AFL Women's Week

Judging by your knuckle dragging, misogynist rhetoric, I am going to assume that you are a straight white male. Sit back and think mate, you have hit the jackpot genetically, although I fear that you may have missed out somewhat intellectually. Most of the world is focussed on and run by Caucasian straight men, you guys do okay. I think a little recognition, albeit somewhat of a token attempt, at acknowledging minorities is a good and positive thing for the game.

We're all the same people essentially, and this is all just bull***t

A better initiative would be cancer awareness week, where the AFL outline the different cancers, susceptible ages/sexes, and what can be done to avoid it. But no, we have women's week and rivalry round - load of horse shit.

So, Men don't deserve 'honour'? You know, the guys that give their blood, sweat and tears week in and week out?

yeah, us poor old men. never get any attention. where's our parade?

We're all the same people essentially, and this is all just bull***t

A better initiative would be cancer awareness week, where the AFL outline the different cancers, susceptible ages/sexes, and what can be done to avoid it. But no, we have women's week and rivalry round - load of horse shit.

Agreed. Those people that support tokenism, are I guess, the people whose politics are the ALP style of 'seeming', the vibe, the emotion, etc. No tangible real world result. It just has to 'feel good'.

Judging by your knuckle dragging, misogynist rhetoric, I am going to assume that you are a straight white male. Sit back and think mate, you have hit the jackpot genetically, although I fear that you may have missed out somewhat intellectually. Most of the world is focussed on and run by Caucasian straight men, you guys do okay. I think a little recognition, albeit somewhat of a token attempt, at acknowledging minorities is a good and positive thing for the game.

:rolleyes:

At least surely, the ANZ Netball Championship will have a Blue Round, dedicated to Men's prostate cancer?

It's been done dickwad.

Netball Goes Blue for Prostate Cancer.

And here's a photo of the Australian Netball team promoting Movember, the charity which raises money for men's health.

diamonds.jpg

Fantastic comment. Pity it will go nowhere with these fools.

Those poor middle class, white, straight males! Oh the woe!

I think there are few better organisations than the AFL in knowing how to manage and maximise their revenue potential.

Regardless of any whiff of tokenism, if the gesture helps create an environment where women feel more inclined to go to the footy, buy a membership and even potentially be more encouraging of their son to pay the game, then it's worthwhile.

The AFL is massively protective of its brand and its long term health, and issues like the "Caro Mannequin" incident cause the AFL incredible concern....as it perpetuates old thinking and has the potential to inhibit sponsorship, attendances, TV ratings...etc.

Don't understand why people would be AGAINST it though...??:confused:

Haha. Surely Mr Crow knew this, and is trolling. Such a specific thing to get totally wrong.

I humbly stand corrected on that point.

Still, I just don't understand why the AFL can't let the game be a game, and introduce all of these left-leaning socialistic gimmick tokenistic stuff, ie: Green Round.

What's next, transgender round?

I really hope people are trolling with comments along the line of "where's men's week?"

Every week is men's week! The coaches and players are almost all men are they are appreciated every week. What's so wrong with recognising women who work behind the scenes?

Please explain how this is in any way sexist against men????

Still, I just don't understand why the AFL can't let the game be a game, and introduce all of these left-leaning socialistic gimmick tokenistic stuff, ie: Green Round.

It'll happen someday the way things are going. This week it the AFL we celebrate the contribution of chicks with dicks. Probably get Handicapped round before that though. You can imagine the jokes being thrown around at under-performing players if that happened.

This is as far from "left leaning socialistic (sic)" as you can get. This is about branding, this is maximising revenue from every part of the community.

The AFL will maximise exposure this week simply by acknowledging that 50% of the population are women.

This is capitalism in action.

And what does it hurt? So the AFL says "hello ladies" for one round.

How ppl get upset about this stuff is beyond me.

I really hope people are trolling with comments along the line of "where's men's week?"

Every week is men's week! The coaches and players are almost all men are they are appreciated every week. What's so wrong with recognising women who work behind the scenes?

No they are appreciated as players and umpires not as "men". Their gender isnt being discussed.

