympathy for them?

* I understand not all players blow their money.
No argument with what you say

Bearing in mind that the players were proportionally paid in full prior to this crisis. It's instructive that the high profile players that were front and centre of the AFLPA's wages campaign are still unlikely to go close to slumming it on the $377K player salary average. Putting these high profile players out front or the AFLPAs campaign has turned out to be a typically ham fisted PR disaster for the assoication. They should've fronted their campaign with guys at the bottom end of the AFL pay scale who are genuinely going to struggle to stay afloat for the duration of this shutdown. Not some already heavily superannuated 'personalities' who are drawn to a camera like moths to a flame; who by just about any measure are going to sale through this quite comfortably.

Won't somebody think of their stock and property portfolios?

Yeah I think the players should certainly have a guarantee of no delistings this year- it's a performance industry and since they didn't get a chance to perform, they shouldn't be able to be delisted.

no, the whole thing should have been put on care and maintenance, 100k each for the players to keep food on the table, the banks are offering a postponement of mortgage repayments if your salary has dropped so that is not an issue.

Then everything cranks back up to full speed next year with an expanded list, 47 players (no delistings but 3 draftees taken) then force lists to trim back to 44 by the end of 2021 or maybe 2022 to cushion it a bit.

They just needed to know it was never going to play out well publicly at this time, so don't come out saying shit like "well we put on the Bushfire game". Just do what Barrass from West Coast did, don't mention anything other than what the players are going through is nothing compared to the outside world. That's all they needed to do.
Agree with this.

What if by insisting on your contract being honoured, you are near-killing the company and you know everyone at the company is already looking at losing their job, people you know and worked with for years.

Insisting on contractual obligation can't take the stink away from what the players have done here.
What if you knew the Government was going to make whole the nation's favourite pastime if it got to that situation because there is too many votes in it? Why should you take a haircut?

What's interesting to me is the seemingly orchestrated media attack on the players and the player's association over the past couple of weeks. Almost like creating a diversion for some reason with selected excerpts highlighted and commented upon without ever acknowledging the full context of the conversations. Plus add in the combative terminology used by many of the journalists when reporting the latest updates which in turn incites already stressed & fearful readers/viewers to further angst in a situation not of their making while forgetting it's also not of the players making either. When watching the full segment rather than just reading a headline it's amazing how different perceptions evolve.

The PA have an obligation to all their members to protect the interests of all regardless of whether they are a rookie listed player of one of the superstars of the competition. It is absolutely pointless to compare situations to other workers who have been laid off, stood down, or asked to take leave, while other industries are looking to put on more staff - these are unique times and circumstances. To my way of looking at things the players are being asked to tread water and continue to work by training in isolation (or semi isolation) in order to maintain fitness as well as they can during this time away from their club. Regardless of what anyone thinks playing professional football is work for the players. Once the go ahead is given they will be expected back at their respective clubs to get back into full training in preparation to resume the 2020 season as soon as possible. The players have already given a commitment to playing shorter turn around games and as late as December if needed so this in itself creates some issues around those players whose contracts will finish on 31st October.

What's interesting to me is the seemingly orchestrated media attack on the players and the player's association over the past couple of weeks. Almost like creating a diversion for some reason with selected excerpts highlighted and commented upon without ever acknowledging the full context of the conversations. Plus add in the combative terminology used by many of the journalists when reporting the latest updates which in turn incites already stressed & fearful readers/viewers to further angst in a situation not of their making while forgetting it's also not of the players making either. When watching the full segment rather than just reading a headline it's amazing how different perceptions evolve.

The PA have an obligation to all their members to protect the interests of all regardless of whether they are a rookie listed player of one of the superstars of the competition. It is absolutely pointless to compare situations to other workers who have been laid off, stood down, or asked to take leave, while other industries are looking to put on more staff - these are unique times and circumstances. To my way of looking at things the players are being asked to tread water and continue to work by training in isolation (or semi isolation) in order to maintain fitness as well as they can during this time away from their club. Regardless of what anyone thinks playing professional football is work for the players. Once the go ahead is given they will be expected back at their respective clubs to get back into full training in preparation to resume the 2020 season as soon as possible. The players have already given a commitment to playing shorter turn around games and as late as December if needed so this in itself creates some issues around those players whose contracts will finish on 31st October.

Some reasonable points in there, but what if the season doesn't resume this year?

Oh man, this is tricky.

- Players have contracts with the clubs/AFL.

- They are not delivering on those contracts (ie. They're not playing).

- But it's the AFL's fault they aren't playing. So the AFL must still honour the contracts.

- If they honour the contracts, the AFL goes broke.

- If the AFL goes broke, the players don't have jobs and don't get paid anyway.

So who's the bad guy here? Who is sacrificing? And how much are they sacrificing?

Is Paul Marsh going to work for free given the players aren't getting paid?

Are the AFL Exec going to work for free to keep the AFL afloat?

Are supporters expected to pay membership fees for nothing in return?

President Xi Jinping should pay the players’ wages.

Has anything been discussed about the players wages in the future? Is it supposed to all go back to normal next season?
I can understand why we don’t need to be cutting the players wages too extremely just now if they are working on some future agreement about the salary cap.
If the league needs to make back say $200m off the players to pay back loans then they are much better trying to spread that out over a few seasons then take as much now as possible. It should be done in the best way possible for all involved. People need to know what is exactly going on though because atm it isn’t a great look for the players.
One thing is for sure though and that is that Gil has the AFLPA by the absolute balls in a fight they have no chance of winning. There will never be a better opportunity for the game to setup a financial system that makes the league and clubs more financially stable. I really believe there will be a silver lining when all of this is over.

Media are really going after the players and getting plenty of nuffies onside.
There are so many different layers to the pay dispute, the league is a different beast to how it operates compared to the general population and the work we do.

They can’t come back unfit whereas most of us can do nothing at home and go back to work fat. They are working but obviously it’s not as simple as that regarding revenue, if there’s no games how can they get paid?

It’s now 50% for the rest of the year even if they do come back which is completely reasonable. 70% cut if no more games are played.

I just can’t take the nuff comments of if you don’t play you don’t deserve to get paid anything.
Do these people think injured players deserve nothing?

Th 'short career window' argument is absolutely ridiculous and needs to be called out whenever it is made.

1. There is no 'career window' - there is no time limitation on AFL footballers careers. If you are good enough, you will still be selected at age 60 (obviously that won't happen, but I am just pointing out there is no legal reason why a professional sportsman's career is so short).

2. The same restriction arises for child actors, models, tradies involved with very physical work - there's probably a number of careers that run up against an age-related limitation.

3. If you are in a job, and are uncomfortable about the pay conditions, or think that the job may not be around forever, or you think might be let go because you can't keep up with the demands of the job - do what the rest of us do - go look for another job. No one is forcing these guys to play professional sport. It's their choice.

I wonder how many of the estimated million plus people who were laid off over the last couple weeks got to say to
their employers, "I tell you what, I'm prepared to accept a 50% pay cut for the next two months". The players said
this AFTER they watched the clubs and the AFL lay off 80% of their lower paid staff with nothing. Someone should make
Dangerfield stand in the line outside the Geelong Centrelink for the afternoon. He'll be able to tell everyone there about
all the great work he's been doing in the community. And he's supposed to be one of the smart ones.
Players are required to continue training for when and if the season restart, you're comparing apples with oranges.
Most young players aren't on that much coin, not to mention front and rear ended(Is that the right term) contracts not quite as simple as a paye worker getting the heave ho.

afl vs players pay dispute