Its like the aboriginal round. Why is there a special round dedicated just to them? What about the europians and asians?
Aren't these groups fighting for eqaulity? Why dont they just get treated the same as the rest of us then?

Women's Round is sort of like thanking your mum in your Academy Award winning speech. It doesn't hurt, it acknowledges what women have put in to the careers of the men involved, it recognises them for coming to the games and adding to AFL income (and for giving cameramen someone to zoom in on at boring games), and then a bit of money is raised for breast cancer research and to make us all feel better about ourselves.

Indigenous round is pretty much the same except we're thanking guys for contributing on the field rather than for driving us to junior matches and washing our dirty jumpers.

I'm as cynical as the next bloke, but it doesn't hurt to say thanks every now and then.

What happens in this proposed Men's Round? Do all the men involved form a human centipede in order to thank and congratulate each other.

You may have noticed that every week the club banner tends to pertain to guys, all the promotional and advertising material through the build up features men, and at the end of the game the crowd applauds 44 men while they all shake each others hands and say "Well done man", and then commentators spend the next couple of days reflecting on the actions and worth of men in football.

Feel free to campaign for a "White Guys Round", you may get plenty of support but I don't see what good it will do anyone. We tend to be noticed already.

All true Haggard. I think some blokes are just fed up with the seemingly neverending tributes and lip service given to women and women's issues in our media and society in general. The pink ladies is another example. Men die younger and also die in equal numbers from prostate cancer but until very recently(almost as an afterthought) we had the recent yellow band for mens' health.All the women's groups I know spend all their time focusing on cancers which affect women. Perhaps they could be less self centred and take a leaf out of our book! I see women marching in the streets over an equal pay issue which happens to be a total figment of their imaginations. Perhaps if we saw marches protesting about the enormous discrepancies in gender deaths in the workplace-over 95% male we would feel there is some balance.

As for this comment,

say "Well done man", and then commentators spend the next couple of days reflecting on the actions and worth of men in football.

If a few more media commentators occasionally spent some time writing about the actions and worth of men in general this thread would not exist.

The white guys reference( albeit unintentional) these days carries a mocking, disparaging tone especially when middle class, latte sipping trendies use it, as they infer we have all kinds of privileges and rights not experienced by women, or men of other races. Another myth. We all deal with crap every day-my mates be they white, brown, asian, gay or straight have the same kind of battles throughout their lives.

So just let the boys vent. I know where they are coming from. I love women by the way-some of my best friends are females!;)

A couple of weeks ago at Subiaco I noticed that all of the Auskick kids were girls, so I automatically thought it was women's round. I don't know what the reason was then, but now all the girls will get another go at the exclusion of the boys. The boys that are actually the ones that may go on to play AFL some day. Lots of boys never get selected to play on the ground at half time, yet they have to watch some pudgy, uncoordinated kid who will never play AFL get the chance of a lifetime just because she happens to be a girl.

You're a relic of the past Gough. Its a women's world at present, and anybody who can't see that is stuck in a time warp.

yeah, us poor old men. never get any attention. where's our parade?

Its called a funeral. More men get to attend theirs before the women, and men are particularly over-represented in deaths at work.

Are the men behind the scenes ever acknowledged? Are the women on the ground in an active role excluded from the crowd's acknowledgement?

WHO CARES?

it doesn't hurt anyone. would a "men's round" make you wankas feel better about yourselves? Women's and Indigenous Rounds probably does make Women in the industry and Indigenous people everywhere feel like they are finally being recognised.

Get over it you no life flogs.

It is a security issue.

I don't think security are doing enough to screen people as they come through the gates. I sometimes see women at the game outside women's week.

I am all for giving them 1 week, but please keep them out for the rest of the season.

WHO CARES?

it doesn't hurt anyone. would a "men's round" make you wankas feel better about yourselves? Women's and Indigenous Rounds probably does make Women in the industry and Indigenous people everywhere feel like they are finally being recognised.

Get over it you no life flogs.

w***ers. Get it right if you are going to be abusive. :rolleyes: